Unreal K-ZN
Town: Ballito
Vehicle: 2013 Single Cab

The Super-Single cab

Post by Unreal K-ZN »

Hi guys and girlsImage
Being a newby to this forum I would like to just start by saying thanks to all of you that have helped me with many answers on this forum before I joined. You guys are awesome.

My title, “Super-single cab” should say it all. I have a single cab, I want the super cab space for camping but I don’t wanna sell my Moose and have to go through all the mods again just for some extra cab space.
After much Captain and many brainstorming nights, as well as some crazy you tube time, I figured the only way to get the extra space would be to do what they do in Aus, build a new “bak” and add a canopy section.
The thing is, I don’t like the tray idea for my lifestyle and this seemed to be a critical elementImage so once again it was back to the Captain and the drawing board.
About half way to the bottom of my last dop, I came up with an idea that was almost too good to be trueImage so straight to google, Hilux forum, other forums, you tube, wiki, freakin anywhere I could think to find out if anyone, anywhere ImageImageImageImageImageImageImagehad undergone such a move before? There were many questions I had, and I could not find a single answer online. Maybe I searched the wrong things but I gave it my all until I just couldn’t be bothered searching anymore. I just had to dive in and try.

My idea is as follows. Step 1, remove single cab bin. 2, fit double cab bin. 3, fill the gap with the ultimate camping setup. 4, still look like a Hilux Image

Step 1 was easy of course, couple bolts and some wiring and Moose lost some weightImage
Step 2 was a bit more tricky due to only 4 of the 6 bolts lining up from the double cab bin to single cab chassis, but that’s easily remedied in step 3.
Step 3 is where I am at the moment in the build and I think I should mention that everything so far and to the end will be a bolt on application. I have not cut or welded anything on the chassis side of the build and nor will I. The idea is that if I wish, I can put the single cab bin back on at any given time with no mods needed.

Some pics so far for you guys, hope you enjoy them and I will post more on this thread as I go. Today I am planning to finish the “super” cab’s welding and grinding and maybe even get a coat of paint on itImage

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Re: The Super-Single cab

Very brilliant idea. I like your way of thinking. Please keep us posted as your build progresses. I cannot wait to see the finished job
Vehicle: '90 SFA Hilux DC 4X4, Full OME, 110mm lift. Brospeed branch, 50mm ss freeflow exhaust. 30 x 9.5 Discoverer S/T's on Viper mags. L/R tank. (AWOL) '98 LTD 2.4 SFA, dual battery system. Dobinson suspension, LR tanks, 31" BF mud's.

Awesome idea! :thumbup:
Keep us posted.

Vehicle: '90 SFA Hilux DC 4X4, Full OME, 110mm lift. Brospeed branch, 50mm ss freeflow exhaust. 30 x 9.5 Discoverer S/T's on Viper mags. L/R tank. (AWOL) '98 LTD 2.4 SFA, dual battery system. Dobinson suspension, LR tanks, 31" BF mud's.

Maybe some gull-wing doors and a sliding tray on each side? :think:

Unreal K-ZN

Post by Unreal K-ZN »

Mud Dog wrote:Maybe some gull-wing doors and a sliding tray on each side? :think:
Without a doubt the full wings, one for the fridge slide on one side and the shower rose on the other one. Image

Unreal K-ZN

Post by Unreal K-ZN »

FIRSTGEER wrote:Very brilliant idea. I like your way of thinking. Please keep us posted as your build progresses. I cannot wait to see the finished job
Thanks a mill. It’s been quite a jol so far, looking forward to bolting it on Image

pieta.swanepoel
Vehicle: 2017 Toyota Hilux 2.4 GD-6 SR 4x4 SC

Post by pieta.swanepoel »

Creative thinking. Like the idea and would not be as heavy as a fill tray style canopy
Groot berge en lang grondpaaie
Bear
Vehicle: Toyota Hilux 2200 Raider D/Cab 4x4 - SFA

Post by Bear »

Hi Gareth

I see the guys giving you credit for a job well done.

I was going say great stuff, very original. That is what engineering is!

And as I continued reading and you stated - “After much Captain” … “About half way to the bottom of my last dop”
I’m not sure if you deserve the credit for this work anymore.

Be a gentleman, give the credit to "CAPTAIN"
Travel is not really about leaving our homes, but leaving our habits.
Adventure tends to magnify all human emotions.
It's only in adventure that some people succeed in knowing themselves - in finding themselves.

Gareth another very important aspect of your project which I fully agree with,is to use the origonal mounting points on the chassis without welding and cutting anything on the chassis.
I have completed many projects over the years, including engine conversions and campers etc and have always applied this golden rule of keeping mounting points etc standard so one can always revert back to the standard vehicle setup should the need arise for whatever reason.
We are waiting in anticipation for further updates. :thumbup:
Unreal K-ZN

Post by Unreal K-ZN »

Bear wrote:Hi Gareth

I see the guys giving you credit for a job well done.

I was going say great stuff, very original. That is what engineering is!

And as I continued reading and you stated - “After much Captain” … “About half way to the bottom of my last dop”
I’m not sure if you deserve the credit for this work anymore.

Be a gentleman, give the credit to "CAPTAIN"
All due respect to Captain Henry Morgan. Image

Unreal K-ZN

Post by Unreal K-ZN »

FIRSTGEER wrote:Gareth another very important aspect of your project which I fully agree with,is to use the origonal mounting points on the chassis without welding and cutting anything on the chassis.
I have completed many projects over the years, including engine conversions and campers etc and have always applied this golden rule of keeping mounting points etc standard so one can always revert back to the standard vehicle setup should the need arise for whatever reason.
We are waiting in anticipation for further updates. :thumbup:
I agree, if this mission turns out to be a lemon, I can always drop my long bin back on and not have to worry about anything except for my loading bars which will just be lengthened again to suitImage

Unreal K-ZN

Post by Unreal K-ZN »

Some work in progress pics. Please don’t judge my weldingImageImageImageImageImage[IMG]//uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/201910 ... d9a507.jpg[/IMG]ImageImageImageImageImageI am a carpenter by trade, not a welder, this job has taught me a lot about welding thoughImage

Unreal K-ZN

Post by Unreal K-ZN »

Sorry about the random order. They appear to load in reverse Image

ImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImage

Looking good Gareth! :thumbup:

We can't all be professional welders, but with the will to give it a go and a little practise we can all make a go of it,. So what if you have to do a bit of grinding to smooth it off afterwards. :winkx:

Poffie
Town: George
Vehicle: Hilux SFA

Post by Poffie »

I agree with Mud Dog not all pretty welds is strong. Well done at least you can be proud you are doing it yourself. Nothing trumps that 💪🏼
Dowe Koos
Vehicle: Toyota Buschwagen 2.7 4x4

Post by Dowe Koos »

Hi Gareth. I'm very keen to see your end product. So far, it's looking interesting on how you progress. I am going show you some photos to give you some ideas about basic welding. I mean it good, not in negative way.
First of all, I never grind off my welding for it is weakened the structure, ALWAYS. I will only grind off the weld where something flat must fit on and only that. Only weld where I will grind off is when I had V weld joint.
Top one is a gap of 1 mm, middle is normal joint and the bottom one is where the V is prepared.
001 three plate.jpg
This is show you how the weld had penetrate through the plates.
002 penetrating of weld.jpg
002 penetrating of weld.jpg (33.71 KiB) Viewed 11397 times
I haven't grind of the weld of all three plates.
Bending the V weld joint
003 bend v.jpg
004 bend v 2 gap.jpg
Bending the normal joint weld
005 bend no  gap.jpg
006 bend no gap 2.jpg
Bending the gap joint weld
007 bend with gap.jpg
008 bend with gap 2.jpg
I had bend all three plates a few times.
Ecc 1:9 Wat gewees het, dit sal daar weer wees; en wat gebeur het, dit sal weer gebeur, en daar is glad niks nuuts onder die son nie.
Dowe Koos

Post by Dowe Koos »

Now I had grind off the weld.
009 grind off weld.jpg
Bend the one with V joint
010 bend v gap.jpg
011 bend v 2 gap.jpg
011 bend v 2 gap.jpg (27.75 KiB) Viewed 11395 times
Bend the one of normal joint
012 bend no gap .jpg
013 bend no gap 2 .jpg
Bend the one with gap joint
014 bend with gap.jpg
014 bend with gap.jpg (32.38 KiB) Viewed 11395 times
014 bend with gap 2.jpg
014 bend with gap 2.jpg (33.69 KiB) Viewed 11395 times
015 bend.jpg
Ecc 1:9 Wat gewees het, dit sal daar weer wees; en wat gebeur het, dit sal weer gebeur, en daar is glad niks nuuts onder die son nie.
Dowe Koos

Post by Dowe Koos »

Bend the one with the V joint weld a few more times
016 v bend few times.jpg
Bend the one with normal joint weld one more
017 bend no gap one more.jpg
017 bend no gap one more.jpg (33.83 KiB) Viewed 11392 times
018 bend no gap one more.jpg
Bend the one with the V joint weld extra few more times
019 bend v few more tine.jpg
Here you can see how important is your preparations.
Other important thing about arc weld is the heat. If you weld over and over the weld to fix it, it is weakened the metal composite and can give you problem when you do some over landing where it is getting rough. I understand that you are a carpenter and is not a welder. I would suggest to you to practice more on your weld so that your project is well done and will not give you problem later on.
Hoop nie ek is windgat nie, wil maar net help.
Sterkte met jou projek.

Nee, Oom Hennie is nie windgat nie - hy weet darem so iets meer van welding as die gemiddelde ou op straat!

Dowe Koos

Post by Dowe Koos »

Dankie Thabo.
Unreal K-ZN

Post by Unreal K-ZN »

Hi guys. Thanks for all your input and positive feedback. Progress a bit slow at the mo, work getting in the way of fun againImage

I have managed to paint the frame and fit the floor panel ally in, this let’s me get an idea of fridge slide positioning and batteries spacing. Gotta get some templates made so I can take the rest of the ally for bending.
Would love to get the skins on before December creeps up in low rangeImage

Keep it UnrealImage

Still looking good and slowly getting there, Gareth. Well done so far. :thumbup:

Unreal K-ZN

Post by Unreal K-ZN »

A few pics. Progress been slow while waiting for the skins to arrive. Picked them up yesterday so I’m keen to get some action in the shop this weekend Image

Image Link BrokenImage Link BrokenImage Link BrokenImage Link BrokenImage Link BrokenImage Link BrokenImage Link BrokenImage Link Broken

Keep it UnrealImage
Last edited by Mud Dog on Sat Nov 16, 2019 1:23 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Images re-sized

Beautifully neat! Keep it up! :thumbup:

That is a great idea, I love it. Looking forward to see the end result.
1999 Hilux 2.7i 4x4 Raider DC with 3.4 Prado V6. Rear diff-lock, Bull Bar and rock sliders, 31" Cooper ST Maxx, Snorkel, Alu-Canopy, VHF Motorolla radio, West Coast Rust, Mikem Suspension, Ball Joint Spacers in front and Mikem extended shackles at the rear, 25watt LED Spots

Nice project so far Gareth.Classy workmanship.
Unreal K-ZN

Post by Unreal K-ZN »

A few more pics after a few more evenings

Keep it Unreal
Unreal K-ZN

Post by Unreal K-ZN »

Image Link BrokenImage Link BrokenImage Link BrokenImage Link Broken

I’m pushing to have it ready for the Xmas toy run through the valley of 1000 hills this December Image

Keep it UnrealImage

You are almost there.Although the small finishing touches are the things that take time to complete.Great job.

Looking good! :thumbup:
Waiting to see what it all looks like together. :winkx:

Unreal K-ZN

Post by Unreal K-ZN »

Been a busy weekend so far. Managed to get the dog box on the chassis and get the bin back on yesterday. Today is the task of reconnecting all wiring, fuel etc.
but for the first time I get to see what she is going to look likeImage

Image Link BrokenImage Link BrokenImage Link BrokenImage Link BrokenImage Link BrokenImage Link Broken

Keep it UnrealImage

Love it ! :thumbup:

What are your intentions with this space?
bcc1d9e1bbda5bc81e27e43e9f098f13.jpg
You could build a couple of boxes that bolt on from underneath to be used for tools or whatever. Can have separate door flaps or your main gull-wing doors can cover them. :winkx:

Unreal K-ZN

Post by Unreal K-ZN »

Mud Dog wrote:Love it ! :thumbup:

What are your intentions with this space?
bcc1d9e1bbda5bc81e27e43e9f098f13.jpg
You could build a couple of boxes that bolt on from underneath to be used for tools or whatever. Can have separate door flaps or your main gull-wing doors can cover them. :winkx:
Shot Mud DogImage
I had thought of putting two boxes in there for wet stuff and or dirty stuff like wetsuits or recovery straps so the mess won’t interfere with the clean space inside.
The other option is to put a recessed step into that space for swambo, she’s a bit shorter than me and the truck Image
Will just have to see what’s going to be best

Keep it UnrealImage

Got the same problem with my wife, Gareth ... a real shorty. Problem with a step so far back it's an impractical off-set, and then also it's gonna look a bit odd if you drop it below the sill height. I would rather fit boxes and then do some sliders / side steps (full length) which are in any event below the sill height and so is more helpful as a step.

I agree with you and Andy. Good place for even storing the potjie pot and recovery gear. I would also look and see if your second battery could possibly be mounted to free up space above it. Look at my camper build thread and so how I tried to utilize every possible hook and cranny.
Yours is a very unique and practical build. You'll see that after each outing you will possibly change and fine tune aspects of the build to suit your needs. I congratulate you on a job well done.👏👍
Unreal K-ZN

Post by Unreal K-ZN »

Hi guys.
Nearing the end of phase 1. The dog-box is built and fitted.
Next up I need to test everything before doing all final coverings and touch ups and wiring.
After that it’s onto the bin mods next yearImage
And some boxes under the box
A few pics taken yesterday afternoon

Image Link BrokenImage Link BrokenImage Link BrokenImage Link BrokenImage Link BrokenImage Link BrokenImage Link Broken

Keep it UnrealImage

Looking very good! Nice Job! :thumbup:

I hope you're still going to seal all the composite material to protect it from moisture. :winkx:

Nicely done, Gareth. This truck will be something to really be proud of once you are done. :thumbup:

Dowe Koos

Post by Dowe Koos »

Very cool, love your idea Gareth.
Unreal K-ZN

Post by Unreal K-ZN »

Thanks guys.
Final day today to get her ready for the 1000 hills Xmas toy run tomorrow.
90% done with 90% to go pretty much sums up my day ahead

Keep it Unreal

Enjoy your holiday and you can proudly display that superb and unique build of yours.Well done indeed :thumbup:

Howzit Gareth. I have been waiting to hear how your conversion build to your hilux performed during your December travels. Kindly post an update on your creation

Return to “Build your own:”