My track Corsa - and so the season ends...

Members' DIY projects

Re: My race car - first race coming this Saturday

Cool, good luck for Saturday, we hope this time it is without problems. :thumbup: :thumbup:
1999 Hilux 2.7i 4x4 Raider DC with 3.4 Prado V6. Rear diff-lock, Bull Bar and rock sliders, 31" Cooper ST Maxx, Snorkel, Alu-Canopy, VHF Motorolla radio, West Coast Rust, Mikem Suspension, Ball Joint Spacers in front and Mikem extended shackles at the rear, 25watt LED Spots
Dodging
Vehicle: Golof

Post by Dodging »

Thanks, Guys

Racing starts at 10h00

Our group's qualifying is 08h15, first race at 11h15, second race 16h45 if I remember correctly
Nothing is impossible - it just costs more
Dodging

Post by Dodging »

Oh yes - Superhatch pis are there between turns 7 & 8, close to the Goldwagen stand. If any of you guys are there come and say hi ;)
Die$eL
Town: Midrand
Vehicle: 06' Hilux 3.0 D4D 4X4

Post by Die$eL »

Good luck! I wish I could attend but I have to work :(

Seems you have done a good build. All should be fine :thumbup:
Real drivers use three pedals
Dodging

Post by Dodging »

Very cool Andre :thumbup: :thumbup:
Good luck on getting enough sleep this weekend :lmao: :lmao:

Congrats and BEST wishes !!
Dodging

Post by Dodging »

Thanks guys
Vehicle: '90 SFA Hilux DC 4X4, Full OME, 110mm lift. Brospeed branch, 50mm ss freeflow exhaust. 30 x 9.5 Discoverer S/T's on Viper mags. L/R tank. (AWOL) '98 LTD 2.4 SFA, dual battery system. Dobinson suspension, LR tanks, 31" BF mud's.

Best of luck! Give it horns!! :thumbup: :thumbup:

Will you be able to sleep tonight?

The clock is ticking......... :subscribed:
1999 Hilux 2.7i 4x4 Raider DC with 3.4 Prado V6. Rear diff-lock, Bull Bar and rock sliders, 31" Cooper ST Maxx, Snorkel, Alu-Canopy, VHF Motorolla radio, West Coast Rust, Mikem Suspension, Ball Joint Spacers in front and Mikem extended shackles at the rear, 25watt LED Spots

Looking very good, best of luck for you. :thumbup: :thumbup:

pietpetoors wrote:Will you be able to sleep tonight?

The clock is ticking......... :subscribed:
dink hy kamp vanaand in die garage :laugh2: (ek weet ek sou)
Dodging

Post by Dodging »

Anybody want to guess what I kept myself busy with tonight?

Well if your guess was that I was changing big-end bearings, you'd be right...

Last night after taking pics of the car, I gave it a burn to check everything was OK. Heard a funny noise and all day today I was worried sick about it. Soon as I got home, pulled the sump off and found the no 4 big end in really bad shape. Thankfully I had a new set of bearings on the shelf, so in they went. Unfortunately the crank has some scoring marks, so I know this is no long term solution...

Just hope it holds through all of tomorrow...

Gonna go sleep now - real tired...
Vehicle: '90 SFA Hilux DC 4X4, Full OME, 110mm lift. Brospeed branch, 50mm ss freeflow exhaust. 30 x 9.5 Discoverer S/T's on Viper mags. L/R tank. (AWOL) '98 LTD 2.4 SFA, dual battery system. Dobinson suspension, LR tanks, 31" BF mud's.

What!!??? Again?? It's almost as if the cosmos is trying to tell you something .... if I were superstitious, I'd advise you to withdraw!

Dodging

Post by Dodging »

Nah that is life with a race car... It's like being married to a supermodel - occasionally she allows you to have a good time, but she doesn't really love you, and she just wants all your money :D

I just say thank goodness these issues reared their ugly heads before race day. Can you imagine the disappointment getting there and then you can't race???
Riaan S
Town: Secunda

Post by Riaan S »

Good Luck Dodging!

pray tell ?

Ja asb :beg:

Ons wag in spanning :mocking:
Dodging

Post by Dodging »

What a great day's racing!

Too bad I had to enjoy it from the stands. Went out for qualifying, motor didn't sound too good, third lap I got a tiiiiiiny little oil leak when a conrod made a little hole in the sump...

Sub assembly is essentially f'd.

Gonna leave the car be for a while now... Feeling grumpy about it.

Only way I'm gonna build another sub is if I can afford to do it properly. Crank and block must be perfect, new pistons, NEW conrods (maybe forged) etc...

Will see about taking part at Phakisa - definitely not going to do Mahem (even if the car was running 110%)

:shock2: :shock2: :frustrated:

Ag nee man, jammer om te hoor.

Ag nee man, that is now not good news. I would have been more than a bit grumpy.
Good luck.

Agree, do it new from scratch and do it yourself, then you know it is right.

Sorry to hear, Andre', but to tell you the truth I wasn't expecting that you would be racing or completing a race today. Better luck next time around. ;-)

Riaan S
Town: Secunda

Post by Riaan S »

Ag sorry! I was really hoping the motor would last!

AAaaiiiii Boet !!

Lekker braai, Sunday with the family .... Monday back at it :)
rigardt
Town: Alberton
Vehicle: 2012 DC Hilux D4D
Club VHF Licence: HC348

Post by rigardt »

hey we were there. missed qualifying but there was some nice racing !
saw your car on the trailer and thought something must have happened during qualifying.
sorry to hear about the car man !!
Dodging

Post by Dodging »

Got 6 rods yesterday. Will have them all measured and checked along with the remaining 3 in the engine, then make up a set that'll get balanced and go back in the engine.

Finally got the will to actually work on the car again this morning - took the valve cover off haha

Will set about stripping the motor tonight to see the extent of the damage. With a bit of luck it'll just be the crank that got screwed up. The sump has a tiny hole in it that's easy enough to fix, will still have to see what the splash tray looks like. Think the block will be OK. Will still see what the pistons look like...
Mars
Vehicle: Toyota Hilux Dakar 2.8 GD-6 DC 4X4

Post by Mars »

Racing cars are'nt for sissys!! Sorry about your mishap. Hope the damage is not too bad and that you get it running right quickly and with minimal pain.
Dodging

Re: My race car - time to fix the engine

Post by Dodging »

Yup - Phakisa is on 2 May

This is probably the one I've looked forward to most of all the races on the calendar

Good luck! .... again! :D:

Mars wrote:Racing cars are'nt for sissys!! Sorry about your mishap. Hope the damage is not too bad and that you get it running right quickly and with minimal pain.

in the 70's my dad raced stock cars at the old Goodwood Show grounds.

Last three races - THREE cars !!

On average went through a few cars per season.

Anybody remembers the Gunston Stunt team ?
Tjomma
Town: Plettenberg Bay

Post by Tjomma »

I read through your thread, impressive build brotha.Sorry to read about your disappointment.... Like you say,its like being married to a supermodel. I am vw nutter and I know what its like putting together that special car , whether its for race, sound or concourse or just show off. you want it to be perfect. So keep on building nd goodluk for next time. :thumbup:
Dodging

Post by Dodging »

So yesterday I picked up a block, crank and some other bits. Will strip the busted engine next, then take the bits I intend using to Dynamic balancing to get it all balanced and whatnot. Will also send the old crank in to be ground to 10thou sometime, and set about putting a second sub assembly together to be on standby just incase. Will have to buy a second set of pistons for that one though. If I can find a second set of cams, I will actually then have justabout a complete second engine, but I suppose I can always have the cams I got with the initial setup ground to a longer duration. Will then just be short of an intake manifold, but I'm thinking I must maybe make a plan with them ITB's for it. Only issue with that motor will then be that it'll make far too much power for class C. Will first see how the first engine holds up before I build that one though...

Will hopefully have the car running again sometime next week

Oh yes - yesterday I changed the cambelt on my Hilux... Why can't they make all cars this simple to work on??? Took me all of 25 minutes to replace the belt, tensioner and idler. Next time I build a racecar it'll be a Hilux hahaha 
Die$eL
Town: Midrand
Vehicle: 06' Hilux 3.0 D4D 4X4

Post by Die$eL »

Sorry to hear about the issues

Glad to hear you are still in it!

Thats the thing with motorsport, the costs never end

However, the feeling of being flat out on track makes it all worthwhile :thumbup:
Real drivers use three pedals
Dodging

Post by Dodging »

So I finally started on getting a working engine again.

Started by opening up the motor, this is what I found:

The piston hit the head pretty hard, so obviously them valves are bent properly

Did a little seepage test on the other combustion chambers, and found that the valves don't seat perfectly on 2 other chambers too, so the head needs a complete overhaul. Don't have the bucks for that now, so I'm just going to slap the flowed head on. Will still see how much weight I'll now have to add to the car to stay in regs.

The crank is obviously not in good shape. The no 4 journal is hurt bad. Doubt a 10thou grind will sort it, 20thou should do but that crank can wait. Using the other crank for now - had that polished and it looks real good now.

Unfortunately the block needs to be re-bored. Sadly so does the other one... So I dropped both off at the engineers this morning to be taken to 20thou. Picking up a new set of pistons this afternoon, and will get a second set sometime soon for the second sub assembly...

Costing a bloody fortune....
Dodging

Post by Dodging »

Things are coming along...

Took the oil cooler out today and flushed it out - don't want some bits of bearing anywhere near the new motor. Gonna replace the oil pump too, as it feels a bit sticky - probably some pieces of the bearing in there. Not taking any chances with it

Engineering work is almost done. On Monday I'll go and put the sub assembly together at the engineers. Doing it there as I'd like them to torque the caps with their fancy torque guage. Will then set about putting the head back on and dropping it into the engine bay...
rigardt
Town: Alberton
Vehicle: 2012 DC Hilux D4D
Club VHF Licence: HC348

Post by rigardt »

with all the bad luck you have had on this car you shouldn't drop it into the engine bay !
gently set it done and massage it in.

in any way glad you are working on it again and hopefully back to track in no time.
Dodging

Post by Dodging »

Update on the engine...

Buggerall has happened since. Block is still at the engineers, just needs honing.

Summary of what's happening to the engine:

New pistons, rings, bearings, oil pump, headgasket, head bolts. Flowed head going on instead of std. The rest remains as it was.

Flushed out the oil cooler yesterday - lots of fine pieces of bearing came out of it. Scary stuff...

The block will supposedly be ready thisafternoon, then assembly will commence...

Clock's ticking...

Andre how much time before the next race ?
Dodging

Post by Dodging »

Next weekend.... 2nd of May

Plenty of time, no sweat :blackeye: :blackeye:

Holding thumbs !!!
Dodging

Post by Dodging »

So this morning I started on the sub assembly

Main bearings in

Crank in just before the caps and getting torqued

Might be able to continue later this afternoon with it, but I have my doubts... Worst case tomorrow morning I'll put the pistons in and torque the bigends, then the rest can go on there. Thankfully I am at home tomorrow, so with a bit of luck I can maybe start her up by tomorrow evening
dd6
Vehicle: 1995 SFA

Post by dd6 »

Is that turbo going on the engine as well? :twisted:
Dodging

Post by Dodging »

Hehehe

Big one huh?
dd6

Post by dd6 »

Jeez, that thing is huge! :wth: Your block looks very nice though...
Dodging

Post by Dodging »

Thanks, Bud. I think my tiny motor will only get that tebbo spooled by about 8000rpm haha

Update time: Not a bad day's progress, despite not having a full day to work on it - only started with the sub assembly around lunchtime

First got the block on my engine stand

Pistons in, new steel headgasket

Head on, torqued with new headbolts

Cambelt on, timing set, cambelt tension set just so

More bits added on, and outside for another wash

Gave the engine bay a quick clean as well. This is the cleanest that gearbox has been since I owned the car haha. Amazing what happens when you use the right chemicals

Pickup in, just before I put the sump back

Just had the sump tightened, and then Eskom put an end to the progress...

Tomorrow I'll continue
Ì

Nice!

What did you use to clean the gearbox?

Dodging

Post by Dodging »

A product called 'Truck Brite'. Heluva caustic, so I diluted it 1:5 with water, sprayed it on and used the powerwasher
Dodging

Post by Dodging »

Status update

Dodging

Post by Dodging »

Had to call it quits - heading to the pre-Phakisa braai/meeting.

Have about an hour's work left to do, then I can start her up.

Feeling excited [ROLLER COASTER]
dd6

Post by dd6 »

She WILL run like a dream! Positive toughts!! :thumbup:
Dodging

Post by Dodging »

Success!

Started it up yesterday, and drove it for a bit. Drove it to the Gautrain station this morning on the sly. I can feel the motor starting to loosen up nicely, as it was heluva tight and stiff initially. Feels nice and torquey so far in the lower rpm range, and picks up revs quite keenly. Sounds a bit tappety at this stage, but that should be sorted once I change the oil.

Tomorrow it gets tuned!

:thumbup: :thumbup:

Here's holding thumbs there's no more 'issues'. ;-)

Awesome :thumbup: :thumbup:

Hope the running in process goes as smooth as you need it to.
Dodging

Post by Dodging »

Dyno is done - all went well.

For the first time I have confidence in the engine. Power curve has flattened out beautifully, and makes power all the way to 7000rpm. Apart from one really noisy injector, the motor sounds fantastic. Power delivery is really smooth and constant.

So now all I still want to do on the car is to box the radiator, and see what I can do to get as much cold air to the intake as possible.

Time to start packing the Hilux tonight - Friday morning we leave before the sparrows fart

How bout something like this Andre:

Hehe!
Dodging

Re: My track Corsa - let's go to Phakisa!

Post by Dodging »

Hehehehehe

O ja - small problem... I need to add 60kg of weight to the car...

Anybody got some weights or big flywheels or whatnot I can loan for the weekend?
JohanW
Town: Strand
Vehicle: 2014 Land Cruiser 76 V8

Post by JohanW »

55L water tank. Mounted secure and low. So its easy to empty if more weight is added in other places. Fill it to the brim to avoid sloshing water playing havoc on the vehicle dynamics.
Dodging

Post by Dodging »

Got 20kg so far in dumbells

Going to take a steel ammo crate, dump the weights in there and ratchet it down where the passenger seat goes
Warrior
Town: Brackenfell Cape Town
Vehicle: 08 Vigo 4x4 d/c 4.0L auto
Club VHF Licence: X138

Post by Warrior »

Alle sterkte Andre !!
Vat genoeg warm goed saam - dis al koud in Welkom ! :thumbup:

Return to “Build your own:”