2.4 VS 2.2

Here we discuss Hiluxes in general. Your view of the Hilux. For other general discussions please see "open Discussions" under the "Around the Campfire" heading.
dalkill
Town: Cape TOwn
Vehicle: 2.4 GD6 SR D/C 4x4

2.4 VS 2.2

Post by dalkill »

We got a friend of a friend on the beach on day in arniston.
He had 2.4 DC raider. He said that thing was the most horrible on the sand. He had SC 2.2 before and that was brilliant. 2.4 kept getting stuck in the sand. On road it was good, but on sand it sucked.
As we were chatting, his old 2.2 rocked up (sold it to his buddy), and with ease it pulled out of that think sand. He then commented "kyk daar, ek weet nie of ek hier uit gaan kom nie"...

This weekend past, I was chatting to my 2nd cousin, with 2.7 lux. He made the same comment of the 2.4 sucking in the sand. he said he once had to tow this oke with the 2.4 out of the sand at the horses (muizenberg), and that is flat sand, fairly hard.

Anybody else heard / experienced this before?
2016 2.4GD6 SR D/C 4x4 (Oct 2022 - current) (Buraaq VI)
2007 d4d 3.0 D/C 4x4 (Mar 2016 - July 2022) (Buraaq V)
2003 Isuzu KB300 D/C 4x4 (May 2015 - Feb 2016) aka Buraaq IV
2000 hilux DC 2.7 4x4 (Jul 2011 - Sep 2012) aka Buraaq III
1999 RXI 20v (Nov 2009 - Jul 2011) aka Quicksilver
1990 hilux DC 2.2 4x4 (Jun 2008 - Jul 2011) aka Buraaq II
1997 corolla 160i GLE (Feb 2007 - Sep 2009) aka Green Goblin
1990 GLI twincam (still my fav rolla) (Oct 2005 - Mar 2007) aka Wit Blitz
Golf GTI 2.0 (temp insanity for 2months) (Jun 2005 - Aug 2005) aka A mistake
1993 hilux SC 2.2 4x4 (April 2003 - Sept 2005) aka Buraaq

TOYOTA IS MY LEWE

Re: 2.4 VS 2.2

The 2.4 ( 22R) engine is a lot smoother than the 2.2 (4Y) motor on the open road due to the OHC (over head camshaft) design than the 4Y which is a OHV ( over head valve configuration) which uses pushrods still in the engine.

A lot of people have noted that the 2.4 engine was less effiective than that of the 2.2 engine, including Andrew St Pierre White.

I have driven both vehicle's but would say that I prefer the robustness of the 4Y motor.

I cannot comment on this. :shock: :shock:

Can only give my opinion on my 2.4. Haven't driven in sand other loose river bed. Did not get stuck and even put it in 2H to see if I could drive like that... and didn't get stuck.

I haven't driven on a beach or dunes but the river bed I would compare with a beach on the north coast. I'm guessing that it could be that the 2.4 might have a little more power and that causes it to induce wheel spin easier digging in quicker... only a guess

Kaspaas wrote:I cannot comment on this. :shock: :shock:
You just did! :lol:

Do both the vehicles have the same tyres on(size/tread pattern)?? This could definitely make a diff. Also what tyre pressure do you deflate to for sand driving?

dalkill
Town: Cape TOwn
Vehicle: 2.4 GD6 SR D/C 4x4

Post by dalkill »

this oke is a pretty experienced sand driver, so I'm sure he would have deflated appropriately.
As far as same tyres etc, not sure... I was just wondering if this is a general consensus.
2016 2.4GD6 SR D/C 4x4 (Oct 2022 - current) (Buraaq VI)
2007 d4d 3.0 D/C 4x4 (Mar 2016 - July 2022) (Buraaq V)
2003 Isuzu KB300 D/C 4x4 (May 2015 - Feb 2016) aka Buraaq IV
2000 hilux DC 2.7 4x4 (Jul 2011 - Sep 2012) aka Buraaq III
1999 RXI 20v (Nov 2009 - Jul 2011) aka Quicksilver
1990 hilux DC 2.2 4x4 (Jun 2008 - Jul 2011) aka Buraaq II
1997 corolla 160i GLE (Feb 2007 - Sep 2009) aka Green Goblin
1990 GLI twincam (still my fav rolla) (Oct 2005 - Mar 2007) aka Wit Blitz
Golf GTI 2.0 (temp insanity for 2months) (Jun 2005 - Aug 2005) aka A mistake
1993 hilux SC 2.2 4x4 (April 2003 - Sept 2005) aka Buraaq

TOYOTA IS MY LEWE
Werner
Vehicle: 2009 Toyota Fortuner 3.0D 4x4

Post by Werner »

Well I had a 2.4 and a friend had the 2.2....went sand driving a lot and never really got stuck with the 2.4 where the 2.2 didn't get stuck.

We switch bakkies and I must say....I prefer the 2.4.....can't say exactly why....to me the 2.4 felt better in the sand.
Werner Goosen

'94 80 Series Land Cruiser

I don't know.....I don't care.....I just don't
wim
Town: Vryheid
Vehicle: 95 hilux d/c Hilex

Post by wim »

We were on a 4x4 outing a while ago ,sand driving , we were a lot of vehicles including one 2.2 and one 2.4(mine).A lot of the vehicles wass towed out after getting stuck but not onse a sfa hilux.We ended up driving in 2h till we woud get stuck then just select 4x4 and drive out.SFA RULES doesent matter 2.2 or 2.4
Knersus
Town: Kathu
Vehicle: 2.4 Hi Lux 4x4 DC 95'
Club VHF Licence: ZS3EP

Post by Knersus »

Well I must say that I have only driven the 2.4 so far in a Hi Lux, and one day in the dunes at Boegoeberg near Groblershoop a 2.2 were giving me a "pak slae" :oops: in the dunes. The only reason was that the 2.2 did not have a bull bar, tow bar, canopy and it had a front diff lock. So I would say the weight to body ratio and diff lock helped the 2.2 to be better that day but I will compare any time to a 2.2. In my opinion the 2.4 22R is a beter engine and you will proparly get more mileage out of it but the 2.2 should not be taken for a one....as it is a trust worthy and eazy maintained engine. The other end I think both the 2.2 and 2.4 are under powered and heavy on fuel..
Eben Pienaar
2.4 Hi Lux 22R 95'
Codan HF radio; Kenwood VHF Hi band; Tait VHF midband; Snorkel; OME suspension; Diff lock on next shortlist. Dis lekker om 'n mens te wees....Jy moet net 'n lekker mens wees

With the 2.2 I am happy with, even guys with the 2.4 are happy. You get sand driving and depends on how you drive or the conditions any 4x4 will get stuck if you do not consentrate. Then yet again the 4Y can be easilly converted to EFI, parts are easy to find on the conversion. The 2.4 is not easy to convert, to import a EFI intake from the USA can easily cost you over R1999. Depends if you get a engineering shop to convert the std manifold. Bennie what is your opinion. :?:

Louis

I dumped my 22R for the 7M but if it was a 4y I may have done the same at the time :wink: :wink:

A good 22R van stand its ground next too a 4Y but as you said EFI spares not that readily available due to the fact that no taxi's ever used the 22R so no one is importing 22R engines on a big scale.

BTW I stumbled onto some stock (4) of those 3YE dizzys (the scarce ones) that we modify successfully with the mag adapter if anyone is interested in doing 4Y EFi soon. One is definitely spoken for the other one maybe so there is 2 left. First come first serve so PM me.

Return to “General Hilux Discussions”