braai solution/ideas

ismail
Vehicle: Hilux '03 2700i SC 4x4

braai solution/ideas

Post by ismail »

I am very interested to find out what you guys use on trips, when there is no braai facilties at the campsite,

is there something off the shelf one can buy that fits into a ammo crate and can handle a wood fire,
I got one of those cheap braai's from checkers that you fit the legs but geeze its just a pain to find space etc when packing it.

Or im looking at getting one made
'93 DC 2.2 4x4 33" BF KM2's 60mm lift, Fakawi Canvas Canopy. SOLD
'03 SC 2700i 4x4 32" BFG KM2, SAC stage 1, OME springs, Rancho 9000XL shocks, ARB, Escape Gear seatcovers - goes like a bomb!!!!!!!!!

I surf more than I work
ismail

Re: braai solution/ideas

Post by ismail »

Bosveld frikkie braai looks good, but bit on the flimsy/small side.
'03 SC 2700i 4x4 32" BFG KM2, SAC stage 1, OME springs, Rancho 9000XL shocks, ARB, Escape Gear seatcovers - goes like a bomb!!!!!!!!!

I surf more than I work
dalkill
Town: Cape TOwn
Vehicle: 2.4 GD6 SR D/C 4x4

Post by dalkill »

buddie of mine made me one out of stainless steel when he was still working with it.
custom size to fit in bakkie... until someone affirmative shopped it from the backyard :frustrated:

maybe a solution is to have it made with SS, but not going to be cheapest. It will last forever though... just don't leave it in that yard
2016 2.4GD6 SR D/C 4x4 (Oct 2022 - current) (Buraaq VI)
2007 d4d 3.0 D/C 4x4 (Mar 2016 - July 2022) (Buraaq V)
2003 Isuzu KB300 D/C 4x4 (May 2015 - Feb 2016) aka Buraaq IV
2000 hilux DC 2.7 4x4 (Jul 2011 - Sep 2012) aka Buraaq III
1999 RXI 20v (Nov 2009 - Jul 2011) aka Quicksilver
1990 hilux DC 2.2 4x4 (Jun 2008 - Jul 2011) aka Buraaq II
1997 corolla 160i GLE (Feb 2007 - Sep 2009) aka Green Goblin
1990 GLI twincam (still my fav rolla) (Oct 2005 - Mar 2007) aka Wit Blitz
Golf GTI 2.0 (temp insanity for 2months) (Jun 2005 - Aug 2005) aka A mistake
1993 hilux SC 2.2 4x4 (April 2003 - Sept 2005) aka Buraaq

TOYOTA IS MY LEWE

Fits in a ammo box
braai1.JPG
braai.JPG
ismail

Post by ismail »

that looks good, does the legs swing out or do you have to undo them?

I surf more than I work

When you lift up the braai the legs fall out and you put it inside the case.
The lid can act as a wind shield,table or frying pan

I see Brights also have them
IMG_1248 (Small).JPG
IMG_1248 (Small).JPG (30.45 KiB) Viewed 4312 times
IMG_1273 (Small).JPG

George there once was a 4x4 speciality store, think it was called 4x4Direct ... it used to have a steel braai that fits in an ammo box.

My neighbour still has it in his ammo box after many trips and many fires. Heading to Namibia and Botswana shortly.
ismail

Post by ismail »

Thanks will check them out.

I surf more than I work
mix
Town: Somerset West
Vehicle: Hilux 1996 D/C SFA

Post by mix »

ChrisF wrote:George there once was a 4x4 speciality store, think it was called 4x4Direct ... it used to have a steel braai that fits in an ammo box.

My neighbour still has it in his ammo box after many trips and many fires. Heading to Namibia and Botswana shortly.
ChrisF, I have looked on 4x4direct but cannot find any braais. Perhaps I am just not seeing them... Do you perhaps have a link?

Anyone know where else to get hold of the ultimate mobile braai? Have not heard of Brights...

Thanks,

Mix

Michael I also looked on their website ....

seems they no longer stock it. Bought it about 2 or 3 years back. At the time most of the camping stores stocked the same thing.

Basically a nice braai with removable feet. The feet goes inside the braai, with a bit of braai wood, then the complete set fits into an ammo box.

4x4Direct also stocked a collapsible stainless steel braai, at that time. Saw this same braai at the Getaway expo, and various similar products ... About 3 or 4 different braai stands at the expo ...
mix

Post by mix »

Thanks Chris.

I was hoping to make the show but I am working and in Iraq. I was hoping I would find something online. These are the joys of working away from home and missing out on expos. I finally made it to Huntex Cape this year, I have been working away for the previous 4 years and always seem to miss the decent expos.

Unfortunately we dont sell the braai's anymore.
They where not selling in the shops.

These days to save spaces I just use on of these.Also fits in a Ammo Box
cbraai.jpg
drew3
Town: Tuli Block
Vehicle: '01 Toyota Hilux 4x4 Raider 2.7i DC

Re: RE: Re: braai solution/ideas

Post by drew3 »

george wrote:Unfortunately we dont sell the braai's anymore.

cbraai.jpg
Where did you get that george?

Sent from my SM-A300FU using Tapatalk
2001 Hilux 4x4 Raider 2.7i DC

Re: RE: Re: braai solution/ideas

drew3 wrote:

cbraai.jpg

Hi Drew.It is a product from LK Braai.You find this in any hardware shops like Build-It,Brights etc
drew3
Town: Tuli Block
Vehicle: '01 Toyota Hilux 4x4 Raider 2.7i DC

Re: RE: Re: RE: Re: braai solution/ideas

Post by drew3 »

george wrote:
drew3 wrote:

cbraai.jpg

Hi Drew.It is a product from LK Braai.You find this in any hardware shops like Build-It,Brights etc
Thanks George!

2001 Hilux 4x4 Raider 2.7i DC
swartvark
Vehicle: SFA HiLEX V8; Suzuki GSF1200s Bandit

Post by swartvark »

ChrisF wrote:George there once was a 4x4 speciality store, think it was called 4x4Direct ... it used to have a steel braai that fits in an ammo box.

Chris, I remember that I saw you at Zone 7 with an interesting little braai setup ....a few years ago when we helped Hoppy to build a 4x4 track.
MUD........GLORIOUS MUD!!!!!

Your friendly VW salesperson......(with a passion for SFA Hiluxes)

NEED A CAR?
talk2tiaan@gmail.com
Toerboer
Vehicle: 3.0 D4D 4X4 DC, lr

Post by Toerboer »

Morning all

Braai at camping sites can be a pain even if there are builded braai's,they are normally in the wrong places and when you use them the wind blows everything full of smoke etc.

I like to move my braai to where it works the best,smoke free from the tents etc.I have these braai's in stainless and they work great.
It folds down,grid can adjust,wooden fire xan be made and grid can be hanged over once coals are ready.

All in all it works for me
Size of grid 530 x 370mm
Folded down,it only 65mm hight x 530 x 370.
20160403_090700.png
20160403_090851.png

swartvark wrote:

Chris, I remember that I saw you at Zone 7 with an interesting little braai setup ....a few years ago when we helped Hoppy to build a 4x4 track.
3mm mild steel plate, hinges and a few bolts .... made a pretty nice braai.

big enough to pack a proper fire - which is normally the problem with these fold away types.

but HEAVY, and too large to into an ammo box. In fact, too big to fit comfortably in Elders so it is on the pile of hopefull ideas ... :surrender: :siffler: :twisted:
ismail

Post by ismail »

I got a good idea will past later when at home. Basically similar concept like the fold up one toerboer posted.

I surf more than I work

Ons is so paar jaar terug sleg uitgevang op n lang naweek - kom laat aan by die kamp terrein.

Van die braai dromme is stukkend, dus meer kampeerders as dromme .... en daar sit ons op n Vrydagaand sonder n braai drom. :naah: :crazy:

Ek het later een van die air-con gas-silinders gesny - die onderste stuk afgesny, seker so 15cm diep. Te klein vir n lekker vuur, maar in n noodgeval kan mens n klein vuurtjie maak, of sommer net n handvol charcoal aansteek. Ten minste sal daar kole wees vir die vleis. Die outjie is weg saam met Elders.

Ek het nou een van daai goedkoop opvou braais wat jy by OutdoorWharehouse koop. Sou dit nie met elke kamp wou gebruik nie. Maar ek gaan nie weer sonder n braai sit nie :thumbup: :mocking:
Vehicle: '90 SFA Hilux DC 4X4, Full OME, 110mm lift. Brospeed branch, 50mm ss freeflow exhaust. 30 x 9.5 Discoverer S/T's on Viper mags. L/R tank. (AWOL) '98 LTD 2.4 SFA, dual battery system. Dobinson suspension, LR tanks, 31" BF mud's.

Daai aircon gas silinders werk nogal OK vir twee mense as jy hom in die lengte sny. :winkx:

Borntofish
Vehicle: Hilux 86

Post by Borntofish »

Two times 10mm rods bent into a U to fit toeknyp rooster!

I use a washing machine drum with a SS grid on top.
It travels in the back of my vehicle in a weber cover to keep everything around it clean.
My left over wood gets stored inside the drum when travelling.
I even use it on the existing built braai in a campsite.
The sides keep the heat in and you have less problems when the wind is blowing.
Works for me.
mix

Post by mix »

Haboob, please can you post a picture of your braai? I have heard of these but never seen one. I am interested to see how it is mounted to a stand if at all.

Many thanks.

mix
Jurgen10
Vehicle: 2009 Hilux 4.0 V6 Raider DC 4x4
Club VHF Licence: HC239

Post by Jurgen10 »

I have two of Heinz's Stainless braai's (Metallian).

They are about the size of a ammo box, but don't fit inside a ammo box.
I also had a canvas cover made.
Metalian Braai.jpg
Another idea is to get an old jerry can, and introduce it to your grinder ...
Jerry can braai.jpg

dammmm ... I like the Jerry idea ....
RiyadhFortuner
Town: Lansdowne
Vehicle: 2015 Ford Ranger T6

Post by RiyadhFortuner »

i also make use of a washing machine drum. it works extremely well, but no stand. it is possible to fit a piece of metal to the holes near the top for a stand