Hilux Questions from a Newbie

Here we discuss Hiluxes in general. Your view of the Hilux. For other general discussions please see "open Discussions" under the "Around the Campfire" heading.
JasonM
Town: Boksburg
Vehicle: Ford

Hilux Questions from a Newbie

Post by JasonM »

Hi all. I hope everyone is doing well.

I'm new to the group so I think a brief summary of my background is warranted:

My name is Jason, I'm a civil engineer based in Gauteng but I'm often put into situations/areas that require a 4x4 vehicle. I often do work in rural areas with limited road infrastructure. In these cases, I have to travel with another person who owns either a Land cruiser or FJ cruiser. My company believes in Toyota (we have the odd Navara or two as well - which seem capable and sufficient to handle the above mentioned areas). Currently, I drive a small problematic Ford fiesta that barely tolerates tar roads . To date, I have spent thousands fixing turbo issues and constantly worry about damaging it further (I have no confidence in the vehicle).

So I've been on the hunt for a Hilux. I need something reliable and something that will last. As these vehicles seemingly hold their value, I'm looking at something second hand.

I have found a 2016 2.8GD-6 4x4 Raider (auto) for about R370k. The only problem I find is that it has about 155k km on the clock. The vehicle has been serviced through Toyota and it has just had its 160k km service. I assume that the 150k km was a major service that rectified anything of concern?

Is 155k km mileage going to be a problem - I. E. Will it last? Also, I could opt for a 2.4GD-6 srx for a cheaper price. Is the 2.4GD-6 powerful? I would like a raider though!

Any advice would be greatly appreciated. I hope I haven't violated any rules here!

Kind regatds
Jason
Die$eL
LR 4WD Full Lockers
LR 4WD Full Lockers
Town: Midrand
Vehicle: 06' Hilux 3.0 D4D 4X4

Re: Hilux Questions from a Newbie

Post by Die$eL »

Hi Jason,