Bulldog gets New Clothes!

Tell us a bit more about your Hilux (or other 4x4) and show off with some pictures.

Bulldog gets New Clothes!

Yesterday, I took Bulldog (the SFA) to Tommy for a work-over, removing silly little bits of rust here & there, and a respray. She will be there for about three weeks and while Tom does his magic over her.

I will post some photos on her safe recovery during this period.
4Y respray 001.jpg
4Y respray 002.jpg
4Y respray 004.jpg
Looks kind of funny (and uncannily sexy!) without her canopy on :P

Papa Joe
Town: CT - North of the Boerewors curtain
Vehicle: LEGEND 35 - 2004 2.7 D/C Hilux 4x4

Re: New Clothes for my Baby!

Post by Papa Joe »

Eric,

Sy lyk sexy net so !!! (Mmmm ... naked ... almost like a challenge vehicle.)
Maybe replace her clothes with see-thru "perspex", so so can check all the nice goodies inside.

Yip, please post pic's once she is done.

Lekker !!!

PS: Are you also going to sleep inside her, the first night she is home? (3 Weke is lank Broer.)
44444-WP
Papa Joe

Hi Pappa,

Three weeks is indeed a l-o-n-g, long time :( But I will be visiting her every second day, though. Weekends are going to be hell without her. (Hmmmm... wonder if Tommie would let me bring her home Fridays... :mrgreen: ).

Tommy quoted me around this time last year to fix her up, and I kept on putting it off because of exactly this reason! But the fiendish side of me reckoned that he will want to finish it quickly before their Annual shutdown (Shucks! I certainly *hope* so, anyway!) and therefore I more or less know that it won't be for more than three weeks :P

Tommy did the Shorty (SWB in my sig-pic) early last year, and it's lasted pretty well. Here and there she has taken a strain, but the SWB was in a shocking condition when I first got her, and she has turned out very nicely, so I have high hopes for this one too.

Eric

How much is this setting you back?

Bennie,

Barring any extras (I have the habit of changing my mind as the job progresses :mrgreen: ), then it should be R8k. What he will do is to strip the loadbin off of the chassis, clean everything out and then spray the chassis (but NOT the shocks!!) with chassis black, and respray everything else with the colour I chose. As is obvious from the pictures, he even sprays the inside of the doors, engine bay etc.

Here is the engine bay of the SWB, before & after:
P1000089.jpg
04154259.jpg

Not a patch of the original blue paint anywhere!

Eric, it sounds like a good price. I was given the amount of R 12800 for the work I wanted to have done and it only involved respraying the panels where there was a bit of surface rust. I thought the chappie was joking at first. Maybe I should come and visit and bring the potential SFA with for a spray.
Scooter
Vehicle: '94 Raider, '05 Vigo 4.0 v6

Post by Scooter »

Just think how much she will love you after this F_D, she is just like a wife, pay with hubby's credit card and buy some new clothes :lol:
Looks kind of funny (and uncannily sexy!) without her canopy on
I have always thought the Hilux looked better without the canopy :wink:
"I know that you believe you understand what you think I said, but I'm not sure you realise that what you heard is not what I meant."

Yis F_D, I think she'll look dashing in the new colour :!:

Eish Morena, daai een sy lyk nie so lekkerr nie...

Must be a heartbreaking experience... and super stressful, sseing your baby's guts out.

Ewald,

It is very stressful, but I am managing to cope well under the strain, thank you :lol:

Actually, seeing her "in the flesh" like this has opened my eyes to just what a great vehicle she is! The body is in excellent condition, but there are a couple of small rust spots which we have to sort out before they create further problems, particularly (I think only!) in the load bin & tail gate. Hoping to get there tomorrow again, had no chance today and it rained most of the day in any case.

I probably will be very particular where I take her after this, don't want to scratch her new clothes :mrgreen:

Hi FD

I need to do the same to my baby aswell so I am keen to see how yours comes out :D Though I think mine has a little more rust then yours :( I know how you feel I know I dont like it when my baby is not in the drive even when I am not driving it :roll: Even Lee-Ann is starting to treat the van as a member of the family I even caught her saying hallo to it :mrgreen:
2006 Hilux DC 4x4 4.0 V6 Old Man Emu suspension, Long Range Fuel Tank and a LA Sport Sump Guard, Natko railings with spade and high lift brackets, LA Sport high lift jack mounts, Powder coated Hilux Nudge Bar, Hella LED light bar, LED Work Light

Justin you must be careful one of these days you will be SFAless :shock: :shock: , when the Missus annexed it. :!: :!:

Went to visit her today again, she looked so forlorn and sad :(
Patches where she was "Eina!" (Not caused by me! They were there when I adopted her)
Her Internals were gutted :(
Her wings have been clipped
Unwelcome contents will be removed from her nostrils
The last photo shows the gunk that causes rust. This is from parking under trees for shade. We caught it before any rust damage was incurred, but it is one of those points we will have to pay some attention to in the future.

I am ordering some of the rubber plugs that are missing from the floorboards, dunno what happened to them, the remaining ones are in good condition still. Tommy is being very thorough in his work. Of course, they are all different sizes so Toyota gave me a printout of their locations and part numbers, will post the pic later.

<Fearless Dog>

Oh, and we will be removing her "wrinkles" too.
My babe's wrinkles (Also not put in by me!)

I poped in at the spray shop during the week and I must say I did not like to see her stripped and patched ....so you are a brave man
windy67
Town: Pietermaritzburg
Vehicle: 2003 Hilux 2.7i 4X4 D/C

Post by windy67 »

F_D

Are they going to respray around your 4X4 Forum sticker or will you have enough "bucks" left to buy a new one?

Windy67

You'll never believe it, but I had those stickers lying around here for a while before actually sticking one to each of the Hiluxes. Two weeks later, I take her in for a respray...

Tommy says that the secret is to remove it and stick it immediately to a smooth surface, like glass, then I should be able to use it again. If not, I'll simply have to order another one.

I have not stuck my Hilux4x4 stickers yet, have them all nice & safe in a cupboard here until I get the Hilux back, then will only stick them on.

I'm not really too much of a sticker person... I have unused IPF, Motorola,. Kenwood, Vertex, Garmin and who knows what else, stickers all lying around somewhere. I don't even know if I will put decals on the sides of the Hilux... still thinking about that one.

FD, agreed I am not a sticker fan myself. Saw a new shape Hilux today and it had stickers all over the body. Man it was ugly.
windy67

Post by windy67 »

F_D and Niel,

I agree with you guys. I am not a sticker fan either unless it is not too obtrusive. I have added 2 Sharks stickers to my new addition and would like to add the Hilux4X4 forum sticker as well. (We must advertise our forum). I have PM'd the boss and ordered the small ones. They are actually too small but the next size up is too big. A 20mm height would suit me fine. The canopy is coming off soon so it has to be on the tailgate.

Windy67
Stickers.JPG

Hi Trevor,

The best possible place (should fit) is on the bottom section between the number plate and the right side of the vehicle, but you need to lose that ugly red sticker! :mrgreen:

windy67 wrote:I have added 2 Sharks stickers to my new addition
Trevor now why would you you do that :?: :lol: :lol: lets not start a rugby debate on this post as well :lol:
windy67 wrote:(We must advertise our forum).
Spot on that is why I deceided to stick one on the canopy.
Family_Dog wrote:The best possible place (should fit) is on the bottom section between the number plate and the right side of the vehicle, but you need to lose that ugly red sticker!
Yes, I think pietpetoors stucker is in the same place.

Are you going to make it Lime Green or something exciting?
1999 Hilux 2.7i 4x4 Raider DC with 3.4 Prado V6. Rear diff-lock, Bull Bar and rock sliders, 31" Cooper ST Maxx, Snorkel, Alu-Canopy, VHF Motorolla radio, West Coast Rust, Mikem Suspension, Ball Joint Spacers in front and Mikem extended shackles at the rear, 25watt LED Spots

pietpetoors wrote:Are you going to make it Lime Green or something exciting?
Hi Piet,

Well, Land Cruiser Beige (4E9) *is* exciting! Perfect match to a perfect Hilux! :D

I originally was going to make it a lighter beige than it currently is, but decided against that - the L/C beige is a nice colour and certainly will hardly ever show dirt.

(Was also afraid that I might be mistaken for Bennie if I made it a brilliant Lime Green... :mrgreen: )

Not much was done today, they were repairing some minor dents on the roof formed by a fairly heavy steel roof carrier, which I gave away.

I wonder if anyone has a good picture of this sticker that is on the inner side of the bonnet, above the battery?
Bonnet Pic.jpg
If so, could you please take a decent photo so I can print it and replace it?

windy67

Post by windy67 »

Hi F_D
Family Dog wrote:but you need to lose that ugly red sticker!
Is that better? Piet has indicated that he will get some 20mm high forum stickers done sometime. Now there is a perfect place above the number plate for that.

What about the ugly yellow one on the canopy window?

Trevor

Looks much better! :P

Was going to mention the big ugly yellow one as well, but you might be a bigger guy than me, so I kept quiet :mrgreen:

Hi FD

I think Andrew had a good picture of that which he sent me which I seem to have deleted oops :oops: I am sure e can mail you a pic :mrgreen:
2006 Hilux DC 4x4 4.0 V6 Old Man Emu suspension, Long Range Fuel Tank and a LA Sport Sump Guard, Natko railings with spade and high lift brackets, LA Sport high lift jack mounts, Powder coated Hilux Nudge Bar, Hella LED light bar, LED Work Light

Justin,

It's a sin to delete anything to do with a Hilux... don't want the Hilux Cops after you... :mrgreen:

Andrew, if you're reading this... HELP!

Hi FD

I found it it just a copy of the owners manual on not the original sticker :(

Justin,

How thick is the Owner's manual? Is it something that one can scan?

Hi FD

Here is the pic
Vacuum%20Layout2.JPG

Hi Justin,

Thanks - it looks so much more complicated than my bonnet sticker! :mrgreen:

Don't suppose you have the original Visar Cards, those little cards that they stick on to the Sun Visar as well? I did post some stuff I found online as well as the 2.7i info in another thread, but I haven't got the specific SFA info.

Eric

Onthou net om daai lux eendag aan my te bemaak in jou testament :wink: Dit lyk my as ek hom eendag oor 40-50 jaar of so gaan erf , gaan hy nog in 'n beter kondisie wees as nuut :wink: :wink:

Hi Eric

I unfortunatly dont my van has only one original sticker and that is the 4x4 info on the cubby lid. I did not even know there were any cards :shock: :o the please do tell :?: :D

benhur wrote:Eric

Onthou net om daai lux eendag aan my te bemaak in jou testament :wink: Dit lyk my as ek hom eendag oor 40-50 jaar of so gaan erf , gaan hy nog in 'n beter kondisie wees as nuut :wink: :wink:
Heh... Bennie, I'll probably be in a wheel chair 50 years from now, but I will still be driving it.

Of course, by that time I may just have replaced the 4Y engine with a Nitrogen-powered rocket engine, 'cos we probably won't have any fossil fuels left by then! :mrgreen:

:lol: :lol: :lol:
Scooter

Post by Scooter »

Family_Dog wrote:Not much was done today, they were repairing some minor dents on the roof formed by a fairly heavy steel roof carrier, which I gave away.

I wonder if anyone has a good picture of this sticker that is on the inner side of the bonnet, above the battery?

If so, could you please take a decent photo so I can print it and replace it?

F_D, as soon as I can get a decent photo of the layout I will post it, just a little hard with the bonnet still attached to get a good photo.
I think I may redraw it and post a .pdf of it.

Scooter
"I know that you believe you understand what you think I said, but I'm not sure you realise that what you heard is not what I meant."

Heh... never thought of that. :P It was easy for me, the bonnet was lying propped against the front of the bakkie.
Thanks, will appreciate that!

No real progress report today, other than they have sprayed that yellow stuff all over it where they removed the odd dent and rust. This is quite evident in the picture below, different shade of beige.

In the photo below, the driver seems quite comfortable with the seating arrangement, I snapped him as he was moving the Hilux from the its preparatory workplace to the spray section. They should be removing the load bin next week. I also need three (now four, I lost the sample :x ) rubber floor plugs which were missing.
4Y respray 036.jpg

leonbrink
Town: Pretoria East

Post by leonbrink »

Family_Dog wrote:Don't suppose you have the original Visar Cards, those little cards that they stick on to the Sun Visar as well?
Hi Eric

I have this one in mine:
http://www.outdoor-online.net/hilux/Visor_Card.jpg

Hope this is what you are looking for. It is not in the best shape, but must say it is almost 24 years old! :D
Groete

Leon
Hilux 4.0 V6 4x4

Hi Leon,

Perfect! I have printed it out, the card will look good up where it belongs :mrgreen:

How about painting the Lux Electric Orange?

Will turn heads you know....

:mrgreen:

7MGTE wrote:How about painting the Lux Electric Orange?

Will turn heads you know....

:mrgreen:
Yeah, I know... I turn my head when I look at Bennie's "Limey"... Image

Actually, many years ago I had a VW Kombi like that :mrgreen:

HI FD

Are you going to have a sticker made? If you are I would be intrested in getting one as well if it is at all posible?

Oh and the bonet sticker :mrgreen:

Justin,

I was thinking of printing one/a few on some sort of sticky-backed paper, haven't looked at the CNA yet, but they should have something suitable. Otherwise, normal paper and then just laminating it should do the trick.

Cool I will do that too then I am hoping to get the body work sorted out early next year but as far as this week is conserned it is operation lift rear suspention and electronic dizzy :mrgreen: I am sure your van is going to look great when finished :!: :D

Justin,

Tommy said they would be removing the load bin tomorrow (Monday), I'm hoping to catch this on camera before it goes in to the spray booth so I have before & after photos. I normally have only gone there every second day because it's about a 30km round trip. I hope he gets finished this coming week, but as usual, I always add on a few extra jobs for him to do, such as to try and modify the canopy rear door so that it has a bigger sheet of glass for improved rear vision. Then he is going to replace all the canopy rubbers, hope he is not held up by the Suppliers, especially at this time of the year.

Midas or AutoZone will be able to supply you an electronic dizzy, priced at around R600 if I remember correctly. I was thinking of fitting one to my 3Y, which also uses the mechanical one.

Some more pics...

Years of muck lying on the LR Tank
LR Tank Breather Pipe &amp; Filter. Is this right, just lying here??
LR Tank Breather Pipe & Filter. Is this right, just lying here??

They have nearly finished the preparatory work on the body and Tommy mixed the first sample of paint today. All being well the vehicle will go into the Spray Booth tomorrow.

Scooter

Post by Scooter »

F_D, looking good, almost time for the new clothes hey.

As for the LR breather pipe, it is fine just lying there, but I would move it away from the exhaust as that is a potential fire hazard.
All breathers just kinda seem like after thought placements but they dont need to have fancy places as nothing can get past the valve unless its coming out the tank.

Good Luck for tomorrow :!:

FD

Looks like you have fitted new rims :?: Have you ever thought of having the rims sprayed another colour :?:

Cookie Monster wrote:FD

Looks like you have fitted new rims :?: Have you ever thought of having the rims sprayed another colour :?:
I did fit new rims a while ago, because the price of new rims was about the same as having the old ones resprayed! Now you're got me thinking - what colour would be appropriate with the bodywork of the car, which will be Land Cruiser brown (4E9)?

Well I was thinking of spraying mine black or gun metal in the center and silver on the outside (similar to the jumping hilux on the home page http://www.hilux4x4.co.za/ )and then putting a tough clear coat over to stop them from chipping.

I might decide to do the rims another colour, if only to match the new Orca Rock Sliders, which is also a sort of charcoal gray. AT least I think so, haven't unwrapped them yet! :P
Onca R_S.jpg

Here are today's pictures:
In the Spray Booth...
The Bonnet...
The Tail Gate...
From Left Rear...
From Right Rear...
She is already looking like a Grand New Lady! I was so pleased with her, I wanted to just stay in the spray booth with her :P

Tommy still has to spray the engine bay, not quite such an easy task as it is rather cluttered with wiring & pipes in there. then they will do the Chassis with Chassis Black, refit the doors, bonnet, glass, and OME shocks, which they removed prior to the vehicle entering the Spray Booth.

I have the "new" bucket seats from Wikus (Thanks, Mate!) and hopefully they will fit without too much trouble as they are definitely more comfy than the original bucket seats.

Expected date of delivery to me is Thursday next week.

Wow she is looking grand :mrgreen: I am so jealous cant wait to do mine :!: as she really deserves it :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

When I took the Hilux to Tommy, I had two full petrol tanks, that's about 130 litres of fuel. Hope I still have that when I get her back. :mrgreen:

She's gonna look really good! I'll drop by to have a look at her when she's finished.

Bet you're like a naughty boy right now :mrgreen:

Baie mooi kleur.... :mrgreen:

Are you planning any graphics? :wink:

and maybe some more power by way of a turbo or two? :shock:

:idea: I know.... maybe a 7M engine...

WOW.... :mrgreen:

just think...... another Nissan killer....
2007-12-07_072144_Ewald_Avataar150KB.jpg

Nahh I think Eric will be very happy with the 4YE engine. Hiluxes dont need turbos or 7M engines to squach Nissans, I sommer do it with my 2Y as well :twisted: :twisted:

Return to “Members' Vehicles”