Introduce yourself and Meet the rest of the crowd
Sylvester
Vehicle: '01 Hilux 2700i D/C 4x4

Hi Guys, and any gals!!

Post by Sylvester »

Great forum, I joined a few days ago but have not had an opportunity to post anything yet. On Tuesday I became the proud owner of my first Hilux a '01 2700i 4x4 D/C. Wish I had more details of her but here's a pic I took at the dealer while deliberating the purchase. I am not a serious off-roader and plan to use the vehicle more for fishing than anything else much along the lines of dalkill, I know him from a fishing forum we are both on. I may well still have some questions for you all but all in good time.

Once again great site and there is some really good info here! :thumbup:
bakkie.JPG

Re: Hi Guys, and any gals!!

Hi Craig, welcome to the forum, sure you have lotsa fun with your new Lux! :thumbup:

Interesting canopy!
Bosfebok
Town: Roodekrans
Vehicle: 1995 Hilux Raider 2.2
Club VHF Licence: X248

Post by Bosfebok »

Hey Craig

Welcome to the forum :thumbup: You'll enjoy it here.

Congrats on that Lux :thumbup: She looks real nice.
Otto X248
1995 Hilux Raider 2.2 EFI Turbo DC
Alucab Canopy with Kitchen and Recovery sections
National Luna Split Charge system and Dual Battery
80W solar panel and MPPT controller
20.5" LED BAR
5ton tow bar with recovery points
Nudge-M front bumper
80l Long Range Fuel Tank
90l Water Tank
Slide Drawer System
Safari Snorkel
Double Lockers - Toyota Electric selectable
Diff breathers
The worst anti hi-jack alarm system ever, SANJI!!

A bad day out is still better than a good day in!!

Welcome Craig! Very nice Hilux, I am sure you'll enjoy her a lot. Our Year End Function at Dirt & Dust on 28 Nov is the ideal opportunity for you to get to know her a little better dont you think? Hope to see you guys there!! :thumbup: :thumbup: :thumbup: :thumbup:

0000DS
Town: Roodekrans
Vehicle: Tuna, 4X4, Longrange Fuel tank, BF's AT, Intergrated bumber, Roofrack, Awning, Air suspension,winch

Post by 0000DS »

Hi Craig

Welcome to the forum. Enjoy :thumbup:
Papa Joe
Town: CT - North of the Boerewors curtain
Vehicle: LEGEND 35 - 2004 2.7 D/C Hilux 4x4

Post by Papa Joe »

Craig,

WELL DONE & WELCOME ! :clap:
44444-WP
Papa Joe

Welcome to the forum. Hope you enjoy it here. Congrats on buying your Hilux!!
Sylvester

Post by Sylvester »

Thanks for the warm welcome guys, much appreciated. I would really like to test her mettel but unfortunately have a very full schedule up till March next year! I am a league angler and have also recently been selected to represent WP at developement level. My family are taking some strain with all the away time! I see you guys do lots of family outings so perhaps hooking up for a trail is not too bad an idea so as to invovle the whole family. My daughter, 9 months old, may still be a bit young though! Still I am keen to get her, the 'lux that is, into low range sooner rather than later! :twisted:

okay Craig, you get off for now, but that was the last time.. Just make sure the BIG one doesnt get away... :twisted: :twisted: :twisted:

Sylvester

Post by Sylvester »

Thanks for the let off....warning heeded! :lol:
Here's a big one that didn't get away at Macassar recently!

You caught John Smit :!: :!: :shock: :shock: :shock:

No no Thys... that's definitely Beast! :twisted:

Welcome Craig... do you allow interested parties to observe on a fishing trip, local Cape Town... I took my son fresh water fishing a little while ago, he loved every second of it, even though the black bass we caught were pretty small, 1kg at most... would love to introduce him to some real fishing... and pick up some tips!

mr b :thumbup:
Sylvester

Post by Sylvester »

Anytime! I do not get much social time down there but welcome anybody to tag along when I go! Otherwise Macassar is alway full of anglers after the SE has been blowing for a day or two! Will let you know when I plan a trip down there.

Welcome Craig!! Nice Hilux you have there.
OOOOMS wrote:Interesting canopy!
Mark that canopy has been made for the rental industry that supply the overlanding Hilux'es to foreigners that want to do the self drive tour. Note that the vehicle can carry two rooftop tents.

:D: very nice, serious good looking :mrgreen:
Sylvester

Post by Sylvester »

JohanM wrote:Welcome Craig!! Nice Hilux you have there.
OOOOMS wrote:Interesting canopy!
Mark that canopy has been made for the rental industry that supply the overlanding Hilux'es to foreigners that want to do the self drive tour. Note that the vehicle can carry two rooftop tents.
The roof rack at the front has been removed as it is not needed, if anybody is interested let me know I'll swop for a set of lockable rod holders! The roof top tent mounts on the canopy are also going, are these worth anything to anybody?
the BuTch3R
Vehicle: '89 Hilux SFA - SOLD; '95 Hilux - STOLEN; '67 Series 2A Land Rover; 3.5 V6 Pajero; 120 Prado VX 4.0

Post by the BuTch3R »

Very, very nice lux there mate :clap: :clap:

Welcome to the forum Craig :thumbup: so much info here....... and just as much *a* gesels.......but extremely addictive!
Vehicle: '90 SFA Hilux DC 4X4, Full OME, 110mm lift. Brospeed branch, 50mm ss freeflow exhaust. 30 x 9.5 Discoverer S/T's on Viper mags. L/R tank. (AWOL) '98 LTD 2.4 SFA, dual battery system. Dobinson suspension, LR tanks, 31" BF mud's.

Welcome Craig! Nice van, nice catch (looks a little like a blue pointer)! :thumbup: :thumbup:

But, quite simply, you don't have much of a choice IRO a family outing and trail. Sylvester will have to let Tweety play along from time to time. Get the missus involved .... when they (the wives) begin to feel part of the whole off-road thing, it's easier to justify the extra modifications here and there, and they also won't feel so left out every time you dissapear in the Lux to go fishing. (Ask OOODS) :D: :D: It also helps to allay those feelings of guilt .... you know, the same sort of feeling when you get caught red handed after sneaking into the kitchen in the middle of the night to devour the last of that lekker fruit cake (the one your mom-in-law brought by) on your own! :lol: :wink:

Enjoy the Lux! :thumbup:

andrevt
Town: sasolburg
Vehicle: raider d4d

Post by andrevt »

welcome chraig from us in the freestate
ImageImageImageImageImageImage

Toyota Hilux 3.0 D4D 4x4

Welcome Craig :thumbup:

Post some peekchaz now that she's home :wink:
Sylvester

Post by Sylvester »

Thanks for all the hearty welcomes guys. I'll snap some pics over the weekend and post on monday!

Return to “Meet the People”