Re: '87 Hilux DC Re-build

Posted: Wed Nov 18, 2015 4:47 pm
by Knuppel
Dankie Pieter!

Eendag sal jy hom daar in die dorp sien.....en hoor :yahoo:

Posted: Wed Nov 18, 2015 6:27 pm
by Thomo82
That is looking great. I am really liking that colour.

Posted: Fri Nov 20, 2015 5:06 pm
by 4x4BEES
That looks amazing :thumbup: :thumbup:

As said before, can't wait to see the finished project :drool: :drool:

Posted: Tue Nov 24, 2015 4:44 pm
by Knuppel
Progress slow at the moment.
Some lights in
Radiator in
Big pipe plumbing done
Battery box made
Pump in tank fittings made

Posted: Wed Nov 25, 2015 9:55 am
by Reinart21
Looks great, I am also progressing slowly.

Would like to ask if you can give me a pic of your steering shaft from the firewall to the power steering box.

Mine is really close to the tapped covers. :beg: :beg:

Posted: Wed Nov 25, 2015 1:31 pm
by Knuppel
Will Do. From what I hear it is normal. I am happy with the gap though.

Will go take a pic now now :thumbup:

Posted: Wed Nov 25, 2015 2:43 pm
by Knuppel
I still have to lengthen the rod but in can get my fingers in between with ease.

Posted: Wed Nov 25, 2015 4:24 pm
by Muz
I like the 70 Sersies landcruiser in your profile pic Marius :D: :cry:

Posted: Wed Nov 25, 2015 4:50 pm
by Knuppel
So do I :D:

BTW You sent me a PM a while a go but I was unable to respond. I was just able to respond now :thumbup:

:cooldude: Every thing has a price and this one will have a rather crazy price! Like in 7 figures :taunt:

Posted: Thu Nov 26, 2015 9:45 am
by Muz
lol.. I can imagine-$$$$. anyone who's selling,im keen, been looking for ages. Veeeeeeeery nice

Posted: Fri Dec 04, 2015 12:12 pm
by Knuppel
Some progress on the cab
Door cards/panels in
Busy with front bumper
Exhaust manifolds are in the production process somewhere

Posted: Fri Dec 04, 2015 12:25 pm
by Wikkels
The black interior looks stunning! I like!!

Posted: Fri Dec 04, 2015 12:34 pm
by niclemaitre
Like the bumper :D

Posted: Fri Dec 04, 2015 12:44 pm
by Stef
Dit lyk so lekker ek gaan verf somme die bakkie se chassis die naweek ...of iets. :laugh2:

lyk baie mooi...een van die dae is jy klaar... :thumbup:

Posted: Tue Dec 08, 2015 4:18 pm
by Knuppel

Posted: Tue Dec 08, 2015 8:13 pm
by Family_Dog
I cannot see any pics :(

Posted: Wed Dec 09, 2015 8:06 am
by Knuppel
hope they are fixed now?

Posted: Wed Dec 09, 2015 9:02 am
by Mud Dog
Knuppel wrote:hope they are fixed now?
Yep. ..... Beautiful!! :thumbup:

Posted: Wed Dec 09, 2015 4:42 pm
by Froll
Looking very awesome. :thumbup: :thumbup:

Posted: Tue Dec 22, 2015 2:06 pm
by Knuppel
Knuppel wrote: I went shopping, en toe vat ek raak. :yahoo:

I want to run OEM type setup as far as possible. Part of this is running the oem pump for the 1UZ from inside the fuel tank.

So I went a hunting in the scrap yard and found the housing that houses the fuel pump for a corolla (4ZZ engine)
It looked to be the right depth! and it is excactly right :D:
I know I have to increase the hole size in the tank but thats very doable.
Once opened I found the fuel pump inside to be the exact same dimensions as the one I bought that is OEM for the 1UZ engine. Plug and play !!!!
:celebrate:

Now to cut the hole bigger and make the housing retainer, where's my Turner :boss:

So Now I am at the point of doing the fuel system. Starting at the front and wanting to work my way back.

Got OEM fuel filter for a 1FZ-FE engine (Cruiser 4.5EFI) The 1UZ VVTI does not have a return line to the tank as its oem regulator is in the tank itself and it dumps the excess fuel right there and then. This means I dont have the lexus setup and therefore need a Fuel pressure regulator! Bought an adjustable regulator with gauge and all, very fancy! So while I am plumping the fuel system in the engine bay I get another helper to fit my Lexus pump in the above purchased housing. So he gets lost and I go and help him.

After about 5 minutes of disassembly and re-assembly I see this shiny megafter in the fuel pump housing.
Suddnely I realise what it is. Its the in tank fuel regulator!!!!

After some googling I figure that this regulator runs at 44 psi, perfect for the Lexus. So not only did i get the right fuel pump holder, it also contains the correct in tank regulator :dance1: This halve the amount of plumbing to do also!

So now I have wasted R1500 on a useless fuel regulator :slap: Anybody need an adustable fuel regulator

Below pictures of in-tank regulator.

Posted: Tue Dec 22, 2015 2:13 pm
by Knuppel
Pic of progress in engine bay.
Water system is tight
Air system is tight
Busy on fuel system, almost there
Busy on exhaust system.
Busy on wiring.

Dash is done

Posted: Tue Dec 22, 2015 3:19 pm
by Thomo82
Looking Good!

Posted: Wed Dec 23, 2015 7:48 am
by Mars
Fantastiese werk Marius!!!

Posted: Wed Dec 23, 2015 3:35 pm
by Knuppel
Thanks Guys :thankyou:

Tank and long range tank fitted.
Just need to do the filler pipes
Exhaust manifolds almost completed. They still need to be skimmed and then the sensors need to be refitted. Flanges also to be welded.

BTW, that longrange tank is plastic and has done over a Million Kilometers in 4 different hiluxes.

Posted: Wed Dec 30, 2015 12:18 pm
by rayv
Excellent Marius !! :thumbup: :clap:

Posted: Sun Jan 10, 2016 6:25 pm
by Knuppel
Reinart21 wrote:
Knuppel wrote:Reinart, have not checked it but that is just a matter of lengthening or shortening the levers so to get the right amount of travel between shifter and gearbox lever. That is not a show stopper at all.

If it does not shift enough then lengthen the lever on the shifter to get more travel.
So I have been told... But the difference from Park to Reverse is a bit further, than from there on down. Just wanting to know if that would be alright. Otherwise there's no problems. The shifter you got from lextreme, did you get it with the bracket or connector to latch/connect to the gearbox mech lever?
@Reinart, the shifter travel works 100 %
I made my own connector rod, 10 min job

The problem comes in with the electronics. Still need to test my mods to determine if it will tell the box were what gear is.

Posted: Mon Jan 11, 2016 11:16 am
by Reinart21
Hang on, did you not purchase one of the pre-wired kits? I would assume the ECU/Electronic part of the shifting is already sorted??

Posted: Mon Jan 11, 2016 12:22 pm
by Knuppel
Nope, I need to tell the ecu when the gearbox is in L & 4. The existing wiring on the Shifter is not user friendly. Then I want the Park lock to be released by the brake pedal. The solenoid that does that job is part of the complicated Shifter electronics. I have used micro switches to replace the electronic functions and removed the shifter solenoid from the circuitry.

Posted: Fri Jan 15, 2016 4:47 pm
by Knuppel
It started.

Posted: Fri Jan 15, 2016 4:48 pm
by Knuppel
:yahoo: :yahoo: :yahoo: :D: :celebrate: :celebrate: :celebrate: :celebrate: :dance1: :dance1: :dance1: :dance1: :dance1: :dance1: :dance1: :dance1:

Posted: Fri Jan 15, 2016 5:05 pm
by The Legend
Mooi man,iets wat jy lank na uitgesien het. :thumbup: :thumbup:

Posted: Fri Jan 15, 2016 6:45 pm
by Knuppel
Dankie! Ek het lank uit gesien ja , dit was een helse verligting toe hy start. Mens weet nooit waaar jy dalk n foutjie in bou wat jou kom byt.

Posted: Fri Jan 15, 2016 8:13 pm
by Knuppel
For the illiterate on this forum

https://youtu.be/mpT_850rkF4" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

Posted: Fri Jan 15, 2016 9:45 pm
by Family_Dog
I was just goimg to say - no evidence - but the youtube link proves it is fact, and sounds damn good!

Posted: Fri Jan 15, 2016 10:12 pm
by zepplin
Always a relief. You start second guessing yourself.

Well done!!!

Posted: Tue Jan 19, 2016 2:19 pm
by pietpetoors
Lyk flippen nice so vêr. :thumbup:

Posted: Tue Jan 19, 2016 4:35 pm
by Knuppel
Thanks for the compliments Guys!

I just received an offer for R100k and its not even finished yet :shock:

Posted: Tue Jan 19, 2016 8:24 pm
by Family_Dog
^^ Take it, we can split if 50 - 50! :lmao: :lmao:

Posted: Wed Jan 20, 2016 3:10 pm
by Stef
R100k is too low; at least R115k

Posted: Wed Jan 27, 2016 5:08 pm
by Knuppel
Progress report.

Cab side I am now done! Baring the carpet and ceiling.

Busy with the load body
Why the hell would one need to have 39 holes drilled all over the place is beyond me :shock2:
Closing them all up.
The only putty on this body will unfortunately be as per picture. I tried to get replacement panels but unfortunately had to resort to pounding them back into shape. At least the putty will be a tenth of what it was before.
Also 4 layers of rubberizing removed. A bloody crap job that was :twisted:

Posted: Thu Jan 28, 2016 12:55 pm
by Stef
Knuppel wrote:Progress report.

Why the hell would one need to have 39 holes drilled all over the place is beyond me :shock2:
Closing them all up.
:mrgreen: Probably a few canopies in it's time...

Your SFA looks so nice I'm seriously thinking I should never sell mine

Posted: Thu Jan 28, 2016 1:21 pm
by Pietman
And a few cattle rails... :lol:

Posted: Thu Jan 28, 2016 1:32 pm
by Tenk
Lyk spogerig, baie goeie werk, ek dink hy us baie meer werd as 100k.

Posted: Thu Jan 28, 2016 2:36 pm
by JohanW
Lyk pragtig Marius! Vinnige vraag, watter hose het jy gebruik vir die fuel tank filler en waar kry jy dit?

Posted: Thu Jan 28, 2016 4:06 pm
by Knuppel
Johan, Die pyp was die bestaande pyp wat saam met die tanks gekom het. Ek het net plan gemaak met die lengte en rigting met staal pype wat van n NP200 se intake afkom.

Die longrange tank het ek in 1996 gekoop en sy pyp het so saam gekom. 20 jaar later toe loop ek die tank weer raak en toe maak ek seker dat ek alles bymekaar het tot die "Y" filler nek.

Die breather pype is fuel/Air/oil pyp wat ek by n hydroliese plek gekoop het in Sabie

Posted: Fri Jan 29, 2016 8:50 pm
by Knuppel
This afternoon I completed the exhaust. Before, I was taking short test drives with just two seperate pipes that had a mufler each but today put two into one with a y piece and added the last silencer.
:shock: :shock: bloody hell but this bakkie suddenly came alive with two tons of low down torque. I drew 2 50 m black lines :D: . Had to hang on for dear life as the ass was running all over the show :cooldude:

And so it got a name .....

En wat n Wildebees dit is :celebrate:

Posted: Tue Feb 09, 2016 2:29 pm
by Thomo82
Any further updates on this?

Posted: Tue Feb 09, 2016 5:17 pm
by Knuppel
Almost done, waiting for the load body, changing some heat gauges and sender units. Rev Counter working.

I could have been done and dusted 2 weeks ago but work comes first. The load body is prepped for colour but the right moment has not arrived to paint it.

Will see if I can load some more pics in the morning.

Posted: Tue Feb 09, 2016 8:21 pm
by 4x4BEES
It truly looks awesome so far, can't wait to see the finished project.

Posted: Wed Feb 10, 2016 9:09 am
by Knuppel
Some progress pics of the load body

Posted: Wed Feb 17, 2016 2:58 pm
by Knuppel
So I have been doing some traveling.
Some good some bad, will explain

The load body is on but no tailgate yet!
The good is its running relatively good now let me explain all the issues first

My problems list from startup, before them it was the building stage and no real issues

1. The engine at first would not start, My intank fuel system did not want to build pressure and after removing the tank i found an O-ring had been fitted wrong. After it was fitted the right way there was plenty pressure. Problem solved, engine fired up no problem.

2. Once started it did not want to rev up properly after a while. Hunted and found I fitted the air flow meter the wrong way round. Problem fixed!

3. The it revved up but it sputtered and splurted. What now, After a lot of research and phone calls I get the info to clean the Air Flow meter. Some Electro clean and suddenly bob's your uncle. Problem Solved

4. I take it for a short drive but Eish! it runs bad, No power! So I then build the exhaust as it was only running on the manifolds. 100% improvement but I only built the front section of the pipe past the first muffler.

5. The first test drives are only about 150 to 200 meters at a time. Now I can take it for a longer one. I go for about 1Km and come back again. BIG issue with the gearbox.
1st is fine.
2nd is fine
3rd is Fine
4th is = 1st :shock2: Nose on windscreen stuff :silent:
5th = 1st gear also. Me not impressed. so I phone the engine dealer. Ja well see, you need to bring it in :blackeye: There could be a problem with the harness
700km round trip for that :thumbdown: :acute:

So now I am pondering the situation, there are several lexperts in the area, i will go find one.
Two days later a lady, yes a lady walks into my workshop who builds her own lexus motors!!!!! Heard I was building one into a bakkie and wanted a look see.

She was impressed with my build and suggested i remove the shifter plug from the gearbox to test if the box was actually ok or if the wiring has a problem.

Ek laat nie op my wag nie!. removed the plug and now it dont start. It can't sense the that its in park to fire the engine. Put plug in, start, remove plug again. Took it for a drive and now I am smiling as the gearbox runs through all 5 gears :mrgreen:

So I phone the engine supplier again. What to do. They say I can't drive it like that as it will bugger up the box.
So now I phone my lady friend to confirm :D:. Not a problem to drive it like that :thumbup: . I phone the supplier again. Yes it is possible but you need to bridge 2 sets of wires on the plug to make it start and run. So i bridge the two sets of wires in the plug and off we go. It runs ok but not to well yet............

6. Now after some test drives the brakes are not too hot :blushing: Find that the left rear needs bleeding but the niple breaks off :twisted: Buy new slave cylinder and problem solved. The PO said all was rebuilt and after a quick inspection I could see it did not look to bad so I thought just a small glitch.

7. More test drives but the brakes they not so lekker. RH slave cylinder rusted and stuck solid :blackeye:
Buy new slave cylinder and fit.

8. After various vigourous test drives I hear.....or can't hear myself in the cab! Big bloody noise coming from the diff. Nice crunch crunch sounds coming out of there. When I bought I could see the centre portion had been changed recently and was hoping for the best but ja, that hope went out the window!

9. So I build the last piece of the exhaust, two into one, man oh man does it sound good.......and suddenly there is two tons of low down torque :celebrate:

10. So the proverbial Friday comes along and time to take it home for the first time :D: . 50km. Wow, that sound gentlemen that sound is flipping awesome :dance1: . Because it's the first drive I take it casual. Not sure what the heat is doing, not sure what the gearbox will do.
Driving short runs around town to test over the weekend, show the friends, make a noise, all that stuff. Comes Monday morning and I drive it back to work. after about 10 Km i start feeling like I am driving a half filled water tanker. :cry: It does not feel good. Something is wrong but can't pinpoint it. Search on Monday, Search on Tuesday and find a possible problem. No fault codes on the ECU but one of the VVTI plugs looks like it was loose.
Test drive again.......nope....still driving a water cart :twisted:
Then I decide to put the gearbox selector plug back in.....nope.....same sh1t, different day. Pull the plug out again and only bridge the Park sense wire and not the second one I was told to bridge.

:clap: :clap: :D: :celebrate: :dance1: WOW what a different vehicle. Pulls X2 Better, can select most gears on the box manually, the gearbox gets lock-up in all gears!!! my driving rpm drops by 400 RPM at 100kph. NO MORE WATER TRUCK motion. And it hits 160 KPH in 4th gear in about 500 meters.
OOOH but that diff is now really not happy, so i fitted a brand new centre portion. :D:

En nou Mnre ry ek baie lekker. Still waiting for the tailgate and will post some pics when that is fitted.

Then I need to sort the front suspension, Its a bit on the hard side.

Posted: Wed Feb 17, 2016 3:23 pm
by Pietman
4th is = 1st :shock2: Nose on windscreen stuff :silent:

Nou lekker gelag... Flip ek is bly vir jou part Marius. Die trok van jou kom nou al lang pad en baie sweet. Maar Ek glo daai brul van hom is dit alles die moeite werd.

Enjoy

Posted: Wed Feb 17, 2016 7:13 pm
by The Legend
Marius laat ek nou maar eerlik wees.As my bakkie ooit eendag panelbeating nodig het ,bring ek hom vir daardie paneelklopper van jou.Hy mag maar.Vakmanskap op sy beste :thumbup: :thumbup:

Posted: Thu Feb 18, 2016 8:59 am
by pietpetoors
Baie netjies, is wonderlik om na die begin fotos te kyk en te sien wat jy nou het.

Julle doen 'n uitstekende werk :thumbup:

Posted: Thu Feb 18, 2016 9:40 am
by Knuppel
:thumbup: Dankie Ouens!

Posted: Fri Feb 26, 2016 8:53 pm
by salmonj
Hi Marius....what progress and any more pictures?

Posted: Sat Feb 27, 2016 8:22 am
by Knuppel
John,

Not yet, want to put pictures on when I am completely done with the body.
At the moment I am fighting with a suspension that is rattling my bones. :twisted:
Probably next week :D:

Posted: Mon Feb 29, 2016 12:31 pm
by Thomo82
This may be a silly question, but does the power steering pump on the 3UZ work fine with the steering box on the Hilux? Was it just a matter of plumbing to get them to work together?

Posted: Mon Feb 29, 2016 12:42 pm
by Knuppel
The one on the 1UZ VVTI i have works 100%
The part number of the pump on the 1UZ is the same as that on some of the other 3UZ engines but not all of them so cannot vouch that you will get a 3UZ with a pump that works but chances are that the pumps are the same but just have different outlets

I just plumbed mine and all worked 100%

Posted: Mon Feb 29, 2016 1:16 pm
by Thomo82
Cool, thanks. :thumbup: