A\C vs Open Window

Here we discuss Hiluxes in general. Your view of the Hilux. For other general discussions please see "open Discussions" under the "Around the Campfire" heading.
dalkill
Town: Cape TOwn
Vehicle: 2.4 GD6 SR D/C 4x4

A\C vs Open Window

Post by dalkill »

Don't know if this has been discussed... if so can someone point me in the right direction.

On myth busters they did a test with exact same vehicle, drained petrol till empty, then threw in exact same amount of fuel , ran it round a track at the same constant speed, and the one with windows up and A\C on went further.

Now the other day, took the wife to the gynea, and pic up this 4x4 mag. in there some oke did a test in his disco, and it stated the window down is the more efficient option?

Who to believe?
2016 2.4GD6 SR D/C 4x4 (Oct 2022 - current) (Buraaq VI)
2007 d4d 3.0 D/C 4x4 (Mar 2016 - July 2022) (Buraaq V)
2003 Isuzu KB300 D/C 4x4 (May 2015 - Feb 2016) aka Buraaq IV
2000 hilux DC 2.7 4x4 (Jul 2011 - Sep 2012) aka Buraaq III
1999 RXI 20v (Nov 2009 - Jul 2011) aka Quicksilver
1990 hilux DC 2.2 4x4 (Jun 2008 - Jul 2011) aka Buraaq II
1997 corolla 160i GLE (Feb 2007 - Sep 2009) aka Green Goblin
1990 GLI twincam (still my fav rolla) (Oct 2005 - Mar 2007) aka Wit Blitz
Golf GTI 2.0 (temp insanity for 2months) (Jun 2005 - Aug 2005) aka A mistake
1993 hilux SC 2.2 4x4 (April 2003 - Sept 2005) aka Buraaq

TOYOTA IS MY LEWE
Scooter
Vehicle: '94 Raider, '05 Vigo 4.0 v6

Re: A\C vs Open Window

Post by Scooter »

I have also seen the mythbusters episode about this.

I normally drive with the window open, mainly because the luxs AC isnt the most efficient at cooling anyway.
Now while I have never done a test myself this is my opinion:

1) With the windows down and AC off, an amount of drag is created by the wind rushing into the cab, there by causing increased consumtion, but I have never noticed any loss of power.
2) With AC on and windows up, there is a definate loss of power, up hills mainly, as well as increased fuel consumption.
3) With both AC on and windows down (defeating the purpose of an AC), you get the best of both worlds and the consumtion doesnt get any worse.

Lets face it, can the consumtion get any worse with a 4Y or 22R. :lol:

There ends my unscientific, no proof (other than feel) banter. :clap: :clap: :clap:
"I know that you believe you understand what you think I said, but I'm not sure you realise that what you heard is not what I meant."

It is one of those topics that actually dont have a right or wrong answer but can keep people talking for weeks... I use the aircon cos I have it, and bedamn with the rest. :thumbup: :twisted:

If the fuel consumption gets too high because I use the aircon I lift my right foot a little... :shock: :twisted: :twisted: :twisted:

Deffinately better with the Windows Open

I wouldn't have it any other way :wink:

(well I might if I had A/c :sick: )

I agree with Thys on this subject. :thumbup: I use my aircon mainly on highways and when travelling to destinations. Around town and off road it stays off most off the time, however sometimes I do use it all the time. Fuel consumption is not to much difference when on or off on the open road, but there is a slight difference, however the less roadnoise at highway speeds do make up for the effect it has on a tank of petrol. :wink:

Both is actually true and it all depends on the speed you are travelling. While in city traffic (low speed with lots of stop starts etc) it is better to have your window open and the AC of as the vehicle doesn't need to generate so much energy to get going etc. And while driving slow, wind resistance is not such a big factor. But when you have the AC on, it has to supply the energy no matter the driving conditions etc.

But when travelling at high speed (highway etc) the drag the open window causes is more than the AC pump will drawn from the engine.

So in short, low speed and city traffic... open window and highway ... AC
Werner
Vehicle: 2009 Toyota Fortuner 3.0D 4x4

Post by Werner »

As far as I remember about that episode is that it was done around a oval track.

I see it this way:
On the oval track there are no hills like you find on an open road so there test will be correct if we had no hills.
On the raods there are hills\traffic and all other kinds of things....so according to me the conditions is not the same.

my uneducated opinion. :angel:
Werner Goosen

'94 80 Series Land Cruiser

I don't know.....I don't care.....I just don't

My scientific observations lead me to the following conclusion:

If you have a good working aircon in your car and a decent HP engine that does not struggle to pull the aircon system then the fuel consumption is definitely less with the windows closed.

If your car does not have a good working aircon you will notice that now all the sudden the fuel economy gets better with the windows open :twisted: :twisted:

As for me, I always drive with the aircon switched on even in winter as I do not drive with the vents open as pollen and vrot diesel smoke stuffs up my sinuses. If you do not keep the aircon on, the vehicle gets real stuffy inside especially in winter with the heater running, the aircon washes the air and keep it moist.
cprinsloo
Vehicle: 1998 D/C 4x4
Club VHF Licence: X52

Post by cprinsloo »

IIRC the Mythbuster team retested after some queries, and they came to the conclusion that above a certain speed (for a specific vehicle), the open windows create more drag than the air-con (both aircon and open windows will tap power from the engine). So in general, like Cassie sez, for lower speeds open windows without air-con is better, for higher speeds aircon with closed windows is better. I guess the best will be closed windows without aircon, but who needs that? :lol: :lol:
1998 Hilux D/C Lexus VVTi

Drive with A/C off? Unheard of! :mrgreen:

Doesn't seem to make much difference for me either way, but then I seldom have the A/C switched off.

Funny enough. When I still had the Corolla I mostly drove with the AC on but now that I drive the bakkie everyday, I mostly drive with the window open.

I've got a theory why I do this but.....

CasKru wrote:Funny enough. When I still had the Corolla I mostly drove with the AC on but now that I drive the bakkie everyday, I mostly drive with the window open.

I've got a theory why I do this but.....
because yous wants to shows your smiles to everyones :D:
Vehicle: '90 SFA Hilux DC 4X4, Full OME, 110mm lift. Brospeed branch, 50mm ss freeflow exhaust. 30 x 9.5 Discoverer S/T's on Viper mags. L/R tank. (AWOL) '98 LTD 2.4 SFA, dual battery system. Dobinson suspension, LR tanks, 31" BF mud's.

:D ..... and you want them all to see who's in the LUX :D:

I must also wonder what has the better drag co-efficient, the Disco or the Lux. I would think the lux, cause it has better lines, less box-shaped?

dalkill
Town: Cape TOwn
Vehicle: 2.4 GD6 SR D/C 4x4

Post by dalkill »

since I have no aircon on the lux, my choice is simple :D:

my question is more for the rolla. Cassie, I agree with your sentiment. At lower speed in traffic out of town I have the window open. But when I reach 80km/h after that, the A\C goes on

thanks for the responses guys
2016 2.4GD6 SR D/C 4x4 (Oct 2022 - current) (Buraaq VI)
2007 d4d 3.0 D/C 4x4 (Mar 2016 - July 2022) (Buraaq V)
2003 Isuzu KB300 D/C 4x4 (May 2015 - Feb 2016) aka Buraaq IV
2000 hilux DC 2.7 4x4 (Jul 2011 - Sep 2012) aka Buraaq III
1999 RXI 20v (Nov 2009 - Jul 2011) aka Quicksilver
1990 hilux DC 2.2 4x4 (Jun 2008 - Jul 2011) aka Buraaq II
1997 corolla 160i GLE (Feb 2007 - Sep 2009) aka Green Goblin
1990 GLI twincam (still my fav rolla) (Oct 2005 - Mar 2007) aka Wit Blitz
Golf GTI 2.0 (temp insanity for 2months) (Jun 2005 - Aug 2005) aka A mistake
1993 hilux SC 2.2 4x4 (April 2003 - Sept 2005) aka Buraaq

TOYOTA IS MY LEWE
Jaws
Town: Sharonlea
Vehicle: 2009 D4D 4x4

Post by Jaws »

I have to drive with the window open so that I can keep my door closed with my elbow from the outside :shock:

I the city you have to drive with the windows close or you wil have a hunderd hawkers and beggers next to you at each robot. :cry:

Got a quote to fit a complete new aircon system the other day for R6000-00, in my opinion it is definetly worth it.
Irishman
Town: Saldanha
Vehicle: 1991 Hilux Double Cab

Post by Irishman »

All modern cars are tested in a wind tunnel to get drag to a minimum, so opening the window at any speed will increase the drag causing more fuel consumption. The modern rotary type aircons use much less power than the old compressor type, so for the price of a couple of liters of petrol you stay cool calm and collected. I have always maintained that an aircon is a safety feature. On my '91 Hilux it doesn't make a difference, as it has the aerodynamics of a brick shit house. :silent:
Ron.

Irishman wrote:All modern cars .................................................................................... On my '91 Hilux it doesn't make a difference, as it has the aerodynamics of a brick plonker house. :silent:
Ron.
:lol: :lol: :lol:

Return to “General Hilux Discussions”