my hilux REBUILD in progress

Rider
Town: Richards Bay
Vehicle: 1987 Toyota Hilux 4x4 d/c 40mm body lift, KZ-TE Diff with Diff lock, Snorkel, 31" AT tyres , Powered by FORD 3.0 V6 uprated.

Post by Rider »

HI guys see where i've been lost :clap: :clap: :clap: :lol: :D: :evil:
IMG00110-20120221-1803.jpg
IMG00109-20120221-1803.jpg
IMG00097-20120221-1256.jpg
IMG00081-20120221-1024.jpg
IMG00056-20120220-1211.jpg
IMG00035-20120215-1028.jpg
IMG00032-20120215-1018.jpg
IMG00002-20120221-1710.jpg
PROUD OWNER OF A TOYOTA HILUX AKA AMA-HIPZ
Rider
Vehicle: 1987 Toyota Hilux 4x4 d/c 40mm body lift, KZ-TE Diff with Diff lock, Snorkel, 31" AT tyres , Powered by FORD 3.0 V6 uprated.

Re: my hilux REBUILD in progress

Post by Rider »

more pics
IMG00138-20120222-1610.jpg
IMG00137-20120222-1601.jpg
IMG00136-20120222-1601.jpg
IMG00130-20120222-1050.jpg
IMG00125-20120222-0922.jpg
IMG00121-20120222-0757.jpg
519franco
Town: Richards bay
Vehicle: 87 Hilux 3L v6 Ford

Post by 519franco »

Why am i the only wit ou there

when you puttin a better hart let say
HAPPILY BUILD 3L V6 1987 TOYOTA HILUX
viewtopic.php?f=136&t=18393" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
FORD> Full Off Road Damnation
FORD> Its not oil leaks,, its swearing power
Sponser: MY DAD
Builder: ME: FRANCO DU PLESSIS
Rider

Post by Rider »

lol you blending in!!! i think the heart it has now is fine....i just want my bakkie to move again ASAP!!!!!:'(
519franco

Post by 519franco »

fri and sat i can help you alot my chik going on a staff camp
Rider

Post by Rider »

That's awesome news lol
Theodorus
Town: Honeydew Jhb
Vehicle: HILUX

Post by Theodorus »

So cool how do you find the time to do this

---
I am here: http://maps.google.com/maps?ll=-24.207895,28.729853" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
Mylux

519franco wrote:Why am i the only wit ou there

when you puttin a better hart let say
Hi Franco

Do i miss something?Where is the hose clamp on the water pipe to the engine?

519franco

Post by 519franco »

yea ive relized that lol
Rider

Post by Rider »

Theodorus wrote:So cool how do you find the time to do this

---
I am here: http://maps.google.com/maps?ll=-24.207895,28.729853" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
Mylux
Hey boet I'm a student working part time. I only live for my bakkie!!!
Rider

Post by Rider »

hows this for motivation...my dad tells me i"m messing his yard and house and says on stupid people do what i'm doing cause we mad :twisted: :thumbdown: :thumbdown: :twisted: he didnt even help me one bit not even offer me a screwdriver :alvarin: :naah: :blackeye:
Rider

Post by Rider »

i currently hit a dend end for now :thumbdown: :alvarin: the engine mounting brackets has to move approx. 70mm back so my 4Y can mount on the chassis the I need to weld to brackets for the load bin and 2 bracket for the cab and the handbrake now i"m thinking maybe it was a single cab chassis :oops: :x :twisted: :crazy: :think:
519franco

Post by 519franco »

No one give a shit luke they all know in a few months it gana be in repair again as like i say cheap crap toyota
Kaspaas
Vehicle: 1998 Land Cruiser 105series GX

Post by Kaspaas »

519franco wrote:No one give a doo-doo luke they all know in a few months it gana be in repair again as like i say cheap crap toyota
Stadig nou Franco, jy gaan die ou oomies ontstel met sulke kras woorde! :lol:

Niemand het n probleem met jou 6 prop nie, hulle is net in verkeerde vorm, jy kort eintlik n LANG 6! :twisted: :twisted:
1998 Toyota land Cruiser 105 series. 4.2 D

"I am human, I make mistakes, and that is okay, I have my own permission."
519franco

Post by 519franco »

Kaspaas wrote:
519franco wrote:No one give a doo-doo luke they all know in a few months it gana be in repair again as like i say cheap crap toyota

Niemand het n probleem met jou 6 prop nie, hulle is net in verkeerde vorm, jy kort eintlik n LANG 6! :twisted: :twisted:
yea but Luke was hoping people will be intressted but you guys arnt .. you guys are hard core hilux fans but dont care if a young member is building up one by himself
Rider

Post by Rider »

519franco wrote:
Kaspaas wrote:

yea but Luke was hoping people will be intressted but you guys arnt .. you guys are hard core hilux fans but dont care if a young member is building up one by himself
:blackeye: That how the cookie crumbles bru don't stress
Rebel 4x4
Vehicle: 2020 Toyota Fortuner GD-6 4x4 Auto

Post by Rebel 4x4 »

Rider wrote:i currently hit a dend end for now :thumbdown: :alvarin: the engine mounting brackets has to move approx. 70mm back so my 4Y can mount on the chassis the I need to weld to brackets for the load bin and 2 bracket for the cab and the handbrake now i"m thinking maybe it was a single cab chassis :oops: :x :twisted: :crazy: :think:
Sounds like the same mods my uncle had to do when he used the "low rider hilux bakkie" cab on his 4x4 chassis after he rolled his bakkie down the Baviaans in 2000.
Sent from my iPhone
Rebel 4x4
Vehicle: 2020 Toyota Fortuner GD-6 4x4 Auto

Post by Rebel 4x4 »

Lyk my jy moet eerder jou Hilux verkoop en na 'n FROD forum toe gaan..... :twisted:
Sent from my iPhone
Kaspaas

Post by Kaspaas »

Geez Franco, just pulling your leg mate! :thumbup:
I follow this thread intensely! It allready has over 200 veiws!

If i knew more about bodywork I would deffinately comment on this thread. I followed your "Baby in the making" aswell. And enjoyed it intensely. Well done on that! :thumbup:

Hey Luke, hope all gets sorted soon. :thumbup: I had a 1972 Chev Luv (Bloudraad en tang model) for more than 15years! And I recon I am not that much older than you! :think:

Rider

Post by Rider »

hahahaha well Franco hooked me up with a welder from his work to come sort my chassis out :D: can't wait!!! :thumbup: will be done on friday afternoon hopefully :think: :silent: :clap:
Rider

Post by Rider »

:blackeye: so far
lol had too see if i need to weld brackets for bin which i need to do!!!
IMG00184-20120226-0643.jpg
she got wheels
IMG00156-20120224-1155.jpg
IMG00155-20120224-1103.jpg
Kaspaas

Post by Kaspaas »

Goeie werk Luke!

Jy sien kans vir baie meer as ek! :o:

Kaspaas

Post by Kaspaas »

Rebel 4x4 wrote:
Lyk my jy moet eerder jou Hilux verkoop en na 'n FROD forum toe gaan..... :twisted:

:silent:

519franco

Post by 519franco »

Cobus i know what you mean but You have to admit that when you post something you proud of and alot off people are intrested and comment on it . make you want to work harder bt now only 5 people including look comentrs on his van . make you think that the members of this forum doesnt care much on us young members

Am i right or wrong
519franco

Post by 519franco »

Rebel 4x4 wrote:
One day when i got no time on my hands to repair stuff...
But man this is what i got and iam proud of wat i made and no1 can take that away from me.
this is what ive done with my two hands viewtopic.php?f=136&t=18393" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
After that my Hilux AKA Frakenstein got sentamental Value to me...
Thats why ill strugle to sell it its my baby

You guys are waaaaay to hard on yourselves......

I can only sit and admire all the hard work that goes into such a project :thumbup:

Me, I would / could not even attempt such a project, as I do not have half the know-how, let alone the time!

Respect :!:

So what did you guys get up to today :?:

Hmmmm.....surfing....me thinks.... :mocking: :mocking: :mocking:
Kaspaas

Post by Kaspaas »

Luke, When I still had a S/C I wanted to fit a "platkar" D/C body to the chassis.

If I understand your cross-over build, is that a normal 4x2 D/C body does not just bolt on to a 4x4 D/C chassis?? :think:
How can this be?
Is it a difference in year model maybe? :think:

And all the while long, I had this dream of bolting on a Hi-Ace body onto a Hilux 4x4 chassis! :blushing:

Rider

Post by Rider »

hmmm :think: not sure have to find out, though cuople taxi drives stopped me adn they wanted my bakkie to fit a HI ACE body on apparently it fits perfectly , you just have to put smaller wheels
Rider

Post by Rider »

lol small update time :arrow: :yahoo:
IMG00174-20120225-1236.jpg
IMG00256-20120304-1226.jpg
IMG00253-20120304-1225.jpg
IMG00241-20120302-1446.jpg
IMG00227-20120229-1618.jpg
IMG00219-20120229-1023.jpg
IMG00221-20120229-1047.jpg
IMG00215-20120227-2007.jpg
Vehicle: '90 SFA Hilux DC 4X4, Full OME, 110mm lift. Brospeed branch, 50mm ss freeflow exhaust. 30 x 9.5 Discoverer S/T's on Viper mags. L/R tank. (AWOL) '98 LTD 2.4 SFA, dual battery system. Dobinson suspension, LR tanks, 31" BF mud's.

Unfortunately when you strip a vehicle right down like that, more often than not, you find a lot more problems than you anticipated. But at least then you know what they are or repair then straight away which can badly affect your budget. Looks like you're starting to reassemble ... what did you do with the body rust?

Hope all goes well from here on. ;-)

Rider

Post by Rider »

:alvarin: yeah didn't expect so much mods :banned: :thumbdown: but started to re assemble :thumbup: my old body is still around; i'm thinking maybe take it to reclamation and get it recycled and the old bin aswell
519franco

Post by 519franco »

Rider wrote::alvarin: yeah didn't expect so much mods :banned: :thumbdown: but started to re assemble :thumbup: my old body is still around; i'm thinking maybe take it to reclamation and get it recycled and the old bin aswell
when can i pik up the jack
Vehicle: '90 SFA Hilux DC 4X4, Full OME, 110mm lift. Brospeed branch, 50mm ss freeflow exhaust. 30 x 9.5 Discoverer S/T's on Viper mags. L/R tank. (AWOL) '98 LTD 2.4 SFA, dual battery system. Dobinson suspension, LR tanks, 31" BF mud's.

Rider wrote::alvarin: yeah didn't expect so much mods :banned: :thumbdown: but started to re assemble :thumbup: my old body is still around; i'm thinking maybe take it to reclamation and get it recycled and the old bin aswell
Oh, so obviously then you got a replacement body .... just didn't see that mentioned here before. Cool. :thumbup:

Rider

Post by Rider »

soory man heres pics of my new body
IMG00013-20120213-1532.jpg
IMG00015-20120213-1533.jpg
IMG00014-20120213-1532.jpg
IMG00010-20120213-1532.jpg
519franco

Post by 519franco »

ama hips
Rider

Post by Rider »

these some stuff i got for sale at the moment there will be more after i finish build my bakkie
IMG00278-20120306-1010.jpg
IMG00279-20120306-1010_renamed_16824.jpg
IMG00280-20120306-1022.jpg
IMG00281-20120306-1023.jpg
Rider

Post by Rider »

:mexwave: :mexwave: :mafia:
519franco wrote:ama hips
Rider

Post by Rider »

when can i pik up the jack[/quote]

uhm I still need to sort the front leafs out :thumbdown:
519franco

Post by 519franco »

my ballie gona kill us
Kaspaas

Post by Kaspaas »

Luke, you don't maybe have an extra "gearlever rubber boot" laying around?
It has to be the boot that takes the 4x4 and gear lever!
:beg:

Rider

Post by Rider »

Kaspaas wrote:Luke, you don't maybe have an extra "gearlever rubber boot" laying around?
:thumbdown: only this one :arrow:
gear boot.jpg

Rider wrote:
Kaspaas wrote:Luke, you don't maybe have an extra "gearlever rubber boot" laying around?
Is that from the SFA? Seems like a single unit and not attached to the 'short one'?
Bulletjie-3
Vehicle: Hilux Raider SFA met 7M-GE engine

Post by Bulletjie-3 »

Het jy al Ultimate 4x4 ( ongelukkig in Pta ) gebel 012 335 2673 vir daardie boot ?
Rider

Post by Rider »

OOOOMS wrote:
Rider wrote:
Is that from the SFA? Seems like a single unit and not attached to the 'short one'?
yes its for SFA but not 4x4 :thumbdown:

Don't think it makes any difference. The short and long lever boots are separate anyway and I think there is no difference between the boots for the long stick. :think:

Not so, Andy. They are moulded together as one item.

Both my SFA's had separate boots. ....... :eh:

IMG_6784.JPG

NardusJVR
Town: Louis Trichardt
Vehicle: hilux 2.8TD

Post by NardusJVR »

mine is also separated!
Kaspaas

Post by Kaspaas »

Oom Andy, it does look like is two seperate rubber boots, but when you remove the carpets and underlay, you will see it is one moulded boot.

The boot is fitted inside a rectangular metal frame. :thumbup:

Kaspaas wrote:Oom Andy, it does look like is two seperate rubber boots, but when you remove the carpets and underlay, you will see it is one moulded boot.

Ahhh, that could be :think: .... now that you mention it I do have some vague recollection of seeing something like that. It's been a while since I've worked on the gear lever bushes .... and my photographic memory is only showing me undeveloped negatives in some places! :laugh2:

Mud Dog wrote:
Kaspaas wrote:Oom Andy, it does look like is two seperate rubber boots, but when you remove the carpets and underlay, you will see it is one moulded boot.

Ahhh, that could be :think: .... now that you mention it I do have some vague recollection of seeing something like that. It's been a while since I've worked on the gear lever bushes .... and my photographic memory is only showing me undeveloped negatives in some places! :laugh2:
No Andy... it's called "Ouderdom"... :lmao: :lmao: :lmao:

It's exactly like Kaspaas says!

Rider

Post by Rider »

well some update :yahoo:
IMG00296-20120309-0835.jpg
IMG00307-20120309-1228.jpg
IMG00379-20120317-0943.jpg
franco n my new transformed bakkie
IMG00484-20120405-0929.jpg
IMG00485-20120405-0929.jpg
IMG00486-20120405-0930.jpg
Rider

Post by Rider »

still lots of work and having loads of problems :-(

Looking good, tx for the update and pics :thumbup:
scout
Town: White River
Vehicle: 91 Hilux dc -pro comp , arb bb , winch , 33'' muds

Post by scout »

looking good :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: :thumbup:
what problems are you having ?
" Yes I know we are lost , but we are making good time "

Luke, the fruits of your efforts are definitely showing! Looking very good so far! :thumbup: :thumbup:

Rider

Post by Rider »

:thumbdown: My baby got stolen from my drive way on the 14/09/2013 :blackeye: :( :( :(

but i bought another one lol :yahoo: :lol: i bought my buds ONE 519 fRANCO
HIS 87 hilux :blushing:

Always sad to hear about stolen vehicles :( So now you have a 3 lit Foryota! :D: