Upgrade from TATA Telcoline to Hilux

Tell us a bit more about your Hilux (or other 4x4) and show off with some pictures.
anthonyhugo
Vehicle: 2003 KZ-TE 4x4 D/C

Upgrade from TATA Telcoline to Hilux

Post by anthonyhugo »

hi guys,

my name is anthony & i'm a Hilux addict! :)

last week i upgraded my tata telcoline to a 2003 hilux 4x4 d/c kz-te & WOW i regret i didn't do this earlier

i used to think toyota's are too overpriced & you get "real value for money" with a tata - perhaps - but you can't even compare the quality and performance vs. the hilux

i got this hilux for R130,000, it has 140,000km on the clock, what you think, cool deal?

here's some pics, sorry if too many

cheers
ant

anthonyhugo

Re: Upgrade from TATA Telcoline to Hilux

Post by anthonyhugo »

eish i'm still new at the whole 4x4 thing...

i was told by the owner it's got old man EMU suspension & SAC intercooler and chip

also thinking of going on LA Sport 4x4 training - scared i'll break it :)

this weekend i put on those 4x4 seat covers from midas & some cool pirelli mats hehe - those "real" 4x4 seat covers are a bit too expensive (the ones northern sells) but wow they're nice

+ i got a 5ft "farm jack" from adendorfs - they going for R645 now on special! are these any good?

i also got hella 550 spots but i was told to mount them in such a way as no to restrict air flow - apparently the bakkies overheat easily causing the head to crack etc.?

ps. i'm looking for those cool bonnet and light covers, anybody know where i can get hold of some?

thanks!

cheers
ant
Vehicle: 2018 FJ Cruiser

Very nice Anthony... enjoy it... a LOT!! :thumbup: :thumbup: :thumbup: :clap: :clap:
Fired as CEO and Refreshments Manager at Team Offroad.

2018 FJ Cruiser - #stofgevreet
1984 Mercedes 126 Black Widow Vernon Koekemoer Edition
email: thysdj@gmail.com

Hi Anthony, glad you joined the Forum! :thumbup:

Tx for the all the pics, nice looking van!
anthonyhugo

Post by anthonyhugo »

thanks for the nice welcome guys!

i have a LOT to learn... i wanted to get a winch but i can't seem to mount it without blocking air flow... damn...

but my dad told me you can winch yourself out of trouble with a normal high lift jack!?

That is correct! Winches are mainly used for other vehicles like LR :lol: :lol: :lol:

You will prob. never use it on yourself :D
Vehicle: '90 SFA Hilux DC 4X4, Full OME, 110mm lift. Brospeed branch, 50mm ss freeflow exhaust. 30 x 9.5 Discoverer S/T's on Viper mags. L/R tank. (AWOL) '98 LTD 2.4 SFA, dual battery system. Dobinson suspension, LR tanks, 31" BF mud's.

Hi Anthony, Welcome to the forum! :thumbup:
Glad you said tata to the Tata! :D:
Nice Lux you got there and it looks well worth it at that price with all the extras / modifications. The mileage is also fairly low and with the vehicle having been rigged for overlanding, it's more than likely that it was used on long trips .... far better for the vehicle than short hops.
I see the OME suspension and SAC intercooler, also removeable tow hitch with hitch sleeve in the front as well, plus of course the dual battery system and mini compressor. Those mods alone would have set you back a conservative 35 - 40k. The Adendorf jacks are good ... and yes you can use them to winch yourself out of trouble, slow but possible. Try Midas / Autozone for the covers.
Enjoy it! A vehicle to be proud of! :wink:

P. S.
You might want to tidy up that wiring in the load body and also watch the intercooler radiator that you don't snag it on an obstacle. A lot of guys move them out of the way .... there is a thread here somewhere that covers it ... do a search for "Intercooler" and read through the posts.

Marty
Vehicle: 2002 face lift KZ-TE DC. Mod’s / dual batter - kinda ;) / Active suspension / Intercooler / free flow / ECU Chip / sports flow air filter

Post by Marty »

Baie nice, lyk amper soos myne ;)
Jy sal jou lux elke dag meer en meer geniet. Vra my ek weet.
One Africa, One Hilux needed :)
legend35
Vehicle: Hilux 2700i
Club VHF Licence: HC262

Post by legend35 »

Welkom to the forum.Very nice Van you got yourself Anthony.Join us on a GTG so you can see what that Lux can realy do and then you will enjoy it even more. :thumbup:
2004 Hilux 2700i 4x4 Legend 35
Cowley branch and freeflow,long range tank,dual battery system,home made front and rear bumpers.

Welcome to the forum and nice looking van :thumbup:
Bosfebok
Town: Roodekrans
Vehicle: 1995 Hilux Raider 2.2
Club VHF Licence: X248

Post by Bosfebok »

Welcome Anthony :thumbup: Enjoy that very nice Lux and the forum...
Otto X248
1995 Hilux Raider 2.2 EFI Turbo DC
Alucab Canopy with Kitchen and Recovery sections
National Luna Split Charge system and Dual Battery
80W solar panel and MPPT controller
20.5" LED BAR
5ton tow bar with recovery points
Nudge-M front bumper
80l Long Range Fuel Tank
90l Water Tank
Slide Drawer System
Safari Snorkel
Double Lockers - Toyota Electric selectable
Diff breathers
The worst anti hi-jack alarm system ever, SANJI!!

A bad day out is still better than a good day in!!
0000DS
Town: Roodekrans
Vehicle: Tuna, 4X4, Longrange Fuel tank, BF's AT, Intergrated bumber, Roofrack, Awning, Air suspension,winch

Post by 0000DS »

Welcome and enjoy :thumbup:
anthonyhugo

Post by anthonyhugo »

thanks for the cool welcome guys!

@Mud Dog
i want to redo the wires, was thinking of using some form of trunking... any ideas?

@legend35
sorry what is GTG? i would love to join! ps. this is my only form of transport, so i'd love to go offroading without breaking my baby :)
one day i'll get a "pipe 4x4 hilux" then nothing or nobody can stop me muahaha

oh and the owner told me not to move the intercooler higher... he reckons it will stop the airflow too much?! is the airflow issue really as bad as people make it out to be!?

Sorry forum lingo: Get To Gether

Have a look here:

viewforum.php?f=48
Senyetse
Vehicle: 2000 2.7 Hilux Raider DC 4x4, OME, dual battery, Front Runner RR

Post by Senyetse »

Nice bakkie and good choice. Damn right you can't even compare a Tata to a Hilux! I'd rather buy a 20 year old Hilux than a brand new Tata! The Hilux will still be going long after the Tata's kaput. :twisted:

Agree with the dual battery wiring in the load wiring, you should tidy that up a bit.
Are we there yet?

was thinking of using some form of trunking
Anthony, this stuff works well, available from Mid@s or motor spare places. You get various seizes.
DSC04677 (Small).JPG
anthonyhugo

Post by anthonyhugo »

thanks for that OOOOMS!

can i just use some sort of silicon to glue that stuff to the sides or would it be better to drill holes with brackets?

Rather no holes, cable tie if u can!
rood
Town: Polokwane
Vehicle: 4LT V6 Prado 120, 3L Extra cab D4d 4x4, Suzuki SJ413

Post by rood »

Ja nou ry jy n BAKKIE!!!! :clap: :clap: :clap: , jy kan n Bonnet, light protectors en bubbles koop by Boksburg vlooimark, dit is baie goedkoop daar, dit is nou n "after market" produk, maar doen die werk en lyk mooi.
SDC10220.JPG

Dis nou 'n pragtige foto Rood :thumbup: :thumbup: :thumbup:

Lyk my hy gaan hom sommer erf!!!
Vehicle: '90 SFA Hilux DC 4X4, Full OME, 110mm lift. Brospeed branch, 50mm ss freeflow exhaust. 30 x 9.5 Discoverer S/T's on Viper mags. L/R tank. (AWOL) '98 LTD 2.4 SFA, dual battery system. Dobinson suspension, LR tanks, 31" BF mud's.

anthonyhugo wrote:thanks for that OOOOMS!

can i just use some sort of silicon to glue that stuff to the sides or would it be better to drill holes with brackets?
As Mark said, it's preferable not to drill holes. remove all that messy silicon and clean off the wires as best you can. Get some of that flexi-duct that Mark suggested andget it over the wires first and cut to the correct length required. Then glue it neatly into the corner with a glue gun, making sure that the split is to the top so that you can get the wires in and out, or even to run an extra wire in it if needed at some later stage. Done. :wink:

cockroach9999
Town: False Bay Cape Town
Vehicle: 91 Hilux 2.2 EFI D/C 4x4 - Rustbucket

Post by cockroach9999 »

Senyetse wrote:I'd rather buy a 20 year old Hilux than a brand new Tata! The Hilux will still be going long after the Tata's kaput. :twisted:
That's pretty much what I did after looking around, and doing a fair bit of lurking in this forum :thumbup: :thumbup:

Is it true that every purchase of a new LR gets you a shot in their Free Big Bucks Draw; :think:

TATA my Chance.... TATA my Millions :twisted:

R :wink:

:clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap:

cause the chance that you will break down is millions :lol: :lol: :lol:
Suidwes1
Vehicle: Landrover 110 Defender met baie ekstras ( jammer ouens )

Post by Suidwes1 »

Rood ek stem saam met Mark, dit is nou `n baie mooi foto vir SA 4 x 4 en ons kan die prys deel vir die inligting.
Dit is goed dat jy die mannetjie van kleins honger maak vir die bos en 4 x 4.
Sterkte
OUD Suidwester !!!
Province

My 4 x 4
Lets Play !
168 Commisioner street
Krugersdorp

S 26 05.897 E 27 45.627
my4x4shop@gmail.com
www.my4x4shop.co.za ( aktief )
+27116609687
rood
Town: Polokwane
Vehicle: 4LT V6 Prado 120, 3L Extra cab D4d 4x4, Suzuki SJ413

Post by rood »

Dankie ooooms, ja as ek hom nog teen daai tyd ry, my vrou soek die bakkie, ek wil vir my n single cab kry.
anthonyhugo

Post by anthonyhugo »

hey guys, i just got hold of a place called Goldens? (012 325 8888, cnr andries & struben)
they apparently sell the bonnet, lights & windshield protectors
their sales guy reckons all of the above will cost me about R860, is this a good price?
thanks!!!
Zandyl
Town: Mokopane
Vehicle: Hilux 2.7i 4x4 DC

Post by Zandyl »

anthonyhugo

Post by anthonyhugo »

Zandyl wrote:Try autostyle motorsport

http://www.autostyle.co.za/prodlist.php ... &showall=1
many thanks Zandyl! i got the bonnet & light protectors, will fit them tomorrow! :)

i'm not sure if i should get the window shields......

Windowshields, hmmmm? A bit 70's but that is only my opinion!

Besides I like wind in my face :thumbup: :thumbup: :thumbup:
Zandyl

Post by Zandyl »

Windowshields, hmmmm? A bit 70's but that is only my opinion!
It helps a lot if you're a smoker, keeps the ash from blowing back in the vehicle

Nee man, julle moet nie in julle voertuie rook nie :lol: :lol: :lol:
Zandyl

Post by Zandyl »

Nee man, julle moet nie in julle voertuie rook nie :lol: :lol: :lol:
OK Mark, it keeps the rain out when driving with the window partially open :lol: :lol: :lol:

:thumbup: :thumbup: :thumbup: me guilty...sorry! :roll:
Zandyl

Post by Zandyl »

Accepted :lol: :lol: :lol:
anthonyhugo

Post by anthonyhugo »

Mud Dog wrote: P. S.
You might want to tidy up that wiring in the load body and also watch the intercooler radiator that you don't snag it on an obstacle. A lot of guys move them out of the way .... there is a thread here somewhere that covers it ... do a search for "Intercooler" and read through the posts.

hi Mud Dog, thanks for all the info man!

i'm seriously thinking of moving the intercooler out of the way because it seems like it reduces my entry angle a lot

but the previous owner told me that he went to the guys at SAC and asked them if it's a good idea & they apparently advised him against it because if they move it up, it will restrict the air flow to the rest of the engine too much which is bad for this particular model (KZ-TE)!?

is this really as bad as everybody makes it out to be? have you seen other KZ-TE's with intercooler moved up without overheating issues?

thanks a mil

cheers
ant
Marty
Vehicle: 2002 face lift KZ-TE DC. Mod’s / dual batter - kinda ;) / Active suspension / Intercooler / free flow / ECU Chip / sports flow air filter

Post by Marty »

Anthony, I have been thinking of moving my intercooler to the top as well. And the only way of doing that and still have a nice airflow is to get a scoop. Now, somehow I can't see a KZ with a scoop.

So next plan is to get a bigger set of tire’s and maybe a suspension lift. But before I do that I need to do some serious reading up to the pro's and the cons with doing something like that.

Other wise, worst case I remove the intercooler. But I got so use to the power I can't see me with out it anymore.

(Oh, just make sure you have an armor plate under the intercooler. Mine has saved my intercooler a few times already.)
anthonyhugo

Post by anthonyhugo »

i found a cool thread about putting on a scoop:
viewtopic.php?f=94&t=4760&start=20

now i just wonder if i can "convert" my SAC cooler to be top-mounted if i put in a scoop??????
Marty

Post by Marty »

Sjoe, ja nee dit lyk mooi op die kiekie...
Sal dit graag self wil sien ook.
anthonyhugo

Post by anthonyhugo »

some pics, we went fishing at bospoort dam and it turned out to be nice play time in the mud, almost got stuck a couple of times but the low range 4x4 came to the rescue

how's this for bf goodrich slicks hehehe

here's my 5ft bad boy, still need to mount to the back step

auto style bonnet & light protectors fitted

my dad's helping me mount the spots (hella 550's), he made the holes but now we're struggling to make mounts that work, hopefully we'll get them sorted this wednesday

the bracket that didn't work
anthonyhugo

Post by anthonyhugo »

hi guys

i got a quote from a dealer for a D4D bonnet scoop like this one frik put on:
viewtopic.php?f=94&t=4760&start=20

they quoted me R757.98 and i still have to get it painted gloss white by a panel beater

is that a good price or can i get better?

thanks for your help again

cheers
ant
dalkill
Town: Cape TOwn
Vehicle: 2.4 GD6 SR D/C 4x4

Post by dalkill »

the new tata Xenon does look the part though hey.
wonder if has improved any over the telcoline ITO performance + quality
2016 2.4GD6 SR D/C 4x4 (Oct 2022 - current) (Buraaq VI)
2007 d4d 3.0 D/C 4x4 (Mar 2016 - July 2022) (Buraaq V)
2003 Isuzu KB300 D/C 4x4 (May 2015 - Feb 2016) aka Buraaq IV
2000 hilux DC 2.7 4x4 (Jul 2011 - Sep 2012) aka Buraaq III
1999 RXI 20v (Nov 2009 - Jul 2011) aka Quicksilver
1990 hilux DC 2.2 4x4 (Jun 2008 - Jul 2011) aka Buraaq II
1997 corolla 160i GLE (Feb 2007 - Sep 2009) aka Green Goblin
1990 GLI twincam (still my fav rolla) (Oct 2005 - Mar 2007) aka Wit Blitz
Golf GTI 2.0 (temp insanity for 2months) (Jun 2005 - Aug 2005) aka A mistake
1993 hilux SC 2.2 4x4 (April 2003 - Sept 2005) aka Buraaq

TOYOTA IS MY LEWE
anthonyhugo

Post by anthonyhugo »

dalkill wrote:the new tata Xenon does look the part though hey.
wonder if has improved any over the telcoline ITO performance + quality
yeah but it's still a tata... :)

here's my experience with tata

the day i got my telcoline it was raining, the driver that delivered it to the dealer smeared the whole driver side interior with muddy hands & feet - they didn't even bother to clean it before giving it to me

they also gave me the wrong book - gave me the indica book - when i asked for the correct telcoline book they told me "it doesn't really matter - can't understand why i fuss about having the correct service book"

when i took my tata in for it's first service i showed them that the indicator lever doesn't work anymore and the second gear scratches

when you pressed the lever it didn't stay there - you had to hold it in place if you know what i mean?

they told me that it's not covered under the warranty so i'll have to pay R3500 to replace the whole unit - i just left it

their service department also lost my extra 2 year warranty certificate which i bought for an extra R4000 +/-

when i sold it the 2'nd gear was still scratching and i'm still waiting for them to find my warranty certificate hehehe

the other day i also had to fork out R6K for them to replace my fan belt and cam belt - i just got a quote from a toyota dealer to replace the cam and tensioners on my KZ - it is R1800 (i little more affordable...)

oh and i loved it when they charged me R600 for oil - i asked them what oil could possibly be so expensive - told me it's "tata brand oil" - i wanted them to show me the bottle/container - was told i'm not allowed back in the workshop

as you can see i had a lot of fun with the tata stealers

anyways no hard feelings anymore as i bought the lux - i will never ever ever ever ever buy tata or similar brand again - as the saying goes - "goedkoop koop is duur koop"

i sleep so much better now that i have my lux...
anthonyhugo

Post by anthonyhugo »

guys i got the new lux bonnet scoop, anybody got a good contact for a panel beater to paint it for me and perhaps install it?

i'm in pta/jo'burg area

thanks

Anthony sounds like you had to say 'TATA' to alot of cash to own that 'TATA'!

Geesh and we always seem to think the Toy stealers are the worst... I remember Hoppy telling me how expensive the TATA's clutch is... IIRC he replaced it with a Mazda one at a faction of the TATA original price!

mr b
anthonyhugo

Post by anthonyhugo »

yeah, when it gets time to trade it not even tata wants to give you book value

i paid R130K for my telcoline in 2005, the best i could sell it privately for was R47K... you don't even want to know how much toyota offered me for trade in - only 1 toy dealer (out of about 6 i begged) was actually willing to give me trade in - and that was because someone i know was buying a tuna from them and told them they had to help me or he would go to another dealer

let me say this - toyota's trade in offer for my telcoline was less than a good LCD TV goes for these day............
Last edited by anthonyhugo on Tue Dec 15, 2009 4:29 pm, edited 1 time in total.
anthonyhugo

Post by anthonyhugo »

or as my one colleague once told me: TATA Ma Chance - TATA Ma Money!!! hehehe
dalkill

Post by dalkill »

:shock: ... that shocking service.
as my signiture says, i'm a toyota fan... grew up with it.
but I was hoping for new players in the market to challenge their dominance, but with service like this....

I remember once our transport manager was looking at new fleet bakkie, went to tata, asked about replacement engine.
Thing cost like R97000, and bakkie cost R119000 :wth:

TOYOTA IS MY LEWE
dalkill

Post by dalkill »

PS... you should have told the salesman for R600 , you can buy a barrel of crude oil :D:

TOYOTA IS MY LEWE
Kaspaas
Vehicle: 1998 Land Cruiser 105series GX

Post by Kaspaas »

Hierdie is die rede( na verkoop diens, boekwaarde), dat ek my TATA ,na vele kere om in te ruil, liewers afgeskryf het om meer waarde te kry, en hom te vervang met Bastiaan. nog nooit terug gekyk nie!
1998 Toyota land Cruiser 105 series. 4.2 D

"I am human, I make mistakes, and that is okay, I have my own permission."
anthonyhugo

Post by anthonyhugo »

dalkill wrote:PS... you should have told the salesman for R600 , you can buy a barrel of crude oil :D:
hahaha i'll try find and scan the invoices, you'll enjoy it

they also always added an item "sundries" for R800 on my services - perhaps i was paying for their toilet paper etc.
anthonyhugo

Post by anthonyhugo »

BASTIAAN wrote:Hierdie is die rede( na verkoop diens, boekwaarde), dat ek my TATA ,na vele kere om in te ruil, liewers afgeskryf het om meer waarde te kry, en hom te vervang met Bastiaan. nog nooit terug gekyk nie!
ja nee, ek het nooit regtig gedink aan intrade waarde toe ek my telcoline gekoop het nie - ek het gedink ek sou hom maar ry tot hy uitmekaar val - maar toe begin hy regtig uitmekaar val haha en om reg te maak raak toe bietjie duur - jy kan omtrent geen van die spares koop behalwe om agente toe te gaan en te k.. en betaal eish

toe die tyd kom om van die ding ontslae te raak was dit amper onmoontlik - weet jy hoe vernederind dit voel dit om by 'n dealership (ford, toy etc. etc.) in te stap en die salesman vertel jou "sorry meneer ons kan jou nie help met trade in op tata nie - ons het glad nie 'n mark vir die goed nie - gaan probeer maar jou tata in trade by tata!"

die toy dealer het gese as ek met 'n toy ingestap het, het hy my onmiddelik boek waarde gegee sonder enige vrae as ek nog 'n nuwe toy wou koop - dis baie nice
anthonyhugo

Post by anthonyhugo »

it seems tata has a fan club: http://www.tataproblems.co.za/

:clap:

A little off the subject, but I would also wonder how the Mahindra vehicles compare .... to my mind, that's another 'suspect' vehicle in terms of overall quality, service and spares back-up (since you'd also be 'chained' to the dealers), never mind re-sale values. :think:

anthonyhugo

Post by anthonyhugo »

yeah i'd also love to know - a buddy of mine is actually looking at getting a scorpion

don't you think the brands from china are/will be better in the near future? i kinda like the GWM's especially the steed...

I don't know about the near near future .... I've heard a few bad reports about the GWM's already. Maybe they will improve and prove themselves over time. Who knows. For now, if I were looking to buy, I would rather invest my hard earned money into something more reliable with an existing track record and established back-up .... even if that means buying an older model. :think:

anthonyhugo

Post by anthonyhugo »

spots in! sorry for the crappy cell pics

and i saw my dream bakkie today... anybody want a kz, i want to upgrade again hehehe

ps. anybody got any panel beater buddy's that can do my bonnet scoop spray and install for me?
Spartan
Town: Vanderbijlpark
Vehicle: 98 LTD Hilux 4x4 SFA, 2JZ GE L6 VVT-i 3.0i, Bilstein shox, OME and a Land Cruiser 79 series

Post by Spartan »

anthonyhugo wrote:ps. anybody got any panel beater buddy's that can do my bonnet scoop spray and install for me?
Nou wat wil jy met n torvanger op die bonnet maak :wth: :?:
MOBILITATE VINCERE
Spartan
ImageImageImageImageImageImageImage
anthonyhugo

Post by anthonyhugo »

Spartan wrote:
anthonyhugo wrote:ps. anybody got any panel beater buddy's that can do my bonnet scoop spray and install for me?
Nou wat wil jy met n torvanger op die bonnet maak :wth: :?:
torre vang natuurlik! hehehehe
Spartan
Town: Vanderbijlpark
Vehicle: 98 LTD Hilux 4x4 SFA, 2JZ GE L6 VVT-i 3.0i, Bilstein shox, OME and a Land Cruiser 79 series

Post by Spartan »

:lol: :thumbup:
MOBILITATE VINCERE
Spartan
ImageImageImageImageImageImageImage

Return to “Members' Vehicles”