Page 1 of 1

Copying the Aussies

Posted: Sun Jan 10, 2016 7:35 am
by smokintyres
This idea has been running through my head and been put on paper a while ago already. This year I took the plunge and took the standard "bak" off and built my own flatbed. This is the initial outcome:

I fabricated a platform to the dimensions I hoped would work out large enough, yet not too large.
2015-12-27 14.25.17.jpg
2015-12-30 17.41.00.jpg
2015-12-30 17.42.28.jpg
Then it was time to take the bak off.
2016-01-03 12.54.55.jpg
After sorting out a few flaws that revealed themselves with the bak off for the first time since I got the bakkie (8 years ago)
2016-01-03 13.06.14.jpg
2016-01-03 13.22.37.jpg
2016-01-03 13.23.34.jpg
2016-01-03 14.52.38.jpg
Auxiliary fuel tank bracket:
2016-01-05 16.02.11.jpg
2016-01-05 16.02.25.jpg
2016-01-05 16.02.32.jpg
And then test fit the platform:
2016-01-03 14.15.49.jpg
So far so good Image

Time for a Rollbar! There are plenty of options, ranging from perfectly matched to practical; I opted towards the practical side, following the cab angle to some degree:
2016-01-05 17.48.21.jpg
2016-01-05 17.56.32.jpg
The Rollbar got a bit of support, yet allowing the spare wheels to be mounted against the Rollbar.
2016-01-06 16.05.01.jpg
Time for the chequer plate:
2016-01-09 13.52.20.jpg
I'm pretty chuffed with the result so far. Wheel arches, mudflaps and boxes behind the wheel arches to follow.
2016-01-09 17.45.05.jpg

Re: Copying the Aussies

Posted: Sun Jan 10, 2016 7:42 am
by The Legend
Very very nice job. Well done

Posted: Sun Jan 10, 2016 8:12 am
by smokintyres
Seems Tapatalk pulled a stunt on me. Will add the photos as soon as I am at the PC again.

Sent from my D6503 using Tapatalk

Posted: Sun Jan 10, 2016 9:12 am
by ismail
Waiting patiently for the photos :)

Posted: Sun Jan 10, 2016 9:52 am
by pietpetoors
I think the pictures might be too big. If you load them on the normal forum software, the forum will warn you that they are too big, but Tapatalk does not warn you.

The load bin looks very nice. :thumbup:

Posted: Sun Jan 10, 2016 10:13 am
by smokintyres
Photos are up;)

Posted: Sun Jan 10, 2016 10:14 am
by smokintyres
pietpetoors wrote:I think the pictures might be too big. If you load them on the normal forum software, the forum will warn you that they are too big, but Tapatalk does not warn you.

The load bin looks very nice. :thumbup:
Thanks Pieter, size must have definitely been the issue. Just shows how long ago I have posted on here :blushing:

Posted: Sun Jan 10, 2016 10:56 am
by GMan
Lyk windgat ! I like !

Posted: Sun Jan 10, 2016 11:11 am
by ThysdJ
Love it!! I still wonder why we dont get a cab-chassis option as standard the same way the Aussies do. Flat tray backs are ideal and very practical even for overlanding, as you dont waste any space with curves and stuff.

Great job!!

Posted: Sun Jan 10, 2016 11:19 am
by zepplin
Was never a fan of the Aussie flatbeds - they just looked too weird BUT this has changed my outlook.

Very nicely done. :mexwave:

Posted: Sun Jan 10, 2016 11:47 am
by Mud Dog
Very neat work, looks great! Well done! :thumbup:

What is the reason that you have placed the roll-bar supports so far into the flat-bed. From what I can see they are removable but surely this interferes with the practicality of an open load space? Or are you planning on building a canopy over the flat-bed and utilising the side spaces for side access packing compartments (kitchen unit etc.), and centre for drawer system maybe ? :think:

Posted: Sun Jan 10, 2016 1:45 pm
by Toyrover
Looks good

I too have a flatback fabrication very similar to yours. Miles more useful.

Hopefully have some piccies when its back on the truck :thumbup:

Posted: Sun Jan 10, 2016 3:23 pm
by ismail
Very nice really wouldn't doing the same to mine. I agree way more practical than a bak

Posted: Sun Jan 10, 2016 4:04 pm
by smokintyres
Thanks all for the compliments :D:
Mud Dog wrote:Very neat work, looks great! Well done! :thumbup:

What is the reason that you have placed the roll-bar supports so far into the flat-bed. From what I can see they are removable but surely this interferes with the practicality of an open load space? Or are you planning on building a canopy over the flat-bed and utilising the side spaces for side access packing compartments (kitchen unit etc.), and centre for drawer system maybe ? :think:

The rollbar supports just didn't look right stretched all the way to the back, also they are mounted just above the last mounting point on the frame, hence less stress on there. To be honest it also just looked a hell of a lot better :blushing: If I were to use the bakkie on a daily basis for transporting ladders or other long material, I would have done away with the angled supports and installed another frame on the end of the bed. They are however removable and will not be in the way should the full area of the bed be needed.

The design of a canopy, or actually bolt on "camper" is on paper already and the supports will be removed whenever the "camper" (always ready packed, except for perishables) is fitted to the bakkie for excursions into the wild. The spare wheels will remain, where they are.

Posted: Sun Jan 10, 2016 5:56 pm
by The Legend
I like your way of thinking

Posted: Sun Jan 10, 2016 6:31 pm
by Knuppel
I like, very nice!

Posted: Mon Jan 11, 2016 8:19 am
by Rusti
Great job. Looks really neat..

Before i bought Tarquins canopy I was also thinking of copying the Ausy canopies that are shaped to suit your new set up.. looks like they gat much more space.

If you need an easy 3D drawing program you should try "sketchup" it's a free download under a student license and is very very easy to use.. I taught myself how to use it in 3 days.

Posted: Mon Jan 11, 2016 11:09 am
by smokintyres
Rusti wrote:Great job. Looks really neat..

Before i bought Tarquins canopy I was also thinking of copying the Ausy canopies that are shaped to suit your new set up.. looks like they gat much more space.

If you need an easy 3D drawing program you should try "sketchup" it's a free download under a student license and is very very easy to use.. I taught myself how to use it in 3 days.
Thanks! :D:

There is definitely a lot more usable space. At the moment it's basically just the frame, with boxes and tanks etc to be added.

I have got ACAD (full version) and am fully proficient at it, as it forms part of my daily work. Since the bakkie is my only four wheeled mode of transport, I had little time available between removing the bak and drawing everything up. So for the load bed I measured and sketched as I went along. But for the remaining items I will draw up everything on ACAD, as I can now measure etc without the bakkie having to be dismantled. Also because I will have some of the boxes and tanks manufactured (depending on the costs) and an accurate drawing is definitely worthwhile then.

Thanks for the advice anyway, I have actually used sketchup as well before :thumbup:

Posted: Mon Jan 11, 2016 8:41 pm
by Froll
Nice job, well done. Looks realy good. :thumbup: :thumbup:

Posted: Tue Jan 12, 2016 8:01 am
by Rusti
Hi Gernot,

ACAD.. Is that short for Arci Cad? I hear Arci Cad is like Revit.. Great 3D intergratin while you draw in 2D.. I'm on Autocad all day so I use sketch up for my 3Ds..

That frame you've got is a great starting point for all your measurements etc. Looking forward to seeing future photos..

Posted: Tue Jan 12, 2016 8:18 am
by smokintyres
Hi Duane, ACAD is short for Auto CAD and the full version (run off a fairly top spec PC) is fully 3D capable with a couple of tricks up its sleeves for mechanical services.

I have only worked on Solidworks at Technikon, and unfortunately don't remember much :oops:

The ArchiCAD program to my knowledge is well suited for architects, have not had a chance to work with it yet.

Posted: Tue Jan 12, 2016 11:54 am
by WayneSchalk
I like a lot :thumbup: Very good workmanship :thumbup:

Posted: Tue Jan 12, 2016 2:43 pm
by Stef
AutoCAD...eish...also have to use it from time to time to do our floor layouts. Not very user friendly nor intuitive

Now I know who to bug in future :mrgreen:

Posted: Tue Jan 12, 2016 5:13 pm
by Rusti
Hi Stefan. Anytime you need advice don't hesitate.

In the mean time you should have a look at sketch up. . It's super easy and extremely user friendly. Google the tutorials. Might be more useful to you.

Posted: Thu Jan 14, 2016 7:07 pm
by Jaans
Very nice job. :thumbup: :thumbup: I was also thinking of donig it just have not gathered the courage to remove the load bin and start the process. The big thing is to get the basic mounting positions. If You have that you can design the camper or what you want and once you done you can install it. You can safe a lot of space and weight if you build a dedicated camper canopy.

Posted: Thu Jan 14, 2016 10:21 pm
by smokintyres
Jaans wrote:Very nice job. :thumbup: :thumbup: I was also thinking of donig it just have not gathered the courage to remove the load bin and start the process. The big thing is to get the basic mounting positions. If You have that you can design the camper or what you want and once you done you can install it. You can safe a lot of space and weight if you build a dedicated camper canopy.
Getting the mounting feet positions is fairly easy. I managed to measure, using the cab and frame as reference. Only the middle mounting feet were offset from the frame, the front and rear mounting feet are directly above the frame. So I ran two crossmembers in line with the bakkie's frame, allowing me to weld mounting plates directly onto them. The mounting plate for the middle mounting feet were reinforced slightly to allow for the offset and the accompanying stresses. The mounting plates were oversized to allow adjustments once the mounting feet and tray were to be joined. I prepared the mounting feet together with the tray, so that I could bolt the mounting feet into position, place the tray on top, adjust the position and tack weld the feet to the tray's mounting plates. I refrained from to much welding while the tray was still on the bakkie and when I did I used a large, soaking wet towel to prevent any sparks from igniting anything, especially close to the fuel tanks. :blink: Would probably be better to remove the tanks altogether, but time was not on my side...

So go for it, it is definitely worthwhile!!! I am still busy designing the undertray boxes and am collecting ideas for the canopy. But I am sure that I have gained a lot of space, although I am taking the sparewheel out from underneath the bakkie and mounting it on top of the tray.

Posted: Fri Jan 15, 2016 7:05 am
by FIRSTGEER
Great idea and workmanship and also very practical.Well done.

Posted: Fri Jan 15, 2016 2:28 pm
by ChrisF
I helped a friend to manufacture a flatbed for another vehicle.

He started with an outerframe, then cross beams to line up with the supports, then downstands and feet at each mounting point.

actually pretty easy doing it this way, and for this vehicle the mounting points were at different heights ....

Posted: Tue Feb 09, 2016 8:24 pm
by smokintyres
Saved myself one trip and a whole lot of fuel today. Would not have been able to load the launches with the more aerodynamic section facing forward, never mind both at the same time. Once you go Platbak you never go ba(c)k.
Launch.jpg

Posted: Tue Feb 09, 2016 8:52 pm
by george
Excellent. If you have a work horse than this is still the best idea

Posted: Wed Feb 10, 2016 9:15 am
by Mars
Very nice job. A friend of mine moved to Australia. He always says that he cannot understand why all farmers do not have these plat bakke in South Africa. Once you have used one you will never want another normal bak.

Posted: Wed Feb 17, 2016 1:50 pm
by lukestoyzx
Nice one mate! Can't beat the practicality of a good tray! Tho mines not very practical, as long as I have room for my swag and eski who the hell cares! Can't beat that comp truck look!

Pic edit by F_D

Posted: Thu Feb 18, 2016 1:23 pm
by smokintyres
Thanks! Practicality vs look is not an easy decision to take: Heart vs Brain... :crazy:
A good looking rig you have, I like the way store your High Lift Jack :thumbup: How badly does it collect dust down there?

Posted: Fri Feb 19, 2016 8:06 am
by lukestoyzx
Cheers! Yeah the jack cops a fair bit of crap but it's also easy to hose of whenever the rig is washed.

Posted: Thu Jan 12, 2017 3:39 pm
by smokintyres
Finally an update, only exactly a year later :blushing:

I had initially thought I could get the sheet metal work done by a specialist company since I didn't have the suitable equipment to tackle it myself. But the first quotation sort of left me in a state of shock. The price was dropped rather significantly for cutting and bending the material only and I wanted to move forward, but after two months of waiting and still no product in hand, I gave up and cancelled my order.

I spent almost exactly the amount they had wanted for manufacturing the boxes and fenders on a box and pan brake and some other tools instead and started experimenting. Turns out welding 1.2 or 1.6mm mild steel sheets is not impossible with a cheapy arc welder and some of the welds can actually remain as they are and don't need to undergo plastic surgery, i.e. grinding and body putty :blackeye:

Some photos of the progress so far:
DSC_0121.JPG
DSC_0124.JPG
DSC_0139.JPG
DSC_0141.JPG
DSC_0149.JPG
DSC_0151.JPG
Next step is to take the flatbed off again, add some proper supports for the fender and boxes, build and install the under tray drawer and properly coat everything it with stone chip. I will add a rubber mat to the bottom of the steel fender as well as to the inside to protect the fuel pipes and cables from any rocks stones and mud thrown around by the tyres. Initially the fender was supposed to protect the cab, but that would have meant removing the plastic wheel arches and having to close up the holes of the clips. The fender now only extends approximately 120mm along the cab to line up with the plastic arches.

The canopy is already drawn up and will be built soon after.

Posted: Thu Jan 12, 2017 5:37 pm
by Dowe Koos
Hi Gernot, love your job - very cool.

Posted: Fri Jan 13, 2017 8:02 am
by Mud Dog

Posted: Fri Jan 13, 2017 9:59 pm
by muki
This looks very cool! Always liked how the Aussies done it. Well done!

Sent from my 2014817 using Tapatalk

Posted: Fri Jan 13, 2017 10:10 pm
by petri oosthuizen
VERY VERY nice!!! Well done, looks Supercool!!

Posted: Sat Jan 14, 2017 5:58 am
by lukestoyzx
You'll find we are guns at most things! Nice one!

Sent from my SM-N920I using Tapatalk

Posted: Tue Jan 17, 2017 6:36 pm
by Tjomma
Nice, very nice... Well done.

Posted: Tue Jan 17, 2017 7:46 pm
by Thunder02
Very cool, that's a project I've thinking of for a long time, turn the IFS into a camper.

Posted: Wed Jan 18, 2017 7:26 am
by FIRSTGEER
Looks very good.The Ausies can learn something from you from this project.

Posted: Wed Jan 18, 2017 4:14 pm
by smokintyres
Thanks guys!

Posted: Thu Jan 19, 2017 9:27 am
by JohanW
Sjoe sjoe sjoe, bitter netjies... Ek sal so 'n setup op my wishlist plaas.

Posted: Thu Jan 26, 2017 7:23 am
by Nick S
Looks magic :thumbup:

Posted: Mon Jan 30, 2017 1:24 pm
by Haboob
Great job, well done and neat.
My previous D/C I just cut out the wheel wells and put flat piece in there to have more flat space without lifting anything.
All I did was to strenthen the back springs as I was also heavily loaded.
Worked for me and greatly increased the space in the back...

Posted: Thu Aug 08, 2019 6:58 pm
by segalmarisa
Aussie trayback is definitely the best option for many applications. Especially overlanding Here is one I built for my ranger. Busy with a clients one for his hilux. Then I’ll probably build one for my new hilux. ImageImage

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk