Power Brakes, Hilux SFA

Bushwacker
Town: Vryheid Natal
Vehicle: 2003 HILEX, 35" maxxis. 2009 Prado 120 VX

Powerbrake

Post by Bushwacker »

I received this email from Powerbrake:-

Hi Piet

I had a chat with engineering today and unfortunately the kit we quoted you on yesterday (solid disc kit for the '95 2.4 petrol Hilux) has been discontinued.

The 1986 solid axle Hilux uses the same discontinued solid disc.

I am sorry that we could not be of more assistance.

Regards

Francois Duigan
Powerbrake | South Africa

Is there any other brake upgrades available. My SFA conversion needs brakes desperately :x
Thanks in advance :wave:

Re: Powerbrake

Piet ek weet dat jy Land Cruiser ventilated discs can opsit op die SFA as. Jy moet dan of net die calipers ook saam koop en opsit, ek dink dit pas in jou rim se offset, of jy split die bestaande caliper met 6 mm spacers dat hy oor die disc pas.

Ek is seker as jy vir Hoppy 'n PM stuur sal hy jou kan help.
Bushwacker

Post by Bushwacker »

Dankie Johan, as daar niks op die mark is nie, sal ek dit probeer :thumbup:
Shamrock
Town: Rustenburg
Vehicle: 1998 Hilux 2.4 4x4

Post by Shamrock »

Aggenee man! :thumbdown: En dit was een van die mods wat ek heel eerste wou doen. Het hy 'n rede gegee?
NEEEEEE!!.jpg
NEEEEEE!!.jpg (87.07 KiB) Viewed 25273 times
Bushwacker

Post by Bushwacker »

No reason, the final answer was:-

We aware of some Hilux owners who swap out the old Solid Front Axle's solid brake discs for a different model's vented disc, but we do not know which one. I imagine info such as this would be available on internet forums etc.

Regards

Francois Duigan
T) +27 12 998 0214
F) +27 12 993 1221

What has happened to Clive (Murphy?) from Powerbrakes (I think that was his name...)? I bought my kit a while back from him. I still have the boxes, will check to see if there is a part number on them. The Powerbrakes conversion made a substantial difference to Bulldog's stopping ability.

Shamrock

Post by Shamrock »

Thats exactly why I want to upgrade, on my way to Moz my brakes overheated in the mountain passes in Natal. I had to stop for 20 min to let them cool down. :cry:

Guys, if it's any help at all, here are the part numbers for the "All-Terrain" kit for the SFA:

Discs: AT932288U
Pads: Bendix DB288 ULX.

The brake kit works extremely well, has slotted grooves for cooling and I am a most satisfied customer!

Power Brakes, Hilux SFA

Guys, here is Clive Murphy's reply to an email I sent him last week i.c.w. Power Brakes kit of a SFA. I fitted the All-Terrain kit to Bulldog a while ago and I consider it an excellent upgrade to the standard disk brakes. Let's have your views - and indeed commitments if you're interested - and Clive might start selling these kits once again.

Let's keep this thread on-topic, off-topic posts will be deleted.

---

Hi Eric,

I'm glad to hear that your Powerbrake kit has been performing well for you.

The situation with the Hilux SFA kit is that demand was fairly slow for these kits. The cost of the discs is affected by the volume of castings that we order from our foundries in Europe (we specify very specific cast-iron alloys for the production of our disc castings). In the volumes that this particular kit is selling in SA, we would either need to increase the kit cost quite substantially to make it viable from a business viewpoint or discontinue the kit. Unfortunately, we get very little export demand for this kit so we are having to make decisions based solely on local demand. It is our experience that the typical Hilux SFA owner has been fairly price sensitive and for this reason, we decided to discontinue the kit. Pads will be available as replacements for existing customers.

We are willing to re-look at the situation if necessary but the kit price would have to increase from around R2750,00 incl vat (our last selling price on the kit) to about R3500,00 incl vat if we were to make them available to SA customers (based on the small volume demand).

The only other option would be for us to develop one of our new 4x4 Big Brake Kits, which are going to be launched in July / August for popular SA 4x4's and double cabs (i.e. Hilux / Fortuner, Navara / Pathfinder, Ranger / BT50 etc). These kits feature our PB42E 4-piston billet calipers (as used on various rally-raid / Dakar vehicles that we supply in export markets) as well as high-perf ventilated discs, s/steel braided brake lines, high-temp brake fluid, high-perf pads and all necessary mounting hardware for direct bolt-on fitment. The 4x4 Big Brake Kits would allow the opportunity to run ventilated discs and far higher spec calipers etc on the SFA. Braking performance and durability would be a day-and-night improvement over the OEM SFA brake system components but these high-level kits would sell for around R13500,00 incl vat, which may be unacceptable to SFA owners...

We have had some calls from SFA owners that are running very powerful motors and have expressed interest in a big brake kit for the SFA platform but again, demand has been small. See below for some pics of our PB42E big brake kits.

We would welcome your opinion on whether you feel that the SFA community would be interested in either our standard diameter upgrade kits (such as yours) at a price of approx R3500,00 incl or the big brake kit described above.

Regards,

Clive Murphy
Powerbrake
T) +27 12 998 0214
F) +27 12 993 1221
sales@powerbrake.co.za
http://www.powerbrake.co.za" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
---
PA200687 (72dpi, 15cm).jpeg
PA200687 (72dpi, 15cm).jpeg (140.7 KiB) Viewed 25583 times
PA200640 (72dpi, 15cm).jpeg
PA200640 (72dpi, 15cm).jpeg (131.97 KiB) Viewed 25583 times
Dakar 2010 dunes (72dpi, 320p h).jpeg
Dakar 2010 dunes (72dpi, 320p h).jpeg (126.88 KiB) Viewed 25583 times

Re: Power Brakes, Hilux SFA

I would be interested in the standard upgrade kit!
Spartan
Town: Vanderbijlpark
Vehicle: 98 LTD Hilux 4x4 SFA, 2JZ GE L6 VVT-i 3.0i, Bilstein shox, OME and a Land Cruiser 79 series

Post by Spartan »

I did not know of these upgrades and would be interested in a set for the Spartan, R3500 is a lot of money but I think it is worthwhile if you look at what you are getting, the product looks very solid on the Photo :thumbup: :thumbup: . Is it possible to have a photo of the big disk that was mentioned :?: FD where did you come across this very nice product :?:
MOBILITATE VINCERE
Spartan
ImageImageImageImageImageImageImage

Spartan,

I had them fitted (the All-Terrain front disk brakes) shortly after the EFI conversion, I think I did post the details here at the time. Believe me, this is an excellent product! I am hopeful that they will make the kit available again, and R3500 for the disks and pads is not too expensive considering I paid R2750 or thereabout three years ago.

The demand is there, especially for those with performance engines and it is actually a very small price to pay for safety! I had an emergency braking session late last year and the stopping ability of Bulldog amazed me - there was no pulling to left or right and Bulldog stopped very nicely and efficiently in a straight line. Not the sort of thing I would want to test to often, but good to know that your vehicle is capable of a safe emergency stop when called upon to do so.

I have referred Clive to this page but am not sure if he (as a non-member of the forum) can read it or not, but I will forward the info on to him after we have a few more commitments. The way I see it is that we will have our Hilux's for a long time still, therefore good brakes are essential.

Bushwacker

Post by Bushwacker »

I am defenately in :thumbup:
Spartan
Vehicle: 98 LTD Hilux 4x4 SFA, 2JZ GE L6 VVT-i 3.0i, Bilstein shox, OME and a Land Cruiser 79 series

Post by Spartan »

Family_Dog wrote:three years ago.
Before my time on the forum. :wave:
Family_Dog wrote:The demand is there, especially for those with performance engines and it is actually a very small price to pay for safety!
I think if more guy's know of it the demand will grow :thumbup:
Family_Dog wrote:Clive
Where is he from :?:
Family_Dog wrote: there was no pulling to left or right and Bulldog stopped very nicely and efficiently in a straight line.
Now that is a big plus point, if you are not concentrating on it it could end-up as a very nasty surprise :shh: :thumbdown: :silent:
Family_Dog wrote:good brakes are essential.
In my books a most definite MUST :thumbup: :thumbup:
What about rear disk kit with the same power callipers that just bolts on :?:
MOBILITATE VINCERE
Spartan
Shamrock

Post by Shamrock »

I'm interested! :thumbup:
Castos
Vehicle: Ry die vyand
Club VHF Licence: B01

Post by Castos »

Shamrock wrote:I'm interested! :thumbup:
Rear Disc conversion?
97 Hilux Raider D/C With some exstra's
Elands4x4
Ons gaan dieper en bly langer!!!
rebuilder
Town: Adelaide
Vehicle: Toyota camry altise. Till I find a replacement hilux.

Post by rebuilder »

Yes, a rear disc would also be nice if available.
There is a madness about been mad that only a mad person can understand.
Diesel and dust is where home is at.

Not sure if Powerbrakes does a rear disc conversion, but I will forward all these posts on to Clive once we have some more interested parties. This might be a once off chance to get the PB kit, believe me it is money well spent, so guys, don't delay! ;)

I am thinking in terms of the conventional kit here, at around R3500.

Bushwacker

Post by Bushwacker »

Family_Dog wrote:I am thinking in terms of the conventional kit here, at around R3500.

This is the upgraded version with ventilated discs,F_D?
gompie
Town: louis trichardt
Vehicle: sfa hilux s/c, Fortuner d4d 4x4(ma sin)

Post by gompie »

Stel ook belang, veral as ons agter n plan kan maak met daai dromme :thumbup:
Bushwacker

Post by Bushwacker »

80% briekwerk word voor gedoen, so ek glo die agterstes kan die ander 20% hanteer.
Discs agter sal darm naaais wees, met 'n beter handbriek :thumbup:
revolina
Town: vanderbijlpark
Vehicle: 91'hilux 2x4

Post by revolina »

Is die brieke op die 2x4 die selfde as die 4x4? meenend as dit is stel ek belang.
Count me in :thumbup:
Sven
Vehicle: '89 Hilux DC

Post by Sven »

im interested, i would love that big brake kit but anything to improve my braking will satisfy me so the upgrade kit is hundreds, i just dont know
if there are products out there to slow my 4Y Down :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
'89 hilux D/C SFA, import spec.4YImageImageImage
Bandit
Town: Port alfred
Vehicle: 2008 Fortuner V6 4x4

Post by Bandit »

I would also be interested in one of these kits, especially if the rear drums can be replaced as well.
Spartan

Post by Spartan »

Ok, nou wat nou :?: :confused: :confused: wat se daai connection oom FD gaan ons van die goed kan kry :?: :?:
MOBILITATE VINCERE
Spartan

Spartan, I think we are going to require a bit more commitment here. This will quite probably be the very last chance to ever update the SFA brakes, so think carefully before passing over this (possible) opportunity.

More commitments? No better way to spend R3k other than ensuring safety, especially for the high-powered boys (Howzit Thys!) and those who go crawling slippery mountain slopes like mountain goats...

Bandit
Town: Port alfred
Vehicle: 2008 Fortuner V6 4x4

Post by Bandit »

If you could inquire as to a replacement kit for the rear drums to disc I would definately be interested in that as well. Would the brake pads be available off the shelf, as in at Midas? or would this have to be ordered from the brake people as well? What type of wear do you get from the brake pads at present? are they ceramic? thanks.
Spartan

Post by Spartan »

Bandit wrote:If you could inquire as to a replacement kit for the rear drums to disc I would definately be interested in that as well.
Bandit
Have a look on All pro and trail gear's web sites I have seen something there
MOBILITATE VINCERE
Spartan
Spartan

Post by Spartan »

Here is that site
http://www.trail-gear.com/brakes" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
MOBILITATE VINCERE
Spartan
Spartan

Post by Spartan »

Family_Dog wrote:Spartan, I think we are going to require a bit more commitment here. This will quite probably be the very last chance to ever update the SFA brakes, so think carefully before passing over this (possible) opportunity.

More commitments? No better way to spend R3k other than ensuring safety, especially for the high-powered boys (Howzit Thys!) and those who go crawling slippery mountain slopes like mountain goats...

I would like to buy but they don't have stock, If they have I will take a set
MOBILITATE VINCERE
Spartan
Bushwacker

Post by Bushwacker »

Has anyone tried these people for brake upgrades:-
http://www.mausperformance.co.za/index. ... &Itemid=93
Willied
Town: Witbank
Vehicle: '90 Hilux

Post by Willied »

I would be very interested in this upgrade.. seeing as Toyota charges R3500 for the caliper assembly and R8000 for a complete fitment with parts.
Big D
Vehicle: SFA Hilux 2.2 BFi

Post by Big D »

FD are these stil solid disks, or are they vented?
'94 lux, 3rz, Dual Tcases, 4.7, Lifted, Locked, 33"

"My worse fear is when i DIE, my wife will sell my car for what I told her I spent on it..."
Having a 12 second Honda is just like coming out of the closet; You're going to surprise a bunch of people, but in the end you're still gay.
Kykdaar
Vehicle: Hilux V6

Post by Kykdaar »

I visited Powerbrake a week or so ago to buy a set of Bendix heavy duty brake pads for the lux and as luck would have it an example of a calipher they manufactured was lying on the table. I could not stop drooling over it - these guys make seriously good stuff.

Back to topic - I would also be interested in the standard upgrade (ventilated disk and matched pads). At 220 000 km, I think that any lux can do with new and improved brake disks (sommer do a wheel bearing overhaul at the same time?)

The Bendix brake pads I got from them and installed is currently bedding in nicely and I will try and give my impressions thereof a bit later.
Spartan

Post by Spartan »

So why was my post deleted :shock: :shock: :wth: :wth: :confused: :confused: Is it because I spoke the truth :?:
MOBILITATE VINCERE
Spartan

Spartan wrote:So why was my post deleted :shock: :shock: :wth: :wth: :confused: :confused: Is it because I spoke the truth :?:

Because you broke the cardinal rule... ;)

Go read my first post again:
Let's keep this thread on-topic, off-topic posts will be deleted.
I wanted feedback on this issue, not moans & groans, because we are trying to arrange a deal here so anything off-topic will be deleted. There are probably some more posts that should be deleted, but I have a job to do as well and can't play Policeman all the time... :mrgreen:

Muz
Town: Randburg
Vehicle: Hilux 2.4 Raider, Suzuki SJ413, Landcruiser FJ40

Post by Muz »

Im Interested. my OEM brakes are not as good as i would like. let us know how to go about aquiring the kit?

:D:

As explained, I have copied this thread and posted it to Clive. No response as yet.

Guys, Powerbrakes has listened to us! Here is an email which I received today:

Hi Eric,

Thank you for your efforts on the Hilux forum regarding our brake upgrade kits. We had since cast a small run of Hilux SFA kits after your excellent feedback. The factory has completed the All Terrain discs last week and the kits are ready for shipment. We have managed to bring it in at R2992,50 per kit incl vat. The kit consists of our Powerbrake All Terrain discs and Bendix Heavy Duty* pads for the front axle.

Please could you pass on the information to your members who were interested in these kits. They can contact us directly via this e-mail address should they want to purchase.

* Bendix Heavy Duty – is a premium Semi-Metallic compound that is designed to offer strong performance, excellent durability and good fade resistance. Ideal for hardworking vehicles that drive in heavy city traffic, carry heavy loads, tow regularly or frequently drive in sandy/muddy conditions. The pads feature an insulation layer between the friction material and the backing plate that reduces heat transfer to the caliper and brake fluid under heavy braking. Also featured is a unique titanium layer on the surface of the friction material that raises the friction level for the first 50-100km’s (30-60 miles) after fitment hereby improving confidence and safety during the bed-in process. Bendix Heavy Duty offers excellent wear life lasting up to twice as long as many original equipment or aftermarket pads. These performance and wear characteristics make Bendix Heavy Duty a very good choice for 4x4 and SUV applications.

Regards,

Leon Duigan
T) +27 12 998 0214
F) +27 12 993 1221

sales@powerbrake.co.za

Powerbrakes has come to the Party, let's now support them. The price quoted is excellent, considering I paid R2750 about four years ago. All I can say is that I have had a couple of emergency stops with Bulldog since having fitted this kit back then, and I wonder if Bulldog would not have required some serious panel beating had I not been able to stop in time (a Bakkie shot through a stop street directly in front of me on a national road - twice!!). The kit allows perfect braking control of your SFA, something which has never been really outstanding in standard form.

This offer might never be repeated, grab them while you can and please post in this topic if you so decide to fit them.

I have no affiliations to PB nor stand to gain any monetary or any other advantage from this, I am simply a very satisfied customer!

Shimano
Town: Strand Cape Town
Vehicle: Hilux 4.0 V6 4x4
Club VHF Licence: HC125

Post by Shimano »

Eric,
I have e-mailed Leon regarding a set for my SFA. I hope he will be able to ship to Cape Town.
Toyota Hilux 4.0 V6 4x4

Thanks Eric

Was wondering about this the past weekend. I sent Leon a mail. I'm definitely getting this!
Spartan

Post by Spartan »

I asked him to keep me a set, I will go pick it up from them when I am back :mrgreen:
MOBILITATE VINCERE
Spartan

Go for it guys, they do indeed courier. The brakes are worth every cent (but don't tell them that - we need to keep the price where it is...!) :twisted:

So who's going to buy me a set for me being such a nice guy :twisted: :twisted: :twisted:

Guys.. please let us also know how satisfied you are when you fit these kits. Would be really interesting to hear your verdicts :thumbup:
Spartan

Post by Spartan »

CasKru wrote:Guys.. please let us also know how satisfied you are when you fit these kits. Would be really interesting to hear your verdicts
Maak so :thumbup:
MOBILITATE VINCERE
Spartan

CasKru wrote:So who's going to buy me a set for me being such a nice guy :twisted: :twisted: :twisted:

Guys.. please let us also know how satisfied you are when you fit these kits. Would be really interesting to hear your verdicts :thumbup:
Hey Casman... haven't I been praising them all along... ? :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

Best thing is Bulldog, even when prompted very hard, always stops in a straight line ;)

Family_Dog wrote:
CasKru wrote:So who's going to buy me a set for me being such a nice guy :twisted: :twisted: :twisted:

Hey Casman... haven't I been praising them all along... ? :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

Best thing is Bulldog, even when prompted very hard, always stops in a straight line ;)

Never doubted your verdict. This kit is on my wish list and has been for a while but there is always something happening that screws up my budget :evil: :evil:

So sell one of the kids... :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

Family_Dog wrote:So sell one of the kids... :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

No not again... :twisted: :twisted:
Shimano

Post by Shimano »

Eric,
Are you still on the original pads since you did the upgrade? My only concern with this upgrade is will we be able to get these pads again when required in future.

Wynand
Toyota Hilux 4.0 V6 4x4

Wynand, I'm sure you don't have to use the specific pads if you can't get them. You can use ferodo's or anything else.

Shimano wrote:Eric,
Are you still on the original pads since you did the upgrade? My only concern with this upgrade is will we be able to get these pads again when required in future.

Wynand
As Riaan said... you don't have to use those ones. I believe the Ferodo Premier pads works just fine
Shimano

Post by Shimano »

Thank's Riaan, I think that might work as well but not with the same effectiveness as with the pads supplied by power brake. :eh: Have you ordered your upgrade kit? I am placing my order today. :yahoo:
Toyota Hilux 4.0 V6 4x4

Yip, guess it won't be as effective, but I bet they'll be better than stock.

Gonna phone Leon now, has not received a reply yet.

Still on original pads, have not done that much mileage yet. That is an interesting question though, and worth following up with Leon at Powerbrakes. But I really do not think that replacement pads would be any problem at all.

Bushwacker

Post by Bushwacker »

Pricing:
Powerbrake All Terrain Series upgrade kit (front AT discs & pads) - AT932288HD @ R2992,50 incl VAT

Regards,

Leon Duigan
T) +27 12 998 0214
F) +27 12 993 1221
sales@powerbrake.co.za

Replacement pads from powerbrakes are currently R655 inc.

My kit is almost on the road, and if delivered tomorrow, I will fit it on Friday. Can't wait to have brakes again......

Replacement pads for the Vigo:

From Leon,
Pricing:
Bendix Ultimate front pad set (Hilux Vigo) - DB1729U @ R906,30 incl vat
Hi Mark,

We see very different results depending on driving style and vehicle application. Either which way, the Bendix would last about 50% longer than the OE pads (some customers have seen 2 to 3 times the life).

Regards,

Leon Duigan
T) +27 12 998 0214
F) +27 12 993 1221
sales@powerbrake.co.za

Het vandag my powerbrakes gekry, so more het ek iets om te doen.

ToyX4 wrote:Het vandag my powerbrakes gekry, so more het ek iets om te doen.
Hey... jy moet nie dadelik op daai brieke staan nie ne.... gee hom ten minste net so bietjie inloop :thumbup: