sorry for the ignorance what are we looking at here
dustbuster
Town: Richards Bay
Vehicle: Rebuilding 91 D/C Hilux Mboza Body, OME 4Y EFI, & 91 S/C 4Y Hilux

Re: A HILUX IS REBORN

Post by dustbuster »

the last photo was the backing plate for the drum brakes and the drive shaft that goes in the axle housing, the thing with the studs is the bearing housing that bolt onto the axle you can see the cir-clip and the bearing retainer
Musselcracker
Vehicle: 1989 SFA D/C

Post by Musselcracker »

so what are your thoughts/options on the bullbar?
Musselcracker

Post by Musselcracker »

sorry for the all the posts... while you have got the axle off and in pieces why dont you try upgrade the brakes.... put on KZTE disc's calipers and brake booster!! (i could be corrected!)
dustbuster

Post by dustbuster »

Still want to design an ARB style bumper and get one made just no time at the moment that is cosmetic stuff want to get the Hilux running then start on the interior, then exterior. Was thinking of upgrading the brakes as well but just to much on my hands think the standard breaks will be fine for now if they are fixed up and working properly, can be a project for the future also cant splash out to much with the bucks every thing adds up quickly especially getting tools to do the job. Back doors are at mboza so they can use them to line up the glass ones, once the project is finish will post up all the left over parts and see who wants what
dustbuster

Post by dustbuster »

My first big ooopppps and surely not the last, the galv wash did not work :dash: :dash: and the primer is not sticking to the chassis :evil: :evil: so have to take it all off and try something else. What a waist of time now it is going to take another 2 nights to clean it up………… :cry: :cry: Toyota doesn’t have a gasket in stock for the back axle :thumbdown: :thumbdown: so going to have use gasket maker.
IMG-20110720-00145 (Medium).jpg
IMG-20110720-00146 (Medium).jpg
Musselcracker

Post by Musselcracker »

oh no dude..... not ideal pal!!
Vehicle: '90 SFA Hilux DC 4X4, Full OME, 110mm lift. Brospeed branch, 50mm ss freeflow exhaust. 30 x 9.5 Discoverer S/T's on Viper mags. L/R tank. (AWOL) '98 LTD 2.4 SFA, dual battery system. Dobinson suspension, LR tanks, 31" BF mud's.

To paint, one should use an etch primer first (preferably not a water based one) like red oxide or otherwise a zinc chromate or calcium plumbate primer.

dustbuster

Post by dustbuster »

Mud Dog wrote:To paint, one should use an etch primer first (preferably not a water based one) like red oxide or otherwise a zinc chromate or calcium plumbate primer.
used the galv wash and washed the chassis and used a balck etch primer still did not stick :crazy: :crazy:

going to try a little section with stone chip leave it over night and see if that works.
dustbuster

Post by dustbuster »

Took the diff off last night looks in good nik :thumbup: cleaned the flanges going to go see if I can get new studs, washers and nuts later the one stud has been hit by a rock so cant reuse it luckily I could get it out. Got the side shafts back with the new bearings pressed on so tonight I will start putting it all back together.
bearing
bearing
IMG-20110721-00148 (Medium).jpg
IMG-20110721-00152 (Medium).jpg
dustbuster

Post by dustbuster »

IT’S GOT WHEELS…………….. :yahoo: :yahoo: :yahoo: :yahoo:

I put the new OME suspension on had some issues look here if u haven’t read it viewtopic.php?f=3&t=19883" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

Sorry for jumping all over the place, still need to make a plan with the back shocks as they are the wrong ones :evil: :evil: and will have no luck with SA4x4 store.

The chassis is really high as there is no weight on it cant even get the front shocks into the mounts will have to get the engine in place to bolt them on.

The paint is still a mess up used a galvanizer primer and then painted chassis black over it and it has nearly been a week and it is still tacky when u touch it and it scrapes off. :evil: :evil: :evil:

Next on the list is the steering started cleaning all the ball joints and tie rod ends
IMG-20110725-00171 (Medium).jpg
IMG-20110725-00173 (Medium).jpg
IMG-20110727-00182 (Medium).jpg
IMG-20110727-00183 (Medium).jpg
IMG-20110727-00184 (Medium).jpg
IMG-20110728-00187 (Medium).jpg
IMG-20110728-00189 (Medium).jpg
Musselcracker

Re: A HILUX IS REBORN..... ITS GOT WHEELS

Post by Musselcracker »

Nice work ...

Thanks for the pics of your steering arm... now I know what the inside of the thing looks like!

Mine is pretty shot! let me know where you get new parts like the rubber and springs

Musselcracker wrote:Nice work ...

Thanks for the pics of your steering arm... now I know what the inside of the thing looks like!

Mine is pretty shot! let me know where you get new parts like the rubber and springs
Have you tried tightening yours?
dustbuster

Post by dustbuster »

Musselcracker wrote:Nice work ...

Chris I am just cleaning mine up the rubber boots are still good, just going to get new grease nipples have painted it with hammerite will have more photos next week cant work this weekend going hunting with some mates
dustbuster

Post by dustbuster »

steering (Medium).JPG
Musselcracker

Post by Musselcracker »

i have tightened by adjusting screw on the steering box... well i was a bit nervous to tighten it too tight! whats a good gauge as to it being tight enough? i do not have a big jack or jackstands so the car has to sit on the ground!

i loosened the nut until the a bit of steering fluid leaked out and then tighten the screw!! and tightened the nut back again

Musselcracker wrote:i have tightened by adjusting screw on the steering box... well i was a bit nervous to tighten it too tight! whats a good gauge as to it being tight enough? i do not have a big jack or jackstands so the car has to sit on the ground!

i loosened the nut until the a bit of steering fluid leaked out and then tighten the screw!! and tightened the nut back again
I'm not refering to your steering box :shock: :shock: :shock:

I'm referring to the drag link in this picture...
Vehicle: '90 SFA Hilux DC 4X4, Full OME, 110mm lift. Brospeed branch, 50mm ss freeflow exhaust. 30 x 9.5 Discoverer S/T's on Viper mags. L/R tank. (AWOL) '98 LTD 2.4 SFA, dual battery system. Dobinson suspension, LR tanks, 31" BF mud's.

Chris, what Cassie means is that you can tighten up the end screws on the drag link ... that compresses the spring and puts more pressure on the little cups, taking up the excessive play in the link itself. :winkx:

Mud Dog wrote:Chris, what Cassie means is that you can tighten up the end screws on the drag link ... that compresses the spring and puts more pressure on the little cups, taking up the excessive play in the link itself. :winkx:
Yebo yes
Musselcracker

Post by Musselcracker »

shot okes....

Should have read this on the weekend and could have fixed it! I know the screw you are talking about there is a split pin in there you have to pull off first!

Sorry did not mean to highjack your thread Dean!
dustbuster

Post by dustbuster »

Update time, have put the drive chain on……………….. did some work on the engine replace the gaskets on the sump and tappet covers painted them as well also replaced the sparkplug tubes still lots to do now I am waiting for the bodie to be made.........
ball joints
ball joints
ball joints finished
IMG-20110805-00211 (Medium).jpg
IMG-20110806-00215 (Medium).jpg
IMG-20110806-00216 (Medium).jpg
IMG-20110809-00229 (Medium).jpg
IMG-20110809-00232 (Medium).jpg
NardusJVR
Town: Louis Trichardt
Vehicle: hilux 2.8TD

Post by NardusJVR »

dean............ Wel done. Stil some work left but she will look Gr8
Musselcracker

Post by Musselcracker »

put a seat on and drive it just like that!!

WOOOHOOO
Musselcracker

Post by Musselcracker »

OKay whats been happening??

GIVE US AN UPDATE
dustbuster

Re: A HILUX IS REBORN..... THE WAITING GAME!!!!!!!!!!

Post by dustbuster »

The waiting game have paid for my body over 9 months ago and still waiting :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil:

Mboza is been taking there time hope it is worth the wait……………………

everything is ready for the body want to start putting it back together!!!!!!!!
519franco
Town: Richards bay
Vehicle: 87 Hilux 3L v6 Ford

Post by 519franco »

go take a turn there when i was there i saw one hilux but wasnt getting worked on.. but i could be mistaken
HAPPILY BUILD 3L V6 1987 TOYOTA HILUX
viewtopic.php?f=136&t=18393" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
FORD> Full Off Road Damnation
FORD> Its not oil leaks,, its swearing power
Sponser: MY DAD
Builder: ME: FRANCO DU PLESSIS
dustbuster

Post by dustbuster »

519franco wrote:go take a turn there when i was there i saw one hilux but wasnt getting worked on.. but i could be mistaken
they have started on the cab waititng for some pics to be sent to see the progress am going to go down next weekend and have a look.
dustbuster

Post by dustbuster »

So on Saturday went to Mboza and had a chat with Steve and showed me the new way he is putting the body together as to make it line up better, He is assembling the floor on the chassis and then putting the cab on top and lining it up and glassing in position.

I am going to cut my old cab up and reuse the front section and mounting plates/gusset which he will acid clean and glass into the new body.

Here are the pics of the my cab in the mold and some pic’s of Marks CAB getting fitted to the chassis
IMG-20120211-00098 (Medium).jpg
IMG-20120211-00100 (Medium).jpg
here is Marks cab
IMG-20120211-00092 (Medium).jpg
IMG-20120211-00095 (Medium).jpg
pampoen
Vehicle: 2011 Hilux DC 3.0 D4D

Post by pampoen »

Aaarg!!! Drool drool, My cab's starting to look more like that, about 10% being fiberglass and the rest... painted rust :evil: .Hopefully as i add more and more fiberglass one day ill eventually have an Mboza body.
With each replacement of parts, a car slowly becomes Chinese.
MOFASA
Vehicle: 1998 JEEP XJ 4.0............ 4 inch lift.... more mods to follow............ Old vehicle was MOFASA
Club VHF Licence: X119

Post by MOFASA »

This is a gr8 thread........

:beg: Can we have an update????
Live Life in the FAST lane....
Forget the past, Embrace the FUTURE!!!!
To 4x4 or not to 4x4 thats the question....
IT'S A JEEP :yahoo: ..... You wouldn't understand....
ImageImageImage[rimg=206x128]
Sparky_cpt
Town: Kuilsriver
Vehicle: Hilux 2.2 DC 1989

Post by Sparky_cpt »

Any updates?
dustbuster

Post by dustbuster »

The body is coming together slowly, here some pics I took a two weeks ago when I was in Durban, The doors still need to be glassed onto the frames and the bonnet put together the inside skin and bar for the dash, also the floor needs to be reinforced.

Still lots to do :crazy: :crazy: :crazy: :crazy: :crazy: :crazy: :crazy: :crazy:

IMG-20120616-00344.jpg
(51.78 KiB) Downloaded 1798 times
IMG-20120616-00346.jpg
(103.98 KiB) Downloaded 1798 times
IMG-20120616-00347.jpg
(90.58 KiB) Downloaded 1798 times
IMG-20120616-00348.jpg
(87.34 KiB) Downloaded 1798 times
IMG-20120616-00349.jpg
(89.2 KiB) Downloaded 1798 times
Quintin
Town: Umhlanga
Vehicle: Toyota Hilux D/C 2 x Diff lock, 33" MT Tyre, Lexus V8, Winch, Bull Bar and Tow bar.

Post by Quintin »

This is a very cool project keep sending those pics I am very interested in the progress as I am considering the same. If I may ask what is the cost of the cab.
Toyota Fortuner 3.0 D 4 D 4X4 A/T (4 play). Hilux DC 4x4, Lexus 4Lt V8, Mikhem suspension met 50mm lift, 50 mm body lift, Bilstein Shocks extra length, 33" tyre, 8 J rims, 2 x Lockers, Snorkel. (Blou Job) en dan n Peugeot 107 (Quickie).

Are those inner door frames metal? They don't appear to be F/G...

dustbuster

Post by dustbuster »

Ya they are trying out a new way on the doors Steve is reusing the inner panel he plasma cuts the old outer skin off then acid cleans and electroplates the old inner panel (that is what you see) he is then bonding the fibreglass outside shell onto the inner.

Steve always says he has had trouble with the doors sealing and the windows ect. Now everything lines up and you can reuse all the bolt holes. He also does the same in the front for the lights and radiator that panel is steel as well.

We tried a new system with my cab as well where I cut all the brackets that mount the cab onto the chassis and he glassed them into the cab so it mounts better onto the chassis.

Here some pics of the parts i cut off my old body
IMG-20120213-00119.jpg
(75.23 KiB) Downloaded 1779 times
IMG-20120213-00122.jpg
(85.89 KiB) Downloaded 1779 times
IMG-20120213-00124.jpg
(67.86 KiB) Downloaded 1779 times
dustbuster

Post by dustbuster »

Quintin wrote:This is a very cool project keep sending those pics I am very interested in the progress as I am considering the same. If I may ask what is the cost of the cab.
quintin best to call steve at mboza and ask him is number is zero84548637seven
Quintin
Town: Umhlanga
Vehicle: Toyota Hilux D/C 2 x Diff lock, 33" MT Tyre, Lexus V8, Winch, Bull Bar and Tow bar.

Post by Quintin »

Thanks That is what I will do. Your project looks very nice.
Toyota Fortuner 3.0 D 4 D 4X4 A/T (4 play). Hilux DC 4x4, Lexus 4Lt V8, Mikhem suspension met 50mm lift, 50 mm body lift, Bilstein Shocks extra length, 33" tyre, 8 J rims, 2 x Lockers, Snorkel. (Blou Job) en dan n Peugeot 107 (Quickie).
MariusF
Vehicle: Toyota Fortuner 3.0

Post by MariusF »

Any updates mate?? :beg:
dustbuster

Post by dustbuster »

was at MBOZA on SAT morning and got a few pics they are finished all the glass work
and now just the fulling and sanding left the a coat or two of primer and the shell should be ready for me to take.
so hopefully if all goes to plan i should get it by the end of next week :beg: :beg: :beg: :beg: :beg:
IMG-20120804-00421.jpg
back
(69.91 KiB) Downloaded 1641 times
IMG-20120804-00422.jpg
inside
(57.14 KiB) Downloaded 1641 times
IMG-20120804-00423.jpg
side
(42.02 KiB) Downloaded 1641 times
IMG-20120804-00425.jpg
(82.66 KiB) Downloaded 1641 times
IMG-20120804-00426.jpg
(74.89 KiB) Downloaded 1641 times
IMG-20120804-00428.jpg
(92.61 KiB) Downloaded 1641 times
IMG-20120804-00431.jpg
under
(117.26 KiB) Downloaded 1641 times
IMG-20120804-00432.jpg
under
(60.08 KiB) Downloaded 1641 times

:thumbup: :thumbup:

MariusF

Post by MariusF »

I think it is time to show us the progress.

Feels like the waiting game is on us....Why are we waiting ? :tongue:
dustbuster

Post by dustbuster »

eish just no time!!!!! to busy with work CAB is ready just have to get from durban to richards bay will start work on it in the new year......
dustbuster

Post by dustbuster »

So this weekend I got my birthday present!!!!! :yahoo: :yahoo: :yahoo: :yahoo: :yahoo:
IMG-20121217-00015.jpg
(89.72 KiB) Downloaded 1436 times
IMG-20121217-00014.jpg
(78.72 KiB) Downloaded 1436 times
next year is going to be a busy one!!!!!!! :alvarin: :alvarin: :alvarin: :alvarin:

Re: A HILUX IS REBORN..... the itch!!!!!!!

This is going to be a worthwhile read! Please keep your camera fully charged. ;)

Baasvark
Town: Virginia
Vehicle: '97 D/C with all the trimmings & 2011 Troopy

Post by Baasvark »

You definately have"Beeg Cohones" to tackle a job like that!!!
I have had a similar itch once or twice but decided to play it safe and save up for another hilux ;)
Aint it ironic that "Common Sense" aint so common after all...
dustbuster

Post by dustbuster »

Eish have to get back into this project :aggresive: :aggresive: :aggresive: :aggresive:
just bought a house so been spending time sorting that out gardens are a mission :dash:
want to take the body home so I can work on it there but only got a single garage so will be a squeeze
will start this weekend so Monday will post some more pics of the Mbosa body
dustbuster

Post by dustbuster »

So the project has taken a turn :crazy: :crazy: :crazy: :crazy: , think I am just going to get frustrated keeping the 4Y even if I EFI it :aggresive: :aggresive: :aggresive: . Just want the power to cruise to Transkei and places not battle up hills fully loaded. Also might get a boat in the future so want to tow as well.

So going to take the 4y out and do a Mazda/Ford WL2.5 TDI conversion with 33’ tyres and 50mm body lift, this seems to be the best motor option sucks that it is not a Toyota engine :cry: :cry: :cry: but fit’s as easily and not break the bank.

I like the fact the WL2.5 is a simple mechanical engine as well so no ECU needed so will be more reliable once set up, and double the torque than the 4y.

Started work on the CAB lot's of finishing off needed tiding up the glass few air pockets under gel coat and cracks on some of the joins noting to major, else looking good. :thumbup: :thumbup:

sorry didn’t get time to take some decent pics

under cab
IMG-20130519-00217.jpg
(106.54 KiB) Downloaded 1137 times
glassed in steel rib from cab
IMG-20130519-00213.jpg
(82.42 KiB) Downloaded 1137 times
crack in door pillar
IMG-20130519-00215.jpg
(49.81 KiB) Downloaded 1137 times

Massive job you are doing there Dean. I am reading the post with interest and was wondering if you have got any further? :thumbup:
MOFASA
Vehicle: 1998 JEEP XJ 4.0............ 4 inch lift.... more mods to follow............ Old vehicle was MOFASA

Post by MOFASA »

An update would be awsum..... :thumbup: :thumbup:
dustbuster

Post by dustbuster »

Engine is ready Hoppy should courier it up this week :thumbup: :thumbup: :thumbup: , so need to take the 4Y out,

The body is not lining up nicely on the chassis so bit of work needs to be done there
and the mounts are going to have to be custom heights to get the body level.

Then I want to spray in the engine bay and under before mounting to chassis

Very busy with work at the moment so have not spent enough time on it......
:thumbdown: :thumbdown: :thumbdown:
Baasvark
Town: Virginia
Vehicle: '97 D/C with all the trimmings & 2011 Troopy

Post by Baasvark »

Hey Dean,

How's the project going?

Long time no pics?
Aint it ironic that "Common Sense" aint so common after all...
dustbuster

Post by dustbuster »

Going slowly :crazy: :crazy: , have taken the 4Y out, have revived the 2.5TD from Hoppy :thumbup: :thumbup: :thumbup: :thumbup: and should get the new bell housing next week.

will try to get the engine in next weekend.
MOFASA

Post by MOFASA »

Must be VERY :frustrated: to see how far you have come since Jan 2011 and still cant drive her....
It should ALL be worth it in the end......
AWSUM build so far.....
Dont loose faith SHE will drive soon.... :thumbup: :thumbup: :thumbup:
dustbuster

Post by dustbuster »

Still going slowly, have been tinkering in the garage during my spare time!!!!

Got the body on the chassis and all lined up had to make different size spacers to get the cab as level, so front has 75mm going down to nothing at the back, what I think happened is the mboza glassed the existing rib on the outside of the cab which gave a body lift at the back.

Have the new 2.5 TD engine in place :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: now trying to sort out water piping and intercooler, next is to sort out steering rack and brakes want to mount everything temporally then take off and spray the cab.

Will get some photos this weekend if I can

Awesome build boet :clap: :clap: :clap:

You have a lot of patience and determination to keep on going for so long, you must really enjoy it.
Good luck, hope it all works out okay with no further hassels.
dustbuster

Post by dustbuster »

So in my spare time I have started on the project again :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: , have started designing my bumper and making a mock up one :celebrate: so radiator is in and piping sorted and intercooler is integrated into new bumper and piping is also sorted.

Next is the steering rack fuel system and brakes.
20140622_143613.jpg
20140622_143613.jpg (76.47 KiB) Viewed 9441 times
20140622_143601.jpg
20140622_143601.jpg (73.4 KiB) Viewed 9441 times
ASSEMBLY.jpg
(120.33 KiB) Downloaded 486 times
ASSEMBLY back.jpg
(99.36 KiB) Downloaded 486 times

Looking good, but you're not doing your approach angle any favours with the I/C in that position.... Can you not lift it, tuck it in closer or even angle it? The WL will perform verry verry nicely with that big IC!!! :thumbup: :thumbup: :thumbup:

dustbuster

Post by dustbuster »

Good point will have a look, tricky with trying to get space with the winch and also do not want to restrict the airflow over the radiator.
Will do a side view and see what angle I get with 33” tires on looks a bit funny with the small tires

If you just angle the bottom in towards the back it will already help a lot.

Airflow wont be restrigted too much if you put it in front of the radiator either, but you might have to mod the grille somewhat. On my 2.5 Ford we put a similar sized I/C in front of the radiator with no ill effects..

MariusF

Post by MariusF »

Hi Dean...any progress?

Return to “Build your own:”