My track Corsa - and so the season ends...

Members' DIY projects
Vehicle: '90 SFA Hilux DC 4X4, Full OME, 110mm lift. Brospeed branch, 50mm ss freeflow exhaust. 30 x 9.5 Discoverer S/T's on Viper mags. L/R tank. (AWOL) '98 LTD 2.4 SFA, dual battery system. Dobinson suspension, LR tanks, 31" BF mud's.

Re: My race car - almost finished

Looking very good! :thumbup: :thumbup: .............. but you're gonna have to give the car a break and cut the grass soon! :lol:

Looking good
Dodging
Vehicle: Golof

Post by Dodging »

Nothing is impossible - it just costs more
Dodging

Post by Dodging »

Dodging

Post by Dodging »

Also had it weighed on a weighbridge today - 860kg
Dodging

Post by Dodging »

Jeepers. Driving this car gives you a complete sensory overload. You feel everything, and all the ambient noise that you now hear with all the sound deadening being gone... Hectic

You must see if can put one of those GoPro type vid's on for us to hear :beg:
Dodging

Post by Dodging »

Will do. For what it's worth, the exhaust is really quiet. I just connected the old 57mm exhaust which has 3 silencers. Sounds like a (fairly) normal street car
rigardt
Town: Alberton
Vehicle: 2012 DC Hilux D4D
Club VHF Licence: HC348

Post by rigardt »

damn man been following this thread for so long. was actually hoping you would keep the 1.3 motor. I really miss building racing cars. looking forward to your 1st race. must please let us know when it will be so we can come and support !! its big work but also big fun. in any way why kept all 3 silencers ? surely that will rob some performance ??
Dodging

Post by Dodging »

As it stands I need to detune the motor to stay within my class- power to weight specs, so the power I lose thanks to the exhaust is really no issue. Nice thing about this engine compared to the 8v is the early torque - should pull me nicely out of the corners

Looks very nice.
When will be your first race?
1999 Hilux 2.7i 4x4 Raider DC with 3.4 Prado V6. Rear diff-lock, Bull Bar and rock sliders, 31" Cooper ST Maxx, Snorkel, Alu-Canopy, VHF Motorolla radio, West Coast Rust, Mikem Suspension, Ball Joint Spacers in front and Mikem extended shackles at the rear, 25watt LED Spots
Dodging

Post by Dodging »

21 Feb :o
Dodging

Post by Dodging »

Worked out based on the car's weight, maximum power to stay in class C regulation is 62kw... will have to check with Ross if it is viable to tune it to so little power. Worst case I'll tune it for class B
Dodging

Post by Dodging »

You guys would probably not believe what I'm busy with right now - I'm pulling the engine out.

Got a leak on the rear main seal 
Vehicle: '90 SFA Hilux DC 4X4, Full OME, 110mm lift. Brospeed branch, 50mm ss freeflow exhaust. 30 x 9.5 Discoverer S/T's on Viper mags. L/R tank. (AWOL) '98 LTD 2.4 SFA, dual battery system. Dobinson suspension, LR tanks, 31" BF mud's.

Eish!!! :(

:shock2: :shock2: :shock2: :shock2:

Damn, sorry to hear that.

Good luck boet :thumbup:
Dodging

Post by Dodging »

Seal replaced, motor back in. Still need to do the plumbing, wiring and exhaust, then we are good to go tuning sometime this coming week!

Gee Whiz Andre.You'r a bugger for punishment. :thumbup: Great to see such dedication.How do you keep swambo happy whilst you play in the garage ?
Dodging

Post by Dodging »

Bought her a heluva expensive quilting machine - the peace is worth every cent haha

Andre, are you only going to be racing in JHB events or nationally?

If nationally, let us know when you're doing a Cape Town race so we can come and support.

I am about to start my camper back which will be fitted to my hilux after completion.I copy your idea only I was thinking of buying swambo a new lawn-mower to keep her busy :yahoo:
Dodging

Post by Dodging »

Clever plan that! Please send us the details of where you'll be hospitalised - will send biltong haha

@ Bees - we have one race down in KZN, but all the others are here in GP. Doubt I'll do the KZN race though

In that case, good luck with the season and all for the best :thumbup: :thumbup:
Dodging

Post by Dodging »

Thanks Bud. Really hope I make it through the season with minimal issues and incidents
Dodging

Post by Dodging »

Thought that seeing as I'm busy, might as well use the opportunity to put new studs in the head on the exhaust side. Also put the front tow rope in place, anchored by the engine mount. Got a plate so I can make the mounting point for the harness in the centre of the car. Drained the oil that I initially put in the motor so that the proper oil can go in there, and also got a 5l of G12 anti-freeze.

Will carry on with it again tonight - should be able to have it ready for tuning by around Wednesday.

If all goes well I might be able to take it to the track this weekend
Dodging

Post by Dodging »

Boatload to do tonight - going for tuning tomorrow morning

Let me know which track you'll use for testing so I can send swambo there to test her new lawnmower on that long grass near the pits :twisted:

Andre do you use it on the road ?

Just wondering where you racked up the kilos to run in the new oil ....

once tuned that baby surely should drop a few boy racers between robots ...
Dodging

Post by Dodging »

The car is deregistered, so when I drive it on the road it's skelm haha. I did do a couple of kilos on the road, but not much. This is actually an import motor, so I am not running it in. I am also not a believer of the 'take it easy for 1000km' theory on a rebuild - when I rebuild a motor, I start it, let it get up to operating temperature, then take it for a drive where I gradually load the motor. 10km later I'm back home and changing oil. I've always found the motor makes more power when doing this compared to babying it. There is solid theory behind this process - will see if I can find the article this one bloke wrote who builds competition engines
Last edited by Dodging on Wed Jan 21, 2015 1:50 am, edited 1 time in total.
Dodging

Post by Dodging »

Late night tonight...

But everything's done!

Went and took it for a drive as well. Took it on the highway, ran it through the gears and everything feels good. Still amazed at how much torque it has low down in the rev range. Heard this really annoying squeak somewhere on the backside, found it was one of the exhaust brackets catching on the body - got that sorted. Also inserted the mounting plate for the harnesses just behind the handbrake lever, but the eye-bolt I have is a bit short, so I'll have to get another one for that purpose.

Other than that it's pretty much ready for action.

Still to do:
Eye-bolt for harnesses
Tuning - happening just now-now
Stickers - willl receive the proofs by Thursday
Fit the proper front brakes and adjust the rear brakes - will do that before the weekend
Make doorcards as the regs state we must have 'em - next week's worry

I think I'm gonna take it to Z on Sunday...

slaap jy nie .... :shock2:

also heard that baby-ing a motor leads to a lazy motor.

BIL actually tested this. They had to collect a couple of company cars from PE, and drive it back to Cape Town. One guy did it SLOWLY, driving it in old style. BIL hung back then, then gave it stick, waited for the other guy .. and so it carried on. Back in Cape Town the one that was DRIVEN was notably more alive.

Probably because he loosened it up by 500 km of hard driving, achieving the same amount of wear that the other one would need 10 000 km's to attain. ;-)

It could also be that with modern engines, it is actually better to run then hard the first few kilometres as this seats the rings etc better and your motor will be more efficient in the long run.

The old way of first running it in is evidently not applicable any more due to the way the cylinder sleeves get manufactured.

Our Toy products describe the running in procedures on page 80-odd ...

Dont labour the engine at very low revs
Dont run it FULL revs, dont accelerate "hard" for the first 500km

next 500km no top end runs

Thus drive NORMALLY (not boy racer style) from day one
Dodging

Post by Dodging »

CasKru wrote:It could also be that with modern engines, it is actually better to run then hard the first few kilometres as this seats the rings etc better and your motor will be more efficient in the long run.
Exactly it

Car being (de)tuned now. Really excited!
Dodging

Post by Dodging »

Really odd - feels like I'm sitting in the waiting room at a hospital while a procedure is being done on a family member haha

Dodging wrote:Really odd - feels like I'm sitting in the waiting room at a hospital while a procedure is being done on a family member haha
All I can say is... enjoy the results :thumbup: :thumbup:
Dodging

Post by Dodging »

Alrighty - tuning is done

Seems my idea of sticking to the Corsa's std intake and airbox worked perfectly to restrict the power to where I want it. Car feels really smooth, good power delivery and lots of early torque. Really happy with the results

So Sunday it is then :twisted:
Dodging

Post by Dodging »

Forgot to add that the torque reading on Ross' dyno works a bit differently - it's a calculated flywheel torque. His dyno also reads higher than Braam's, so I'm hoping I'll be close to the power and torque limits for class C

Dodging wrote:Forgot to add that the torque reading on Ross' dyno works a bit differently - it's a calculated flywheel torque. His dyno also reads higher than Braam's, so I'm hoping I'll be close to the power and torque limits for class C
those calculations CAN be manipulated .... :siffler: :siffler:

now imagine he thinks your gearbox has another 5% worth of losses and tunes accordingly ..... :siffler:

jokes aside - wide open barn door for those that want to "work the rules" ....

Do they have a dyno at the track to check your vehicle ??
Dodging

Post by Dodging »

Ja we are all going for dyno runs on the 8th. They then put wire seals on critical parts to show any fiddling.

I do however believe you will get some guys who find ways and means to bypass the syatem haha

Well Done Andre,
I have resisted making any comment up to now...
You have put a lot of work into this project & I often wondered when you slept...
Thank you for keeping us up to date on your interesting project...
Us ham handsed fellows admire the skills of you fortunate few...
Your wife must be one in a million...
Tony's wife does not even want to come & mow my lawn...
Good luck for your upcomming events...
Maybe us from the outskirts can see you on the box if the races get televised...
Let us know if this is the case, so that we can follow your progress...
I am sure that you can be assured of all our support...
Good Luck and Happy & Safe Motoring...
Remember that the more you practice the luckier you will be...
Dodging

Post by Dodging »

Thank you so much

The racing will be televised on either Supersport or Ignition. When we get the broadcast times I'll be sure to put them up

Thanks again for the kind words and well-wishes
Dodging

Post by Dodging »

I think I'll go put the proper brakes on when I get home now-now... Might as well put the semi-slicks on too...

Small job 

mmmm........semi-slicks........mmmm :drool: :drool: :drool:
Dodging

Post by Dodging »

Brakes are done, semi-slicks on

Got all these stickers lying around, so I thought I'd put them to use lol

Looking good! :thumbup: Powerbrake! :thumbup: You should maybe have put the stickers on the car instead .... make it look a bit more like a track vehicle. :think:

See the toolbox is still fairly new ...... probably a bit too heavily laden as well, it flattened that golf shirt and squeezed the poor oke that was wearing it right out! :D:

Dodging

Post by Dodging »

Hehehe

I'm a bit funny with things like putting stickers of brands on my car... I'll put stickers on the car of blokes who actually sponsor me - all these goodies I had to pay full price for out my own pocket.

Can't wait for Sunday!
Pote
Town: Hartbeespoort
Vehicle: Fortuner D4d 4x4 & VW Passat
Club VHF Licence: X228

Post by Pote »

Where are you taking it for the test run??
Dodging

Post by Dodging »

Will go to Zwartkops on Sunday
Dodging

Post by Dodging »

Did some small bits tonight - nothing too serious

Fitted two fire extinguishers where they would be easy to reach

Put stickers

Then just took everything out that doesn't need to be in the car. Can't keep myself from just standing and looking at it haha

en jy gaan wag tot Sondag om die wa te toets .... :lmao: :tease:

nee wat, Saterdag gaan jy jou mos moeg stap om daai mooi wa ... :tongue:

hoop als werk mooi as jy hom gaan toets !
Pote
Town: Hartbeespoort
Vehicle: Fortuner D4d 4x4 & VW Passat
Club VHF Licence: X228

Post by Pote »

Dodging wrote:Will go to Zwartkops on Sunday
Ek het al daar gaan marchall saam met een van my vriende. Ek hou baie van die baan..
Ek dink ek moet dit meer gereeld begin doen....
Wurmscooby
Town: Cape town
Vehicle: 1996 2.4 SFA

Post by Wurmscooby »

You have serious skills and alot of time.well done.will watchout for the broadcasting :thumbup:
Dodging

Post by Dodging »

Thanks Bud

Just gave it a wash today, then loaded up and went to check my van and the trailer's tyre pressures

Ready for tomorrow. Gonna battle to sleep haha
Last edited by Mud Dog on Sun Jan 25, 2015 2:36 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Image link

^^^

Dodging

Post by Dodging »

First track day done and dusted.

Started off rather poorly - as I pulled the car off the trailer the bumper caught on the ramp and broke. Drat...

Made a quick fix so it looks half presentable and doesn't flap around, then got onto the track after the marshals managed clean up all the litres of oil dropped on the track by a 928.

Car behaved really well, until I noticed the steering wheel suddenly sat skew and the car was pulling left. Got in the pits, lifted the nose and found that the blokes who did the alignment didn't tighten everything properly - annoying... Fastened it and went back on track with the alignment way out. The car turned left like a champ, but didn't do so well going right haha

Managed to run with people that are in the class I'm planning to compete in, so really happy about that. Very chuffed with how the car behaved

Some pics:

Ready for action

Staying hydrated haha

Time to go

I'll post a video clip soon as I can
Last edited by Dodging on Sun Jan 25, 2015 9:21 pm, edited 1 time in total.

:thumbup: :thumbup: :thumbup:
Dodging

Post by Dodging »

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eC0uVPIM_Gc" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

Re: My race car - first track day done

You look quite relaxed while driving and the car seems handle quite well :thumbup: :thumbup:

Return to “Build your own:”