Members' DIY projects
psychosaffa
Town: Glasgow
Vehicle: 96 2.4 doublecab

Mannys Kalahari Ferrari

Post by psychosaffa »

here is my ln105 hilux when i got it about 2 years ago.
older hiluxes like mine are getting really rare here in the UK as they get exported to Africa.

i cleaned up the wheels, removed the body stripes and fitted a canopy

after about a year i fitted 33" tyres and modulars.

now, this is where things start getting interesting!
i fitted new springs in the front, and in the process the shock mount came apart!

In Scotland, just before and during the winter, the roads get covered in salt and it really dosent do metal any good, so decided it is now time to take my bakkie off the road and give it the time and attention it deserves.
i started by removing the tub and loosening all the body mounts in preparation for removing the body. then in a space of 10hrs we took the truck from a totally road going truck to bare chassis and a few piles of parts.

the chassis got sent for a sandblasting and paint, and i spent about 3 weeks cleaning, prepping and painting every tiny part.
After 3 weeks of black paint you start losing the will to live, so i added splashes of red.

the shackles are slightly larger than standard to give a bit of lift and to soften the ride a bit

the truck is now fitted with these shackles, and the old +2" springs and a 2" body lift.
im not a fan of body lifts, but it will be necessary fo clearance when i fit a 1UZ. the redy body mount rubbers come from energy suspension in the US

now some of you may have noticed the origional 2L is still fitted.

Here is a little background on me, 2 years ago i diddnt even own a spanner set, so i am a propper spantard, but have a lot of help, and being born South African, im not scared of taking on a project.

so back to the engine, the idea is ill rebuild the truck with the standard motor, and if it dosent fall apart, ill then go ahead and fit the 1uz along with a R151 manual garbox.

this is how the truck sits right now.

im waiting on some rough country springs to arrive and some extended brake lines. i have fitted a radiator from a 3l hilux so need to modify the water pipes to suit. it has taken me just over 3months to do the work and am hoping to have it done within the next 2.
will keep you posted as the project comes along.
psychosaffa

Re: Mannys Kalahari Ferrari

Post by psychosaffa »

En Ja, ek kan nogsteeds Afrikaans praat en lees, dit vat my net n bietjie langer!

Looking very good. A job well done so far. Looking forward to seeing the end product. :thumbup: :thumbup:
Wurmscooby
Town: Cape town
Vehicle: 1996 2.4 SFA

Post by Wurmscooby »

looking very good. :yahoo:
Agteros
Vehicle: Toyota FJ Cruiser

Post by Agteros »

Lyk uitstekend sover Manuel :thumbup:
2020 FJ Cruiser
1986 Hilux DC 4x4. Sold to the Boss :cooldude:
KOBUSL
Town: WOLSELEY
Vehicle: '96 HILUX 2.8 HILUX DC 3i BMW 540 RANCHERO UTE 4 Li

Post by KOBUSL »

Now that is vasbyt and dedication, Manny. Good luck with the project. :thumbup:

Like the word spantard. Describes me 100%. :lol:
Word te vinnig oud en te stadig wys.
Pietman
Vehicle: 2005 Hilux V6 4L D/C 4X4

Post by Pietman »

Dit lyk cool man. Baie netjies sover Manuel. :thumbup:

Ons hou die thread dop met aarendsoë!!! :thumbup: :thumbup:
EX ALTO VINCIMUS
psychosaffa

Post by psychosaffa »

KOBUSL wrote:Now that is vasbyt and dedication, Manny. Good luck with the project. :thumbup:

Like the word spantard. Describes me 100%. :lol:
when every part gets attacked with a wire brush, de-greased, acid etched, power washed, dried and then painted with POR15, vasbyt is the only option!!
taking it apart is easy, anyone can do that, its the putting back together that takes a bit longer!

VERY nicely done !

looking forward to seeing the final product.
Vehicle: '90 SFA Hilux DC 4X4, Full OME, 110mm lift. Brospeed branch, 50mm ss freeflow exhaust. 30 x 9.5 Discoverer S/T's on Viper mags. L/R tank. (AWOL) '98 LTD 2.4 SFA, dual battery system. Dobinson suspension, LR tanks, 31" BF mud's.

Looking pretty good so far! :thumbup: Good luck with the rest! ;-)

Here some places can apparently take them apart in about 10 mins when they have been illegally shopped :acute:
but yours is looking great the way you are doing it. :clap: :thumbup:
We are awaiting the end result :subscribed:

Well done Manual
Ons kan nie wag om die finale produk te sien nie.
Is lekker om te sien dat jy kans sien daarvoor en dat jy iets probeer wat jy nie normaalweg doen nie.
1999 Hilux 2.7i 4x4 Raider DC with 3.4 Prado V6. Rear diff-lock, Bull Bar and rock sliders, 31" Cooper ST Maxx, Snorkel, Alu-Canopy, VHF Motorolla radio, West Coast Rust, Mikem Suspension, Ball Joint Spacers in front and Mikem extended shackles at the rear, 25watt LED Spots
AM Racing
Vehicle: Range Rover Classic V8

Post by AM Racing »

Very nice project! It is VERY rewarding to see it come together. Good luck and post more pics as you go on. Some people don't read to well!
psychosaffa

Post by psychosaffa »

pietpetoors wrote:Well done Manual
Ons kan nie wag om die finale produk te sien nie.
Is lekker om te sien dat jy kans sien daarvoor en dat jy iets probeer wat jy nie normaalweg doen nie.
Ek wou nog altyd n SFA hilux he, so ek beplan om vas te hou aan die een, en as jy n ou motor wil he moet jy maar leer om om reg te maak of hoe!
So hoopelik maak al die werk dat die bakkie nog 20 jaar sal hou!

ill keep pics coming as long as something interesting happens. yesterday the new shock mounts got welded on and a hole in the bodywork got patched. over the next 2 weeks my new rough country springs will arrive from the states, and some extended brake lines.

i removed the carpet from the truck as it was holding moisture and causing it to rot from the inside out. It has now been painted with POR15, and will get another coat this week.
Not sure how bad the road noise will be without carpets, but soon it will be running BFG MTs and a 1UZ,so the carpet would have been useless against noise anyway.

thanks for all the positive comments!
subok
Town: Jhb - Somerset West
Vehicle: Hilux 3.0 D4D 4x4 D/C - Kitted for overlanding
Club VHF Licence: HC152

Post by subok »

Manny, what did you do with the broken shock mounting? Were there any other spots with 'terminal' rust damage. Great project!

Hilux D4D
ORRA X130
4x4AG GP0228
psychosaffa

Post by psychosaffa »

subok wrote:Manny, what did you do with the broken shock mounting? Were there any other spots with 'terminal' rust damage. Great project!

Hilux D4D
ORRA X130
4x4AG GP0228
what did i do to break it? just drove on scottish roads, parked it in the north sea, and pushed against it when fitting the new springs.

what have i done with it now? cut them out and a buddy fabbed up some new ones.

no, nothing else is terminal. the front crossmember, altho intact, is really thin so may have to sort something with that.
subok
Town: Jhb - Somerset West
Vehicle: Hilux 3.0 D4D 4x4 D/C - Kitted for overlanding
Club VHF Licence: HC152

Post by subok »

:D

Hilux D4D
ORRA X130
4x4AG GP0228

:thumbup: :thumbup:
Looking great,can't wait to see end product.

MOFASA
Vehicle: 1998 JEEP XJ 4.0............ 4 inch lift.... more mods to follow............ Old vehicle was MOFASA
Club VHF Licence: X119

Post by MOFASA »

Looking awsum.....

Gr8 job so far......... :thumbup: :thumbup:
Live Life in the FAST lane....
Forget the past, Embrace the FUTURE!!!!
To 4x4 or not to 4x4 thats the question....
IT'S A JEEP :yahoo: ..... You wouldn't understand....
ImageImageImage[rimg=206x128]
JEEPIE
Vehicle: Official hilux 4x4 club recovery vehicle
Club VHF Licence: X 43

Post by JEEPIE »

looks very nice.
like the way you doing everything , right down to the bone
nice attention to detail
keep us updated with the progress
OFFICIAL HILUX 4x4 RECOVERY VEHICLE

if you want to change this to recovered , first recover me - and have a relevant picture / foto to prove it !
ADVANCED 4x4 DRIVER COURSES DONE : US 254135 / US 254154
(STILL AWAITING SO-CALLED TETA CERTIFICATION VIA THE SERVICE PROVIDER AFRICAN OFF-ROAD ACADEMY - WHAT A JOKE)

Great job so far Manny, can't wait to see the end result .
gavin
Town: vredenburg western cape
Vehicle: 2.7 Hilux

Post by gavin »

Looks cool
Vehicle: 2002 3.0KZ-TE 4x4, Eazyawn RTT, Snorkel, NudgeM Bumper, 38mm Ball Joint Spacers, 35" Maxxis Bighorns, Dastek Unichip, 60 ltr Snomaster fridge/freezer, 40mm body lift, Mikem front/rear with extended shackles, Bilsteins shox rear

:clap:

psychosaffa

Post by psychosaffa »

truck is starting to take shape
i had the automatic adjusters in the rear brakes fitted the wrong way round, so instead of getting tighter, they got looser! all sorted now.
also fitted the rough county springs in the front, still need to do the rear.
tomorrow i will be working on the rear doors as there is allot of corrosion along the top and bottom seam.
i need to design and build a rear tray so i can use the truck, and work on the tub to get it in a usable condition again.

ek beplan ook om the vierkantige hoof ligte te vervang met ronde ligte, net om anders te wees.

Vehicle: '90 SFA Hilux DC 4X4, Full OME, 110mm lift. Brospeed branch, 50mm ss freeflow exhaust. 30 x 9.5 Discoverer S/T's on Viper mags. L/R tank. (AWOL) '98 LTD 2.4 SFA, dual battery system. Dobinson suspension, LR tanks, 31" BF mud's.

Looking awesome! Love that bush-bar and stinger! :thumbup: :thumbup:

Keep it up! ;-)

psychosaffa

Post by psychosaffa »

Mud Dog wrote:Looking awesome! Love that bush-bar and stinger! :thumbup: :thumbup:

Keep it up! ;-)
thanks Mud Dog
i actually plan on extending the stinger and having the bull bar cover more of the wing. most offroading here is in deep ruts or forestry so protecting the wings is not the worst idea.

Starting to come together great Manny. :thumbup: :thumbup:
To think I nearly went to stay in Scotland a few years ago, my grand mother was born in Dunfermlin( spelling) and I wanted to go over on an ancestrial visa, but things did not work out and I gave up on the idea. Probably too old now.
psychosaffa

Post by psychosaffa »

Froll wrote:Starting to come together great Manny. :thumbup: :thumbup:
To think I nearly went to stay in Scotland a few years ago, my grand mother was born in Dunfermlin( spelling) and I wanted to go over on an ancestrial visa, but things did not work out and I gave up on the idea. Probably too old now.
your lucky, the UK is not all its made out to be. you might think SA is rubbish, but believe me, its better the evil you know.

no pictures, but i finally got my brakes all piped up and working.
had to remove a leaf out of the rear pack as the rough country springs are bloody solid!
The springs still seem a about 50-70mm too short, so i may move the shackle mount on the chassis to gain more flex.
the right hand section of the rear tub is rotten, and i just cant find a replacement panel so will be building a custom bed, and be extending it a bit as the rear of a doublecab is n bietjie klein.
i have started prepping the body work to get it ready for a respray ( all being done by myself ). I now know shy body shops charge so much for their work! its so that they can afford to get drunk every night and forget how crap their jobs are!
ill get some pics up after next weekend when you will hopefully start seeing a bit of a difference.

:thumbup: :thumbup: Looking forward to those pics, Manuel! :D:

psychosaffa

Post by psychosaffa »

been ages since i made a post so here goes.
a nice lexus ls400 popped up nearby for £600 complete with 6 months tax and mot (annual roadworthy test) so i just couldnt say no. its 1uzfe engine will be transplanted into the hilux at the end of feb.

the hilux also left the worshop for the first time in months to bathe in the 15 minutes of sunshine we had last year.

i finally got the truck back on the road and put it in for its roadworthy test.
it passed with flying colours with the only thing being a loose bolt on the centre prop bearing.
i took the truck for a drive in some forestry tracks and am well pleased so far.
in this pic it still has the 2" body lift, and the tray is sitting quite low.

the body lift has now been removed and the tray has been lifted 5.5" i also fitted a roll type bar to the tray and a extended stinger to the front only cause i was bored and thought it would look bad ass.

my plans for the truck have changed a bit so keep an eye out as its going to transform again over the next few months.
mainly it will be getting the 1uz fitted with a custom made bellhousing and r154f manual box.

im also considering moving the axle back and extending the tray for more volume carrying capacity
psychosaffa

Post by psychosaffa »

oh, and the bumper will change, mainly to a tjm/arb type as the current one scares crap out of cyclists, and looks a bit mental!

That looks bloody awesome. :thumbup: :thumbup:
grobbepj
Town: Alberton
Vehicle: Hilux legend 35 4x4 3.0kzte D/C

Post by grobbepj »

4x4BEES wrote:That looks bloody awesome. :thumbup: :thumbup:
+1. Very nice!!

That Lexus is just as awesome! No way would I strip it for the engine... :silent:

psychosaffa

Post by psychosaffa »

Family_Dog wrote:That Lexus is just as awesome! No way would I strip it for the engine... :silent:

im not going to lie, it is an awesome drive i have second guessed my decision to strip it. unfortunately the exhaust is shot, the shocks are on their way out and some of the electrics are dying. for what it would cost to get repair, i can get a complete replacement car so the lexus heart will live on in the hilux.

the other day i had to go and pick up a porsche 944 on a trailer for a mate and the hilux was struggling to maintain 60kph, so cannot wait to get that lexus lump in there.
mcw
Town: krugersdorp
Vehicle: Prado 90 V6 3.4 Auto
Club VHF Licence: X100

Post by mcw »

good looking Hilux :thumbup:
psychosaffa