Brake adjusters keep loosening

mushroom
Town: krugersdorp
Vehicle: '16 Legend 45 DC 4x4M

Brake adjusters keep loosening

Post by mushroom »

Howzit gang....

Advice please.. everytime we go away into the bush and do gravel etc.. the rear brake adjusters slowly get looser and looser :thumbdown: :thumbdown: this in turn means the brakes get a little softer (I know theyre *a* to start with, but it gets a bit hairy !!), and the handbrake "clicks" go from 7-11, up to about 359 762 near my armpit somewhere!! :o: :o: :o:

Any advice on what I can do to prevent the brake adjusters from loosening whilst driving on bumpy stuff? on tar I have no problem..

Thanks in advance :thumbup:
Q20 if its stuck, duct tape if it moves :shock2: :shock2: :shock2:
Vehicle: 2002 3.0KZ-TE 4x4, Eazyawn RTT, Snorkel, NudgeM Bumper, 38mm Ball Joint Spacers, 35" Maxxis Bighorns, Dastek Unichip, 60 ltr Snomaster fridge/freezer, 40mm body lift, Mikem front/rear with extended shackles, Bilsteins shox rear

Re: Brake adjusters keep loosening

have you tried a drop of loctight maybe? :think:

Vehicle: '90 SFA Hilux DC 4X4, Full OME, 110mm lift. Brospeed branch, 50mm ss freeflow exhaust. 30 x 9.5 Discoverer S/T's on Viper mags. L/R tank. (AWOL) '98 LTD 2.4 SFA, dual battery system. Dobinson suspension, LR tanks, 31" BF mud's.

That little ratchet adjuster should move with a fair amount of difficulty .... I wonder if they are in correctly / right way around?

Might be a worthwhile exercise to remove the drums and see what's going on in there. :think:

Hiluxfan_111
Town: Muscat and Midrand
Vehicle: 2.7 Hilux 4x4

Post by Hiluxfan_111 »

I think Toyota has identified it as a problem on the earlier models.
My 1999 IFS has a non-return spring plate fitted. This means that the adjuster can only be tightened easily. To loosen it is a pain in the backside!
Donkey has a good idea! A drop of blue Locktite should do the trick.
Vehicle: '90 SFA Hilux DC 4X4, Full OME, 110mm lift. Brospeed branch, 50mm ss freeflow exhaust. 30 x 9.5 Discoverer S/T's on Viper mags. L/R tank. (AWOL) '98 LTD 2.4 SFA, dual battery system. Dobinson suspension, LR tanks, 31" BF mud's.

If you use Locktite you'll have to adjust the brakes manually as the pads wear. Rather get to the bottom of the problem .... the adjusters should tighten easy but be a little difficult to slacken off.

The "Ratchet plate" keeps it from loosening, i bend the tip of the plate slightly to get better contact on the adjuster-wheel and i hook the spring at the back of the shoe so that it pulls harder against the adjuster-wheel.
If you know you are going to do long gravel roads, you can strap a cable tie around it, just remove it again after your trip.
mushroom

Post by mushroom »

Thanks guys, will pull the drums off and have a look. On the 92 2.2 4Y there is not "spring" of any sort - perhaps I need to check the orientation - cant seem to find a hellavu lot of info in my workshop manual about this - anyone have some pics etc.. lying around - I have searched the forum but couldnt find anything...

Last resort is an anchor or parachute.... :laugh2: :laugh2:
Mars
Vehicle: Toyota Hilux Dakar 2.8 GD-6 DC 4X4

Post by Mars »

and a good insurance policy!!! :shock2:

Have a look at these ......

Brake drum RN36, RN46 models.pdf
(94.49 KiB) Downloaded 103 times
brake drum YN63 model.pdf
(147.36 KiB) Downloaded 108 times
Brake drum YN 65, YN 67 models.pdf
(86.32 KiB) Downloaded 121 times

;-)

mushroom

Post by mushroom »

Andy, as always...youre a legend...fanks :thumbup:
mushroom

Post by mushroom »

Eish, having opened up the rear drums it would appear Im short of a couple of parts......like all the ones circled in red....where do these all fit in??? can someone take a photo of the correct setup, cos this mushroom farmer is stumped..... :thumbdown: :thumbdown: :?: :?: :?:
Drum brake pic.jpg
Rianc
Vehicle: 2.8GD6 Double CabHilux 4X4

Post by Rianc »

Strangely enough, Toyota could never figure this out on my Vigo. After a service the breaks were responding as it should. After a week or say also had the handbrake touch the roof! My fortuner however does not do this, ready for the next service and I would not request a adjustment. You forum guys have so much experience, well done! :clap: :clap: :clap:

James
You will get all these missing parts in a spring kit from Gemini.Mine was also missing when i replace the rear brake shoes on my bakkie

mushroom

Post by mushroom »

Lollie, youre spot on there boet.....got the spring kit, and it had all those parts circled in red.....I just didn't know where they all went.....it started getting dark and cold (last Sat night..) and I threw the towel in..... :thumbdown: :thumbdown: :thumbdown: :thumbdown:

James i will e-mail a few pics to you-hopes it will help you