Page 1 of 2

mod to rear seat -vigo shape

Posted: Mon Oct 25, 2010 10:51 am
by andrevt
hi luxes
for your intererest :you will notice from the photies that i have sawn off about 10 mm of the catch of the rear seat wich hook into the "bracket" at the rear of the cab,by doing this your rear seat can now fold up or down ,nice space is created now for speakers or any other goodies. it is perfect for your rifle as nobody will see it and it is not in your way
IMG_0359 (Small).JPG
IMG_0361_1 (Small).JPG

Re: mod to rear seat -vigo shape

Posted: Mon Oct 25, 2010 10:57 am
by Mud Dog
Clever! :thumbup: :D:

Posted: Mon Jan 03, 2011 9:08 am
by Royco
Great idea, Andre.
I've been thinking about doing this, glad to see I'm not the only one who misses the rear seat fold DOWN!

But what keeps the seat upright now? Maybe I don't understand your mod, but in my mind, you've modified the bracket which keeps the seat in place??

Roy

Posted: Mon Jan 03, 2011 9:31 am
by andrevt
roy
i have only shorten the bracket it still hold the backrest in place you only need to lift the seat slightly up and the back rest unhook

Posted: Mon Jan 03, 2011 9:47 am
by Traveler
Andre, I have still not done mine (really want to), have you experienced any rattles or things like that?? (unlikely that it would)

Posted: Tue Jan 04, 2011 11:25 am
by Jaws
My backseat had a rattle on gravel roads, but I fixed it with a piece of a pool noodle. (This is with a standard bracket)

Posted: Tue Jan 04, 2011 11:57 am
by Rieks
Very clever - boer maak 'n plan.

My back seat rattles all the time. I have two little ones that still sits in their baby stools, and with the weight on the seat, it rattles constantly - It drives me nuts!! The moment the seat carries weight, it starts to rattle, even if the baby chairs are out. Does anyone have a solution? Where did you stick that pool noodle in?

Posted: Tue Jan 04, 2011 12:15 pm
by FUDGES
Mine also rattles the whole time? Any Ideas?

Posted: Tue Jan 04, 2011 3:50 pm
by Traveler
Dankie tog, ek is dankbaar myne raas nie.

Posted: Tue Jan 04, 2011 7:12 pm
by Fred79
My agter sitplek rattles net as daar iemand op hom sit die res van die tyd is hy stil.

Dit maak my sommer die hoenders in elke keer as dit so raas.

Posted: Tue Jan 04, 2011 9:17 pm
by AM Racing
Take a piece of 6mm fuel hose the length of the eye. Split it down the middle and slip it over the eye. Do this both sides. It can be a bit of a b1tch to get the hooks on the seat to go over initially. You will need to moer the seat down. I did mine 50000km ago and still keeping its mouth shut

Posted: Tue Jan 04, 2011 9:32 pm
by FUDGES
Dankie vir daai tip!!

Posted: Wed Jan 05, 2011 7:54 am
by Royco
I have been thinking about turning the bracket, on the seat upright, upside down.
That way, when the lower seat part is down, the upright part is pushed UP and the seat is kept in place.
Then when the lower seat part is lifted, the upright moves DOWN and releases the seat from the bracket.

I think it's a perfect idea ... in theory! :clap:

Problem is - I can't get the bracket off the seat... what kind of "bolts" are these?
Is my only option to grind them off, and then possibly face a rattle problem?

Posted: Wed Jan 05, 2011 9:37 am
by Traveler
Roy, that might be a bit risky, those are real rivets. I'd keep them in place.

Other option is getting a seat from a scrapyard and testing your theory.

Posted: Wed Jan 05, 2011 9:49 am
by Royco
Thanks Heinrich.
I appreciate the wisdom!! (that's why i like this forum!)
You saved me a rattle ...

The job for this afternoon ... replace rear seat, and forget about the space behind.
Sorry Andre, I'm scared of your solution too.

Posted: Mon Jan 10, 2011 11:57 am
by Lane
Father in law drives a 2006 d/c and his back seat used to do the same, when it went to toyota for a service he complained and they said they had a new part to repair the noise. im unsure of costs as they did it for free! :shifty: (seems it may be a factory fault or rather a very common problem). i never really checked what they did as its not my van.

Posted: Mon Apr 23, 2012 12:41 pm
by Mikie
Andre are you still happy with this mod?
Anyone else try this?

I am keen to do it but nervous about messing it up

Posted: Mon Apr 23, 2012 1:33 pm
by OOOOMS
Did mine is Dec....literally 15 mins.

Did another one a month ago, easy as pie! just need a 14 spanner and an angle grinder :thumbup:

Posted: Mon Apr 23, 2012 1:36 pm
by Mikie
OOOOMS wrote:Did mine is Dec....literally 15 mins.

Did another one a month ago, easy as pie! just need a 14 spanner and an angle grinder :thumbup:
How much do you cut off? My angle grinder is itching to go this afternoon

Posted: Mon Apr 23, 2012 1:46 pm
by OOOOMS
Mikie wrote:

You will have to measure it.

Loosen the bolt on each side (one)
Unclip the seat so that it can move forward (as if mod has been done)
Tape up the hook with insulation tape or use a bit of paint.
Push the seat up into the original position
You should have a 'mark' where it should be cut off now
.....Cut

Posted: Mon Apr 23, 2012 1:50 pm
by Mikie
OOOOMS wrote:
Mikie wrote:

You will have to measure it.

Loosen the bolt on each side (one)
Unclip the seat so that it can move forward (as if mod has been done)
Tape up the hook with insulation tape or use a bit of paint.
Push the seat up into the original position
You should have a 'mark' where it should be cut off now
.....Cut
Excellent thanks.

Posted: Mon Apr 23, 2012 2:01 pm
by OOOOMS
I had some pics but can't seem to find 'em now.... :thumbdown:

Posted: Mon Apr 23, 2012 2:18 pm
by stephanvaneeden
Hak die seat nie uit as jy met 'n helse gejuig tot stilstand kom nie.

Posted: Mon Apr 23, 2012 2:20 pm
by OOOOMS
stephanvaneeden wrote:Hak die seat nie uit as jy met 'n helse gejuig tot stilstand kom nie.
:lol: :lol: :lol:

Ja.....as jy hom te kort afsny..... :mocking: :mocking: :mocking:

Posted: Mon Apr 23, 2012 4:51 pm
by Cleaner
Dis die eerste ding wat ek op my trok gedoen het. Het dit op my pa sin ook gedoen. Vat letterlik 10 min, met 'n ystersaag, om te doen. Met 'n grinder gaan dit jou 3 min vat. Soos gesê, lig die onderste sitplek en voel hoeveel die boonste sitplek nodig het om uit te haak. Ek het seker so 10mm moes afsny en dit werk sonder enige ander modifikasie.

Op my pa se trok het ons die bracket wat agter teen die bak vas is een tik met 'n hammer gegee toe pas syne ook perfek.

So, either or, sny 'n stuk af en buig die bracket wat teen die bak sit tot dit reg pas. Deur die bracket te buig kan jy ook 'n beter fit kry sodat daar minder rattles is.

Die agtersitplek het ook nog nooit vanself oopgeval, maak nie saak hoe hard ek briek of hoe skuins die walle is waarteen ek afry nie.

Posted: Tue Apr 24, 2012 7:41 am
by Mikie
Thanks guys.

This is the best no cost mod on the Vigo in My opinion, very easy to do and voila, "secure" space added for storage
The hardest part was unscrewing the seat, unclipping it, and rebolting it back, but even that my 7 year old son could do.

Posted: Tue Apr 24, 2012 7:43 am
by OOOOMS
Mikie wrote:Thanks guys.

This is the best no cost mod on the Vigo in My opinion, very easy to do and voila, "secure" space added for storage
The hardest part was unscrewing the seat, unclipping it, and rebolting it back, but even that my 7 year old son could do.
Great :thumbup:

Posted: Sat Apr 28, 2012 3:53 pm
by BenRich
Gentlemen,

That rattle in the back was driving me nuts...never could figure it out. Anyway a bit of fuel pipe and presto.
That's what I love about the forum

Thank you :thumbup:

Posted: Sun Apr 29, 2012 7:17 am
by OOOOMS
BenRich wrote:Gentlemen,

That rattle in the back was driving me nuts...never could figure it out. Anyway a bit of fuel pipe and presto.
That's what I love about the forum

Thank you :thumbup:
Great stuff! Glad it's sorted :thumbup:

Posted: Tue May 08, 2012 10:10 pm
by ROOFER
Ok ! great idea but I dont have a back seat :tease: :tease:

Will have to get a Vigo to test the theory :lmao: :lmao: soon!!!

Posted: Tue May 08, 2012 10:13 pm
by OOOOMS
ROOFER wrote:Ok ! great idea but I dont have a back seat :tease: :tease:

Will have to get a Vigo to test the theory :lmao: :lmao: soon!!!
You won't be sorry..... :lol:

Just make sure it's a D/C :mocking: :mocking: :mocking:

Posted: Wed May 09, 2012 9:33 am
by stephanvaneeden
Myne is gesny ! Werk lekker vir die gewere.

Posted: Wed May 09, 2012 11:19 am
by ianfraser
I used instructions from the Aussie forum http://www.newhilux.net" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false; to do my mod so here are some pics;

Remove the back seat,
IMG_2950.JPG
I used masking tape to mark the cutting lines to leave 43mm after the cut;
IMG_2952.JPG
Ready to cut;
IMG_2953.JPG
After the cut showing exposed metal;
IMG_2956.JPG
Apply a bit of duco and rest proofing;
IMG_2958.JPG
The left over bits measured 24mm;
IMG_2959.JPG
It works like a dream. One has to lift the seat to 45 degrees to disengage the back. When the back is engaged it is vas and won't come down even with a high pull force. I have had no rattles at all. I have mounted my DC to DC charger behind the seat and can keep bits and pieces as well including my 2 burner gas stove.

Hope this helps - Ian

Posted: Wed May 09, 2012 12:46 pm
by Cleaner
Very nice post with pictures and all!

I did not even remove the seats when I did mine. all and all a 10 - 15 min job.

Posted: Sat Jun 15, 2013 5:36 am
by doggone
Simplest mod ever. I have also been looking for the source of the rear seat rattle for a long time. Just killed 2 birds with one mod and it only took 15 minutes.

Posted: Sun Jun 16, 2013 6:21 pm
by AM Racing
Did you know: By drilling out the rivets holding the hooks, inserting a 20mm spacer and then bolting them up with 8mm bolts you will have enough space for a tapered 100lt water tank. I will be getting one in next week for this mod so will take some pics and post 'em

Posted: Mon Jun 17, 2013 8:53 am
by TOYODA
AM Racing wrote:Did you know: By drilling out the rivets holding the hooks, inserting a 20mm spacer and then bolting them up with 8mm bolts you will have enough space for a tapered 100lt water tank. I will be getting one in next week for this mod so will take some pics and post 'em
Now that is a great idea. :thumbup:
I'll be keeping an eye open for this one.

Posted: Tue Jul 23, 2013 5:50 pm
by Andre de Kock
Just cut my back seat hooks shorter. Works like a charm!!! Cant believe they are not actually designed like this!

Posted: Tue Jul 23, 2013 7:31 pm
by hendrik.earle
Did mine without cutting anything. Just bend the bracket on the cab downwards. Best part is you can 'fine tune' the bending until it is exactly right. no cutting and 100% reversible if you don't like it. :dance1:

Posted: Tue Jul 23, 2013 9:03 pm
by AM Racing
As requested; the water tank behind the seat
East London-20130624-00228 (640x480).jpg
East London-20130624-00228 (640x480).jpg (185.52 KiB) Viewed 31543 times
East London-20130624-00229 (640x480).jpg
East London-20130624-00229 (640x480).jpg (195.68 KiB) Viewed 31543 times
Correction to my previous post, this is a 40lt tank. You need to drill out the rivets on the hooks and insert 20mm spacers to move the backrest forward. You could go bigger but you will need to space the seat further forward on the lower bracket.

Posted: Tue Jul 23, 2013 9:12 pm
by Kaaskrul
How do I unhook seat?

Force it upwards or how??

Posted: Tue Jul 23, 2013 9:17 pm
by AM Racing
You unclip the lower catch, lift the base so the backrest lifts as well and then tilt it forward.

Posted: Tue Jul 23, 2013 11:32 pm
by Kaaskrul
AM Racing wrote:You unclip the lower catch, lift the base so the backrest lifts as well and then tilt it forward.
Cool!

Think I only lifted the bottom part up once since I had the Hilux :oops:

Posted: Wed Jul 24, 2013 7:32 am
by Mikie
hendrik.earle wrote:Did mine without cutting anything. Just bend the bracket on the cab downwards. Best part is you can 'fine tune' the bending until it is exactly right. no cutting and 100% reversible if you don't like it. :dance1:
Surely thats going to push the back rest more upright, and anyone sitting there ends up sitting in a very upright uncomfortable position?

Posted: Wed Jul 24, 2013 8:54 am
by hendrik.earle
Mikie wrote:
hendrik.earle wrote:Did mine without cutting anything. Just bend the bracket on the cab downwards. Best part is you can 'fine tune' the bending until it is exactly right. no cutting and 100% reversible if you don't like it. :dance1:
Surely thats going to push the back rest more upright, and anyone sitting there ends up sitting in a very upright uncomfortable position?
Not al all, the bracket moves down, not forward
photo.JPG
photo.JPG (50.94 KiB) Viewed 31537 times

Posted: Wed Jul 24, 2013 8:57 am
by Mikie
And you have no rattles?

Posted: Wed Jul 24, 2013 8:59 am
by hendrik.earle
Not at the moment, if I get rattles I can just bend it back up a bit.

Posted: Wed Jul 24, 2013 9:03 am
by Mikie
hendrik.earle wrote:Not at the moment, if I get rattles I can just bend it back up a bit.
mooi :thumbup:

Posted: Wed Jul 24, 2013 9:22 am
by AM Racing
Uncomfortable?! My seat works just fine :twisted:

Posted: Wed Jul 24, 2013 8:14 pm
by Kaaskrul
AM Racing wrote:You unclip the lower catch, lift the base so the backrest lifts as well and then tilt it forward.
Tried this. No go.

Cant get the back to unhook.

Even put my finger behind the seat and can feel it lift up from the hook, but before you get to the point for it to unhook, it starts going down again the more you lift the bench seat(I know this is normal).
At at 45 degree angle, it still needs to lift another 10mm, but it doesnt, it goes down again. So, no unhook :twisted:

Can I be this dof or not??

Posted: Wed Jul 24, 2013 8:19 pm
by Kaaskrul
What I also want to know, if it is this easy as lifting seat up and unhook, why do the mod in the first place? What is to gain then?

I think I'm missing something important here about this mod, or I'm the Ice Cream kind of the week :lmao:

Posted: Wed Jul 24, 2013 8:21 pm
by hendrik.earle
The seat does not unhook if standard. So there is wasted space behind the seat.

Thats why we do the mod to get the seat to unhook and fold down.

Posted: Wed Jul 24, 2013 8:35 pm
by AM Racing
The base needs to be unbolted then you cut the hooks shorter, or as mentioned bend the eyes down. Hence the need for the mod

Posted: Wed Jul 24, 2013 10:23 pm
by Kaaskrul
AM Racing wrote:The base needs to be unbolted then you cut the hooks shorter, or as mentioned bend the eyes down. Hence the need for the mod

Why did you not say so when I asked in the first place :surrender:

Or did you think my bakkie came out the factory with the mod done already :lmao: :lmao:

:mrgreen:

No probs hehehehee, will unbolt it the weekend :thumbup:

Posted: Thu Jul 25, 2013 10:06 am
by AM Racing
:slap: Thought you read the post from the top :siffler: :tease: But wait thats not all,

If you pump the spare wheel to 6 bar your headlight fluid will fill up on its own! Hey?! (and who said there was a bunch of useless information on the forum :blackeye: )

Posted: Sun Jul 28, 2013 9:50 pm
by Royco
Don't like an angle grinder near my bakkie - or seats!! :silent:
This is fantastic advice!! Works like a charm!! :thumbup: :thumbup:
Thanks Hendrik! :clap: :clap:

Posted: Mon Jul 29, 2013 10:41 pm
by Aquanaut
where can I get a tapered water tank for behind the backseat?

Posted: Wed Dec 09, 2015 9:34 pm
by ZS1RA
AM Racing wrote:As requested; the water tank behind the seat
East London-20130624-00228 (640x480).jpg
East London-20130624-00229 (640x480).jpg
Correction to my previous post, this is a 40lt tank. You need to drill out the rivets on the hooks and insert 20mm spacers to move the backrest forward. You could go bigger but you will need to space the seat further forward on the lower bracket.
Reviving an old post here. With the water tank installed is the backrest not to far forward for comfort?

I suppose I should rather be asking your passengers :laugh2:

Thanks ZS1RA

Posted: Wed Dec 09, 2015 11:29 pm
by AM Racing
No.it was no more uncomfortable than normal....

Posted: Fri Feb 12, 2016 1:43 pm
by Acsom
Ek sê baie dankie vir die persoon wat hierdie mod uitgedink het. Werk baie lekker vir die gewere...