rommies
Vehicle: Hilux 2.8 GD-6

Hi I'm Rommies!!! <(^^,)>Updates on Supra + Hilux

Post by rommies »

Hi guys/girls!! :wave: :wave: :wave:

I'm known as Rommies in the online community and offcourse a big petrol head :celebrate: :cooldude:
Currently I'm working as a IT-Technician in my fathers company. So pm me all your IT problems and I will gladly ignore them! :lmao: :boss:

My previous car was a beloved 2007 Hyundai Tiburon 2.0GLS White Coupe with a few basic performance mods.
We traded her in on my fathers new second hand Toyota Hilux Legend 40 4.0 V6 4x4 Auto 2011 and 50 000km on the clock.
I took over my father's Toyota Hilux 4.0 V6 2006 4x4 Auto and 120 000km on the clock.

Currently I also live in JHB so doing most of the time city driving with this thirsty monster. I get about 8km/L
I believe if I do a decat, that I will get better fuel consumption ,but I'll do that some time later.
I also own a 1994 Toyota Supra 2JZGTE, so yes...I'm a big Toyota fan. Another Toyota that must be soon in my garage is the Toyota 86!! :mrgreen: :taunt:

I'm here to learn from you guys and make some new friends.
Here is some pictures:

Cherios! :bye:
Last edited by rommies on Thu Sep 06, 2012 10:29 am, edited 1 time in total.

Re: Hi I'm Rommies!!! <(^^,)>

Howzit, Rommies!

Welcome to the forum. You will find a lot of passionate and knowledgeable people here. As for your van, nice! And post some pics of your Supra as well. Did you import it yourself or buy it here?
1988 Hilex D/C 4x4 (Import spec), Lexus V8; Marlin Crawler; Custom Suspension: front and new 4 link in the rear; Disc Brake conversion rear; 35" Cooper STT tyres; Xenon lights; Custom bullbar;Next? Aircon; new front seats, redo the whole interior in nice soft leather, Respray, Double Lockers
rommies

Post by rommies »

Dankie man Johann.
Ek het die Supra hier gekoop. Te veel bollie om die blerrie ding hier te registreer.
Sy is nou in vir 'n suspension upgrade (koni sport shocks met nuwe OEM coil springs) ja sy kos my 'n hele paar rand maar alles die moeite werd.
Volgende op my lys is 'n Dicktator Engine Management deur MRD! :mrgreen: Ek mik vir 1.2BAR boost en omtrent 400HP op stock internals en turbos! :surrender:

Op die oomblik het ek al 'n hele paar veranderinge gedoen op haar maar hier is hoe sy nou lyk:
:mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
Last edited by rommies on Sun Sep 02, 2012 4:33 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Rooies
Town: Strand
Vehicle: 1994 2.4i (22RE) D/C Raider 4X4

Post by Rooies »

Hey Rommies, welcome to the forum. Please post some pics of your Supra and the 86 when you get it.
ROOIES: 1994 2.4i (22RE) Raider D/C - 200 000kms - Brospeed Branch & Powerflow Exhaust
MIKEM Suspension & Gabriel Safari Shocks - "31 BF Goodrich AT - GOMAD Aluminium Canopy
Melvill & Moon Seat Covers - Safari Snorkel - Bushwakka Weekender Offroad Trailer

rommies

Post by rommies »

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WNUpqY1cd2E&feature=plcp" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

:tongue: :blushing: :aggresive: :bye:
Royco
Vehicle: '09 D4D 3.0 Raider 4x4 D/Cab
Club VHF Licence: X88

Post by Royco »

Hi Rommies. Welcome!! :thumbup: :thumbup:
What does that switch do - in the Raider - next to the lighter plug?
Image Image Image Image
rommies

Post by rommies »

Royco wrote:Hi Rommies. Welcome!! :thumbup: :thumbup:
What does that switch do - in the Raider - next to the lighter plug?
It's my boost switch *jokes lol*

It's the heat switch for the back canopy window when it freezes up.

Ps: I must recommend the Caska Navigation/Bluetooth/DVD/Radio/TV/reverse camera for the Raider. It works like a charm.
Vehicle: '90 SFA Hilux DC 4X4, Full OME, 110mm lift. Brospeed branch, 50mm ss freeflow exhaust. 30 x 9.5 Discoverer S/T's on Viper mags. L/R tank. (AWOL) '98 LTD 2.4 SFA, dual battery system. Dobinson suspension, LR tanks, 31" BF mud's.

Welcome aboard, Llewellyn!! :thumbup: I'm sure you will enjoy it here! ;-)

DassieHassie
Town: Germiston
Vehicle: Hilux 2.4 22R D/Cab 4x4

Post by DassieHassie »

:clap: baie welkom, sjoe jy't omterent the best of bouth world's.

Geniet dit!! :yahoo:
Evil thrives when good men do nothing
Danman
Vehicle: 2009 Fortuner 4.0 V6 aka "BosBuffel"

Post by Danman »

Welkom hier.
lekker wa wat jy daar het.
8km/l is gladnie sleg vir die 4.0 nie.
ek ken johan goed van MRD volgens my is hy van die beste in die bedryf.
geniet die hilux familie. jy gaan nog vasgroei hier

Welcome to the forum :wave: I like the look of the cockpit of the supra,looks sort of like a fighter jet.The 86 is on my list for when the kids are finally out of the house :mocking: .Still thinking of going to test drive one :drool:
Enjoy :thumbup:

Ja kyk, mooi bly darem maar mooi!

Daai Supras is monsters. Maak skrikwekkend baie krag op stock internals, met min mods.
1988 Hilex D/C 4x4 (Import spec), Lexus V8; Marlin Crawler; Custom Suspension: front and new 4 link in the rear; Disc Brake conversion rear; 35" Cooper STT tyres; Xenon lights; Custom bullbar;Next? Aircon; new front seats, redo the whole interior in nice soft leather, Respray, Double Lockers
rommies

Post by rommies »

Dankie manne.

Ek glo Johan van MRD is ook die beste. Baie mense wie ek tee kom verwys my na hom toe.
Maar ek sal eers geldjies spaar. Dit gaan my so plus/minus R5200 kos vir die hele dicktator ding including installation,tuning ens. :mrgreen:

Die Supra is rerig my droom kar. Toyota bly maar net bo haha!!

@Thunder02:
Go do yourself a favour and test drive this 86. Its not a car designed for everyday practicality but for fun driving.
It is soo tail happy and really fun to drive. You dont need a monster of a engine to spin the wheels or drift, but rather this natural aspirated boxer 2.0L (147KW 200NM) nippy engine.
Great little car. And bonus points include its styling. And I must admit, I have never driven a car with such lively gear changes...the Supra V161 gearbox is clunky and needs a bit elbow grease...but thats because it needs to handle the power...

Toyota 86 FTW!!! Another great car by Toyota and Subaru!!!
Baasvark
Town: Virginia
Vehicle: '97 D/C with all the trimmings & 2011 Troopy

Post by Baasvark »

Welcome Llewellyn, look forward to some interesting posts from your side!
Aint it ironic that "Common Sense" aint so common after all...
Ali3n
Vehicle: Jeep Commander 3.0 Limited
Club VHF Licence: B338

Post by Ali3n »

Welcome welcome... :thumbup: Good looking car that. :clap:
PRESENTLY DISADVANTAGED
ImageImageImage Link BrokenImageImage Link Broken
Custom built Rock Sliders, Bumpers, Belly protection.... Anything you can think of
Cell: 076 122 3744 E-Mail: fpanaino@gmail.com
Bear Grylls calls it "Ultimate Survival", overlanders call it "Camping"

Welcome. Hope you enjoy it here
Ali3n

Post by Ali3n »

Just a quick question. Is the Supra legally registered in SA? The reason I am asking is because 99.99% of the Surfs I looked at were not. I also know that it is a mess to try and register them legally. Almost impossible. :think:
PRESENTLY DISADVANTAGED
Custom built Rock Sliders, Bumpers, Belly protection.... Anything you can think of
rommies

Post by rommies »

Yes mr.Alien! My Supra is registered legally. :mrgreen:

Thats the only reason why I bought it here in S.A otherwise I would've wanted to import a Euro Supra but like you say: It's almost freakin impossible with lots effort and trouble.
Ali3n

Post by Ali3n »

That's great :thumbup: I also bought my Surf because it was the only one I could find which was legally imported.

I would love to see it... it is an amazing machine. I personally would not want the Supra, for me it will have to be GT-R...
PRESENTLY DISADVANTAGED
rommies

Post by rommies »

I would love to have a GTR standing in my garage. But 800K+ is a bit steep for my bank account :lol:

Welcome aboard, Llewellyn
rommies

Post by rommies »

Thanks Haboob.

Ok for the bad news:
Ok my bakkie is in for some paasenger side door repairs. a f*** truck at the shopping centre reversed into my bakkie and left off. (While we were getting a haircut)
R14 000+ damages. Door and panels needs to be replaced.

For some good news:
I fitted koni sport suspension on my Supra with OEM coil springs. But I still need the original top mountings to make it fit perfectly and take away that "clunky" noise.
Xenon lights also done.
And my front + back Cusco strut braces fitted. Time for some zwartskop!

Toyota bo!

Cheap aftermarket top mountings:

Strut brace!

Before: (Crap suspension)

After: (Koni)

Gooi mielies.

Re: Hi I'm Rommies!!! <(^^,)>Updates on Supra + Hilux

Howzit and welcome to the forum Rommies.Great vechiles you have there.That supra must run like a bat out of hell.
rommies

Post by rommies »

FIRSTGEER wrote:Howzit and welcome to the forum Rommies.Great vechiles you have there.That supra must run like a bat out of hell.
Well it's quite "stock atm" still with original twin turbo's etc.

After some Dicktator Engine management through MRD I'm sure I will get around 400HP on the wheels. :celebrate:
Jxjdm
Vehicle: '05 Raider 2.7i Legend 35. '99 Honda civic vtec. '99 Honda CR250R

Post by Jxjdm »

Welcome! These 2jz's can make 400 without much effort or mods. Personally i would change to single turbo like the PT6266, 1.6bar.... 600+ whp on stock internals. :twisted:
rommies

Post by rommies »

Yes I'm very tempted to go single but I'm sure this turbo conversion will be about 7-8k. need to save up some bokke! hehe
Jxjdm

Post by Jxjdm »

rommies wrote:Yes I'm very tempted to go single but I'm sure this turbo conversion will be about 7-8k. need to save up some bokke! hehe
More like 15-20K for the turbo alone... :crazy:
rommies

Post by rommies »

Damn! Thats too expensive for my taste!

Ps:
While I'm waiting on my Lenso wheels...I decided to put on some TSR 18" wheels (it was collecting dust in the garage ~ just temporary though) But I kinda like it!

Last edited by rommies on Sun Sep 16, 2012 4:37 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Polarbear2008
Vehicle: 01 Hilux Kz-te 4x4 Raider d/c
Club VHF Licence: X49

Post by Polarbear2008 »

Hi Rommies

Dis een seriously mooi stel wiele daai! Hilux club se eie Fast and Furious! :)
01 Hilux 3.0L KZ-TE 4x4 Raider d/c
GME Gx300 29meg & Vertex VX2200 VHF radio
Mikem load springs with greasable shackles and polybushes
Monroe Gas Magnum shocks
Kumho Road Venture AT - 30x9.5x15
National Luna Dual battery system
Frontrunner roofrack with s/steel table
Twin rear high lift jack points
Hilux4x4club sticker! ('nuf said!)
Echo3 4x4 offroad trailer with NL 74 Litre Fridge/Freezer
Dual loadbox slides
Wishlist:
Alu canopy
Warn Winch
Unlimited Fuel & Travel Budget!
rommies

Post by rommies »

Polarbear2008 wrote:Hi Rommies

Dis een seriously mooi stel wiele daai! Hilux club se eie Fast and Furious! :)
hehe dankie man. eks baie trots op my wiele! ek kani wag om my hilux bietjie karakter te gee nie!!! <(^^,)>
rommies

Post by rommies »

Just some more pictures of my pride and joy:

:mrgreen:
ek probeer die toyota twin car forums join...waar dit eintlik oor karre is...maar ek kry nie my aktiveerings e-pos nie...die proses al twee keer probeer met verskillende e-pos adresse.
Is enige iemand daarop? of ken julle dalk iemand op daai forums?
http://www.tolken.co.za/twincamforum/" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

Jxjdm

Post by Jxjdm »

Hulle is maar baie traag daar op Twincam forums.... ek is n member, maar kan self al v n jaar+ nie aanlog nie...... het maar op gegee........
Kom join ons by http://myhonda.co.za/forum.php" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false; . Dis nou wel n Honda forum, maar daar is lede met ander modelle soos Supra, Mitsubishi Evo Nissan ens ook..... Die ouens is nogal behulpsaam...
Daar is juis n dyno dag wat beplan word vd 29e Sept in Pta...... Bring daai Supra saam, daar gaan heelwat sterk tjorre wees op die dag.... :thumbup:
http://www.facebook.com/events/449079271797008/" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
rommies

Post by rommies »

Thanks man, I did register...waiting for approval
Jxjdm

Post by Jxjdm »

rommies wrote:Thanks man, I did register...waiting for approval
Approval done... :angel:
rommies

Post by rommies »

Thanks man!
Joined!
rommies

Post by rommies »

hey guys.

I've got these set of wheels up for sale:

Mint condition TSR Craner 8x18 5/108-120 ET45 ~Verified by Tiger Wheel & Tyre's Invoice.

It has Yokohama A-Drive R1's on with 90% Tread.

225/40ZR18 92W ~ inflated with Nitrogen and aluminium valve caps.

For the whole set + tyres I want R6000-00
I need these set gone to put down a deposit for my ROTA GTR mags

rommies

Post by rommies »

So my beloved trusty bakkie is sold :-(

Time for something else...?!
rommies

Post by rommies »

So we traded my Hyundai Tiburon to my Father's "new" 2011 Hilux 4.0 V6 Auto 4x4 Legend 40 53k on the clock- Really a stunning bakkie

Extras the the bakkie has on:
Armadillo auto roll top
Dual Battery system
Caska Navigaiton/Bluetooth/Handsfree/Reverse Camera/Radio/TV System
The new spec 17" Toyota rims...[don't know what you call it lol]

I think all-in-all we paid R250k including the trade in.

My bakkie (Father's old bakkie) we sold to a good friend at R175k

Because I live in JHB, and we have a bakkie between our family etc. we decided to purchase a 2012 Golf 6 GTi DSG, 9555km on the clock, with day light LED's and Xenons, Sunroof, 18" Mags etc.
Here is some pictures:
http://i157.photobucket.com/albums/t47/ ... 161847.jpg" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
http://i157.photobucket.com/albums/t47/ ... 161833.jpg" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
http://i157.photobucket.com/albums/t47/ ... 161825.jpg" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
http://i157.photobucket.com/albums/t47/ ... 162055.jpg" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
http://i157.photobucket.com/albums/t47/ ... 161951.jpg" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
http://i157.photobucket.com/albums/t47/ ... 161926.jpg" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
http://i157.photobucket.com/albums/t47/ ... 161935.jpg" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

My average fuel consumption here in the urban is about 9.3L/100km ~ bot bad...much better than the bakkie hehe where it was avg 14.5L/100km or 6.6km p/L hehe
I happy with the purchase! The DSG gearbox is really fast and a joy to drive in traffic.

Just a repost from the Supra forums: (http://www.supraforums.com/forum/showthr...s-broken" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;.)
Just to keep you guys updated with my "Corolla!"

Ok...so I have been struggeling for the past 2 months. Came with some ideas but when actually literally looking at the car...things didn't look promising. So I went and bought a 4.5 mm stainless steel plate (400mm x 400mm) ~ to cut out the bracket offcourse.

Drilled two 6mm holes through the cast iron block (bracket on engine block) it was very hard to get a drill in there. I eventually took the bumper off and took out the radiator. The other problem we faced was that the drill's chuck was in the way when trying to drill a pilot hole.
So thats why the hole to the right was slightly drilled at a angle.

The problem I'm facing now is that the left bolt is sticking out too much, it is going to be in the way of the alternator bracket. So I'm thinking of drilling a bigger hole...so that I can get a "tapering" effect. I will also need to put in a nut spacer where the alternator is going to bolt on. (between the stainless bracket and engine block bracket) Then I'll drill a 8mm hole in to stainless steel bracket. I can not drill a hole to far away from the original hole of the engine bracket, otherwise the drive belt is not going to fit....

This is just a test run to see if this is going to work.

I'll keep you guys updated.

Ps: I'm open for better/improved ideas.

This is sort of how the bracket looks at the moment:

Question from one of the Supraforum members:
"Tayousei;8963938 Wrote:
I have a question. How is it that your engine ended up with those two broken tabs? That seems very odd to me, especially since they both involve the water pump. Maybe see if you can find a cheap block at a wrecker and just swap all your internals and stuff over to be rid of the problem entirely, rather than putting patches over what could be an unknown underlying problem."

This is what I replied:
She was in a hectic crash a few years ago.
The alternator mounts on the waterpump and then on the engine block.

I managed to put on my new waterpump. Without removing the crank pulley. (because we couldn't get the crank's pulley nut off) I then also changed my timing belt at the same time. My bracket worked out perfectly. Everything is back on except my Radiator and front bumper. I'll have her fully up and running by the end of this week.

(Just waiting to get my bumper back. Someone borrowed it for copying/molding)

I'll post up some more detailed pics later on.
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
So she is up and running again. Drive belt is running 100%

This is just a picture to show that the drive belt is in line and not running skew or anything.

And this is a picture from underneath to show how I bolted the bracket onto the broken engine bracket.

Summary:
The correct way to fix this whole thing entirely would be a new engine. But unfortunately due to the hard economical times here is RSA, I cannot afford a new engine just for a broken bracket.
So I replaced the waterpump instead. (about R2000 incl VAT) and made my own bracket. (stainless steel 4.5mm thick, R450) Drilled two holes into the broken engine bracket and bolted the "newly designed SS bracket" onto it with 6mm bolts.
Drilled a 10mm hole in to SS bracket for the alternator bolt and used a locktite nut.
All in all the biggest job was modifying the timing cover, to take it off without removing the crank pulley etc. and putting in a new waterpump. (Also stripping front like radiator, bumper, boost pipes etc.)

My plan worked out a lot cheaper and running 100%

I'm happy and another Supra on the roads!
<(^^,)>
rommies

Post by rommies »

(Dog ek sal julle maar 'n update gee oor my stadige corolla.)

Ok so I managed to find some second hand good condition OEM Supra suspension from a very nice chap ReaperST (on jdimport forum)
I purchased the stuff by him and Koni SA (Boksburg) fitted it for me. Service was great and everything worked out awesome.

Here is some pictures of the old top mountings (purple),OEM shocks/springs and the OEM top mountings installed:

And here is some of the stance / height of the car currently.

Remember: I'm rolling on 10J 18" 265/35 at the back and 9J 18" 245/40 in front.

Return to “Meet the People”