Problems with 3.0 kzte (02-05) 4x4?????

Here we discuss Hiluxes in general. Your view of the Hilux. For other general discussions please see "open Discussions" under the "Around the Campfire" heading.
dazzmatazz
Town: Durban
Vehicle: Looking for a 3L kzte 4x4

Problems with 3.0 kzte (02-05) 4x4?????

Post by dazzmatazz »

Hi All, New to the forum.

I am finally after many years as a student and working crappy jobs in a place were I can afford my very own 4buy. :D :D :D :D :D

I am looking for a bakkie that will be able to get my wife (I travel more kms and have a corolla) to work and back every day (total of 15kms) and then launch a small boat at vetchies beach most weekends as well as go on trips with a boat an full load to mozam etc.

I believe that the best bakkie for that job is a hilux raider 3.0 KZTE 4x4. I have done a lot of research on the competitors and I believe it to be the best vehicle.

However in my research I have found that certain vehicles have problems that are common to that model. For instance I know that the 2.7 raider (99-2000 I think) had certain problems with over heating once it started to get higher millage. The isuzu kb 300tdi has issues with air bag warning lights, bin handles being too weak and certain bulbs and fuses going.

In all seriousness I know the KZTE is an amazing car but what problems even if small and insignificant are prone to that model.

How much are major services?

(PS I am looking to purchase in about April/may 2008 so if any one wants to sell then let me know. I'm looking at a max of about R140k)

Thanks Guys

Dazz :)

Re: Problems with 3.0 kzte (02-05) 4x4?????

Howzit, Darren!

Welcome to the forum - you have definitely chosen the right brand 8) You will never be sorry - I strayed once and vowed never again... The KZTE is a brilliant vehicle and I'm sure you will be very happy with it, but don't write off the 2.7. Aghh, what the hell, ANY Toyota will do. :twisted:

Stay away from anything else! My uncle owns a 2006 Isuzu 300tdi D/C with 80 000km and it started rusting at 40 000km. The worst part is it's never been offroad AND he lives in Jo'brg! :shock: Landy's are for Hugh Grant types and Nissans are for wannabee's :twisted: Toyotas are for real men and the only real 4x4! :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

P.S. Watch out for the :arrow: lue :arrow: ulls supporters here - they tend to sneak u on you... :D
1988 Hilex D/C 4x4 (Import spec), Lexus V8; Marlin Crawler; Custom Suspension: front and new 4 link in the rear; Disc Brake conversion rear; 35" Cooper STT tyres; Xenon lights; Custom bullbar;Next? Aircon; new front seats, redo the whole interior in nice soft leather, Respray, Double Lockers

Welcome to the forum Darren. Hope you enjoy

Can't give you any answers to your questions but can second what Scorpion said.

The only model that I'm aware of (that I actually heard someone complain) was the diesel before the KZTE. Not sure which one though but this was a vehicle in Swazi and I'm not sure if it was always fed pure diesel. :(

Hi Darren,

Welcome to the forum!

I drive a 1999 2.7i, and must say I have never heard of them suffering over-heating problems at any mileage, let alone high-mileage. There are many people who have well in excess of 300,000Km with these engines, and they perform as new.

As Cassie says, stay away from the 3000D (1999 - 2000). Those engines *did* overheat without fail at about 100,000Km and they are expensive to repair, usually requiring a new cylinder head (± R15,000 in 1999/2000) and were certainly not Toyota's best venture into Diesel technology. They were under-powered and became thirsty when driven at 120KM/Hr.

3RZ
Vehicle: 2004 Legend 35 Hilux 2.7 DC 4x4

Post by 3RZ »

FD

I second you on that, I have never heard of overheating problems on the 2.7 no matter what the kilos.
dazzmatazz

Post by dazzmatazz »

I did a bit more research into the 2.7 overheating thing and some of the models (In KZN) had some non-factory intercoolers fitted and that was what the problem was. Round 100000kms the intercoolders seemed to malfunction and that seems to be why.

What do you guys pay for sevices on KZTE vehicles?? I know that different intervils have different prices but what is an average.

PS I am a sharks man so no worries about the blou bulle we all know that the sharks are better. :lol: :lol:
3RZ

Post by 3RZ »

Darren, I think there is some confusion here, the 2.7 is normally aspirated 4 cylinder petrol engine - no turbos no intercooler
dazzmatazz

Post by dazzmatazz »

Thanks for the correction.

I had two friends who had hiluxes and one of them had major problems. Asked what and it was the 3000d 99, so you guys were spot on.Plus toyota put some other parts in as tests cant remeber exactly what but something like a ceramic cylinder head or something of that nature and the whole thig was a complete flop. The other mate had the 2.7i 99 and he sold it just in case at 90000kms but had no problems. He now has the new cruiser wagon after trying the GO BIG kb300 and the Jeep grand cherokee crd but is very happy with the cruiser wagon.

So I should be safe with the 2.7 and KZTE.

I do know that the 2.7 is a bit thirstier and that the KZTE has a little more power when towing and that is what I will need it for.

Thanks for the input guys.
3RZ

Post by 3RZ »

The torque of the diesel is nice and the better fuel consumption would be a bonus but the reliability issues put me off, while the 2.7 is heavier on juice it will get my vote as the motor is bulletproof.
Gertc
Vehicle: 3.0L Fortuner
Club VHF Licence: Xray05

Post by Gertc »

I drove both the 2.7i and the KZTE. And I will swop my KZTE any day for a 2.7i. Better performance. And I prefer Petrol. Higher revs. And the difference in consumption is not that big. If you are in a hurry you can always unscrew the speedo cable and set off a speed trap at 197 Km/h. With the only thing to worry about is the fine. Where as with the KZTE you would not have to worry about the speed traps.
Knersus
Town: Kathu
Vehicle: 2.4 Hi Lux 4x4 DC 95'
Club VHF Licence: ZS3EP

Post by Knersus »

Ahha the Shark supporters are growing 8) Welcome Darren and it does not matter what your choice bakkie will be as long as there is a Toyota badge on it.

Gert your KZTE must be able to outrun the 2.7 :? Are you sure your hand brake is not on :?:
Eben Pienaar
2.4 Hi Lux 22R 95'
Codan HF radio; Kenwood VHF Hi band; Tait VHF midband; Snorkel; OME suspension; Diff lock on next shortlist. Dis lekker om 'n mens te wees....Jy moet net 'n lekker mens wees
Gertc
Vehicle: 3.0L Fortuner
Club VHF Licence: Xray05

Post by Gertc »

may be in your dreams. But then it must be a wild dream.
OO7
Town: Ellisras
Vehicle: Pajero 3.0 V6

Post by OO7 »

Hi there all you 4x4 experts/friends/fanatics

My name is Jacques, and yes newly registered to the forum but many a times came here as visitor for advise/reading :surrender:

The spot Darren was in some time ago (Darren if you see this did you BUY that KZTE?) I am in now...
(YES I am buying the Hilux I always wanted...)

1. Please can anyone help:
- The 3.0 4x4 KZTE Hilux (legendary and famous by now) 2002 - 2005 in production

a) Can any owner give me indication of fuel consumption per 100km ?
b) Any serious problems ?
c) How much are we looking at for a engine overhaul ? (and at what km? 400,000 ? 600,000?)
- I tried to find this but nobody seem to have managed to get there :celebrate:
d) Any advise what to watch / look out for when buying a 2nd hand one... (they are now about 10years old with approx 250,000km on)

Appreciate any feedback / advise on this KZTE (diesel of course).

Will pop in often to answer any questions.

Kind regards,
Jacques
Polarbear2008
Vehicle: 01 Hilux Kz-te 4x4 Raider d/c
Club VHF Licence: X49

Post by Polarbear2008 »

Jacques

I bought a 2001 KZTE d/c in 2009 with 174k and full service history.

I have had NO breakdowns thus far, having done one Karoo trip and just returned from an almost 6000km trip through Namibia, where we towed 4x4 trailers over good and not so good gravel roads.

So far I have replaced:

Cambelt at 200 000 (safer than a rebuid!)
Clutch - had a now and then shudder, also as a precaution before we did the West coast echo route about 2 years ago.
2x front wheel bearings - became noisy while in Namibia.

Further it is a case of service per Toyota Shedule (because I tow a 4x4 trailer I service it every 5000km) as oil is cheaper than a turbo in my books!

I also only drive within the powerband (between 2000 and 3000 rmp) and only in severe cases do I exceed that as there is only higher fuel consumption and noise - no more power over 3000rpm. A diesel does not want to be raced - as a diesel already has more heat to deal with.
1. Please can anyone help:
- The 3.0 4x4 KZTE Hilux (legendary and famous by now) 2002 - 2005 in production

Mine is between 13 and 14 l/100km. I must say that I only drive my bakkie weekends and when I am on holiday, plus I tow my 4x4 trailer most of the time, so my figures could be higher than so other owners.

b) Any serious problems ? No major problems or roadside breakdowns.

c) How much are we looking at for a engine overhaul ? (and at what km? 400,000 ? 600,000?)
- I tried to find this but nobody seem to have managed to get there

d) Any advise what to watch / look out for when buying a 2nd hand one... (they are now about 10years old with approx 250,000km on)
Full service history is a must. One must also look at the overall condition of the bakkie, this could tell you how it was treated.

Appreciate any feedback / advise on this KZTE (diesel of course).
01 Hilux 3.0L KZ-TE 4x4 Raider d/c
GME Gx300 29meg & Vertex VX2200 VHF radio
Mikem load springs with greasable shackles and polybushes
Monroe Gas Magnum shocks
Kumho Road Venture AT - 30x9.5x15
National Luna Dual battery system
Frontrunner roofrack with s/steel table
Twin rear high lift jack points
Hilux4x4club sticker! ('nuf said!)
Echo3 4x4 offroad trailer with NL 74 Litre Fridge/Freezer
Dual loadbox slides
Wishlist:
Alu canopy
Warn Winch
Unlimited Fuel & Travel Budget!
OO7

Post by OO7 »

Dankie Theunis,

Seems preventative maintenance is key.

You are truly a legend owner :dance1:
I would buy your vehicle any day...

I still need some answers on some of my questions above... anyone?

Kind regards,
Jacques
WayneSchalk
Vehicle: 2019 Toyota Hilux 2.8 GD-6 4X4 DC Auto
Club VHF Licence: X117

Post by WayneSchalk »

I can second that, mine has got 277 000 km on, full service history on it up to 260 000 km.

Common problem is a cracked head, but I have not had that and believe it comes down to looking after it, service every 5000km.

Also let it heat up and cool down before/after a drive.

Mine has the SAC intercooler and chip, and in my opinion a must!
ImageUploadedByTapatalk HD1345523589.658212.jpg
ImageUploadedByTapatalk HD1345523589.658212.jpg (38.7 KiB) Viewed 23395 times
OO7

Post by OO7 »

:dance1: I like this forum, it would seem for every 1 post I make, I get 1 reply :dance1:

Short n sweet:
Please can anyone help:
- The 3.0 4x4 KZTE Hilux (2002 - 2005)

b) Any serious problems ?
:!: Cracked head (with misuse)
- anything else ?

- I tried to find this but nobody seem to have managed to get there

d) Any advise what to watch / look out for when buying a 2nd hand one... (they are generally about 10years old now, with approx 250,000km)

PS: Still shopping, any1 selling ?

Jacques

I bought mine on 64000km way back in 2005, had an intercooler installed at 72000km. Now standing just over 334000km and still as sweet as the first day I got her!

No major problems, not even wheel bearings, nothing! Just normal maintenance and wear items(ok, a clutch at 127000km due to a leaky oil seal on the gearbox).

Timing belts every 100000km for her.

Fuel consumption is on average 8.5-9km/l. Worst was 6.4km/l, driving to see how bad it can be. Very light footed I can get 10km/l.

OO7

Post by OO7 »

Baie dankie Thabo,

Dit lyk vir my die KZTE is 'n kannie dood (Die Hard for the English folk)

Fuel consumption looks realistic. So the 8lt / 100km is on paper only :surrender:

Kind regards,
Jacques

OO7 wrote:
Fuel consumption looks realistic. So the 8lt / 100km is on paper only :surrender:
Jip.

10km/l is ook nie realisties nie.

Polarbear2008
Vehicle: 01 Hilux Kz-te 4x4 Raider d/c
Club VHF Licence: X49

Post by Polarbear2008 »

Jacques

Thanks for the compliment! I believe in preventative maintenance, as it (in my eperience) serves one well.

Fuel consumption is in the order of 13-14l/100 (I often tow my 4x4 trailer and also only use her weekends) so my fuel records don't look too spectacular. Our trip in NAM with the trailer (100l water on board) and my NL74l fridge with all baggage and 70% gravel road driving, still averaged 13-14l/100kms! Amazing compared to my Jeep diesel I had before that could only manage 16-20l/100kms! :o
01 Hilux 3.0L KZ-TE 4x4 Raider d/c
GME Gx300 29meg & Vertex VX2200 VHF radio
Mikem load springs with greasable shackles and polybushes
Monroe Gas Magnum shocks
Kumho Road Venture AT - 30x9.5x15
National Luna Dual battery system
Frontrunner roofrack with s/steel table
Twin rear high lift jack points
Hilux4x4club sticker! ('nuf said!)
Echo3 4x4 offroad trailer with NL 74 Litre Fridge/Freezer
Dual loadbox slides
Wishlist:
Alu canopy
Warn Winch
Unlimited Fuel & Travel Budget!
mattys T
Vehicle: Hilux kzte Legend 35 2004 4x4 D/C

Post by mattys T »

a) Can any owner give me indication of fuel consumption per 100km ? average 9.8km/l (SACS intercoller) (it was running at 13-14l per 100km then turned my tortions down as they were quite extended, possibly effecting the intercooler and airodynamics)

b) Any serious problems ? not yet, with 190k
Cracked head (with misuse)
- anything else ?

- I tried to find this but nobody seem to have managed to get there (i would also like to know)

d) Any advise what to watch / look out for when buying a 2nd hand one... (they are generally about 10years old now, with approx 250,000km)

PS: Still shopping, any1 selling ? How much do you want to spend?

About that engine recon,

A mate just had a Kz reconditioned at the rediculous low price of around R13/14k if memory serves.

sasafaris
Vehicle: hilux 4x4 KZTE

Post by sasafaris »

2001 KZTE dc 4x4,
mine has done over 400000. about 20% in 4x4 conditions - Zim, Moz, Namibia, Zambia and Malawi, and a bit in RSA.
2 sets shocks.
Brake pads, shoes and drums etc replaced as required, discs and drums 2 x.
cam belts changed as per service manual.
Brake master cylinders done.
New radiator and thermostat and hoses, it blew because I drove in extreme conditions without a grass seed catcher - my fault.
Blew an aircon hose.
Had/have a hassle with thr RR wheel bearing seal, seems to go after about 12 months so I have had to redo it regularly, and nobody can give me a reason.
I do my own oil/filters change and grease between 5 and 10000km depending on the use.
1st gear pops out now and again if I do not select 100%.
Diesel injectors serviced as reccomended, except a bit behind now.
Original clutch now starting to shudder intermittently.

I travel on freeways at around 100km/h on the GPS ( about 111 on the speedo), and without a trailer I get under 11l/100km, and up to around 14l/100km when fully loaded and towing a 4x4 trailer loaded to the hilt.
Bushwork I estimate around the 12-13l/100km, but this is a thumbsuck since I keep the truck full from gerry cans while on safaris.
I have found the dirty fuel found in countries north of us tend to clog up the diesel filters, and switched from GUD which seemed more susceptible to blockages.
I have used Michelin (great mileage), Goodyear (crap) BF Goodrich (OK) and now Cooper which have given me 15000km so far despite a bruising season in the bush and 17 punctures so far.

this is the 5th in a line of Toyota 4x4s I have owned, first 2 were landcruisers, and the rest Hilux, and IMO you cannot go wrong.
4x4 Junkie
Vehicle: Hilux 3.0 D-4D 4x4 DC A/T

Post by 4x4 Junkie »

Mine now has 255000km on the clock. Did some very exciting trips up to the Estaren Cape, Northern Province and Lesotho, no break downs at all.

I get about 12-13l per 100km and I run A/T tyres as well.

In terms of major issues; I am only aware of the cracked cylinder heads, but I am of the opinion that this only relates to driver abuse/poor maintenance. Respect and drive a KZ-TE like you would any diesel (stay within the power band and do a oil & filter change every 5000km) and it will deliver the best reliability that you may wish for.

If you would like to get further information about servicing costs and maintenance issues, get in touch with Hoppy here in the forum, he's the resident Hilux fundi.
If you still have blank pages in your passport, it's probably time for a road trip.

4x4 Junkie wrote:but I am of the opinion that this only relates to driver abuse/poor maintenance. Respect and drive a KZ-TE like you would any diesel (stay within the power band and do a oil & filter change every 5000km)
Sorry, I beg to differ. ;-)

Here are some very much loved and well driven examples on this very forum the has suffered cracked heads.

Sometimes you are just lucky, but it seems that of the heads that cracked, most where on high millers, lets say 200-300km?

Mine is on 342 000km and still going strong, but might be showing signs of a crack - but only time will tell.

I think any turbo diesel can be buggerd up if you try hard enough!

AlfredMichael
Town: Secunda
Vehicle: Toyota 3.0.kzte

Post by AlfredMichael »

Good day. My 3.0 kzte radiator fills the reservoir up after 1 hrs drive. What csn cause this.
Mars
Vehicle: Toyota Hilux Dakar 2.8 GD-6 DC 4X4

Post by Mars »

How many kilometers has your KZTE done? They are prone to develop a crack in the cylinder head over time. The reservoir may be filling up due to too high pressure in the cooling system. This could be a cracked head or the system running too hot. Radiator repair shops can test the coolant for exposure to exhaust gas too see if it is a cracked head. They can also do a leak test. The smallest leak will cause the system to lose pressure causing the system to run hotter. If it is not a cracked head, you will need to do a refresh of the cooling ststem i.e. replace the thermostat, flush the radiator or replace if necessary and replace the water pump. You will also need to check all the hoses and replace if hard or worn. Come to think of it, you will probably want to do all of that should the head need replacement.
Baasvark
Town: Virginia
Vehicle: '97 D/C with all the trimmings & 2011 Troopy

Post by Baasvark »

There have been many discussions on this topic and it would seem that the KZTE is more prone to blowing head gaskets and cylinder head cracking than is the norm.

I'd check the head gasket and check for cracks.

I was fortunate - mine only blew a head gasket.

Sent from my SM-G998B using Tapatalk

Aint it ironic that "Common Sense" aint so common after all...

Return to “General Hilux Discussions”