Year end GTG 2016

Vehicle: '90 SFA Hilux DC 4X4, Full OME, 110mm lift. Brospeed branch, 50mm ss freeflow exhaust. 30 x 9.5 Discoverer S/T's on Viper mags. L/R tank. (AWOL) '98 LTD 2.4 SFA, dual battery system. Dobinson suspension, LR tanks, 31" BF mud's.

Year end GTG 2016

Hi guys, keep open the date 19/11/2016 (it's a Saturday). At this point it looks like it will just be a social gathering at Dylan's small-holding but will be worth your while.

We will also need to know how many are attending - the club will sponsor prizes or something for each attending club member.

Dylan will put up directions in due course on how to get there.

See you there! :winkx:

Re: Year end GTG 2016

Edge & Viv (provisionally)
Viv had a neck operation 10 days ago where a wedges were put into her neck.
Vehicle: '90 SFA Hilux DC 4X4, Full OME, 110mm lift. Brospeed branch, 50mm ss freeflow exhaust. 30 x 9.5 Discoverer S/T's on Viper mags. L/R tank. (AWOL) '98 LTD 2.4 SFA, dual battery system. Dobinson suspension, LR tanks, 31" BF mud's.

It will be great to see you guys again ... looking forward to seeing Viv with a neck brace - :D: ..... we'll look after her if you don't! :twisted: :laugh2:

jvt172
Vehicle: Hilux 3.0d4d 4x4

Post by jvt172 »

AM Racing
Vehicle: Range Rover Classic V8

Post by AM Racing »

Andy beat me to it. Thank you.
Saturday 19 November 4pm.
Farm C22 Thornpark Smythlands Rd.

Can I ask the ladies to bring a salad per family.
Meat for yourselves
Drinks, well whatever you can handle
Depending on numbers we will be good for cutlery and crockery.
Kids are more than welcome. We have a few quads and push bikes for them to entertain themselves

There will be a mandatory 4x4 mini trail otherwise penalties will apply..... And no nothing stupid. We'll save that for later....

See you all soon

How to get there ................. 32°55'30.32"S 27°52'36.18"E

(Click to enlarge)
DYLAN.JPG
DYLAN2.JPG

So, to start off the list -

Andy, Sheridene, Mark & Nicole (4)
Dylan, Delia, Teagan & Ethan (4)
Edge & Viv (2)

Is this a sleepover GTG?
Spoke to Tony today, who is going to do a job in Pinetown and is not sure if he will be back in time.

Hi Edge, anytime from about 3pm ..... you should be able to braai anytime from about 6pm if you want to get back home early - fires will be kept going, and you can camp and sleep over if you so wish / don't want to travel back late.

Thanx Andy,
Was thinking along the same lines, so will sleep over if okay with Dylan.
Have accomodation, so no need to travel at this time of year.
What about Jurgen on the list. I presume the smiling face with a thumbs-up, means Yes?
We must also know who will bring what salad. No good everyone bringing a carrot salad.
Give instruction on who must make which salad, so that there is no duplication.

Would rather sleep over at this time of year.
Someone must make a decision on what salad should be made by which couple, and then to let us know, before we all arrive with a carrot salad.
Was the smiley face and thumbs up not an indication that Jurgen will also be attending?

Howzit Andy.As Edge indicated I am leaving on Monday to install some machines in Pinetown and am not sure when I will return.I will play it by ear.You guys have a lekker time anyway.
jvt172

Post by jvt172 »

I'm in.

OK, we'll bring enough garlic bread for everyone. Someone can do a green salad, someone else can do a potato salad or a pasta salad or whatever .... you choose whatever it is you'd like to bring but just let us know here so that there is no duplication like Edge says. (First come, first choice. :D: )

Jurgen, how many will you be ... are your parents coming as well?

Tony, no excuses mate .... get your installation done before the weekend and we'll see you on Saturday afternoon! :D:

Has someone let Wade & Donne' know? I don't know if he received my e-mail. Are they coming?

Dylan, did you manage to get hold of Malcolm Wheatley?

What we have so far then is ...

Edge & Viv (2)
Jurgen & family (How many?)
Tony & Annemarie (2)
Wade & Donne' (waiting on response)

Ben and Bokkie, we're going to miss you - hope that you join the WC guys this year after relocating. :winkx:

Okay Andy, eventhough I said that you should nominate.
We will make :-
1) Potato Salad
Let the rest see what they feel like making.
Is the way out to Dylans place on the road which goes past Dean's place in Dorchester Heights?

Haboob wrote:Is the way out to Dylans place on the road which goes past Dean's place in Dorchester Heights?
Hi Edge. Yep, that's the one ..... just follow the 'main' road till you go down an incline and over the causeway (on the Google map above) - immediately after that there is a fork in the road, you turn right it winds a bit with a steep incline where-after it straightens out. The 2nd turn-off (right) takes you to Dylan's place. :winkx:

Andy, you need to get hold of Craig (Hunter26) as well, he needs to exercise his Suzi on a trail like this. He will probably only see this thread next July or thereabouts. :D:

Thanks Eric. I did a mail shot as well in which he was included but so far I haven't heard from him. Edge or Tony might have contact with him.

AM Racing
Vehicle: Range Rover Classic V8

Post by AM Racing »

Sleep over is fine. Plenty
space to park a camper and chill....
Hunter26
Vehicle: Isuzu

Post by Hunter26 »

Hi All
Sorry for not seeing this post and kind invite,unfortunately my fancy useless phone packed up and now to the amusement of my unfeeling teenager kids ,am now using an old nokia voetsak phone. So far I'm in for this Saterday,will be byself as swambo has commitments and kids studying for exams...so I'm free to attend if all goes well and my bakkie is back from the panel beaters ( got broken into). Thanks again and will be great to meet you bunch.
Isuzu 250D 4x2 with diffy lock
1 x Humorous Driver
GPS,Dashcam,tyre levers
I don't live in Africa, Africa lives in me - Kyle my son.

Cool Craig, will be good to meet. :thumbup:

Edge & Viv (2)
Jurgen & family (How many?)
Tony & Annemarie (2)
Wade & Donne' (waiting on response)
Craig (1)

Thanks Dylan,
No plans in this for a brekkie on Sunday morning?
Come on Andy, you must take the lead in this type of thing.
Or is that what Craige Lines will be organising?
Have sent a message to Wade to find out if they will be attending.

Feedback from Wade is that they are already booked and paid for a week-end at Port Alfred, so give their blessings for a good time to the rest of us.

Sorry to hear that Wade won't be attending ...... and if Tony , Annemarie don't make it either we will be entirely without a Geer -box - so all revved up without going anywhere. :D:

Yeah, we can organise a breakie as well. I'm sure. Up to you guys, maybe X-treme Valley and play some crazy golf as well or go out along the McLeantown Rd to the Lion park (niether s too far from Dylan's place). Any other suggestions?

Dadz Toy
Vehicle: 95 Series Prado - Diesel Dog
Club VHF Licence: HC 286

Post by Dadz Toy »

Take lots of piciz, we want to see what you Eastern Cape Hilux Tribesmen look like :wink:

Rich :cooldude:

Andy,
We are easy and will do anything the majority decide on.
So will be happy to join in whatever gets decided on.
We have not been to the Lion Park, so will be happy if the decision is to go there,
but the majority vote will rule.
Sounds like the ruling party at their best.
Hunter26

Post by Hunter26 »

unfortunately I have to pull out as my bakkie is not ready from the panel beaters. I would have only stayed for the braai as I'm working on Sunday morning. I doubt the rental ford car will make the farm road.
1 x Humorous Driver
GPS,Dashcam,tyre levers

The farm road is not too bad, Craig. Lotsa people out there that use a 'platkar' on that road (I'll be going with the Rav), so you'll be fine if you change your mind.

Edge, I spoke to Dylan and he reckons that the breakfast idea is not too bad and will most likely join us. Otherwise it looks like no-one else has indicated that they will join us for breakfast so then we will go to the Lion park as per your preference.

What we have at the moment is,

Edge & Viv (2)
Jurgen & family (3)
Tony & Annemarie (2)
Wade & Donne' (not attending)
Craig (maybe?)

jvt172

Post by jvt172 »

Me plus 2

Got it. Thanks. :winkx:

The weather is expected to play along nicely on Saturday afternoon and Sunday morning.

Saturday should be about 25° from midday till 3pm after which it is expected to cool quite rapidly to 20° by 5pm and then more slowly to 16° by 10pm. Winds will be fresh SSW and starting to swing to WSW by late evening by which time it will have moderated.

Have some warm clothing on hand for the late afternoon / evening. The expected overnight low is 12° - a little low for this time of year but not unpleasant.

Sunday morning should be warming up to 19/20° in time for a latish breakfast (9.30 - 10.00am) with winds remaining light WSW from overnight, becoming moderate SE by midday. Temperatures are expected to peak to 24° at that time.

Lekker! :winkx:

Firstly, I wish to thank Dylan and SWAMBO for hosting a great evening and for really going the extra mile to make our little get together a great success. To Andy for arranging the event and also to our members who attended for a fantastic evening.
I went to bed with the fowls and litterly awoke early, with the roosters trying to get things going with the hens in the henrun. (about 5 metres from my camper ).

I made a point of parking my camper far away from Edge and Viv's camper to give them breathing space as I believe the new OME syspention in their camper still has to wear in and the noises created from the wind on the movement on their syspention might have kept me awake.

Thanks again for a great evening all.

Thanks for attending and for your company, guys! Nice for you to have made a plan to join us and giving us the pleasure of meeting you and your daughter, Craig! :thumbup:

Thanks also to Dylan and Delia for making their home available to us, greatly appreciated! :winkx:

All in all a most pleasant afternoon / evening! :okay:

Tony, no need to sugar coat it .... there was no wind and we all know what the suspension squeaks were all about! :laugh2:

Thanks for a great evening Dylan & Delia.
Andy for the arranging with Dylan and for all that attended.
The suspension was not tested as we did not go for the compulsary drive that was on the cards :cooldude: :yahoo: :lmao: :surrender:
Next time :thumbup:
Hunter26

Post by Hunter26 »

Just a big thanks to all for the invite and making my daughter and self feel welcome and at home.What a fantastic group of people you have,good laughs,jokes and conversations caused the evening to speed by. Dylans excellent cooking skills made the meat succulent and moist ,which gave him ammo to tease my daughter about her veggiterian out look lol. On our journey back home,we could not stop talking about the great crowd we met and atmosphere. Thanks again all for a fantastic time. Next meet up...Baviaans :laugh2: :laugh2: :laugh2:
1 x Humorous Driver
GPS,Dashcam,tyre levers
Whisky
Vehicle: 2009 Toyota Hilux DC 3.0 D -4D 4X4
Club VHF Licence: HC 136

Post by Whisky »

Aaah and we missed out on a great get-together. You are right Craig they are a great group, we miss you guys.

Regards to all.

Yeah Ben, we missed you and Bokkie but if ever you are up this way again, let us know. :winkx:

Glad you enjoyed, Craig, and it was great meeting you and your daughter. Till next time! :winkx:

Craig, next time maybe your wife will not be as busy with other functions.
You nearly missed the function on your doorstep,
Baviaans may be a problem for you.
You organise the next one to ensure your attendance.
Andy,
Sherry must also stop her excuses,
We missed her wit and chirps.
Your daughter and Mark also had lame excuses after a great outing last year.

Hehe ... can't win them all. Ja, I also think that Nicole and Mark could have made it with a small re-arranging of their schedule, but Sher was definitely 'out of it' - she had been keen, but just not up to it on the day. :winkx:

Eventually got around to unloading my camera ...... not too many pics I'm afraid, we were having way too much fun :D:

L to R - Delia, Edge, Tony, Viv and young Teagan.
IMG_1408.JPG

Craig's delightful daughter Kaylee, Viv and a foxie that claimed a camp chair.
IMG_1409.JPG

Dylan and Craig
IMG_1410.JPG

Jurgen & Edge checking out Tony's camper build (We're still waiting on the report for that build :D: )
IMG_1411.JPG

Jurgen, Tony & Edge checking it out.
IMG_1412.JPG

Proud Tony - "I'm gonna sleep well tonight cause I'm far away from Edge and his squeaky suspension"!
IMG_1413.JPG

More of Tony's camper ....
IMG_1414.JPG
IMG_1415.JPG
IMG_1416.JPG
IMG_1419.JPG

Tony & Jurgen contemplating whether anyone would miss a chicken. :D:
IMG_1417.JPG

Edge - "Never mind the chickens. As long as I have my 'coffee' flask"!
IMG_1418.JPG

The foxie never gave up his chair.
IMG_1420.JPG

Return to “Eastern Cape”