Page 1 of 2

1 gz fe 5.0 v12 into 79 lc pick up

Posted: Thu Nov 10, 2011 9:12 am
by mark watson
:yahoo: finally getting a motor and box shipped , so here goes all or nothing , but im sure it will turn out magic.
i think the exhaust note will be one for the record books.

Re: 1 gz fe 5.0 v12 into 79 lc pick up

Posted: Thu Nov 10, 2011 9:14 am
by OOOOMS
Welcome Mark :thumbup:

Posted: Thu Nov 10, 2011 9:16 am
by RooiLux
mark watson wrote::yahoo: finally getting a motor and box shipped , so here goes all or nothing , but im sure it will turn out magic.
i think the exhaust note will be one for the record books.
WeLcOmE

What motor is this you are planning to install?

Posted: Thu Nov 10, 2011 9:22 am
by mark watson
thanks guys , have been registered for a while but then piet petoors got me going to start posting on the forum . the motor is out of the toyota celsior limousine in japan - 5l v12 dual throttle bodies , vvt , variable intake , dual intake manifolds ( so can run on 1 bank of 6 cyl ) 4 valve per cyl , chain drive camshafts ( no timing belt ) wasted spark ignition , so should make for an interesting build. done enough 1uz conversions and getting bored . nice thing about the v12 it is a 60 degree block so its 70mm narrower than the 1 uz but the length is the same as the 1/2jz

Posted: Thu Nov 10, 2011 9:39 am
by Ou Legend
Thats gona be a interesting built,keep us up to date with your progress when you begin.!

Posted: Thu Nov 10, 2011 5:50 pm
by jacques kotze
5L, V12 :shock: :shock: :shock:

Posted: Thu Nov 10, 2011 6:25 pm
by Mud Dog
:shock: That motor is more than ½ way to an aircraft engine! ..... you wanna fly over obstacles? :o: Eish!

Posted: Thu Nov 10, 2011 6:33 pm
by KZNSFA4Y
Most importantly, KW and NM?

Posted: Thu Nov 10, 2011 7:56 pm
by mark watson
probably in the region of 175 - 190kw , 360 - 390nm on the wheels , but its more for the looks and exhaust note , but the nice thing is 90% of the torque is available from 1300-1500rpm , should be a stump puller

Posted: Thu Nov 10, 2011 8:01 pm
by george
This is what wiki says.Mark this is going to be an awesome build :cooldude:
The 1GZ-FE is a 5.0 L (4996 cc) V12 48-valve DOHC engine with variable valve timing (VVT-i). Bore is 81 mm and stroke is 80.8 mm, with a compression ratio of 10.5:1. Official output as per Japanese Manufacturers' Agreement is 206 kW (276 hp) at 5200 rpm although true power output is estimated to be around 230 kW (310 hp). Peak torque of 481 N·m (355 ft·lbf) is at 4000 rpm with over 400 N·m (300 ft·lbf) available from as little as 1200 rpm. The fuel injection system is controlled by two ECUs, one for each bank of cylinders. The engine is capable of running on a single bank of 6 cylinders should a malfunction occur.[1]

Posted: Thu Nov 10, 2011 8:52 pm
by KZNSFA4Y
george wrote:This is what wiki says.Mark this is going to be an awesome build :cooldude:
The 1GZ-FE is a 5.0 L (4996 cc) V12 48-valve DOHC engine with variable valve timing (VVT-i). Bore is 81 mm and stroke is 80.8 mm, with a compression ratio of 10.5:1. Official output as per Japanese Manufacturers' Agreement is 206 kW (276 hp) at 5200 rpm although true power output is estimated to be around 230 kW (310 hp). Peak torque of 481 N·m (355 ft·lbf) is at 4000 rpm with over 400 N·m (300 ft·lbf) available from as little as 1200 rpm. The fuel injection system is controlled by two ECUs, one for each bank of cylinders. The engine is capable of running on a single bank of 6 cylinders should a malfunction occur.[1]
I suppose the price of fuel will count as a malfunction then.

Posted: Thu Nov 10, 2011 8:54 pm
by KZNSFA4Y
Please could you do some youtube videos once it's in so we can all hear the Lambo SFA.

Posted: Fri Nov 11, 2011 5:52 am
by dieseldog
This is great!
Thinking out the box, I like.
What does this beast weigh?

Posted: Fri Nov 11, 2011 8:39 am
by mark watson
the weight is in the same region as the 1fz fe that is coming out so no problems there.

Posted: Fri Nov 11, 2011 8:45 am
by Mr_B
Mark... sounds awesome.... funny how alot of Marks' I know are busy with or have serious offroad projects!

You going to have to re-inforce the rest of the rig to handle that power! Fun fun and more fun!

Posted: Fri Nov 11, 2011 8:46 am
by pietpetoors
Can't wait to see your progress. Would love to hear it

Posted: Fri Nov 11, 2011 8:51 am
by pietpetoors

Posted: Fri Nov 11, 2011 9:35 am
by Gunta
Welcome to the Mark club as well :thumbup: This should be very interesting, are you keeping the OEM management system?

Posted: Fri Nov 11, 2011 11:27 am
by mark watson
no not keeping the management , busy sorting out with piet at spitronics , will have something sorted by the time the motor lands , got to stay ahead as we are agents for spitronics.

Posted: Fri Nov 11, 2011 2:09 pm
by Gunta
How are you going to get the vvt and all the sensors to run properly with the spitronics?

Posted: Fri Nov 11, 2011 5:23 pm
by mark watson
spoke to piet and already doing the vvt etc on the vvt motors so the v12 should not be a problem. and the sensors are straight forward , luckily i have industrial instrumentation as my background so piet and myself talk the same language.

Posted: Sat Nov 12, 2011 6:37 am
by kfxnando
welcome

will be following this projec

would like to hear the exhaust note :beach:

Posted: Fri Nov 18, 2011 12:23 pm
by Spartan
My boet has a Toyota V12 in his garage, what a machine but he is going to build a spitfire not going into a bakkie or car.

Posted: Sat Nov 19, 2011 10:15 am
by mark watson
jaco doesnt he want to swop for a bmw v12 with the spitronics system already fitted. pretty please

Posted: Sat Nov 19, 2011 4:51 pm
by Mud Dog
Interestingly enough (for those that don't know), BMW (Bayerische Motoren Werke or Bavarian Motor Works) was originally an aircraft engine manufacturer. Hence their emblem which is supposed to signify a spinning propeller.

Posted: Tue Nov 22, 2011 11:11 am
by Pora
Mud Dog wrote::shock: That motor is more than ½ way to an aircraft engine! ..... you wanna fly over obstacles? :o: Eish!

Im sure that is his intention hahahaha

hope to see the build

Posted: Fri Nov 25, 2011 8:14 pm
by mark watson
:pilot: well the guys are saying we are going to fly , so , woopee i get the motor tommorow , so here we go :tease: :tease: :tease:

Posted: Sat Nov 26, 2011 3:58 pm
by Spartan
mark watson wrote:jaco doesnt he want to swop for a bmw v12 with the spitronics system already fitted. pretty please
Nope, we dont do BMW or spitronics. :boss:

Posted: Tue Nov 29, 2011 3:58 am
by mark watson
no sweat , got the motor , and guess what its getting a spitronics system :tease: , busy with the stripdown so we can begin the transplant

Posted: Tue Nov 29, 2011 6:22 am
by Pora
damnnnnnn son

now that's a beauty

Posted: Tue Nov 29, 2011 7:12 am
by Gunta
Are you rebuilding the engine or are you putting it straight in and how are you mating it to the gearbox? I am looking for a 80 series and I might do the same thing, I want to first see how yours runs with the spitronics otherwise I will try and get it in with the OEM ecu.

Posted: Tue Nov 29, 2011 7:41 pm
by mark watson
gunta , the motor is perfect , oil filter housing is broken but no problem will fit remote filter , and the sump is cracked but will make a custom sump to fit the cruiser - 4wd. so no need for strip downjust the usual paint and powdercoat. will post pics next week when the motor is together. still have to make an adaptor and flywheel ( inhouse ) but no problems there. the cruisers we have done plenty we are on the lc club , 60,62,80 you name it 1uz,3uz, done them all , but have done nissans,hyundais,hiluxes (all types , even drive one ) navaras,pathfinders,sprinters,bmw,colts,pajeros, even 1947 willys overland , the next project personally is a twin turbo 1uz in the wifes e220 mercedes.

Posted: Wed Nov 30, 2011 8:29 am
by Gunta
Where are you based Mark, I would like to come and visit you sometime and see what you are doing and get some ideas.

Posted: Wed Nov 30, 2011 8:31 am
by mark watson
i am out in the bos as the people say , not far in springs

Posted: Wed Nov 30, 2011 8:45 am
by Gunta
I see you are a springer, I used to have my factory in Brakpan so Unfortunately I know the area well. Most people there are related :lmao:

Posted: Wed Nov 30, 2011 8:56 am
by Mr_B
mark watson wrote:...the next project personally is a twin turbo 1uz in the wifes e220 mercedes.

That's just crazy... absolutely freakin crazy! :mrgreen:

Posted: Mon Dec 05, 2011 1:08 am
by mark watson
well got a coat of paint on and some powdercoating , starting to look the bees knees.
cruiser is coming in on wednesday so the stripdown will begin , hoping to try have running for santa

Posted: Mon Dec 05, 2011 4:23 am
by Frederick
What a beauty....!!!!

Posted: Mon Dec 05, 2011 8:14 am
by Mud Dog
Looking very spiffy! :thumbup:

Just don't surprise us and fit the VW boxer in the background! :lol:

Posted: Mon Dec 05, 2011 8:15 am
by Mud Dog
well got a coat of paint on and some powdercoating , starting to look the bees knees.

P.S.

Mr B's knees are not that clean! :twisted:

Posted: Mon Dec 05, 2011 8:21 am
by jacques kotze
That is looking good :thumbup: :thumbup:

Posted: Mon Dec 05, 2011 7:36 pm
by mark watson
andy , i think the boxer might be to much for the cruiser to handle :lmao:

Posted: Mon Dec 05, 2011 11:02 pm
by Mud Dog
:lol: :lol: They were ... correction, still are, fantastic little motors. ;-)

Posted: Tue Dec 20, 2011 8:32 am
by mark watson
just some more pics before the motor goes in , just tying up all the prewiring.Image

Posted: Mon Jan 09, 2012 11:18 am
by mark watson
now this is what should be in a cruiser

Posted: Mon Jan 09, 2012 2:32 pm
by Gunta
I would also like to see how well its going to be on fuel.

Posted: Mon Jan 09, 2012 3:05 pm
by Hoppy
Looks great, i see you've got the starter motor on the other engine stand.

Posted: Mon Jan 09, 2012 3:55 pm
by mark watson
mark it should be quite good on juice as you wont have your foot planted to do 120 , there is enough torque to cruise very easily. allan the starter is actually going to be a lexus 1uz starter as the original is missing.

Posted: Mon Jan 09, 2012 5:48 pm
by Hoppy
Are you running two spitronic boxes for the 12 coils or are they building a special box for the motor?
I hope it's a pre VVTi motor or you'll need another one for that.

Posted: Mon Jan 09, 2012 6:44 pm
by mark watson
allan , yip peet busy with it but i only need 6 coils as its running wasted spark with the same setup as a 1jz vvt motor ( 3 coils and 3 leads ) , i will run the injectors in pairs so it should give me a nice smooth power delivery and consumption should be good. so i only need 6 inj outputs and 6 coil ouputs but will have to run a second box as it is fitted with vvt on both inlet cams.

Posted: Wed Feb 15, 2012 2:05 pm
by Hiluxfan_111
Hi Mark
Any progress?

Posted: Wed Feb 15, 2012 3:48 pm
by mark watson
yip there is progress , motor in with new flywheel and adaptor , mountings done , busy with pipe work and sump will get on the lift next week probably and start with exhaust , just took quite a while to get all the efi wiring out and separated as its all going into a 62 lc , complete with obd plug and all.

Posted: Wed Feb 15, 2012 4:56 pm
by Jxjdm
U have space for THESE? :shock2:
2uz-fe-twin-turbo-336x252.jpg
2uz-fe-twin-turbo-336x252.jpg (37.69 KiB) Viewed 11724 times

Posted: Wed Mar 28, 2012 12:09 am
by mark watson
been a long time since posting but will post some pics , just the sump to finish , all wiring done , then we swing to life , then a couple of hours on the dyno.

Posted: Wed Mar 28, 2012 9:45 pm
by Gunta
Cant wait to see this. How would the 12 compare with the 3 UZ in fuel consuption? might be an idea to put that in my cruiser if we can get one.

Posted: Wed Mar 28, 2012 10:26 pm
by mark watson
the 12 i will expect to be about the same maybe a little bit more at the end of the day as a 3uz , as with more torque you can change gears at 1500rpm and it will still pull like a train , but as ive said before it depends on how its going to be driven. i am still trying to get more but proving difficult unless i buy the whole flippin limo , then do a front cut and send it over but it is going to be pricey.

Posted: Mon Apr 16, 2012 8:32 pm
by Frederick
so wanne kan ons hoor hoe hy klink?
Ek is al mal nuuskierig!

Posted: Tue Apr 17, 2012 12:46 pm
by NardusJVR
mark

interesting project.
Please keep us updated!

Posted: Sat Apr 21, 2012 12:45 am
by mark watson
going on the dyno sat , man this zorst note is something different.

Posted: Mon Apr 23, 2012 9:50 pm
by Gunta
Will be interesting to see how it go's.