Shut Down the Yulin Dog Meat Festival in GuangXi China

Here you can post information of charities and charities in need or any good ideas you have on helping charities.

Shut Down the Yulin Dog Meat Festival in GuangXi China

Guys, this from another forum. Please add your signature, it takes but a few seconds to do...
Just came across this on another forum I am on. As a dog and animal lover, I'm appealing to you guys to complete the survey and spread the word. If you guys would be so kind as to complete it, it took me no more than 30 seconds to so it.

https://www.change.org/p/mr-chen-wu-yul ... ngxi-china

I never watched the video as I didn't want to see something that would break my heart.

Cheers
Once more:

https://www.change.org/p/mr-chen-wu-yul ... ngxi-china

Re: Shut Down the Yulin Dog Meat Festival in GuangXi China

Guys, when you sign the petition, please just mention it here so that this appeal remains "active".

Man's best friend is calling on you.

Do you eat lamb? They are also animals? So is the poor little springbok.
1999 Hilux 2.7i 4x4 Raider DC with 3.4 Prado V6. Rear diff-lock, Bull Bar and rock sliders, 31" Cooper ST Maxx, Snorkel, Alu-Canopy, VHF Motorolla radio, West Coast Rust, Mikem Suspension, Ball Joint Spacers in front and Mikem extended shackles at the rear, 25watt LED Spots

'Tis true... I eat lamb and always feel sorry for the animal.

But I don't eat Bambi.

But to eat man's best friend is simply inhumane and barbaric.

Family_Dog wrote:'Tis true... I eat lamb and always feel sorry for the animal.

But I don't eat Bambi.

But to eat man's best friend is simply inhumane and barbaric.

Eric I LOVE my bacon on a Saturday morning .... good friends have two pigs as their pets .... :shock2:

I certainly wont ever part take in a hunt. I have zero desire to kull any animal ..... BUT, I love my biltong way too much to upset my buddies that hunt .....

en so kan mens filosofeer ......

maar n brakkie is darem n troeteldier .... en hoe kan mens nou n troeteldier eet :alvarin:

maar hoe nou gemaak as iemand besluit om honde te teel spesifiek vir kos, nie as troeteldiere nie

maak nie saak nie, GEEN manier wat ek n brakkie eet nie !!

^^ Ditto, Chris. Ek voel dieselfde en ek het my bacon ook lief.

(Now that just sounds so disgustingly wrong when I read what I wrote above!! But you know whaqt I mean - I smaak bacon!) :twisted: :twisted: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

My neighbours dog is not my best friend.
1999 Hilux 2.7i 4x4 Raider DC with 3.4 Prado V6. Rear diff-lock, Bull Bar and rock sliders, 31" Cooper ST Maxx, Snorkel, Alu-Canopy, VHF Motorolla radio, West Coast Rust, Mikem Suspension, Ball Joint Spacers in front and Mikem extended shackles at the rear, 25watt LED Spots

I know what you mean, Pieter. For the past 14 years I have had my neighbour's dogs, German Shepherds, howling and barking in the alleyway between our two houses. They kept these two dogs in a small area of about 1m x 10m, then it's no wonder the dogs performed. This is about a metre from my bedroom window. I have phoned them countless times at around 1:00AM to let them know how out of tune and mournful their dogs are. Their bedroom is on the opposite side of the house and they do not hear a thing. It got so bad that I moved from my bedroom to another room (used to be a Jacuzzi room, then a Pool Room) on the other side of the house. Since then one of their dogs has passed on.

Their dogs were magnificent specimens though, even though they found their way into my yard and killed my stray Poodle that had adopted me. Some people just do not deserve being allowed to keep animals.

Now - sign the petition! ;)

Warrior
Town: Brackenfell Cape Town
Vehicle: 08 Vigo 4x4 d/c 4.0L auto
Club VHF Licence: X138

Post by Warrior »

Ha ha Pieter - jy speel lekker duiwels advokaat.
Maar ek moet se jy laat mens rasioneel daaroor dink.

Plaas vreet daai lot eers al hul peste op en los die arme honde - ek kan net nie gewoond raak aan die idee nie :banned:

pietpetoors wrote:My neighbours dog is not my best friend.
Even a dog with bad owners (there is no such thing as a bad dog) are better than wondering cats ...

May I send ALL cats that wonder onto my property to the chinese ? We could market this as a "starter" dish .... enough cats and more dogs may survive. Now THAT is what one calls a win-win .....
Oupa Stig
Town: Johannesbug
Vehicle: Hilux KZTE 4X2 "Stagger Lee", Hilux IFS 2.7 4x4 "Loretta"

Post by Oupa Stig »

Ons eet vanaand hoender.
I feel a lot less wise at 45 than I did at 15.

Where would we be without our pals...
a-shoulder-to-cry-on-shere-crossman.jpg

Eric I was about 5 years old, running around on the farm .... playing in the sand I got dangerously close to a scorpion - at 5 years old I had absolutely no idea what it was.

My labrador came to my rescue, and killed the sccorpion, but not before it got stung by the scorpion. She had to be put down after that.

So YES, my "pal" truly saved me !!

Chris, that is indeed what it is all about. Even at the age of five you must have been broken about losing your "pal".

This seems a good time to also remind people to click on the blue logo above as well, you can click five times.

Trust 2.jpg

After this post i am thinking twice about eating meat. Imagine you have to slaughter this.
images(2).jpg
images(2).jpg (6.03 KiB) Viewed 6074 times
images(4).jpg
images(4).jpg (6.35 KiB) Viewed 6074 times
images(5).jpg
images(5).jpg (4.41 KiB) Viewed 6074 times

Pieter, although I do love my meat that I buy at the butcher, I have to agree that there is no way on this earth that I would kill one of those simply to eat it. I would have to learn to become a vegetarian very quickly, those little animals are much more fun to have around me when they're alive than as dead meat in my stomach ;)
image004.jpg
image004.jpg (16.65 KiB) Viewed 6067 times

as jy n hans dier groot gemaak het op die plaas, en hy eers n naam gekr het .... nee wat, jy eet sy boetie, maar nie daai een met n naam nie.

en ons brakkies HET mos name !! :)
Bosfebok
Town: Roodekrans
Vehicle: 1995 Hilux Raider 2.2
Club VHF Licence: X248

Post by Bosfebok »

Family_Dog wrote:I know what you mean, Pieter. For the past 14 years I have had my neighbour's dogs, German Shepherds, howling and barking in the alleyway between our two houses. They kept these two dogs in a small area of about 1m x 10m, then it's no wonder the dogs performed. This is about a metre from my bedroom window. I have phoned them countless times at around 1:00AM to let them know how out of tune and mournful their dogs are. Their bedroom is on the opposite side of the house and they do not hear a thing. It got so bad that I moved from my bedroom to another room (used to be a Jacuzzi room, then a Pool Room) on the other side of the house. Since then one of their dogs has passed on.

Their dogs were magnificent specimens though, even though they found their way into my yard and killed my stray Poodle that had adopted me. Some people just do not deserve being allowed to keep animals.

How do you know a German Sheppard is a German Shepard? It's barking.. non-stop...
Otto X248
1995 Hilux Raider 2.2 EFI Turbo DC
Alucab Canopy with Kitchen and Recovery sections
National Luna Split Charge system and Dual Battery
80W solar panel and MPPT controller
20.5" LED BAR
5ton tow bar with recovery points
Nudge-M front bumper
80l Long Range Fuel Tank
90l Water Tank
Slide Drawer System
Safari Snorkel
Double Lockers - Toyota Electric selectable
Diff breathers
The worst anti hi-jack alarm system ever, SANJI!!

A bad day out is still better than a good day in!!

Bosfebok wrote:
Family_Dog wrote:I know what you mean, Pieter. For the past 14 years I have had my neighbour's dogs, German Shepherds, howling and barking in the alleyway between our two houses. They kept these two dogs in a small area of about 1m x 10m, then it's no wonder the dogs performed. This is about a metre from my bedroom window. I have phoned them countless times at around 1:00AM to let them know how out of tune and mournful their dogs are. Their bedroom is on the opposite side of the house and they do not hear a thing. It got so bad that I moved from my bedroom to another room (used to be a Jacuzzi room, then a Pool Room) on the other side of the house. Since then one of their dogs has passed on.

How do you know a dog has a bad owner? It's barking.. non-stop...
there, fixed it :slap:

no such thing as a bad dog ,,,, sadly way too many "bad owners" ,,,,,,,

Our previous neighbours worked 12 to 13 hour shifts, dark to dark .... after a burglary they got a "big dog" .... now WHAT attention can that dog get if he only sees his keepers on the weekend ? and a bored dog will try to get attention ....

Yep, these two dogs used to howl and sing in harmony as well. This happened three to four times nightly, every night. But if you look at the small spot that the owners kept them in.... let's just say these people were never dog-lovers to begin with.

This morning early I picked up one sandal and one pair of boxer shorts that "appeared" in the back yard. My puppy gave me that sweet innocent look of surprise when I affronted him: "What? me? Noooooo......" and then sheepishly licked me while giving me a friendly tail wag. ;)

20150430_114516.jpg
20150430_114516.jpg (195.86 KiB) Viewed 6034 times

Pieter- When do we slag old fanny :twisted:
darling-blomme0031 (Small).jpg
darling-blomme0031 (Small).jpg (30.87 KiB) Viewed 6021 times

now THIS makes my blood BOIL -

http://www.news24.com/SouthAfrica/News/ ... e-20150608" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

Police dogs without food, shampoo and medicine
2015-06-08 17:40
Jeff Wicks, News24

K9's Sheeba, Crunchie sniff out ammo stash
PMB K9 unit loses another star
City’s best K9 killed
Durban - Durban’s Metro Police Dog Unit is plagued by shortages of dog food, dog shampoo and a large proportion of the K9 force has not been inoculated because of outstanding vet bills.

So dire is the situation that police officers have taken to buying essential items for their dogs out of pure frustration.

The unit has before been mired in controversy when a logistics officer, in charge of supply chain management and procurement, ordered that police dogs that were old or sick should be put down instead of being allowed to see out their days with their handlers.

Three sources within the Metro Police spoke to News24 on condition of anonymity, for fear that they might face reprisals for bringing their plight to the media.

“The problems at the dog unit are long-standing and members are at the point where they are struggling to deal with their frustrations.

'Why should it come to this'

"The issue of the shampoo may seem innocuous, but this is something that is vital in looking after our dogs and we have not had any supplied by the Metro Police in over a year.

"The guys have got their own shampoo, but why should it come to this? We never had to do it before and we love our dogs so it will get done, but it is highly unfair,” he said.

“Some of the younger dogs are eating food that is meant for adult dogs because they refuse to order puppy food. They are meant to be fed the right dog food so that they develop properly and see out their tenure as working dogs, but the system is broken at the Metro Police.”

The sources said what was of most concern was that veterinary bills had been outstanding for longer than six months.

“This means the vets refuse to provide a service and treat the dogs so they in turn cannot work. I don’t know how it is possible for a metro the size of eThekwini to become classified as bad payers and let bills go like this for so long,” another source added.

Outrage from dog handlers

In 2013, mystery surrounded a standing order from eThekwini Metro Police which ordered that specialised police dogs which were injured or too old to work should be put down.

The order, which had originally emanated from Metro Police logistics head Innocent Chamane, was then put on hold by the council after an eruption of outrage from dog handlers and animal rights activists.

Chamane had argued that police dogs should be viewed as “an asset” and, as such, ought to be destroyed when they are no longer able to work, like office furniture.

eThekwini communications head Tozi Mthethwa said the matters were being addressed.

“Management is addressing all matters relating to Metro Police dogs as they are an important part of the Metro Police family and all effort is being made to ensure their care is of an acceptable standard,” she said.

Return to “Community Responsibility”