DIFFERENCES- 2005 to 2014 Hilux

Here we discuss Hiluxes in general. Your view of the Hilux. For other general discussions please see "open Discussions" under the "Around the Campfire" heading.
LongHorn
Town: Richards Bay
Vehicle: 2014 3.0 D4D Toyota Hilux 4x4 Auto

DIFFERENCES- 2005 to 2014 Hilux

Post by LongHorn »

Having owned the Hilux when it was first launched in 2005 I spot I few positive/negative differences but I could be wrong. 1- the height position of the drivers seat has increased for much better visibility. Prior model - no height adjustment - very poor visibility for us the shorter folk. 2- turning circle has been much improved /getting into & out of parking a breeze - now - prior - I struggled in in busy malls(guess the reverse camera helps). 3- Back then I was a big sound fanatic. All my vehicles were done Precision Audio who were the JL Audio distributors so I know a little about sound quality. To me, there is a very big drop in sound quality of the stereo system. A Pet hate for some like me. that's my next project when I have some time.
optirite
Town: Hartbeespoort Dam
Vehicle: 1993 80 Series Land Cruiser (3UZ-VVTi)
Club VHF Licence: J91

Re: DIFFERENCES- 2005 to 2014 Hilux

Post by optirite »

And the bodywork of the new Hilux is soooo soft that should you walk past and fart it will dent.

Also reach into the wheel arch and put your finger into one of the many holes in the chassis and see how much thinner it is.
Image kiss kiss
Harold
Town: Howick
Vehicle: 1998 Hi-lux 2,4 S/cab (p); 1997 Hi-lux 2,4 D/cab (p)

Post by Harold »

Quite frankly the points you mentioned are of no consequence, in spite of the fact I cannot comment on the post 1998 Hilux’s
But:
- for me seat height is not a problem,
- turning circle, also not a problem: just adjust the turning stops;
- as for sound; I have a Hilux not a taxi! I have no sound!

The old SFA Hilux’s is a true 4x4, not a compromise of 4x4 come luxury car.
I can work on my Hilux which saves me a barrow load of money that also teaches me what to do when problems occur in the bush.
They are rugged, solid and just keep on going.

Bottom line: I would never swop my old SFA Hilux. At 374236 km it has taken me through a good chunk of Africa and will continue to do so for the next 374000 plus kilometres.

P.S. I have done over a million KM in my Hilux’s. They are not the ‘Best 4x4 by far’ they are the ‘Ultimate 4x4's’.
Harold (Greytown, KZN)
http://www.alib.co.za/hilux.html" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
LongHorn
Town: Richards Bay
Vehicle: 2014 3.0 D4D Toyota Hilux 4x4 Auto

Post by LongHorn »

THANKS Harold for your positive response. These were merely observations of improvements to me with the exception of the degrade in stereo quality for the more discerning owners /prospective buyers out there.
ROOFER
Town: grassy park cape town
Vehicle: 99 s/c hilux 4x4 2.7i long range tank & dual battery; 2003 nissan x-TRAIL (4X4)

Post by ROOFER »

:laugh2: :laugh2: :laugh2: now now boys play nicely :!: :!: :laugh2:
Mars
Vehicle: Toyota Hilux Dakar 2.8 GD-6 DC 4X4

Post by Mars »

I have a 2006 3.0 D4D DC 4x4. A couple of improvements over time (in my opinion anyway and bearing in mind that all of us have differing tastes and intended uses for our vehicles) are:
Steering wheel controls (this and speed control were the only features I missed from my Merc C 200 Kompressor when I upgraded to the lux)
Speed control
The ability to adjust brightness of instrument cluster lights - the space is there but is blanked off. (could never understand why this was omitted)
Passenger slide-out cup holder in dash (space also blanked off)
Lockable tailgate
Plastic splash guard inside front right wheel well.

Some not so good changes. Mine came out without a Diesel Particulate Filter and 15 inch tyres are better for sand driving than the larger rims of later models.

Are you sure about the turning circle? I wonder what they would have changed to the front suspension and steering components to achieve that. I was under the impression that they are all the same.

It would also be really interesting to see if the body panels are thicker. Somehow I doubt that. The large surface area of the body panels and tailgate make them more vulnerable to dents. Even closing the tailgate incorrectly has caused it to dent.
Baasvark
Town: Virginia
Vehicle: '97 D/C with all the trimmings & 2011 Troopy

Post by Baasvark »

Harold I agree with you 100%.
The new luxes are nice + comfortable - no doubt that they are good vehicles.
However I do hesitate to break wind in close proximity to said vehicle.
I like the "old school" robustness of thr SFA.
I would like the newer engines in it even more if that were possible but I guess you can"t have it all.
With regards to Longhorns more "discerning" taste, well I guess we have to respect that. Some prefer to be comfortable above all else. Nothing wrong with that!
Aint it ironic that "Common Sense" aint so common after all...
Christian Kuun
Vehicle: 2008 Tuna V6 4x4 Manual

Post by Christian Kuun »

Read the TITLE. LongHorn is discussing the Hilux between 2005 and 2014. Tossing in your opinions on the SFA has absolutely no relevance and we might as well start discussing Cruisers, Isuzus, Fords, heck even Unimogs etc because the SFA is also a complete different vehicle.

Why is it that you always get the "Daars net een en dis n Hilux pappie" guys when someone asks to compare a Merc and a Beemer saloon? Or the "my 308 skiet enige ding mors vrek in die hol pappa" when a bloke discusses the merits of 300Win Mag vs 300H&H?
Wynkop Kuun

O82 6l5 8lO5
Baasvark

Post by Baasvark »

Christian Kuun wrote:Read the TITLE. LongHorn is discussing the Hilux between 2005 and 2014. Tossing in your opinions on the SFA has absolutely no relevance and we might as well start discussing Cruisers, Isuzus, Fords, heck even Unimogs etc because the SFA is also a complete different vehicle.

Why is it that you always get the "Daars net een en dis n Hilux pappie" guys when someone asks to compare a Merc and a Beemer saloon? Or the "my 308 skiet enige ding mors vrek in die hol pappa" when a bloke discusses the merits of 300Win Mag vs 300H&H?
No need to get worked up about it. From what I gather it was all friendly banter in good spirit!
Chill boet, no one said that "there's only one and it's a hilux" blah blah bla. If you read carefully you will note that one of the previous posters mentioned that it appeared as the bodies of the newer luxes were even softer than before.... and that's probably why the SFA was brought into the discussion.

Surely we are adult enough to humour each other?

No need to get your nickers in a twist. Relax!

By the way - my response was just a humerous stab @ longhorn who stated that the more "discerning" buyer prefers the newer luxes. All in good spirit.

my 308 skiet enige ding mors vrek in die hol pappa
Feite bly feite :twisted: :angel: :surrender:
Oupa Stig
Town: Johannesbug
Vehicle: Hilux KZTE 4X2 "Stagger Lee", Hilux IFS 2.7 4x4 "Loretta"

Post by Oupa Stig »

Jy kan mos nie 'n man blameer as hy so trots is op sy SFA dat hy die titel van die thread verkeerd lees nie...
But back to the interesting original question:
I feel a lot less wise at 45 than I did at 15.
Christian Kuun

Post by Christian Kuun »

I didn't mean it as an uik@k but rather as a guide because 90% of all the technical threads wonder of course in less than 3 posts. You know, like Julius says "Fôkas peoples, fôkas".

I am not worked up maar as julle boggerol weet van die nuwe beter Hilux nie, gaan praat oor vuil skoene wanneer jy nog moet uiklim om hubs te lock in Open Discussions :twisted: (and this is VERY tongue in cheek :beg: )

Klaskaptein signing out
Wynkop Kuun

O82 6l5 8lO5
Dewald Posthumus
Vehicle: 2008 Toyota Hilux 3.0D4d 4x4

Post by Dewald Posthumus »

Safety upgrades:
Pre-Sept 2008 - Dual airbags for driver and passenger
Post-Sept 2008 - Curtain airbags added

Interior:
Pre-Sept 2008 - Knobs for fans and heater etc. Narrower front seats, especially back rest
Post-Sept 2008 - Electronic buttons (with climate control?), Upgraded to much wider seats, Leather steering wheel and gear knob
Post-March 2012 - Upgraded radio, what else?

Exterior:
Pre-Sept 2008 - 15 inch rims
Post-Sept 2008 - Minor facelift, lockable tailgate, upgraded brakes & 16 inch rims to accomodate new calipers
Post-March 2012 - 17 inch rims - I take it that it had another brake upgrade?, upgrade to intercooler air intake scoop, does that mean upgrade to intercooler?
Baasvark

Post by Baasvark »

george wrote:
my 308 skiet enige ding mors vrek in die hol pappa
Feite bly feite :twisted: :angel: :surrender:
:lol: :lol: :lol: :thumbup: :thumbup: :thumbup:

Jy't nog nie my 7 x 64 gesien nie..... :lol:
Baasvark

Post by Baasvark »

Christian Kuun wrote:I didn't mean it as an uik@k but rather as a guide because 90% of all the technical threads wonder of course in less than 3 posts. You know, like Julius says "Fôkas peoples, fôkas".

I am not worked up maar as julle boggerol weet van die nuwe beter Hilux nie, gaan praat oor vuil skoene wanneer jy nog moet uiklim om hubs te lock in Open Discussions :twisted: (and this is VERY tongue in cheek :beg: )

Klaskaptein signing out
No worries mate :thumbup:

:tongue: :tongue: :tongue: :lol:
Mars
Vehicle: Toyota Hilux Dakar 2.8 GD-6 DC 4X4

Post by Mars »

As far as I know the front brakes were upgraded once to larger calipers. The pads are the same shape but larger. I also think the interfooler is the same, the channel underneath the wider scoop narrows down to the intercooler.

I forgot about the automatic climate control. That was also a worthwhile upgrade. Mine is either hot or cold.
Kaspaas
Vehicle: 1998 Land Cruiser 105series GX

Post by Kaspaas »

Lekker Wynkop Kuun!!

:stir:

:surrender:

:lol:
1998 Toyota land Cruiser 105 series. 4.2 D

"I am human, I make mistakes, and that is okay, I have my own permission."
Christian Kuun

Post by Christian Kuun »

Kaspaas, dit was maar n stadige dag in die kantoor. Ons stir dan maar....
Wynkop Kuun

O82 6l5 8lO5

Return to “General Hilux Discussions”