Your Reccomendations

Here we discuss Hiluxes in general. Your view of the Hilux. For other general discussions please see "open Discussions" under the "Around the Campfire" heading.
patrickr
Town: Durban
Vehicle: 1987 SC 2.2 Hilux 4x4, '86 D/C Hilux 4x4

Your Reccomendations

Post by patrickr »

Hey all. Im 16 now and my dad has told me that he will buy me a car for my 18th if i can find one for under R50 000, so all you guys wanting to sell your hilux in 2 years time you know where to look. my real question though is what model to buy. i thought it best to ask you guys cause you all have hiluxs and have many years experiance with them. i want to do some off-roading but not too hectic. i want one that i can get many, cheap spares for and is easy to work on. any help or suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Patrick Rimbault
Take nothing but photographs and leave nothing but footprints

Re: Your Reccomendations

I would not recommend any 4x4 for you when you turn 18. Seriously, you are young, and money will be scarce. These things are heavy on fuel, and tyres etc are expensive - things you don't need when you are starting out in life. You will have studies, girls, partying and other things to worry about. A 4x4 should not be your run-around car.

Buy the smallest cheapest maintenance vehicle around, and save for the 4x4.
patrickr

Post by patrickr »

Well maybe i need to explain my situation a bit more. my dad offered my the option of either going overseas when i finish school or doing a 6 month tour of southern africa. i chose the tour. i now need a car to get around with. my dad will pay for my petrol or diesel.

Oh well, in that case....

Hilux 2.2 4Y....

As Ewald said look for a pre 1999 2.2 Hilux.

Patrick,

You have received good advice from Bennie & Ewald, what more can I say? 4Y Hiluxes rule! :mrgreen:

Seems like you are going to have a fantastic trip, please document it! Search this forum for posts from Scotty, he & his partner are planning a similar trip shortly.

patrickr

Post by patrickr »

Okay thanks guys! why do you reccomened the 4Y? Any pics of it?

Most reliable 4x4 out, EVER!
bulldog1.jpg
IMG_1413_17_1.jpg
You are also able to get spares for them practically anywhere in Africa, and the engine does not use any fancy electronic parts so repair with a pair of pliers and a pice of bloudraad usually suffices - not that it will ever be necessary!

not that it will ever be necessary!
A big amen to that :)
iHilux
Town: Bloemfontein
Vehicle: 2007 Toyota Land Cruiser 76 SW

Post by iHilux »

Like all have already mentioned - 2.2 4Y, or another option is the 2.4D 2L. Both these engines are bulletproof......
2007 Toyota Land Cruiser 76 SW

Wade he only has 6 months in which to complete he trip not 6 years :twisted:
patrickr

Post by patrickr »

Hey thanks alot guys!!! it seems like my mind is already made up... hilux 2.2 4Y. is it petrol. and if anyone wants to sell one you have a keen buyer right here!!

It's a petrol vehicle and is probably already listed as an endangered species. Those who have them are not selling :)

Having said that, there are a couple advertised for sale on this forum right now, in the "Second Hand" Section.

iHilux

Post by iHilux »

BenHurBul wrote:Wade he only has 6 months in which to complete he trip not 6 years :twisted:
Sighhhhhhhh....... my experience in a 2.4D (and I've owned 2 of them), is that a comfortable cruising speed is 110km/h. Any faster and your elbow starts to hurt......... especially when the big bugs wack your arm while resting on the window sill.

Standard operating position in a SFA.

1) Window open
2) Right arm rest on the sill
3) Far away gaze on your face
4) A smile from ear to ear - yip your'e a GD HILUX OWNER!!!
HiluxJunkie
Town: Middelburg MP
Vehicle: 2001 Hilux DC 4x4 2.7i Raider
Club VHF Licence: N15

Post by HiluxJunkie »

Hi;

Unfortunitly you are in Durban. I went to Pretoria 2 weekends ago and the second hand dealers there ( there are 1000's of them ) had quite a few SFA Hilux single and double cabs. I saw at least 5 in one part of Pta.
2001 2.7i DC 4x4 Raider. REAL MEN FOLLOW JESUS AND STILL HAVE FUN!
ImageImageImageImageImage
patrickr

Post by patrickr »

Haha just the image i was wanting to fill!!!! wow this has to be the best forum ever! ah what about the model prior to the present hilux? it looks quite solid and well built. any model that stands out in this range?

Stick with the SFA. IFS's are for wussies... :twisted: :twisted: :twisted:
1988 Hilex D/C 4x4 (Import spec), Lexus V8; Marlin Crawler; Custom Suspension: front and new 4 link in the rear; Disc Brake conversion rear; 35" Cooper STT tyres; Xenon lights; Custom bullbar;Next? Aircon; new front seats, redo the whole interior in nice soft leather, Respray, Double Lockers

Scorpion wrote:Stick with the SFA. IFS's are for wussies... :twisted: :twisted: :twisted:
ALOHA :!: :!: Ditto :!: :!: Ditsem :!: :!: Fair Dinkum :!: :!:

grips
Town: kathu
Vehicle: 347 Ranger v8 Ranger 302 v8 Nissan Patrol 302 v8

Post by grips »

The last and true real bakkie to be manufactured in South Africa – THE SFA HILUX.
Nobody can ever go wrong when buying an IFS. I myself was a TOYOTA lover till they dropped the SFA. I owned an 86 DC , a 95 DC RAIDER and 98 RAIDER with a Ford 3.o l engine . Due to the nature of my business I am in daily contact with 4x4 `s and sometimes facing the worst gravel roads you can get. A close friend of mine is working for a company that only used SFA`s for many years. When TOYOTA dropped the SFA they started replacing then with LAND CRUISERS. My friends last Hilux clocked 720 000km with out any major repairs. The new Cruiser he is driving is costing him a fortune in repairs. The company pays the vehicle and they have to maintain it . At 80000km he has spent more on the Cruiser than he ever spent on the SFA. He had to replace the frond diff twice , had water in the rear diff and a broken rear diff housing only to mention a few. He travels vast distances as his area covers Northern Cape and Botswana mostly on dirt roads. To all the 4by lovers owning an SFA never ever sell them , they were the last real TOYOTA 4x4`s ,the last with real muscle not the steroid junks of today .

owning a pot of gold
grips
Last edited by grips on Thu Feb 21, 2008 6:42 am, edited 1 time in total.

The last and true real bakkie to be manufactured in South Africa – THE IFS HILUX.
Nobody can ever go wrong when buying an IFS. I myself was a TOYOTA lover till they dropped the IFS. I owned an 86 DC , a 95 DC RAIDER and 98 RAIDER with a Ford 3.o l engine . Due to the nature of my business I am in daily contact with 4x4 `s and sometimes facing the worst gravel roads you can get. A close friend of mine is working for a company that only used IFS`s for many years. When TOYOTA dropped the IFS they started replacing then with LAND CRUISERS. My friends last Hilux clocked 720 000km with out any major repairs. The new Cruiser he is driving is costing him a fortune in repairs. The company pays the vehicle and they have to maintain it . At 80000km he has spent more on the Cruiser than he ever spent on the IFS. He had to replace the frond diff twice , had water in the rear diff and a broken rear diff housing only to mention a few. He travels vast distances as his area covers Northern Cape and Botswana mostly on dirt roads. To all the 4by lovers owning an IFS never ever sell them , they were the last real TOYOTA 4x4`s ,the last with real muscle not the steroid junks of today .

owning a pot of gold
grips
Frank / Grip... you're not by any chance talking about the SFA (solid fixed axle) as an IFS is a Independant Front Suspension?

Also wondering about that... although the early Hilux IFS models have also a most respectable reputation for reliability.

CasKru wrote:
The last and true real bakkie to be manufactured in South Africa – THE IFS HILUX.
Nobody can ever go wrong when buying an IFS. I myself was a TOYOTA lover till they dropped the IFS. I owned an 86 DC , a 95 DC RAIDER and 98 RAIDER with a Ford 3.o l engine . Due to the nature of my business I am in daily contact with 4x4 `s and sometimes facing the worst gravel roads you can get. A close friend of mine is working for a company that only used IFS`s for many years. When TOYOTA dropped the IFS they started replacing then with LAND CRUISERS. My friends last Hilux clocked 720 000km with out any major repairs. The new Cruiser he is driving is costing him a fortune in repairs. The company pays the vehicle and they have to maintain it . At 80000km he has spent more on the Cruiser than he ever spent on the IFS. He had to replace the frond diff twice , had water in the rear diff and a broken rear diff housing only to mention a few. He travels vast distances as his area covers Northern Cape and Botswana mostly on dirt roads. To all the 4by lovers owning an IFS never ever sell them , they were the last real TOYOTA 4x4`s ,the last with real muscle not the steroid junks of today .

owning a pot of gold
grips
Frank / Grip... you're not by any chance talking about the SFA (solid fixed axle) as an IFS is a Independant Front Suspension?

Uhm, is it not solid FRONT axle :?: :?: :?:

Yep, indeed it is!

We're just checking to see if all of you are awake :)...

Solid Fixed Axle :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock:

Kan jy daai rit imagine!? Jou niere sal dit nie kan hou nie.

Ek het eintlik bedoel om te se Solid Front Axle (dit gedink maar my vingers het ander planne gehad)
grips
Town: kathu
Vehicle: 347 Ranger v8 Ranger 302 v8 Nissan Patrol 302 v8

Post by grips »

Sorry totaly lost it - it should be SFA.

shows what happens if you are in a hurry

Could have happened to anybody but this time it was your turn :)

Toemaar almal het geweet wat jy meen
iHilux

Post by iHilux »

h
Scorpion wrote:Stick with the SFA. IFS's are for wussies... :twisted: :twisted: :twisted:
Eish....... thanks!

.......but you won't say that to my 2.5SRX's face.... :twisted:

Creative parking Wade!! :twisted: :twisted: :twisted:

So sue me! I like to stirr.... :twisted: :twisted:
1988 Hilex D/C 4x4 (Import spec), Lexus V8; Marlin Crawler; Custom Suspension: front and new 4 link in the rear; Disc Brake conversion rear; 35" Cooper STT tyres; Xenon lights; Custom bullbar;Next? Aircon; new front seats, redo the whole interior in nice soft leather, Respray, Double Lockers

Now imagine what you could have done in a SFA :twisted: :twisted:

As jy mooi kyk Bennie is daar 'n tou vooraan daai IFS en aan die anderkant is 'n SFA besig om hom te help :twisted: :twisted: :twisted:
patrickr

Post by patrickr »

Haha oh my word that "chuck's oppinion of a hilux" is excellent... i only noticed it now. what movie is it from again?
iHilux

Post by iHilux »

BenHurBul wrote:Now imagine what you could have done in a SFA :twisted: :twisted:
Bennie, it seems to me that the only way to hear the last of this, is with a photo.......

....the one I'm going to take next to the sign on top of Rhino..... :twisted:

...oh, just waiting for enough rain to make it really slippery, just to make it a little more challenging..... :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

You'll need just one more mod then - a winch :twisted: :twisted:

iHilux wrote:
BenHurBul wrote:Now imagine what you could have done in a SFA :twisted: :twisted:
Bennie, it seems to me that the only way to hear the last of this, is with a photo.......

....the one I'm going to take next to the sign on top of Rhino..... :twisted:

...oh, just waiting for enough rain to make it really slippery, just to make it a little more challenging..... :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
Just say when and I'm there, Wade. I might even try myself, after you made it :mrgreen:

Bennie, jy weet mos hy sal dit maak sonder "one more mod" (front locker??) en n winch!

patrickr wrote:Haha oh my word that "chuck's oppinion of a hilux" is excellent... i only noticed it now. what movie is it from again?
Not sure Patrick. Found the clip with a google search and modified it a little bit :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
patrickr

Post by patrickr »

What accessories should i buy? considering im going to be living out of my car and i dont have loads of money. i am not really going to be doing hectic 4x4 but i want to have the 4x4 in case i need it?
teepee

Post by teepee »

my gf, her brother and i are doing just about the same as you this summer - 4-6 months tour of southern africa.

what else you need depend a lot on preferences as i gather. where we stand now we wont be spening tons of money on roof top tents, as there are other thing we prefer (and unfortunately we cannot have it all :P )

what we'll def. get is:

dual battery system
frigde (i just cannot live that long without access to cold drinks and food)
awning (in six months there will be quite a bit of just sitting around - and bit of shade is important)
gas cooker and eq.
Jerry cans o plenty, if the hilux doesn't come with a long range tank

that aside we are considering:

snorkel (doesn't seem essential though)
bull bar (if not already on the hilux)
suspension upgrade (is this strictly necessary for a overland trip - anyone?)

i you decide on a trip abroad feel free to pm me - i've travelled a lot in europe, new zealand, australia, central america, south east asia and a bit in the us and fiji as well. else - i'll keep you posted on our trip!

Got a frightened call from Eric today, he was driving with Wade in the oil burner from Klerksdorp to Zeerust. He asked me to keep my phone on so that I could send help if the oil burner left them stranded next to the road :twisted: :twisted:

BenHurBul wrote:Go a frightened call from Eric today, he was driving with Wade in the oil burner from Klerksdorp to Zeerust. He asked me to keep my phone on so that I could send help if the oil burner left them stranded next to the road :twisted: :twisted:
Bennie, Bennie, Bennie. Firstly, you are hijacking this thread, with nonsense I might add :twisted:
Secondly, If they drove in Wade's 2.5 D4D, the chances of that motor leaving them stranded is less than ZERO!

Jy stir net want diesels hou nie van jou nie :mrgreen: :twisted: :twisted:

BenHurBul wrote:Got a frightened call from Eric today, he was driving with Wade in the oil burner from Klerksdorp to Zeerust. He asked me to keep my phone on so that I could send help if the oil burner left them stranded next to the road :twisted: :twisted:
And guess what??? My cellphone went on the blink Image

But we did the "trail" quite comfortably, except for one thing... we had to drive alongside the Army Shooting Range and the guys were busy popping off their R4's or whatever they use these days. But they very conveniently stopped and waited for us to drive past first. Image

But it was great (finally!) meeting up with Wade and we had a great time, if a bit hot up there halfway to Heaven. We finished the job and now the good people of Zeerust are able to converse once again.

Time caught up with us and we were unable to do a Trail at Doornrivier, but we did get to meet Andre at his house and have a good short chat.

Thanks Wade, it was great having you along - and best of all I did not have to drive! Image

ToyX4 wrote:
BenHurBul wrote:Got a frightened call from Eric today, he was driving with Wade in the oil burner from Klerksdorp to Zeerust. He asked me to keep my phone on so that I could send help if the oil burner left them stranded next to the road :twisted: :twisted:
Bennie, Bennie, Bennie. Firstly, you are hijacking this thread, with nonsense I might add :twisted:
Secondly, If they drove in Wade's 2.5 D4D, the chances of that motor leaving them stranded is less than ZERO!

Jy stir net want diesels hou nie van jou nie :mrgreen: :twisted: :twisted:
Was nie ek nie dit was Eric wat gestir het, ek het mearly sy woorder herhaal, vra hom self.

Ag dan vra ek sorry Bennie.

Maar ek dink na vandag het Eric n geheime begeerte om ook so diesel donkie soos ons te he :mrgreen:
Eric, as jy weer wil voel hoe ry so diesel donkie, bel my, dan vat ek jou Zeerust toe. :mrgreen:

Riaan,

Jy moet dit definitief eendag try! Die Army het die pad nou verbeter waar dit sleg was, dink dit het seker bietjie weggespoel met al die reen wat hulle gekry het vroer vanjaar. Selfs die "obstacle course" is nie meer 'n obstacle nie, hulle het dit begin invul met klip :(

Die "sliding Slasto" is ook nie meer daar nie :(

Om vir jou 'n idee te gee, die trail selfs is omtrent 7Km lank, en dit vat net onder 'n uur om die trip te doen. Nogal nice, jy ry heel om die berg en alles om jou is nou lekker groen. Ek het 'n kamera saam gewat, maar ongelukkig het ons nie fotos geneem nie, as gevolg van die tyd het ons bietjie gevang.

iHilux

Post by iHilux »

ToyX4 wrote:Ag dan vra ek sorry Bennie.

Maar ek dink na vandag het Eric n geheime begeerte om ook so diesel donkie soos ons te he :mrgreen:
Eric, as jy weer wil voel hoe ry so diesel donkie, bel my, dan vat ek jou Zeerust toe. :mrgreen:
Hummmm, if I could have my way, there would be 1 x 4.2D LC standing in Klerksdorp ASAP.

C'mon -F_D, time for a signature change again......
patrickr

Post by patrickr »

Iv been reading some 4x4 publications and they talk about rails instead of a canopy. what are your opinions?
wombat
Town: kaapstad
Vehicle: Legend40 D/C 4x4

Post by wombat »

I don't think rails are such a good idea for overlanding primarily because of security - at least you can lock a canopy and be reasonably sure that nobody will get in, particularly if it is a strong aluminium one without windows. With rails you can always just reach over the top to do your affirmative shopping. Also, a canopy has a much better chance of being dust and waterproof and therefore provides better protection for your stuff.
patrickr

Post by patrickr »

Okay thanks. Should i get a roof top tent or just a normal canvas dome tent ( i am on a budjet)?

patrickr wrote:Okay thanks. Should i get a roof top tent or just a normal canvas dome tent ( i am on a budjet)?
Dome tent is pretty much all you will ever need. Also cool for when you are making camp in 1 spot for more than just one night. Modern dome tents are a quite quick to erect, not as cumbersome as in the past.

RTT is great for quick sleep-over but not for camping in one spot for extended periods where you want to use your vehicle. It means every time you want to go anywhere you need to break up your camp...

Then there is the small question of fuel consumption. Is the extra fuel you are going to use lugging a RTT around worth not having to go to the trouble of pitching a dome tent every night?

Horses for courses I guess... :shock: :wink: :)

teepee

Post by teepee »

patrickr wrote:Okay thanks. Should i get a roof top tent or just a normal canvas dome tent ( i am on a budjet)?
i'd actually decided against the rtt.

surely, it would be nice at times, but the extra cost and the fact kaspaas make, of having to pack up every time you want to go for a drive, put me off it.

but the buyback deal i've been offered includes a roof top tent, so unless they'll knock off a signifincant bit of the price i suppose i'll take it.

(i also do like the idea of being off the ground - away from snakes, scorpions and the likes.... remember, we have none of that here in denmark :P )
patrickr

Post by patrickr »

Okay great. And a dome tent is alot cheaper than a RTT. My dad is funding most of this trip, but not all of it. He will pay for the vehicle, fuel and part of the accessories but I need to make money for food and any other oddments. He says that I need "hard labour" experiance. So if any of you guys have a farm or know someone that owns a farm and need some manual labour for what ever money I can get please let me know. I am looking to get my trade in electronics and finish my trade in motor mechanics. I also know a fair amount about book-keeping (my mom is an accountant) so ya.

Teepee

I have news for you Snakes and other flying-stinging insects can easily get into RTT's as well.

The trick with any tent RTT or ground tent is to have one that can zip closed properly and to keep it closed at all times.

About 2 years ago we went camping with my youngest only a few months old We camped for 9 days in the same spot. When I broke up our ground tent the last day I saw that some scorpions have moved in underneath out tent right at the place where our heads rested every night with only a thin groundsheet and a matress protecting us.

But we were save at all times as there is no way that the little rascals could get into the tent except if we left the doors unzipped. Most decent tents are also manufactured in such a way that the door opening does not reach all the way to the ground but there are normally about a 5-10cm strip between the bottom of the door and ground level to keep the small crawling bugs out.

patrickr wrote:Okay great. And a dome tent is alot cheaper than a RTT. My dad is funding most of this trip, but not all of it. He will pay for the vehicle, fuel and part of the accessories but I need to make money for food and any other oddments. He says that I need "hard labour" experiance. So if any of you guys have a farm or know someone that owns a farm and need some manual labour for what ever money I can get please let me know. I am looking to get my trade in electronics and finish my trade in motor mechanics. I also know a fair amount about book-keeping (my mom is an accountant) so ya.
Patrick, I have a farm, but the pay is not too good, especially since the Durb's oukies are normally a bit too soft... :twisted: Any way, the pay is a follows: one 50kg bag of mielie meal (to keep the strength up), meat twice a week, half a bag of onions, one bag of potatoes and R200 a month. Your job description would be to bring 2 tons of rock out of the mountain an clear at least 1 hectar of bush and shrub... :twisted: :twisted:

Jokes side, why do you want to work on a farm? Gym is much easier!
patrickr

Post by patrickr »

Its not that I want to work on a farm. I have to work on one to stay alive (metaphorically). I need a form of income to buy food, etc. I will be a sort of nomad- going around SA living out of a bakkie and earning money in any way possible. Its not just a 3 week 4x4 adventure. Im planning on doing it for as long as possible, until i am tired of it or run out of places to work.... iv got nothing to lose
patrickr

Post by patrickr »

OMG my birthday present just arrived! It is the 4x4 book by Andrew St. Pierre White. It is such an awesome book! Full colour and 320 pages crammed with infomation... and all for jusr R40!

Congratulations, Patrick!

I think you will find it a mine of information. :P

Oh, and Happy Birthday too!

I also have that book, it is a good read and you can really learn a lot from it. Enjoy it.. :!: :wink: :!:

Maverick
Town: Riala
Vehicle: porsche 944

Post by Maverick »

What's the difference in pre -99s and -99 onward?

I'v been looking at a x-cab 1½, -01, but what's the difference concerning offroad abilities?
This one got AC and powerwindows etc, but that's just nice on the warm days.

Seems that they got another engine to, this one got 103kw and the usual 22r got 84kw from what I know.
And ye, it's petrol.
patrickr

Post by patrickr »

Please clarify the "front-locker" issue for me. I have been reading that book and it is a bit confusing considering i don't know too much about the vehicle. Do they act as a sort of diff lock? And in those 4Y Hiluxs is there a rear diff lock???

Return to “General Hilux Discussions”