Welcome to all the new members

Introduce yourself and Meet the rest of the crowd

Welcome to all the new members

I would like to use this opportunity to welcome all whom I have not welcomed yet to our forum and also to thank you all for the valuable contributions you have made so far.

In May 2007 I decided to sell my Nissan Terrano and buy a 1999 Hilux 2.7 D/C. I could not find any Hilux-only forum and that is how http://www.hilux4x4.co.za started.

PLEASE note that this is not only my forum. I would like to encourage all the members to send me their opinions and suggestions. Only if I know what you guys think and what you need can I improve it.
1999 Hilux 2.7i 4x4 Raider DC with 3.4 Prado V6. Rear diff-lock, Bull Bar and rock sliders, 31" Cooper ST Maxx, Snorkel, Alu-Canopy, VHF Motorolla radio, West Coast Rust, Mikem Suspension, Ball Joint Spacers in front and Mikem extended shackles at the rear, 25watt LED Spots
Papa Joe
Town: CT - North of the Boerewors curtain
Vehicle: LEGEND 35 - 2004 2.7 D/C Hilux 4x4

Re: Welcome to all the new members

Post by Papa Joe »

Hi Pieter,

Thanx for taking the initiative !!!

I am also a member of the LCCSA, but after recently selling my Cruiser and buying a Hilux AGAIN (4th one now),
I started doing some "surfing" for a Hilux site and ... wallah !

Still trying to find my way around the site. (It is similar to LCCSA.)

Will chat soon & eventually meet.

Regards,
44444-WP
Papa Joe

Hi Joe,

Welcome to the Hilux forum :)
I am also a member of the LCCSA, but after recently selling my Cruiser and buying a Hilux AGAIN (4th one now),
I started doing some "surfing" for a Hilux site and ... wallah !
Hmm... I bet that went down well with the guys there :mrgreen:
Still trying to find my way around the site. (It is similar to LCCSA.)
Naah... We're a much more laid back bunch here, we know we have the best 4x4 Vehicle ever built, so we have no need to boast about it :P

Will chat soon & eventually meet.

(Friendly_Dog)

Hi Joe
Welcome. Check out the Western Cape events calendar. Niel and the guys try their best to get the people together and they are doing an excellent job. We will be going to the "Ou Trekpad" on 8 December. Will we see you there?
see
viewforum.php?f=57
1999 Hilux 2.7i 4x4 Raider DC with 3.4 Prado V6. Rear diff-lock, Bull Bar and rock sliders, 31" Cooper ST Maxx, Snorkel, Alu-Canopy, VHF Motorolla radio, West Coast Rust, Mikem Suspension, Ball Joint Spacers in front and Mikem extended shackles at the rear, 25watt LED Spots
Papa Joe
Town: CT - North of the Boerewors curtain
Vehicle: LEGEND 35 - 2004 2.7 D/C Hilux 4x4

Post by Papa Joe »

Hi Pieter,

My "right hand lady" @ the Plastics factory is getting married on the 8th,
hence I need to be at the funeral (ag sorry, ... the wedding) hence, not going to make it this time.
We plan (paid & booked) to also stay over in Paarl that night. (For obvious reasons ... hic)

Tx anyway.

Chat soon.
44444-WP
Papa Joe

Sorry to hear, send our condolences . Does she know what she is letting herself in for, or does HE? I must rather ask.
We will see you some time.

Hi Joe, welcome to the forum and I am sure you will enjoy it here. Since you can not join us on the 8th how abought the 30/11/07. We are getting together for "drinks" beer ...... and even a cool drink. Check the Western Cape events post for details. Pieter thanks for the compliment I am sure we will see more of you in the near future and bring the other Weskussers with :D
bloublasie
Town: Cape town
Vehicle: 1990 toyota hilux dbl cab sfa 4x4

Post by bloublasie »

Hi, Hope I'm in the right section now.

I'll try again with the pics. I saved them on imageshack

http://img266.imageshack.us/gal.php?g=p ... one145.jpg

bloublasie wrote:Hi, Hope I'm in the right section now.

I'll try again with the pics. I saved them on imageshack

http://img266.imageshack.us/gal.php?g=p ... one145.jpg
Nice Lux man :P

there's a section called "Member's Rides" :shock:

Try posting them there, using the Img function; you can insert the photos, just copy the img code and insert it between the img brackets :wink:

Welcome again man :thumbup:
bloublasie

Post by bloublasie »

Thanks for the welcome.

I'll try my hand at navigating the forum again later.

Cheers
Vehicle: '90 SFA Hilux DC 4X4, Full OME, 110mm lift. Brospeed branch, 50mm ss freeflow exhaust. 30 x 9.5 Discoverer S/T's on Viper mags. L/R tank. (AWOL) '98 LTD 2.4 SFA, dual battery system. Dobinson suspension, LR tanks, 31" BF mud's.

Welcome Joe .... we need a few more 'Papa's' around here to keep some of the youngsters in check :lol: :lol:

Welcome Andre' .... looks like your Lux was growing a swamp beard there :twisted:
Enjoy the forum guys :thumbup:

Mud Dog wrote:Welcome Joe .... we need a few more 'Papa's' around here to keep some of the youngsters in check :lol: :lol:
Andy Pappa Joe joined in 2007 pal :o:
deonb
Town: Malmesbury
Vehicle: Toyota Hilux 3.0 D4D Double Cab 4X4

Post by deonb »

Hi Joined today. Must still learn a lot when it comes to 4X4.

Dag julle: Het vandag aangesluit. Hoop ons gesels binnekort lekker.

Regards/Groete

:thumbup: Welcome, you will enjoy this site, check the old posts by searching topic, plenty info

Welkom Deon, jy sal vinnig leer. Sorg net dat jy die volgende byeenkoms bywoon.
Vehicle: '90 SFA Hilux DC 4X4, Full OME, 110mm lift. Brospeed branch, 50mm ss freeflow exhaust. 30 x 9.5 Discoverer S/T's on Viper mags. L/R tank. (AWOL) '98 LTD 2.4 SFA, dual battery system. Dobinson suspension, LR tanks, 31" BF mud's.

Welcome Deon, enjoy the forum :thumbup:

Diezel Weazel
Town: Hemel Hempstead
Vehicle: Toyota KZN130

Post by Diezel Weazel »

Thanks for the Welcome Guys n Gals, nice site n some really useful info too :wave:
This is where I generally hang out www.hiluxsurf.co.uk

There's a day called catch em !! One day ..... One Day .....

Welcome Peter and thanx for the link. I am sure you will see some of us there soon.
Diezel Weazel
Town: Hemel Hempstead
Vehicle: Toyota KZN130

Post by Diezel Weazel »

Thanks for the welcome Pieter.
Most peeps know me as Jess (confusing I know n a long story)
Please use my AKA "Jess"
I also frequent http://www.scotishmudclub.com
HDRCGB= http://www.harley-davidson-riders.org.uk

Be back soon
Jess

TheHappyCamper

Post by TheHappyCamper »

Hi All,

My name is Peter and I am here to get advice on buying a second hand vehicle as well as to tell about my adventures driving it. :mrgreen:

I have entered a phase in my life where I have given up on corporate life and intend spending a lot of time in the great outdoors.

My long term goal is to start an eco-village based on sustainable living. To this end I have created a web site I will be using to blog my adventures, The Happy Camper. There is not much on the site yet but over the months it will grow.

To further these goals I will be spending the next two years riding around Southern Africa meeting interested parties such as farmers, community leaders and industrialists looking at creating a sustainable future for our region.

I will be doing a lot of dirt road travelling and have no particular interest in doing trails for recreation. A 2x4 with diff lock might do the job but I think a 4x4 would be wise as I intend going into areas like Mozambique and Swaziland as well as the old Transkei. I intend living from this vehicle most of the time.

My requirements:

- Affordable. Can be old but must be in good nick. I am looking at R50k to R80k depending on features.
- Single cab. I want to be able to sleep in the back when pitching my tent is not practical.
- Reliable (the reason for a Hilux). I will be unemployed with limited funds and far from home.
- Diesel. I want to run the vehicle on bio-diesel. Maybe non-turbo, advice on this please.
- I don't need speed. I like the scenery and have all the time in the world.
- I don't need fancy features.
- At times will be towing a caravan/trailer but only on tar roads.
- Cash deal. I don't do financing any more.

Looking forward to the wise words of those with experience.
RVZ
Town: UPINGTON
Vehicle: TOYOTA HILUX

Post by RVZ »

Goeie dag almal,eks nuut en baie gefasineerd met die forum. Ek wil nou graag n 4x4 aanskaf en n paar roetes n jaar doen.

Welcome Riaan! :thumbup: Be careful, once the bug bites ....... :shock: ..... Well let's just say, there's worse things to become addicted to! :D:

Good luck and happy hunting for that Hilux 4x4! :wink:

rebuilder
Town: Adelaide
Vehicle: Toyota camry altise. Till I find a replacement hilux.

Post by rebuilder »

Hello happy camper
Maybe I can help. I have a few options for you. All hilux's of course
Have a 1999 model 3.0d hilux 4x4 for sale, good running condition and motor redone late last year and also a sfa that I am refurbishing to new. With a few mods done. Still in progress tho. Dont know on your time table. I want to start dealing in hilux's and refurbishing them.
There is a madness about been mad that only a mad person can understand.
Diesel and dust is where home is at.

Good carer move Chris :thumbup: I like it!

But spoke to a LR rebuilder the other day (a Hilux owner...) says he will never be out of buisiness as long as he lives :lol: :lol: :lol:
Louis van N
Town: Rawsonville

Post by Louis van N »

:wave: Hi guys

I'm Louis, my wife's name is Lize and 14 year old son FC. His in Drostdy HTS Worcestor. I'm a farm/maintenance/workshop manager in Slanghoek near Rawsonville. I drive a 93 sfa dc sand colourd 4y with alucab, winchbar, sparewheelbracket swingarm roofrack all diy.

Cw 17747. Have been a lurker for many years on site. Being intro to site by Frikkie Cronje.

And, Joe and Eric ;nice to see you here also on home ground. Must say to all that I'm also part of LCCSA.

Will also be proud cause I love my Hilux.

Louis
wim
Town: Vryheid
Vehicle: 95 hilux d/c Hilex

Post by wim »

N yslike groot WELKOM aan jou Louis.

Congratulations on up-grading from lurker to member!! :thumbup: Welcome! :wink: Well if you've been lurking then you knoe the drill .... Pictures, boet, ... pictures! :D: :D: .... and by the sounds of it you've got a nice machine to show off. :wink:

Hi Louis, and welcome here! :thumbup:

Another 4Y.... :mrgreen:

Please post some photos when you get the chance! ;)

Joe Bergh

Post by Joe Bergh »

Hi, my name is Joe Bergh. I have been a member of the the Cruiserclub for a couple of years. I bought a Legend 35 today so I have to stop being a lurker on this forum. It will take me some time to get used to this forum so please be patient....

G'Day to you, Mate! :thumbup:

Oops... forgot, you're in CT...

"Howzit, China!"

Wise choice of vehicle... ;)

Hi Johan and welcome!! :thumbup: As Hilux owners, patience is not a virtue that we have had to cultivate ..... if you want patience (born of long suffering), then join the Landie forum!! :lol: :lol:

Jokes aside, a group of more friendly, helpful and 'genuine' guys you will battle to find. Enjoy the Hilux and this forum. :wink:

Hi, my name is Joe Bergh. I have been a member of the the Cruiserclub for a couple of years. I bought a Legend 35 today so I have to stop being a lurker on this forum. It will take me some time to get used to this forum so please be patient....
Hi Joe. Are you Joe Berg the radio guy in the paarl :?:
sportage
Vehicle: Hilux d4d 4x4

Post by sportage »

Yes georgie it is him
andrevt
Town: sasolburg
Vehicle: raider d4d

Post by andrevt »

welcome from us in the freestate
ImageImageImageImageImageImage

Toyota Hilux 3.0 D4D 4x4

george wrote:
Hi Joe. Are you Joe Berg the radio guy in the paarl :?:
Thank goodness it's not Joe Moore! :D: :wink:

andrevt
Town: sasolburg
Vehicle: raider d4d

Post by andrevt »

ons is weer vlymskerp daar ini baai vandag
ImageImageImageImageImageImage

Toyota Hilux 3.0 D4D 4x4

In the cape anything is possible.

Atleast we capies have now a radio tuner on the forum :thumbup:
Joe Bergh

Post by Joe Bergh »

I am called Joe Moore often :shh: Thanks for all the welcomes... :thumbup:
franco
Town: Middelburg mp
Vehicle: 88 Hilux

Post by franco »

HI almal
Ek is John,Ry n 1988 hilux d/c,33 bande,5 duim skyjacker suspensie,v6 ford met brandstof inspuiting,rooi van kleur.
Die van jul wat rust de winter toe gaan sal jul daar sien.
Ek woon in Middelburg mp

Welkom Franco, jy saldit nog baie hier geniet :thumbup:

Hi John, welcome! :thumbup: :wink:

Rolbos
Town: Bellville
Vehicle: Toyota Hi Lux 3.0Lt Twin Cam

Post by Rolbos »

Welcome to all the new guys. To the best forum on the Web. The Hilux Forum offcourse.
So nice to see that we even have guys from the UK. You are more than welcome and we sincerely hope that you'll visit our country soon. There is plenty fully equipped Hiluxes for rent for overlanding trips if you want to explore our beautiful country. You just need to come over and start travelling. Enjoy !
Our warmest regards.
"Wat jy gee, bepaal hoe gelukkig jy lewe"
Derrick
Vehicle: Hilux 2007 4.0V6 DC 4X4

Post by Derrick »

Hi Im new to the Forum so far many thanks in advance for the welcome I can see here Im going to get all the info I need to start my new venture.
HILUX RAIDER 4.0V6 4X4 DC 2007. One day it will be my bundu basher with my boys!

Welcome Derrick, and ask if you don't find the info you're looking for! :thumbup: :wink:

jimas
Town: Brits
Vehicle: Mazda Drifter/Landrover Series3

Post by jimas »

Halo all, even though I do not have a lux, I have lux blood in my veins! I think this is the best 4x4 forum in SA, no surprize lux is the best 4x4 in SA! Birds of a feather flock together.

Welcome again, Jimmy. Given your feelings, I'm surprised that you settled for an old Landy. Hopefully we will still get you to 'see the light'. :D: :D: :wink:

bloublasie

Post by bloublasie »

:wth:
hI Pietpetoors, Mud Dog. Ek is seker weer op die verkeerde plek en lyk totally blogilliterate. Kan julle my asb verduidelik hoe om n vraag te post wat almal kan sien en om myself voor te stel. Ek woon in Kaapstad/bloubergdtrand en will graag uitvind van 4x4 gatherings in die omgewing. Ek beplan ook om volgende jaar mozambique toe te ry. Voor ek gaan wil ek my bakkie tip top kry en miskien uitvind of iemand n trip gaan doen wat die area ken. Sal graag stuk stuk saam ry.

Dankie

Andre

Andre, baie welkom
Gaan eers na die hoofblad en soek die gepaste plek om jou vraag te vra.
Die hoofblad is by
index.php" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

viewforum.php?f=137" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false; is byvoorbeeld die plek om jouself bekend te stel en
viewforum.php?f=57" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false; is waar ons events bespreek

Wanneer jy by die regte afdeling aangekom het, kyk net bo die lys van posts is daar 'n knop wat sê "New Topic", druk daai knop. Dan gee jy jou vraag of onderwerp 'n naam (subject) en in die groot blok tik jy jou boodskap. Kliek dan "Submit" onderaan die blad as jy klaar is
Hilux2Hilux
Vehicle: Toyota Hilux

Post by Hilux2Hilux »

Hi All,

I have been registered for a while now but do not post that much.

I enjoy taking my lux to the bush, moz or and anywhere we have not been before.

Derick - Van Diesel (lux)
Hilux 3.0 D4D, OME, Duel Battery, PBE Charger, Long Range Tank, GME300,ARB Bullbar and Winch, Replacement Rear Bumper, Bakkie Slide and Water Tank

Howzit Derick!

Rollercoaster639
Town: Bethal MP
Vehicle: Hilux 2.8 4x4 AT extended cab.
Club VHF Licence: X84

Post by Rollercoaster639 »

Hi All,

I have also been reading all the posts on the quite. I have ordered my Hilux S/C and am waiting for Toyota to deliver it. (They say end of October). I will keep quite until then and continue reading all the posts. Nice to be on this forum, sound like a good bunch of people. Hope to meet some of you in the not to distant future.
Linky
Vehicle: 2007 Hilux 3.0 D4D 4x4 Double Cab

Post by Linky »

Hi Everyone

My Name is Leigh, Iv recently just bought myself a second hand 2007 Hilux 3.0 D4D 4x4 Double Cab.

I know VERY LITTLE about the Hilux (other than it was the right bakkie to buy), and am pretty much extremely ignorant when it comes to anything related to the Hilux and 4x4ing. I’m hoping to learn lots on this forum, how to look after my Hilux, how to drive it properly and how to diagnose any problems I might encounter.

I am an avid scuba diver, and that was the reason for buying my Hilux, so I can go camping and driving on the beach and carting all my dive gear etc...

If anyone can recommend some posts on the forum where I can learn the basics about my engine, and where I should start reading id really appreciate it. I’ve started reading lots of posts but I’m already lost with most of the jargon and terminology.

Anyway, Hi Everyone :wave:
Live to dive - everything else is just an extended surface interval

Hello Leigh, welcome!

You might want to talk to Uys regarding the fitment of an additional diesel filter to your van, the one he has uses a .5 micron filter element as opposed to the standard 2-microm filter element. This helps prolong the life of you fuel injectors considerably - a replacement set of injectors runs at some R15,000 for the set.

Hi Leigh. Welcome to the forum.
Linky
Vehicle: 2007 Hilux 3.0 D4D 4x4 Double Cab

Post by Linky »

Hi F_D

Thanks for the advice :)
Im taking it for its first service with Toyota soon, im hoping they will be able to give the vehicle a good once over and let me know of any nasty suprises I might be in for.
(and also asking them to move the alarm, apparently I was told I should do that as well so they dont bypass it via the indicators)

I also been told to only use Low sulphur diesel (super diesel).. that is correct right?
Live to dive - everything else is just an extended surface interval

Low sulphur diesel is the only way to go with the D4D engine!

ndekock01
Town: Oudtshoorn
Vehicle: 2010 Hilux D4D D/C 4x4 Legend 40

Post by ndekock01 »

Hi

My name is Nico de Kock. I live in Oudtshoorn and own a 2009 Fortuner D4D and a 2006 Hilux D$D double cab 4x4. I have joined a couple of moths ago but this is only my second post. Are you guys active in the Southern Cape?

Hello weer Nico. Daar is nogals aktiewe ouens in jou area. Hulle is so elke nou en dan hier rond. :thumbup: :thumbup:

ndekock01
Town: Oudtshoorn
Vehicle: 2010 Hilux D4D D/C 4x4 Legend 40

Post by ndekock01 »

Waar is die beste plek in die Kaap om vir 4x4 training te gaan. Is dit daardie ouens by Worcester??

ndekock01 wrote:Waar is die beste plek in die Kaap om vir 4x4 training te gaan. Is dit daardie ouens by Worcester??
Dave Faddel in George is die verteenwoordiger van African Offroad Academy in George. Hier is sy web-addres en sy kontakdetails is ook daar. http://www.honeybeeouteniqua.com" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false; :thumbup: :thumbup:

Se vir hom ek het jou gestuur.. :twisted:

Return to “Meet the People”