fuel consumtion and diff ratios with 7mge

Post questions, advice and pictures of Engine conversions here
Gunta
Vehicle: 1996 80 series Land Cruiser VX 4500 EFI UK Import. Long range tank, Iron man suspension, ARB Bullbar, Front and rear diff locks, 33" BFG muds, Snorkel and attitude.

fuel consumtion and diff ratios with 7mge

Post by Gunta »

Hi Guys
Just joined the forrum, wish I had known about this 5 years ago when I did my conversion. Must say after spending more than 50k on the project and different management systems I am getting there. After plenty of blown gaskets I eventually put in a Cometic layered steel gasket with ARP bolts and have had no problems in the last 3 years.
My question is what is the best setup between diff and engine and bearing in mind also tyres to use to get the best fuel consumption (what is the average you guys are getting?) I am getting about 88Kw on the wheels. The head has been gas flowed and has wild cat branches with 72mm pipe. Also running 33" tyres.
Will post a pic of my beast but have not worked out how to load it yet.
Copy of Mozambique April 2007 120.jpg
Worry about the things you can do something about, If you can't don't worry.
Live life to the fullest with no regrets.

Re: fuel consumtion and diff ratios with 7mge

Welkom Mark, super looking vehicle - there's loads of great stuff written about over coming your motors inherent weaknesses, just use the Search command and read on... :razz:

But Warning..... :eh:

This Forum is seriously addictive bru :shock: :wink:

Welcome Mark... nice looking van!
Gunta
Vehicle: 1996 80 series Land Cruiser VX 4500 EFI UK Import. Long range tank, Iron man suspension, ARB Bullbar, Front and rear diff locks, 33" BFG muds, Snorkel and attitude.

Post by Gunta »

Thanks already addicted.
Hi-Hilux
Town: Tsumeb
Vehicle: 1991 Hilux2.2 ---1987 Hilux D/C Hella 1000, Rancho RS9000XL shocks, Good Year M/TR, Warn Winch, STK bullbar, Extended shacles, Kenwood VHF-SOLD

Post by Hi-Hilux »

Great looking van and welcome
Is gebed jou spaarwiel of jou stuurwiel?
'Life is a coin. You can spend it anyway you wish, but you can only spend it ONCE'

Mark welcome from one 7MGE outjie to another. On my Hilux I also run 33" muds, and standard diff ratios. 88KW on the wheels sounds a bietjie eina, as that is almost 4Y territory. Kaspaas was dyno-ed at 140kW a few years ago, but I am not sure what he puts out nowadays. All I can say is there is ample power when I want to play lekker. :twisted: :twisted: :twisted: My friend, Carlo Voetsek has a 7MGE fitted with an aftermarket ECU that was dyno-ed at 152kw recently, but his consumption sucks. 5km/l. :shock: :shock:

Kaspaas is fitted with standard Toyota ECU and the fuel consumption on 33" tyres is around about 6.8 km/l and on 31" MTR's I got 7.5+ on our last long trip. These figures are for the open road, fully loaded, doing about 110 km/h. :thumbup: :thumbup:

All I can say is enjoy your Hilux, and if you need any more info feel free to ask... :thumbup: :thumbup:

Gunta

Post by Gunta »

88 kw is on the wheels after it has gone through the tranny. It goes well but stopping is an issue because the tyres track. I average about 6.3km/l driving like a lady and 5km/l giving the horses a run. I started with the gotech and have been running the Dictator for the last 3 years. Fuel consumption is the same but at least I dont lose the maps anymore. I looked all over for the local ECU but could not get one. What is the difference between the OE and the aftermarket?

Welcome Mark! Very nice looking van! :thumbup:

Thys...
88KW on the wheels sounds a bietjie eina, as that is almost 4Y territory.
I can only wish... :lol: :lol: :mrgreen:

Vehicle: '90 SFA Hilux DC 4X4, Full OME, 110mm lift. Brospeed branch, 50mm ss freeflow exhaust. 30 x 9.5 Discoverer S/T's on Viper mags. L/R tank. (AWOL) '98 LTD 2.4 SFA, dual battery system. Dobinson suspension, LR tanks, 31" BF mud's.

Welcome Mark! :thumbup: Looking really good .... like that aggressive tyre tread pattern! :D: :wink:

Hi Mark

88Kw on the wheels with 33 inch tyres is good for a 7M. It equates to 117HP. My 7M (when it was running) did 120Hp in the rears but had 30inch tyres so I guess with 33's it woulk give between 100-105HP.

Thys the 4Y's are only doing around 70HP on avarage on 30/31's. I am sure the 140Kw they measured on yours must have been flywheel if yours were doing 140Kw (185HP) on the rears it would compete with a Lexus V8 ;)

Yes Bennie, that is definitely flywheel kW's, and on 31"s, and in Gauteng. But then again I dont judge purely on the numbers I judge on the feeling in my bones when I hit the throttle.. :twisted: :twisted: :twisted:

Gunta

Post by Gunta »

Any idea what the tyre size was from factory. I am sure my speedo is out.

your speedo could be out, although on 33"s I found that my speedometer is underreading by about 5km/h. The trip meter is totally out by about 10%..

Gunta

Post by Gunta »

Thats probably why out consumption is so bad. If we add on 10% to the trip meter it would look a bit more respectable. You dont know what the orriginal tyre size was?

I think it was something like a 155/13 or something... :twisted: :twisted: actually there are some guys who would know but I havent had std tyres since my first hilux eons ago and I never replaced any Hilux tyres with stock items either. 245/15 or 265/15 :shock:

Gunta

Post by Gunta »

Have you done a body lift and do you know what that entails?

Kaspaas is one of the few 7mge conversions that do not have a body lift. Hoppy is your man when you want to discuss body-lifts and the way i understand it it is not such a difficult thing to do. We will, however, do a bodylift on Kaspaas sometime in the future... :thumbup: :thumbup:

Asterix
Vehicle: 1990 SFA Hilux

Post by Asterix »

Awsome looking vehicle, Mark!
Gunta

Post by Gunta »

Thanks Johan its my second wife, and mywife already compains about it.
Gunta

Post by Gunta »

Hi Thys
How do I get in contact with Hoppy?

you PM him, he is on the forum frequently, and his contact details are on his profile. :thumbup: :thumbup:

Jaco Versfeld
Town: Western Cape
Vehicle: Moms Taxi, 2001 Prado (The Barbie Cruiser)) Sold - Mufasa: '86 Hilux DC 4Y EFI
Club VHF Licence: X69

Post by Jaco Versfeld »

Wouldn't the trip meter and speedometer by out by the same percentage?

Just wondering?
ThysdJ wrote:your speedo could be out, although on 33"s I found that my speedometer is underreading by about 5km/h. The trip meter is totally out by about 10%..

No, Toyota speedo's normaly overread, the speedo works off a magnetic wheel and the odo is gear driven, they should be the same, but they are not.
Gunta

Post by Gunta »

Allan if the speedo is running on a magnetic wheel then surely it does not matter then what tyres you put on since it should only affect the trip meter.
Or am I wrong
Vehicle: '90 SFA Hilux DC 4X4, Full OME, 110mm lift. Brospeed branch, 50mm ss freeflow exhaust. 30 x 9.5 Discoverer S/T's on Viper mags. L/R tank. (AWOL) '98 LTD 2.4 SFA, dual battery system. Dobinson suspension, LR tanks, 31" BF mud's.

Mag wheel or gear driven, there will be a difference. Simply, the bigger the wheel, the bigger the circumference and therefore the further the distance per revolution of the wheel and subsequently also per revolution of every component of the complete driven train including the motor. If I am not mistaken, 31" tyres give the most accurate reading (SFA). :wink:

Gunta

Post by Gunta »

so 33" tyres will under read by about 10% on speedo and trip meter

Not too sure if it will be that much, but somewhere close to it ... check it against you gps on speed and distance to be sure. :wink:

swartvark
Vehicle: SFA HiLEX V8; Suzuki GSF1200s Bandit

Post by swartvark »

Nice truck!!
10% sounds right.
MUD........GLORIOUS MUD!!!!!

Your friendly VW salesperson......(with a passion for SFA Hiluxes)

NEED A CAR?
talk2tiaan@gmail.com
Gunta

Post by Gunta »

Thanks Tiaan. I put my 31" onto my truck today to measure the distance to my work. Will compare the trip meter tomorrow and see how far out it is.
Have any of you guys checked the exact trip meter and speedo readings on 33" vs 31"

Gunta wrote:Have any of you guys checked the exact trip meter and speedo readings on 33" vs 31"
I have not done that exact sum, but I did notice that both size tyres are out compared to the GPS. Because of that,I always use the GPS speed/distance when I want to make calculations for fuel consumption/distance travelled etc etc.

I am, however, aware of the fact that the 33"s on Kaspaas makes the speedo underread by about 5km/h when I am doing 120km/h on the GPS. On 31"s it overreads, but I cannot remember by exactly how much. :shock: :D

Gunta

Post by Gunta »

any idea what the difference is on the trip meter?

The difference is enough to make a huge difference on the fuel consumption calcs. I found mine to be about 10% out (UNDER reading) on 33"s. When I ran 31"s I didnt even bother checking the diffs, as I was only riding on the GPS at the time. :think: :think:

Gunta

Post by Gunta »

thats what my findings are also, although I havent checked with the GPS yet.
pampoen
Vehicle: 2011 Hilux DC 3.0 D4D

Post by pampoen »

So 32s are the way to go then?
With each replacement of parts, a car slowly becomes Chinese.

pampoen wrote:So 32s are the way to go then?
mmmmmmmmm naaaahhhh 33"s or bigger :twisted: :twisted: :twisted: Just buy a GPS.. then you can fit any size tyres... :thumbup: :thumbup:

Gunta

Post by Gunta »

After having 33" tyres on my bakkie I would have to say they look awsome and are great offroad but on road they are terrible. If you have to brake hard they track and you have to have your wits about you. I prefer my 31" on road. I want to try the 32'' next. Hopefully they might be in between the two and still look good but have better handling. Also you wont lose so much power.

Return to “Engine conversions (Lexus/7M-GE/3RZ-FE etc)”