OME suspension is it worth the money?

Here we discuss Hiluxes in general. Your view of the Hilux. For other general discussions please see "open Discussions" under the "Around the Campfire" heading.
Spartan
Town: Vanderbijlpark
Vehicle: 98 LTD Hilux 4x4 SFA, 2JZ GE L6 VVT-i 3.0i, Bilstein shox, OME and a Land Cruiser 79 series

Post by Spartan »

Howzit
I can like to ask, what says you about the OME suspensions, is it really the money worth to spend on or do we have something just as good for less. I have read quit a bit on it and it seems like a very good system (on what I read, and I am new to this, and I can like to learn from you).
Just bear with me, I am still going to ask a lot of question.
:think:
MOBILITATE VINCERE
Spartan
ImageImageImageImageImageImageImage

Re: OME suspension is it worth the money?

OME is an excellent system, it's expensive, but really good... if you can afford it, go for it... some people only fit the blades and shocks, but if you do go OME, then do it properly with OME bushed, shackles and steering damper...

There are other options out there that are still very good, like IronMan, ProComp(also expensive), TJM, Monroe(shocks/steering damper) and Mikem(quite new on the market, but a very good option)...

My opinion is buy the best you can afford:

1. Old Man Emu
2. ProComp
3. Mikem(very good and affordable option, http://www.mikemsuspension.co.za)
4. IronMan
5. The Rest...

I have OME at present, but when the time comes for a sus replacement, Mikem will be my next purchase... George will echo my sentiment, the Mikem stuff is great!

Spartan
Vehicle: 98 LTD Hilux 4x4 SFA, 2JZ GE L6 VVT-i 3.0i, Bilstein shox, OME and a Land Cruiser 79 series

Post by Spartan »

But if you have the best why change?? :think:
MOBILITATE VINCERE
Spartan

Spartan wrote:Howzit
I can like to ask, what says you about the OME suspensions, is it really the money worth to spend on or do we have something just as good for less. I have read quit a bit on it and it seems like a very good system (on what I read, and I am new to this, and I can like to learn from you).
Just bear with me, I am still going to ask a lot of question.
:think:
You can ask as many question as you want, I say nothing about suspensions, because I get knife in my back... Oh what the hell... OME is great... :twisted: :twisted: :twisted: :twisted:

Scooter
Vehicle: '94 Raider, '05 Vigo 4.0 v6

Post by Scooter »

YES
"I know that you believe you understand what you think I said, but I'm not sure you realise that what you heard is not what I meant."

Any suspension system wears out over time(depending on how hard all the components have been work), shocks lose there pressure/leak, blades lose tension, bushes go oval(get play in), etc...

The replacement OEM system for an SFA is R13 000.00+(when I bought it was under 10K), and the replacement Mikem system is around R8 000.00, the ride quality and off-road ability with the Mikems is excellent, Mikem wasn't an option when I bought!

Oh and of course, if you can afford to pay more than 15K, you can get better than Old Man Emu! :twisted:

Lets, get pricing on the following, do not matter which brand without greasable shackles.
1. 2 front blade sets = R
2. 2 front shocks = R
3. 2 sets of front l/spring bushes = R
4. 1 front steering damper = R
5. strengening of front l/spring saddles = R

6. 2 back blade sets = R
7. 2 rear shocks = R
8. 2 sets of rear l/spring bushes = R
9. 1 set rear anti-inversion kit = R
10. ? x hours of labour = R

Total this incl. vat. It should be a great exercise. I am curious to know.

Louis

snipes wrote:Oh and of course, if you can afford to pay more than 15K, you can get better than Old Man Emu! :twisted:

Like what, Britney? :twisted:
1988 Hilex D/C 4x4 (Import spec), Lexus V8; Marlin Crawler; Custom Suspension: front and new 4 link in the rear; Disc Brake conversion rear; 35" Cooper STT tyres; Xenon lights; Custom bullbar;Next? Aircon; new front seats, redo the whole interior in nice soft leather, Respray, Double Lockers
Spartan

Post by Spartan »

I can like to know what that is. :think:
MOBILITATE VINCERE
Spartan
Spartan

Post by Spartan »

I would also like to see the quote on what was mentioned because I am in the market for a good suspension. :think: :think:
MOBILITATE VINCERE
Spartan

Scorpion wrote:
snipes wrote:Oh and of course, if you can afford to pay more than 15K, you can get better than Old Man Emu! :twisted:

Like what, Britney? :twisted:
Y.M.C. High Performance AllSingAllDance

(Young Man Casawary) :wink:

Dadz Toy BFI wrote:Y.M.C. High Performance AllSingAllDance
Sounds very "Village People" to me and the things they did with an old man and an Emu were just sick!! :shock: :shock: :shock:

Scooter
Vehicle: '94 Raider, '05 Vigo 4.0 v6

Post by Scooter »

Jaco, in the end the answer, your final answer without calling a friend will be: (you will get many varying opinions when it comes to suspensions)

What your pocket can afford will be the best for your truck.

I splashed out and fitted OME, thanks to Louis (4x4megaworldpta), who gave me a great price and great service, it made the decision that much easier.
"I know that you believe you understand what you think I said, but I'm not sure you realise that what you heard is not what I meant."

There are systems from the likes of ProComp, Rancho, RadFlo... and many others... where the shock has a seperate oil reservior and the damping of the shocks can be controlled remotely(inside the cabin). Many folks would consider these semi-pro/competition grade suspensions... and yes they are expensive...

Spartan

Post by Spartan »

Guys
Thx a lot, I think I know what to do and who to call, but I can like to think that I like this site and the support and advice that you oukes offer here is brilliant.
:clap: :clap: :clap:
MOBILITATE VINCERE
Spartan
Knersus
Town: Kathu
Vehicle: 2.4 Hi Lux 4x4 DC 95'
Club VHF Licence: ZS3EP

Post by Knersus »

Put it on and you will see for yourself......OME is hard money to pay but it is worth the price You will anyway save money as your wife as she no more need Xross your heart bra's.:D
Eben Pienaar
2.4 Hi Lux 22R 95'
Codan HF radio; Kenwood VHF Hi band; Tait VHF midband; Snorkel; OME suspension; Diff lock on next shortlist. Dis lekker om 'n mens te wees....Jy moet net 'n lekker mens wees

Only got time to fish for Ironman, the price is for 4x Shocks, 4 x L/Springs, the bushes & U-Bolts excl the steering damper is for the performance set = R 11320(with s/damper =R 12811. The foam cell shocks is R 14812 with the s/damper, without it is R 13320. These prices exclude the strenghening of the front saddles and Labour to fit.

Ome will be for the same but excl. some of the U-bolts, it is incl the front driver rear U-bolt including the s/damper with the strengening of the front l/spring saddles with Fitment = R12933.

Above excl greasable shackles.

So, the others like Procomp, Dobbinson's Mikem should be interesting. Interesting how near the 2 can get...

Pricing can vary per 4x4 fitment centres I think, but above is how I got it.
hentey
Town: worcester
Vehicle: 2700i 4x4

Post by hentey »

Jaco,as jy nierstene kry en jou lewer is vergroot van al die alkohol dan is ome elke sent werd.As jou vrou n baba verwag dan is ome elke sent werd en blah..blah.........en blah........Sit op die goed man,jy sallie spyt weesie.Ek belowe.
Wat is my kommisie op n stel nou weer Louis.
Umvubu
Town: Lydenburg
Vehicle: Hilux D/C 4Y & Hilux S/C 2.4D & Musso 602EL

Post by Umvubu »

I lost confidence in OME 2 weeks ago when a rear shock broke on my wife's Musso. The pin on top just snapped off. No offroading just regular gravel and tar road everyday for the last 18 months or so. I will not fit OME shocks again :thumbdown: , leafsprings maybe . Worth the money........ NO.
1993 Hilux 2.4D S/C - 31" Khumo Muds , Lockers F/R , OME Suspension , Snorkel , Extended Shackles etc
1996 Ssanyong Musso 602EL - OME Suspension

Umvubu wrote: I will not fit OME shocks again :thumbdown: , leafsprings maybe . Worth the money........ NO.
Agreed :thumbup:

YMC's are the only Import worth considering nê :P
Spartan

Post by Spartan »

Umvubu
My ou maat jy moet nie so negatief wees nie, toe ons in die army was het hulle gesê die ratel is die beste maar hulle het ook ons wielle af geskiet met die landmynne en ons dood geskiet binne in die voertuie maar dit het nie die ratel 'n swak gevegsvortuig gemaak nie. Soos hulle sê” Sh#t happens and nothing is perfect” all is man made. Persoonlik wil ek net weet wat dink die ou manne, ek sal julle laatweet wat dink ek as ek dit op gesit het.
8 )
MOBILITATE VINCERE
Spartan

I think OME has an allergic reaction to Musso, as do I! :wink:
Tweetjie
Town: Knysna
Vehicle: Original 1989 Hilux D/C 2.2l Petrol

Post by Tweetjie »

I am getting OME fitted next week! Soooo exited... :D cant wait. Even my wife rekons its worth it....and that says alot.
Here is the quote I got yesterday from a leading 4x4 fitment centre in George:

Hilux Front Leaf..........R1550.81 x 2 = 3101.62
Nitrocharger shocks.....R1315.36 x 4 = 5261.44
U-Bolt Fr Rt................R 279.22 x 1 = 279.22
Fit kit saddle Cor pl......R 298.84 x 1 = 298.84
Hilux Rear Leaf.............R1789.28 x 2 = 3578.56
Bush kit Rear................R 261.86 x 2 = 523.72
Bush kit front...............R 269.41 x 2 = 538.82
Fit kit flat Alnv P...........R 276.20 x 1 = 276.20
Labour.........................R 250.00 x 2 = 500.00
TOTAL Vat incl................................. R 14358.42

I will give a full report next week :thumbup:

Hallo Ezere,

Hoe lank was die Ome in die Musso? As dit breek en dit is nog in die waarborg claim dit.

Jou boks vol carb's is nog by my vir moehala, het jy al reggekom?

Beste :thumbup:
Vehicle: '90 SFA Hilux DC 4X4, Full OME, 110mm lift. Brospeed branch, 50mm ss freeflow exhaust. 30 x 9.5 Discoverer S/T's on Viper mags. L/R tank. (AWOL) '98 LTD 2.4 SFA, dual battery system. Dobinson suspension, LR tanks, 31" BF mud's.

I've had my OME kit for about 12 yrs now, .... not an ounce of trouble with many hundreds of hours off-road. I think it unfair to condemn a good brand at a time when almost everything is being made cheaper with substandard materials etc. I'm not sure what "the broken pin on top" refers to, maybe not even an OME part, or maybe a once off dud. First I've ever heard of it.
Is OME worth it? Simply, yes! :thumbup:

Spartan

Post by Spartan »

Ok,I can like to say now I know what I am going to install but (only a question) what I gather is that there is some raising happening (apparently up to 6” in some cases) to the body and the motor and gearbox are attached to the body, what happens to the universals on the prop-shaft front and rear? Are they not to be lined-up at a certain degree to prevent damage to the universals themselves? I understand that they are designed for exactly that purpose but are we still with-in tolerance? Now some will say that they are doing this for years, but how often do you have to replace the universals? And what brand do you use or is the standard type good enough for all this? :roll:
MOBILITATE VINCERE
Spartan

The suspensions we are talking about here will only result in a 50mm lift, this will settle to about 40mm over time! You do get suspensions that can give you a 6" lift, from ProComp and the like, they include extended shackles which creates the extra raise...

B :thumbup:
Spartan

Post by Spartan »

SORRY ek was bietjie blond, nou dat ek recap :lol:
MOBILITATE VINCERE
Spartan
Vehicle: '90 SFA Hilux DC 4X4, Full OME, 110mm lift. Brospeed branch, 50mm ss freeflow exhaust. 30 x 9.5 Discoverer S/T's on Viper mags. L/R tank. (AWOL) '98 LTD 2.4 SFA, dual battery system. Dobinson suspension, LR tanks, 31" BF mud's.

I achieved a 110mm lift with the OME conversion, but it's possible that the old springs were a little 'tired' and sitting lower than others. I left the propshafts and universals untouched besides the occasional greasing and have had no problems over the years.

Return to “General Hilux Discussions”