Members' DIY projects
dustbuster
Town: Richards Bay
Vehicle: Rebuilding 91 D/C Hilux Mboza Body, OME 4Y EFI, & 91 S/C 4Y Hilux

A HILUX IS REBORN..... the itch!!!!!!!

Post by dustbuster »

Okay things are starting to progress, just had a look at a workshop to rebuild the hilux in as I am a bachelor and don't have a house to do it in :alvarin: :alvarin:

it is a 100sm but a friend is going to split it with me.

So will hopefully start stripping the Hilux at the end of the month :scared: :scared: :scared:

This is the first time I will be attempting something like this so will be asking allot of questions as I go along don't know what I am getting myself into :boss: :boss:
Last edited by dustbuster on Tue Dec 18, 2012 9:39 am, edited 4 times in total.
Calbro2
Town: Alberton
Vehicle: Toyota Hilux

Re: rebuild of my hilux

Post by Calbro2 »

Good luck with the build,keep us updated on your progress
Hilux=Masjien
dustbuster

Post by dustbuster »

I want to strip the hilux down to the chassis, get all the rust removed as the car has been but the sea it's whole life think I am in for a shock :beg: :beg:

sand blast the chassis respray everything, put in new interior with single seats upfrount, rubberise the load bin.

Then I also want to get a ARB type bumper built and new winch as the old one I got is to big and heavy.

Fit the new OME suspension which should be arriving soon :tease: :tease:

Sort out the EFI conversion the last owner did ( get rid of the gotech and put in a dictator system)

The list will get longer I get stuck in :problem: :problem: :problem:
dustbuster

Post by dustbuster »

Things I will be out on the look for in the next few months will be

roll bar for local bin
long range fuel tank
Seats for the front and back
maybe a ARB bumper if I don't get one made

And need a rear right door as the rust in mine is not worth fixing maybe the others as well will see when they are off
Vehicle: '90 SFA Hilux DC 4X4, Full OME, 110mm lift. Brospeed branch, 50mm ss freeflow exhaust. 30 x 9.5 Discoverer S/T's on Viper mags. L/R tank. (AWOL) '98 LTD 2.4 SFA, dual battery system. Dobinson suspension, LR tanks, 31" BF mud's.

Good luck with the project Dean! :thumbup: Maybe it's better that you don't know in advance what you will be letting yourself in for. :lol: :lol: But by the end of it you will know most of what there is to know about your vehicle and you will have the reassurance that everything is ship-shape ..... no hidden problems! ;-)

good luck hope goes well take lots pics
Boerseun
Town: Mussina
Vehicle: 1990 toyota hilux D/C 4x4,7mge,31"coopers

Post by Boerseun »

Sweet remember the pics
dustbuster

Post by dustbuster »

Okay got an original Toyota manifold and dictator system organized :yahoo: :yahoo:

picking up the keys for the work shop at lunch time, think I have to wait a few weeks till I start stripping as I need the Hilux to move stuff around

going to be hard not having the Hilux while it is in pieces
dustbuster

Post by dustbuster »

Hi guys need to ask a question what is the best way to sort out rust and to prepair the car for a respray?

The rust has been taken out before and it has also been resprayed buy the previous owner but can see that it is coming back mainly on the cab, top of of the windscreen and the door pillars.

I will do the stripping and the send all the parts to the panel beater so they can take out rust and respray.

Should I sand blast everything when the car is stripped? Does this damage the metal? or is it okay if they use a low pressure and fine abrasive.

I want the job done properly as I don’t want the rust back in a years time :alvarin: :alvarin: :alvarin:

the hardest part is finding a panel beater that I can trust
Turbo
Town: Brackenfell Cape Off-road Country
Vehicle: Range Rover Classic 3.5 V8

Post by Turbo »

Dean,

If you can sandblast the comlpete cab it would be first prize.

The best way to repair rust is to cut out the affected area and weld in new metal.

If you do sanblast all the paint, the primer and proper treatment is very important before you apply the final coat.

Good Luck. :thumbup:

And remember the pictures. :yahoo:
.Only when we are no longer afraid,do we begin to live
www.capeoffroad.co.za
dustbuster

Post by dustbuster »

Will go to a sand blasting place tomorrow and see if the can do it for me at reasonable price.
Gunta
Vehicle: 1996 80 series Land Cruiser VX 4500 EFI UK Import. Long range tank, Iron man suspension, ARB Bullbar, Front and rear diff locks, 33" BFG muds, Snorkel and attitude.

Post by Gunta »

Where are the peeckchaz :beg:
Worry about the things you can do something about, If you can't don't worry.
Live life to the fullest with no regrets.
dustbuster

Post by dustbuster »

have not started yet wll post some when i do :cooldude: :cooldude:
dustbuster

Re: A HIULX IS REBORN

Post by dustbuster »

okay so i took the leap and started taking the Hilux apart :crazy: :crazy: :crazy:
IMG00153-20110223-1857 (Medium).jpg
IMG00155-20110223-1857 (Medium).jpg
IMG00156-20110223-1857 (Medium).jpg
Gunta
Vehicle: 1996 80 series Land Cruiser VX 4500 EFI UK Import. Long range tank, Iron man suspension, ARB Bullbar, Front and rear diff locks, 33" BFG muds, Snorkel and attitude.

Post by Gunta »

eish this is going to be a nice project.
Blaps
Town: Rustenburg
Vehicle: Hilux 4x4 Ford V6

Post by Blaps »

:clap: :clap: :clap: An investment in love...thats what i call it :clap: :clap: :clap:
Go, just go.... Somewhere.... Out There...
dustbuster

Post by dustbuster »

Blaps wrote::clap: :clap: :clap: An investment in love...thats what i call it :clap: :clap: :clap:
tell that to my girl friend :lmao: :lmao:

All my friends tell me I am waisting my time and money and by the time I am finished I could have bought a new Hilux!!!!!

So I told them when it is finished they not allowed in the cab they have to sit in the load bin if they want a ride :laugh2: :laugh2:

Want to learn every thing about my Hilux so when it breaks in the middle of Africa I can fix it!!!!!!

I managed to get the fenders off last night going slowly but in no rush a lot of work when you doing it buy yourself. Not going to be able to work this weekend have a fishing ski competition in Balito, if you catch a 28kg Cuta or above you can win a new hilux
:thumbup: :thumbup:

a cuta that size is like a crocodile
IMG00161-20110224-1915 (Medium).jpg
dustbuster

Re: A HILUX IS REBORN

Post by dustbuster »

Manage to get back from early durbs :thumbup: :thumbup: on so in the afternoon I Took out the dash board :yahoo: :yahoo: , went okay just one bolt on the left of the dash is hard to get to.
And removing the A/C and heater is a bit difficult as the piping goes through the fire wall but got it all out here some pics, sorry :alvarin: :alvarin: about the quality will try get some better ones this afternoon.

Leaves that came out the air vent
IMG00172-20110227-1716 (Medium).jpg
IMG00175-20110227-1754 (Medium).jpg
IMG00178-20110227-1906 (Medium).jpg
Traveler
Vehicle: Pathfinder 2.5 LE AT
Club VHF Licence: X81

Post by Traveler »

Dean, that already looks like a lot of work.

Know what you don't know.
Vehicle: 2002 3.0KZ-TE 4x4, Eazyawn RTT, Snorkel, NudgeM Bumper, 38mm Ball Joint Spacers, 35" Maxxis Bighorns, Dastek Unichip, 60 ltr Snomaster fridge/freezer, 40mm body lift, Mikem front/rear with extended shackles, Bilsteins shox rear

Hi Dean

Check for half a brick in one of the doors, comes standard with that shape of truck, :lol: :o: :wth: :shock2:
Patience and a lot of time and you'll be there, good luck. :clap:

dustbuster

Post by dustbuster »

So far no brick hidden in the doors :laugh2: :laugh2:
Did allot of work yesterday :razz: :razz: took the gearbox out, then the engine and power steering and also the fuel tank all went okay just the power steering pump was a nightmare had to grind a bolt away as it would not budge and it was a mission to get off the car as it was catching between the chassis and bodywork :aggresive: :aggresive: :aggresive: got it out eventually
IMG00205-20110306-2044 (Medium).jpg
IMG00206-20110306-2044 (Medium).jpg
IMG00201-20110306-1808 (Medium).jpg
AM Racing
Vehicle: Range Rover Classic V8

Post by AM Racing »

mmmmm. I love work. I can sit and watch it all day. Keep the pics rolling.... BTW throw your budget out the window. Its only going to lead to dissappointment. Rather focus on the end product.
dustbuster

Post by dustbuster »

It is a month to month repayment plan :lmao: :lmao: whet ever i got left goes to it :cry: :cry: :cry:

need to get a camara soon so I can take some better quailty pics :tease: :tease:
AM Racing
Vehicle: Range Rover Classic V8

Post by AM Racing »

Pictures also help to get things back the way they were.... Coz it takes a while and you do forget
krazy_kameleon
Town: Fourways
Vehicle: 1993 Hilux D/C 4X4 2.4 22R (fuel injection in the pipeline)

Post by krazy_kameleon »

[quote="dustbuster"]okay so i took the leap and started taking the Hilux apart :crazy: :crazy: :crazy:

I know what thats like :think:

I sand balsted mine and thats when I got all the surpises - including the halfbrick!!!

Your truck looks NEW compared to mine so I'm sure there wont be too many nasties hiding under the paint

I dug around a bit on the history of my truck (probably should have done this BEFORE I bought it) and I found out that my "Gauteng/ Limpopo" truck had actually spent the first 15 HARD years of its like in CT!!!! that probably expalins the rust

Good luck on your project - it will never make logical sense, for me its the acheivement of doing something that most other people would never do
rebuilder
Town: Adelaide
Vehicle: Toyota camry altise. Till I find a replacement hilux.

Post by rebuilder »

Busy doing mine too now. Doesnt need that much work tho.
There is a madness about been mad that only a mad person can understand.
Diesel and dust is where home is at.
dustbuster

Post by dustbuster »

okay got all the wiring out last night :yahoo: :yahoo: , removed the old immobilizers what a shocking state the wires where in going to install my own new immobilizer don’t trust anyone else to do a job like that also removed the windscreen vent as well.

My blackberry packed up so had to send it in to get fixed so cant take any pics at the moment :cry: :cry: :cry: .

Tonight I want to try get all the fuel lines and exhaust off
Blaps
Town: Rustenburg
Vehicle: Hilux 4x4 Ford V6

Post by Blaps »

:think: What's the progress Boet, we are waiting :cry: :wave:
Go, just go.... Somewhere.... Out There...
dustbuster

Post by dustbuster »

Okay things are getting back on track have not done much lately over April was in the UK visiting family so have been out of action,
Project has taken a turn as I think I am going to put in a Lexus V8 in now, meet up with some people here in R/bay and they are putting them in there land cruisers and one guy from work has got one in his Hilux took me for a drive and got me convinced. Nice to meet up with some guys that are in the same boat as me so I can learn.

Here some pics of what it looks like now completely stripped……..

DSC05337 (Medium).JPG
DSC05338 (Medium).JPG
dustbuster

Post by dustbuster »

some bad news had the guys that are rebuilding there landcrusiers around at my workshop and they had a look at my cab, the bad news is that they say my hilux in some time in its life might have rolled onto the roof :shock2: :shock2: :shock2: :shock2: :shock2: :shock2:

the rust is pretty bad in the front of the cab around the windscreen collums and inside the fire wall, the collums by the doors are also pretty rusted :crazy: :crazy: :crazy: :crazy: :crazy: :crazy: you can see that it has been repaired before as the whole area is full of putty.

he says I should not waist my time with the rust as being buy the coast it will always come back :aggresive: :aggresive: :aggresive: :aggresive: :aggresive:

I understand what he is saying and he recommends I rather should spend the money towards getting a fibreglass Mboza body.

now I have got some big decisions to make do I search for a new cab which is going to be long and hard to find, repair my one and always fight the rust or go for a fiber glass body

here the options I am thinking of

OPTION 1:

Take the rust out and put a Lexus V8 and try control the rust over the next few years.

OPTION 2:

Take the rust out put my 4Y and EFI and just let it rust and just deal with it being a old hilux.

OPTION 2:

Get a Mboza body and instead of spending money on a V8 put my back in my 4Y and EFI and have a fibreglass hilux that wont rust buy the coast.
and in about 2 years time after over landing put the Lexus in(before I have children :lmao: :lmao: :lmao: :lmao: :lmao: )

has anyone on the form have Mboza body I have only heard good things about it so far will try go to the factory some time and have a look

here some pics of the rust there is probably more under the paint and putty :beg: :beg: :beg: :beg:
above windscreen
windscreen 2
firewall
firewall
wirewall 2
wirewall 2
colum
colum
door
door
column 2
column 2
Rebel 4x4
Vehicle: 2020 Toyota Fortuner GD-6 4x4 Auto

Post by Rebel 4x4 »

Eish, dis sad
Sent from my iPhone

Rebel 4x4 wrote:Eish, dis sad
Thomas

Wat doen julle manne ekstra daar by die see om julle bakkies teen roes te beskerm?Miskien moet ons n topic met die onderwerp oopmaak en hoor wat se die ouens.

dustbuster

Post by dustbuster »

drives me to drink!!!!!!!!!!!!

just got to way it up if I want the bakkie for the next 10 years the fibreglass bodice might be the only option
Gunta

Post by Gunta »

what about the doors?
dustbuster

Post by dustbuster »

One door is rusted but already got a new one picked it up for R600 the load bin is moderate just on the join above the wheel arch, the back of the cab and fenders seem okay, just pillars for the windscreen/doors and arond top of windsreen and inside the wirewall that are really rusted?
Maddoglips
Town: P.E.
Vehicle: Raider 2.2 4x4; Mikem 50mm raised suspension, long range tank, Monroe gasses all round.

Post by Maddoglips »

Dean

Maboza has closed down as far as I can tell, I've tried in the past before doing my van to contact them and no joy to this day.

As for another cab, I searched for over a year and found 1 in the end, I know of another very good 1 for it's age in Joburg.

If interested give me a call and I'll give you the details.

Zane
It's better to Burn Out then Fade Away.
GeorgeJvR
Town: Louis Trichardt
Vehicle: 2008 Prado 4.0 V6, 1989 SFA S/C 2.2 1998 SFA LTD 22RE

Post by GeorgeJvR »

what does such a second hand body go for? D/C or S/C
Any one know what will the cost of a IFS body be?

Just asking don't what to hi-jack the post.
To Buy and sell a vehicle is my hobby
Make a deal that no one else thought possible is my aim

Kom wat wil ek bly 'n Bul!
Maddoglips
Vehicle: Raider 2.2 4x4; Mikem 50mm raised suspension, long range tank, Monroe gasses all round.

Post by Maddoglips »

George

On average, between 7 and 15K for a SFA body, the higher normaly will have fenders and doors.

An IFS body like the bullnose, I was quoted anywhere from 15K up to 30K depending on how complete you wish it to be.

These are all now 2nd hand/breakers prices, bargains are out there, just depends on how much you look and what sort of timescale you wanna work with.
Rebel 4x4
Vehicle: 2020 Toyota Fortuner GD-6 4x4 Auto

Post by Rebel 4x4 »

Lollie wrote:
Rebel 4x4 wrote:Eish, dis sad
Thomas

Wat doen julle manne ekstra daar by die see om julle bakkies teen roes te beskerm?Miskien moet ons n topic met die onderwerp oopmaak en hoor wat se die ouens.
Oom,
Ek geruik tectile by al my deure, onder bonnet edges, drip rails ens. Kos net R100 maar spaar in die "long run".

Zane (maddoglips) sê 'n mens kry die deurskynende soort tectile ook......

Laastens, die bakkie slaap onder dak, en ry NOOIT in die reën nie.... :mrgreen: Net as ek moet..... :acute:
Sent from my iPhone
Gunta

Post by Gunta »

Zane is your bakie back on the road yet?
Maddoglips

Post by Maddoglips »

Gunta wrote:Zane is your bakie back on the road yet?

:yahoo: :yahoo: YIP look at viewtopic.php?f=3&t=15564&p=206369#p206369" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
dustbuster

Post by dustbuster »

So think I am going to get a Mboza body for my hilux since I am spending so much money on the thing I want a body that will last more than 5 years and don’t think I will get a reasonable cab for a fare price and don’t feel like hunting for one for ages, Mboza factory is still going don’t know if it has been taken over but they are based in Pinetown.

Will just put my 2.2 back in and sort out the EFI and get it going properly, :thumbup: :thumbup: :thumbup: :thumbup: :thumbup:

I know the body wont be original but can live with that knowing I will have a Hilux that wont turn to Swiss cheese :mocking: :mocking: :mocking: :mocking: :mocking:

here some pics of there cab got a presentation from them but to big to upload they do some nice cruisers and Suzuki's as well
h1.jpg
h1.jpg (23.56 KiB) Viewed 12275 times
h2.jpg
h2.jpg (20.23 KiB) Viewed 12275 times
h3.jpg
h3.jpg (20.24 KiB) Viewed 12275 times
h4.jpg
h4.jpg (21.91 KiB) Viewed 12275 times
still lots to do will only get going properly end of next month as at work we have an anual shut and am very busy so no extra time
Vehicle: '90 SFA Hilux DC 4X4, Full OME, 110mm lift. Brospeed branch, 50mm ss freeflow exhaust. 30 x 9.5 Discoverer S/T's on Viper mags. L/R tank. (AWOL) '98 LTD 2.4 SFA, dual battery system. Dobinson suspension, LR tanks, 31" BF mud's.

Looks pretty neat, and as you say, no more body rust issues. Just a couple of things I notice is that the window surrounds are much thicker, that the bumper and park-light lens areas are integrated as part of the body ... wonder if one can safely cut them apart without weakening their structure ...? :think:

dustbuster

Post by dustbuster »

Update time, got the axles off :thumbup: :thumbup:
now this weekend want to clean the chassis get all the mud and rubbish out. Then going to try get it off for sand blasting and then galvanizing

then the fun of stripping the diffs begins :alvarin: :alvarin: which I am not looking forward to as I have no idea of what to do but sure I will find so Info here

dont think I will get much done next week as we have our anual shut at work so will be busy
Richard's Bay-20110525-00030 (Medium).jpg
Richard's Bay-20110525-00031 (Medium).jpg

This is going to be an interesting thread! :thumbup:

Dean, please keep your camera battery fully charged at all times and take lots of progress photos! :)

pampoen
Vehicle: 2011 Hilux DC 3.0 D4D

Post by pampoen »

Good luck buddy!!i know how you feel
With each replacement of parts, a car slowly becomes Chinese.
swartvark
Vehicle: SFA HiLEX V8; Suzuki GSF1200s Bandit

Post by swartvark »

Looking good. :thumbup: :thumbup: :thumbup: :thumbup:

I wonder what the difference in weight will be with the fibreglass body? :think:
MUD........GLORIOUS MUD!!!!!

Your friendly VW salesperson......(with a passion for SFA Hiluxes)

NEED A CAR?
talk2tiaan@gmail.com
krazy_kameleon

Post by krazy_kameleon »

dustbuster wrote:Update time, got the axles off :thumbup: :thumbup:
now this weekend want to clean the chassis get all the mud and rubbish out. Then going to try get it off for sand blasting and then galvanizing

then the fun of stripping the diffs begins :alvarin: :alvarin: which I am not looking forward to as I have no idea of what to do but sure I will find so Info here

dont think I will get much done next week as we have our anual shut at work so will be busy
I feel your pain...I feel your pain

Good luck bud intrested to see how the fiberglass body turns out!
2006 Hilux DC 4x4 4.0 V6 Old Man Emu suspension, Long Range Fuel Tank and a LA Sport Sump Guard, Natko railings with spade and high lift brackets, LA Sport high lift jack mounts, Powder coated Hilux Nudge Bar, Hella LED light bar, LED Work Light
dustbuster

Post by dustbuster »

Update time :beach: Things have been going slow was very busy at work but have gotten the ball rolling again, chassis has been sandblasted and is at the Galvanizers hopefully get it back before the end of the week. Have started cleaning the front axel to paint it I am not going to strip it as the previous owner said he did it a while ago and it is not leaking oil so will leave it for now!!!!!!
sand blasted chassis ready for galv.
Axle getting cleaned
krazy_kameleon

Post by krazy_kameleon »

thats nothing dude - check mine out! my roof was only on by a "thread" when it was cleaned up after the sand blasting

just get out the welder and weld up the holes one at a time.

just look at one at a time and its not that bad...

Rokarok didnt come out perfect/ showroom condition but its good enough for me

and in my opinion the moment you put a fibre glass body on it it becomes a kitcar

just m2c... each to their own
dustbuster

Post by dustbuster »

Ya I see what you saying but by the sea the rust comes back so quickly, and don’t want to have to worry about it over the next few years...... I am buy the beach most weekends fishing loading my fishing ski on the roof and going to moz often just seams to be the right option down here, will be nice to see how the fiberglass body comes out so far I have only heard good things.
krazy_kameleon

Post by krazy_kameleon »

Yeah, the sea rust story makes sense to go fibre glass
thats one of the few advantages to living in Gauteng I suppose

good luck
coz it can
Town: Durban
Vehicle: Hilux 2200

Post by coz it can »

dude...much much much respect...i am acctualy excited for you...kinda motivating me to do mine :yahoo: ...this definitely gonna be a kewl thread :cooldude: ....better make sure the pics keep rolling in :mrgreen: cant wait for the end result... :shock2: :tease:
dustbuster

Post by dustbuster »

It is going so slow :beg: :beg: :beg: last night I learnt how to spray paint was quite fun cleaned the chassis with galv wash, made a temp. spray booth with some plastic sheets and started. Next is to start on the axles during the week and then start putting it all back together

Prop shafts are ready for collectin today they were stuffed going to cost me about R2700 :crazy: :crazy: :crazy:
IMG-20110717-00114 (Medium).jpg
[attachment=0]IMG-20110717-00115 (Medium).jpg[/attachment
IMG-20110717-00115 (Medium).jpg
coz it can
Town: Durban
Vehicle: Hilux 2200

Post by coz it can »

Guys for us KZN'ers...and hardcore fishermen(anglers not tanglers...lol)the fibre glass way is king....the body is 400kg's lighter than the original body,and its stronger,(who said you cant get your bread buttered on both sides...lol :mrgreen: )I saw 1 just yesterday,and boi oh boi its worth every penny...the mboza shop is still running in pinetown dbn so any one wants to yoour'll can contact steve...apparently his an ex Toyota employee and knows his stuff,in and out...I am patiently waiting for the progress report Dean and to see how your bakkie comes out...gonna start with mine either very soon or next year....
dustbuster

Post by dustbuster »

Yesterday I got the back axle sandblasted and gave it its first coat of paint :thumbup: :thumbup: ; also picked up the prop shafts with the new slip joints and center bearing they look nice and neat :D: . Got new drum brake spring assembles, wheel bearings and pads for the back brakes. Have to call Toyota and see if they got a gasket for the diff housing, have to get some help here on how to get the new bearings on got the old ones pressed off when they did the prop shafts. :clap:
rear axle before painting
after first coat
prop shafts
prop shafts
Musselcracker
Vehicle: 1989 SFA D/C

Post by Musselcracker »

DEAN!!!

This is looking good... cant wait to see it!!! I was a bit lazy and did not read the whole thread, but keep me updated on the back doors and your bumper bullbar!!

when is the due date?? gotta hit highstakes, i must still try out thenew leaf springs

Looking good! :thumbup: What bearings? :think:

dustbuster

Post by dustbuster »

got SKF not the cheap ones looks like they are sealed bearings the ones I took out where open rollerball ones here is a pic of the old ones
IMG-20110703-00082 (Medium).jpg

Return to “Build your own:”