HELP !! 4y 7m

Here we discuss Hiluxes in general. Your view of the Hilux. For other general discussions please see "open Discussions" under the "Around the Campfire" heading.
Cubz
Vehicle: 1989 D/C EFI 4x4 Botswana spec .

HELP !! 4y 7m

Post by Cubz »

Hi all i need help ADVICE

My 4y motor is almost gone (Dead)

1 must i get 2nd hand 4y to replace
2 must i get 2nd hand 7m to replace

What should i do ?????????

Re: HELP !! 4y 7m

A 4YP is about R7000 now (from Commercial), all your ancillaries from your present motor will fit the this. :P

It will only take you a weekend to do the swap yourself if you can pull in another local member to assist you :wink:
The High Quality 4YP from Commercial

Hi Cubz,

There's 3 gangs hanging around on this forum...

1. The 4Y gangs - a conservative bunch, always hungry for more power, but have to be happy with 85-90Kw or so max
2. The 7MGE gang - always knocking the 4Y guys, cause they got the power, but they always seem to be busy fixing/modifying and tweaking their setups...
3. The 3RZ gang - so far they are the quietest(probably because they so content with there decision) and probably the smallest gang, but they all seem to be very happy!

2 other gangs(who tend to hide in the dark corners of the forum) exist, but we try not to mention them, the Lexus V8 gang, they're overpowering and tend to break stuff, ... and the Mazda 2.5TD Diesel gang, they are rare and are not often encountered, like UFO sighting...

Staying with the 4Y(2.2 Straight 4) is the safest bet, a reliable option, costing the least, if you need more power then u could consider EFi.

The 7MGE(3L 24V Straight 6) is a serious powerplant, the guys that have em love em, but the conversion costs are pretty high and if the conversion is not done right, you will have endless issues and niggles...

The 3RZ(2.7L Straight 4) is a great option, it comes pretty close to the power of the 7MGE, is a bullet proof engine that has proven itself capable of piling up over 500 000 km, but again conversion cost are high(around 30K) and if the conversion is not done right, you will have endless issues and niggles...

Each gang(4Y, 7MGE, 3RZ) will no doubt pitch in to sway your decision...

EDITED... Oh I forgot the Coenie gang, sometimes called the 'Ford V6' or 'Vrot V6' gang, they're a noisy bunch, always trying to get there 2cents worth in, I have heard them being referred to as the 'Rook-En-Kook' gang by our AFR members... enough said... I'm sure they will chime in...

King Rat

Post by King Rat »

snipes wrote:EDITED... Oh I forgot the Coenie gang, sometimes called the 'Ford V6' or 'Vrot V6' gang, they're a noisy bunch, always trying to get there 2cents worth in, I have heard them being referred to as the 'Rook-En-Kook' gang by our AFR members... enough said... I'm sure they will chime in...
We are a dying breed sure, old school hardnoses and that just makes us more valuable. :shifty:
More power than a 3RZ but less than a 7MGE, we slot in nicely into no-man's-land :twisted:
AND, we've got TWO more pussrods than the 4Y, that says a lot... :roll:

No seriously, Cubz, go for the 4Y, less hassle and much less cost. But like Kaspaas says, consider what you want to use it for and then decide.
Datsun GX Coupe 1200
99 Subaru Legacy GT
07 Alfa Romeo GT 3.2 V6

Lampropeltis getula californiae, Orthriophis taeniura friesi, Morelia spilota, Python brongersmai, Epicrates chenchria maurus, Python regius

Cubz wrote:Hi all i need help ADVICE

My 4y motor is almost gone (Dead)

1 must i get 2nd hand 4y to replace
2 must i get 2nd hand 7m to replace

What should i do ?????????
The short answer is...
Fix/replace your 4Y... Unless you want to build a mean machine Hilux then you go 7mge or Lexus V8... See us 7MGE guys dont alway knock you 4Y guys... :shock: :twisted: :twisted: :twisted: we just feel sorry for you... :twisted: :twisted: :twisted:

The long answer is, once you've made up your mind what you want to do with the vehicle, you decide on what power you need. If you want a good all-rounder, stay standard or as close to it as possible. If you want a trail vehicle/obstacle destoyer then you up the ante on the power. Even there you have several options, from EFI to a complete new motor, the choice is yours.

7MGE and Ford V6 was the answer in the 80's/90's when they were the only serious options available to improve power. It does not mean they are now obsolete, but you should really weigh up all options before making a decision to convert your hilux. Conversions are costly, time consuming and frustrating, BUT once they are sorted, they are sweet... :thumbup: :thumbup:

Nowadays we are being spoilt for choice, with more and more engines becoming available through engine importers. Some are good but a lot of it is junk being dumped here.

My advice? Stick to the short answer... :shock: :thumbup: :thumbup:

What did I tell u, they're so predictable...

3 gangs have made statement here:

DadzToy - unashamed leader of the 4Y gang, an affiliate member of the Korean and Chinese mafia, Commercial Parts sponsor...

KingRat - reluctant leader of the Ford gang, ducktails enol, some day wishes to join the 7MGE or Lexus gang, in real life he's an Alfa fanatic!

KasPaas - outspoken leader of the new world toyota straight 6 order, secretly he wishes to join the Lexus gang, but well, he's not telling!(yes Thys I can read your thoughts)

I told you the 3RZ gang is quiet(seriously)...

...and the Lexus gang is out trashing an obstacle somewhere...
...they only check in when something breaks, so they here quite often...

Oh and by the way the only reason Thys is being kind is cause we're having drinks tomorrow afternoon, and he'd like to avoid any 4Y/7MGE gang altercations!

snipes wrote:What did I tell u, they're so predictable...

3 gangs have made statement here:

DadzToy - unashamed leader of the 4Y gang, an affiliate member of the Korean and Chinese mafia, Commercial Parts sponsor...
The 4Y'ers Asian Gang would be proud to have you in the ranks Cubz :thumbup:

Just one or two Initiation Details to get outa the way first :twisted:
snipes wrote: ......................... we're having drinks tomorrow afternoon, and he'd like to avoid any 4Y/7MGE gang altercations!
Does that mean Oom Thys is buying the 4Y'ers Members a round or two :shock: :o: :thumbup:

snipes wrote:KasPaas - outspoken leader of the new world toyota straight 6 order, secretly he wishes to join the Lexus gang, but well, he's not telling!(yes Thys I can read your thoughts)
Your reading glasses are durty dude... my next move is Ford Ranger...
snipes wrote: Oh and by the way the only reason Thys is being kind is cause we're having drinks tomorrow afternoon, and he'd like to avoid any 4Y/7MGE gang altercations!
I am always kind Britney, come on now, dont be so nasty now... :thumbdown: :twisted: :twisted: :twisted:

Ps... Britz

I'm just an Asian 4Y'ers foot soldier nê, his Holiness issues his orders from afar (1300kms North ) :o:
Cubz

Post by Cubz »

This is my problem

We do a lot of opsticles and fund raising days
traveling a lot so long destance will be alot

I've got an 4y EFI + MR Turbo cant complain actualy very happy with it

But the money is small

I can get a good 4y motor R4000 Build all my goodies over (4y power)
I can get a 7m R3000 + couple of modds (7m Power)
I Can rebuild my 4y R ?

Cubz wrote:I can get a 7m R3000 + couple of modds (7m Power)
Double that amount + R10 and then add another 33% for unforeseen expenses and you'll get close to a ball-park figure for the conversion.. :twisted: :twisted:

Fix the 4Y... :thumbup: :thumbup:

I posted a reply here last night, but it seems to have disappeared :confused:

In one word...

Stick to proven reliability, don't worry about building a sports car ;)

OR

Be prepared to spend LOTS of Moolah ($$$) to build a brute machine. There is no cheap way of doing this.

Cubz

Post by Cubz »

Did some phoning around

Looks like the 4y is going to be FIXED

Dankie vir al die raad

Jy sal nie spyt wees as daai 4Y enjin reg is en terug is in sy plek nie..... :thumbup: :thumbup:
hentey
Town: worcester
Vehicle: 2700i 4x4

Post by hentey »

I told you the 3RZ gang is quiet(seriously)...

We have absolutely nothing to moan or complain about.We as a gang are all proud owners of the perfect vehicle.Some day all of you will be here where we are,enjoying that quiet heavenly feeling,knowing that you are part of a very fortunate bunch of people.Life is great thank you :silent: :silent: :silent:

pssst Hentey.. ahem.. ek sien daai heppie pilletjies werk lekker... ek wil ook he... :twisted: :twisted: :twisted:

Hentey's on ProZac... for sure!

snipes wrote:Hentey's on ProZac... for sure!
Who needs that when they've got a 3RZ-FE :?: :o:

Didn't you know the scientific name for ProZac is 3RZ-FE!

Geesh, come on!
3RZ
Vehicle: 2004 Legend 35 Hilux 2.7 DC 4x4

Post by 3RZ »

That's why the 3RZ gang is so relaxed :wink: no worries.

Haaaa!

So far we have had words from the following SFA gangs:

1. The 4Y gang... thanks Richard... :thumbup:
2. The 7MGE gang... dankie Thys... :thumbup:
3. The Ford V6 gang... ja Coenie... (with only 2 known members... :wth: a dying breed)
4. The 3RZ (they are so cool, calm and collected 8 )

The only 2.5 TD Mazda(known) member, Hoppy, has been around, but has failed to comment... he's pretty shy... :shifty:

The Lexus guys trashed the dump, and broke numerous gearbox and drivetrain parts, therefore they will only comment later(maybe)... :mrgreen:

Boss2
Town: Alberton
Vehicle: 2 x 2 voete

Post by Boss2 »

snipes wrote:Hi Cubz,

There's 3 gangs hanging around on this forum...

1. The 4Y gangs - a conservative bunch, always hungry for more power, but have to be happy with 85-90Kw or so max
2. The 7MGE gang - always knocking the 4Y guys, cause they got the power, but they always seem to be busy fixing/modifying and tweaking their setups...
3. The 3RZ gang - so far they are the quietest(probably because they so content with there decision) and probably the smallest gang, but they all seem to be very happy!

2 other gangs(who tend to hide in the dark corners of the forum) exist, but we try not to mention them, the Lexus V8 gang, they're overpowering and tend to break stuff, ... and the Mazda 2.5TD Diesel gang, they are rare and are not often encountered, like UFO sighting...

Each gang(4Y, 7MGE, 3RZ) will no doubt pitch in to sway your decision...

EDITED... Oh I forgot the Coenie gang, sometimes called the 'Ford V6' or 'Vrot V6' gang, they're a noisy bunch, always trying to get there 2cents worth in, I have heard them being referred to as the 'Rook-En-Kook' gang by our AFR members... enough said... I'm sure they will chime in...

Your short term memory really let's you down :lol: :lol:
There's also THE KZTE gang!!! :twisted: :twisted:

Boss, we are talking SFA's here, do you have an SFA with a KZTE in? If so you're right, but then again it would probably be such a rare conversion that it might not get a mention??

Maybe you can slacken the Niche a little and acknowledge the smokers

6. The DeiselKop Gang (as in Toyota Deisels not Inferior TD's) :o: :roll:
Boss2

Post by Boss2 »

snipes wrote:Boss, we are talking SFA's here, do you have an SFA with a KZTE in? If so you're right, but then again it would probably be such a rare conversion that it might not get a mention??

It's called discrimination!!!!!! :P :P
Boss2

Post by Boss2 »

Dadz Toy BFI wrote:Maybe you can slacken the Niche a little and acknowledge the smokers

6. The DeiselKop Gang (as in Toyota Deisels not Inferior TD's) :o: :roll:
:lol: :lol:

:oops: :oops:

DAMN!

Boss, now you got me wondering, can a KZTE be retro fitted to a SFA, or what about a D4D??

snipes wrote:Boss, now you got me wondering, can a KZTE be retro fitted to a SFA, or what about a D4D??

yes and the KZTE conversion has been done.... we even have pics of such an SFA on this here website.. Search and ye shall find... :twisted: :twisted: :twisted: I havent heard of a D4D conversion yet though.. but i am sure it is possible. :twisted: :twisted: :twisted:

The failing injectors story and associated cost of repair would put me off a D4D conversion! Anyway a 2nd hand 3L D4D is exceptionally expensive to start with...

I believe in 'tried and tested'... 4Y EFi... 7MGE... 3.4V6 Prado... 3RZ-FE... FordV6... Lexus V8... and if you really want a diesel... 2.5TD Mazda!

I sure Allan is going to teach us petrol heads a thing or 2 when his SFA 2.5 Diesel is fully restored, it's running, he's just sorting out some odds and ends(like the brakes... not related to the motor, remember a mech's own vehicle is always last in line).

Allan will teach you petrol heads a thing or 2 with a Datsun 1200 bakkie... :shock: :twisted: :twisted:

For sure! But Datsun will be totally wrecked in no time!

B :thumbup:

snipes wrote:... 3.4V6 Prado...

5VZ-FE :!: (was not only used in Prado's) :roll:

Correct! It was originally used in the following vehicles:

Toyota Tacoma
Toyota Tundra
Toyota T-100
Toyota 4Runner
Toyota Land Cruiser Prado
Toyota Granvia

I just couldn't remember the code...

snipes wrote:Correct! It was originally used in the following vehicles:

Toyota Tacoma
Toyota Tundra
Toyota T-100
Toyota 4Runner
Toyota Land Cruiser Prado
Toyota Granvia

I just couldn't remember the code...

The 4Runner I've driven and it's 100% Hilux wearing a hardgat, that's why It's the perfect SFA conversion for those who nedd a little more uuuuuuuuuuuuuuumph :o: :P (one day :wink: )
hentey
Town: worcester
Vehicle: 2700i 4x4

Post by hentey »

snipes wrote:Hentey's on ProZac... for sure!
Elke end van die maand dan moet ons as werkgewers ons werknemers betaal met geld wat ons nog nie het nie.Dan drink ons sulke pink pilletjies en bel die bank sodat ons heel in beheer klink en glad nie stres nie Die nadeel van die pienk pilletjies is dat jy in jou broek skyt maar dit pla jou nie eintlik nie. :wth: :wth: :wth: :wth:

The 3VZ-FE is a great motor, but the fitment is an issue, all the water pipes/radiator connector are setup for a front wheel drive platkar!

snipes wrote:The 3VZ-FE is a great motor, but the fitment is an issue, all the water pipes/radiator connector are setup for a front wheel drive platkar!B
If you Google 3VZ-FE you'll find lots of okes dissapointed with its power output and tendency to eat HD's; thus there's plenty okes swapping their 3VZ's for 5VZ's :o: :shock:

hentey wrote:I told you the 3RZ gang is quiet(seriously)...

We have absolutely nothing to moan or complain about.We as a gang are all proud owners of the perfect vehicle.Some day all of you will be here where we are,enjoying that quiet heavenly feeling,knowing that you are part of a very fortunate bunch of people.Life is great thank you :silent: :silent: :silent:

Must be truth in this. As a 2700i owner, I even forgot I have such a vehicle, but I am quite vociferous (that means "noisy", varkie... ) about the 4Y! :mrgreen:

[quote="Family_Dog]...but I am quite vociferous (that means "noisy", varkie... ) about the 4Y! :mrgreen: -F_D[/quote]

Maybe it is because the 4Y SFA Hilux'es were the first convoy of double cabs to conquer the Namib Desert in 1987/88 when the Double cab was launched... :thumbup: :thumbup:

Now that is why I am proud of My Hilux :thumbup:

JohanM wrote: Now that is why I am proud of My Hilux :thumbup:
Right-eous bro :thumbup: :thumbup:

(ps... got any literature on that Namib conquest :?: )

Dadz Toy BFI wrote:(ps... got any literature on that Namib conquest :?: )
Rich not anymore.... :thumbdown: :thumbdown: I used to have it until he had to move and then we had to get rid off a lot of old magazines ect. :shock:

I will try to get hold of it though, but dont know if anybody still would have such old magazines...... :think: :wink:

JohanM wrote: I will try to get hold of it though, but dont know if anybody still would have such old magazines...... :think: :wink:
Would be great to read it, I'd really appreciate it if a copy surfaced :P

I'm often tickled by misquotes and the completely overinflated claims by LR Stalwarts :shock:

ie.

"During WWII The SAS's birth and tremendous success in Northern Africa was due to their go anywhere Land Rovers"

The SAS actually used Willies Jeeps, had they had LR's oi, yoi, yoi............. :roll: :roll:
Hiluxman
Town: Kyalami
Vehicle: '89 SFA DC Botswana Spec

Post by Hiluxman »

Sorry guys, but I have to vote for 7M, if you do it yourself, it can be very cost effective and reliable - did mine, after selling 4Y and recovering R4500, for about R12 000 - I still have the Excel file to substantiate the cost summary (from 2005).

The 7M is smooth, powerful, and better on fuel thann original 4Y if driven fairly rapidly - 4Y under low load is more economical if you can bear it.

However - I have to agree - I would put more money on the 4Y's reliability - not that I have had trouble with the 7m after about 30 000km.

BenHur? Why are so quiet on this one?
'89 Hilux DC 7mge Cressida Conversion
'96 Land Cruiser GX 4.5 OME Suspension, ECB bull bar and Warn Winch
'05 Subaru Forester 2.5 XS Premium

Wel kom ek stel dit so my platkar (Pajero) het ook 6 cylinders. 6 cylinders doen dit darem net vir my, geen 4 cylinder sal jou ooit sulke hoendervleis kan gee nie :clap: :clap:

Return to “General Hilux Discussions”