Where could i get new springs?

pampoen
Vehicle: 2011 Hilux DC 3.0 D4D

Where could i get new springs?

Post by pampoen »

My springs are sagging quite badly now after 19 years of use im thinking of replacing them or modifying them to give me a little more lift than standard and preferably give a softer ride.Do you guys have any tips?could i get someone to make me a set as my budget is as slim as Angelina Jolie at the moment! OR does someone have a set there wanting to sell?
With each replacement of parts, a car slowly becomes Chinese.
cyborg
Town: Richards Bay
Vehicle: 1984 Toyota 4Runner 4x4 SFA ; 2011 Fortuner 4x4 ; BMW 650 GS

Re: Where could i get new springs?

Post by cyborg »

Hi Luke,
I recon you should have some guys who refurbish them in your area, it seems quite a common thing. They take yours off, refurbish them, add a blade and Bob's your uncle. . . for a little over 1k or so.
(you just got to see what the rest of the hardware looks like, that can send the price up a little).

I'm in the process of getting mine sorted soon, (I hope), but I have to replace my leaf springs from scratch, since they're too rusted to refurbish. But can't wait to see what she's gonna look like standing lekker high again!
Cheers, and good luck.
Hilux 4x4. . . . :thumbup:
Vehicle: '90 SFA Hilux DC 4X4, Full OME, 110mm lift. Brospeed branch, 50mm ss freeflow exhaust. 30 x 9.5 Discoverer S/T's on Viper mags. L/R tank. (AWOL) '98 LTD 2.4 SFA, dual battery system. Dobinson suspension, LR tanks, 31" BF mud's.

Heat process "re-tensioning" does'nt last ... they'll be sagging again within 6 months to a year. Far better option to replace with a reputable product like OME ... pricey to start off but well worth it in the long term. Mine only sagged by about 10mm over 16 years with a LOT of off road work and some extreme punishment. Personally I would fit nothing else, even if I had to mortgage the house. :winkx:

I would personnally go the Mikem route. Their suspensions is on par with OME and Ironman at almost halve the price.
Traveler
Vehicle: Pathfinder 2.5 LE AT
Club VHF Licence: X81

Post by Traveler »

Andy is right, retensioning is a waste of money. It is just a down payment on the new ones you will buy later.

I'd rather buy from someone like East Rand Springs or General Spring and you'll come in at about the R2000 mark for all.

Know what you don't know.
cyborg

Post by cyborg »

Eish. . .
I guess there's just no cheap option here. I've spoken to Darrell at Mikem and he is one of the most helpfull guys yet!
So if you can scrape the 12k or so together the Mikems are my option too. But the Leaf springs are quite vital ne. . .
cyborg

Post by cyborg »

Traveler wrote:Andy is right, retensioning is a waste of money. It is just a down payment on the new ones you will buy later.

I'd rather buy from someone like East Rand Springs or General Spring and you'll come in at about the R2000 mark for all.
And is this for a replacement, NEW, set of leaf springs?
or a refurbished set? (And then you go fit them yourself)?

New... refurbished won't last as they were probably re-tensioned to get so extra life outta them...

If you need the leaf springs only, Mikem can't be that expensive... while you at it, check the condition of the leaf spring perches... if needed straighten and enforce them...

As part of my front axle rebuild I did the following:
You can clearly see the gap between the straight edge and perch top...
Straightened the perches and re-enforcement plates...
perch_re-inforce_02.JPG
Welded in place
perch_re-inforce_05.JPG
Mr B
pampoen

Post by pampoen »

Oh ya would wanna definitly straighten spring perches and move front axle foward,any notes on that?

New holes are drilled in the perches, where the spring pack locator pin will sit... visible on pics... in my case I have moved the left 10mm more than the right, to correct the SFA's tendency to pull left... the holes in the centre are the old ones...
Traveler
Vehicle: Pathfinder 2.5 LE AT
Club VHF Licence: X81

Post by Traveler »

Yes you can.
General Springs is more geared towards DIY kits if you ask me.
Shaun or Trevor 011 825 4550.

Know what you don't know.
pampoen

Post by pampoen »

if the axle is out of allignment 10mm surely it would mess with the alligning that quickfit and all these okes do?
ismail
Vehicle: Hilux '03 2700i SC 4x4

Post by ismail »

honestly, retensioning springs-heating them up, is a total waste of cash i did mine last year this time, and now they sagging, MIKEM all the way
'93 DC 2.2 4x4 33" BF KM2's 60mm lift, Fakawi Canvas Canopy. SOLD
'03 SC 2700i 4x4 32" BFG KM2, SAC stage 1, OME springs, Rancho 9000XL shocks, ARB, Escape Gear seatcovers - goes like a bomb!!!!!!!!!

I surf more than I work