Hilux 3L 4x4 Suspension OR Gearbox&Diff Issue? (2012 D4D)

Wolhaar Bosman
Town: Sedgefield
Vehicle: Hilux 3L 4x4 D4D

Hilux 3L 4x4 Suspension OR Gearbox&Diff Issue? (2012 D4D)

Post by Wolhaar Bosman »

Good morning Hilux fans! Finally found the place to be as a Toyota fan!
Based in the Garden Route, I'll keep it short haha

I'm trying to find out/get more info (as it's hard to trust most mechanics) on an issue I have with a Hilux, my second one. (2012 3L 4x4 D4D, 210k kms)

It's a CRAZY hard ride and everything is breaking on the vehicle (tailgate, engine parts, cabin items) as well, it has some kind of diff or gearbox issue - it struggles to go out of 4x4 sometimes, and only sometimes pulls hard right when in 4x4, has a wild shudder on clutch control (possibly clutch OR software with Moer sensitive pedal going over any bumps with more hard suspension...)

The Hilux had, when I bought it from a laaitie:
- software for speed and probably racing, thus radical fuel usage (Avg 4.5km/L!!)
- a SUPER sensitive fuel pedal (software or clutch, not sure)
- lifted suspension in the front, no spacer (a windgat 60mm extra)
- Ironman 4x4 shocks (front & back)
- soft or used leaf springs (bends over with more than 200kgs)
- lots of work done by the laaitie, not sure as he's not clear about "wat hulle 'gedoen' het" (listed at bottom)

I really want to get it back to the Unicorn Engine of the One & Only D4D Hilux!!
I've wiped the software and loaded standard D4D software from R-Tech in Mossel Bay and am looking into the Supsension and Diff...
Any Diff inspection starts to get expensive, but might be needed ASAP (maybe from CAW Gearbox & Diff)

Any help or advice will really be appreciated!!

Thanks!

>>>>>>>
Ethann Done on Bakkie (40k km ago)
Als wat hy se hulle “het gedoen” by his brother
- Alternator & starter
- Front diff
- Actuator
- Prop shafts balanced
- Diffs serviced
- Clutch done (breakline connected?)
- Top mount cooler “sweet regs” (had front mount cooler on)
- 4x4 boksie done?
- Turbo control module done
- Front wheel bearings and discs
- Agter dromme (brakes)
Screenshot 2022-06-17 at 10.02.59.png