Competitition What is the item in the photo?

Okay I am starting something different here, this is the way that it will work.

1. You must be able to describe to me in five words what the item in the photo is. :thumbup:
2. To make it fair for everybody you must reply here on this topic only The cut off date will be the 4th June at 20h00 The winner will be sent one bottle of honey from me, I will also pay the postage to you for the honey.
3. If there are more than one person who gets the correct answer, then your name will be put in a hat and my wife Miche'le will draw one name only.

What is this item in the photo, it is found on a Toyota Hilux 4x4 bakkie?

This is your prize below

:lol: :lol: :thumbup:

Rolbos
Town: Bellville
Vehicle: Toyota Hi Lux 3.0Lt Twin Cam

Re: Competitition What is the item in the photo?

Post by Rolbos »

Casing CV joint front axle
"Wat jy gee, bepaal hoe gelukkig jy lewe"
Bushwacker
Town: Vryheid Natal
Vehicle: 2003 HILEX, 35" maxxis. 2009 Prado 120 VX

Post by Bushwacker »

Howmuch for the honey if I don't win?

Piet looks like the Bee flew right past you :lol: :lol: :lol:

See here: viewtopic.php?f=133&t=10434&hilit=honey+for+sale" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
Hi-Hilux
Town: Tsumeb
Vehicle: 1991 Hilux2.2 ---1987 Hilux D/C Hella 1000, Rancho RS9000XL shocks, Good Year M/TR, Warn Winch, STK bullbar, Extended shacles, Kenwood VHF-SOLD

Post by Hi-Hilux »

5 words....baie belangrike part vir Toyota
Is gebed jou spaarwiel of jou stuurwiel?
'Life is a coin. You can spend it anyway you wish, but you can only spend it ONCE'
Striker
Town: Dunnottar
Vehicle: Hilux V8 Lexus 4x4 D/C

Post by Striker »

Starter motor or wiper motor stator?
Bring it on!
Bloues
Vehicle: Hilux 2.2 D/C

Post by Bloues »

Nee tjom,
Jy seker dis 'n Hilux part........?? Is dit nie iets wat stukkend is en afgebreek het op 'n Landi nie ??? Kan die swart olie kleur afdrukke op die matchbox sien van jou hande..... :D:
Bloues
(Nie blou bul maar SHARKS ondersteuner)
Don't fence me in.....
'91 D/Cab 2.2(4y) AKA - Bloues. Lifted Suspension, Dual Battery, 80Liter Freezer, Bridgestone Dueler A/T, 29Mhz Radio, Mud Creeper Winch(Aus), EasyAwn Rooftop Tent, Roofrack, Garmin Nuvi, Long Range Fuel Tank, Jacks+straps for landi recovery.....
Andries
Town: Dordrecht
Vehicle: '94 2.2 4Y Hilux S/C, '87 2.2 4Y Hilux D/C

Post by Andries »

Back of a Steering Wheel
Vehicle: '90 SFA Hilux DC 4X4, Full OME, 110mm lift. Brospeed branch, 50mm ss freeflow exhaust. 30 x 9.5 Discoverer S/T's on Viper mags. L/R tank. (AWOL) '98 LTD 2.4 SFA, dual battery system. Dobinson suspension, LR tanks, 31" BF mud's.

Flywheel spigot bearing? ...... On second thought and closer scrutiny, that looks like a bronze bush inside a roller bearing. If that's the case then the hollow outer shaft is intended to rotate at a different speed or direction of the inner shaft .... the outer surface of the bush looks like it's supposed to handle a bit of thrust as well. Wonder where something like that is used on a Lux? Winch? :think:

Harties
Vehicle: 3.0 D4D 4x4

Post by Harties »

1.There is a reason why he mentioned 4x4 hilux... :mrgreen:

2. The component has been enlarged by the the photo.. :shock:

3. 000oms...Markie you have broken one on your previous bakkie... :clap: !!!

Maybe and maybe not, this is getting interesting as well, I am not going to say yet who has the correct answer if there is or if there is not one, come on guys do your thing, Oh this honey is lekker :lol:

Back to work, chat later see you. :clap:

GeorgeJvR
Town: Louis Trichardt
Vehicle: 2008 Prado 4.0 V6, 1989 SFA S/C 2.2 1998 SFA LTD 22RE

Post by GeorgeJvR »

If the steering wheel is taken of this will be the view of the back side, where the hooter pin conects.
But then again those slots makes me wonder a bit.
To Buy and sell a vehicle is my hobby
Make a deal that no one else thought possible is my aim

Kom wat wil ek bly 'n Bul!
Vehicle: '90 SFA Hilux DC 4X4, Full OME, 110mm lift. Brospeed branch, 50mm ss freeflow exhaust. 30 x 9.5 Discoverer S/T's on Viper mags. L/R tank. (AWOL) '98 LTD 2.4 SFA, dual battery system. Dobinson suspension, LR tanks, 31" BF mud's.

I've never stripped a hub-lock mechanism down, so I'll take a flyer and say "part of Asin hub lock" :think:

:clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap:

Okay busy checking your answers, will come back now.

We have one winner. :clap:

Rolbos

Town: Bellville
Vehicle: Toyota Hi Lux 3.0Lt Twin Cam
Casing CV joint front axle

Well done to our friend ROLBOS (Louis) please PM me your postal address and the honey will be on its way to you soon.

Well done to everybody else, however the main thing is that you have learnt something here new.
:clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap:

Look out for the next competition

Thanks for a good idea Simon! :thumbup: As you say, we all learned something from it and it's a thought provoking game, even without the reward! Look forward to the next one!! :D: :wink:

So wher is the next pic Simoan....are your bee's still making another bottle of honey? :lol:

Hello Mark and my fellow 4x4 Enthuisists

Well here goes.... in these two photo's, you will see in the one photo, something that is wet then it becomes dry with time, it is found on most Toyota Hilux vehicle's at some time or the other, the other photo is another item that most Hilux's also have, you all have three words to describe what they are?

Remember that maybe the photo is upside down or a mirror effect, thus have a try.

The cut off date for this round is Friday the 11th June at 20h00. Come on guys here is something that you can learn.But this time round I have two photo's thus two items to describe what they are.

Same rules if more than one person has the correct answer. :lol:

Prize is one bottle of honey from Queenstown :thumbup:

:clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap:

No Simon! ... now you're starting to become cryptic! :lol: :lol: :lol:
Anyway, the second pic is the one that is wet and then becomes dry ... it's a dried bird dropping or dried mud splatter :D:
The first pic is a tie-down hoop that you'll find on the outer sides of the load-bin and even on the tail gate of some models. :wink:

Two bottles of honey, thank you! :twisted: :wink:

I'm with Andy here...

First one is a tie-down thingie, second photo looks like a mud spatter.

hentey
Town: worcester
Vehicle: 2700i 4x4

Post by hentey »

The DOGS are right!!!!!!!!! :thumbup:
00LA
Town: Rustenburg
Vehicle: Hilux 3.0D4D

Post by 00LA »

Yip I agree first one is a tie down loop and the second a bird dropping

hentey wrote:The DOGS are right!!!!!!!!! :thumbup:
:lol: :lol: :lol:

Which side of the vehicle guys left or right or is it the right side of the left :think:

No way of knowing for sure, the pics aren't clear enough to determine the wind / travel direction from splatter and splash marks ... you're asking us to guess! :eh:

OK then, I guess left side and I guess right side ... one has to be correct! :twisted: :wink:

No Andy, you're wrong here, I'm afraid.

It's on the 'outside'... !

Family_Dog wrote:No Andy, you're wrong here, I'm afraid.

It's on the 'outside'... !

I should hope so! :lol: :lol:

Errr, ..... Simon, Friday has been and gone! :D: What's the verdict? :think: :wink:

been busy with Morris Motors Eastern Cape, will reply tomorrow night and tell that other guy who won, I need his postal addres, this is for the first pic, I did try and pm him but got no reply

late now

cheers
simon

Cool! 8 )

koeka
Town: Phalaborwa
Vehicle: Toyota hilux D/C 3.0 D4D 4x4

Post by koeka »

This competition is getting interesting
Koeka
Ek stoot eerder my Toyota!! voordat ek n Land Rover ry!!

Rolbos

Please send me your postal address so that I can send you your bottle of honey that you won here, I did try and PM you but got no reply.\

Okay we have four people who answered correctly
The two dogs
Hentley
Oola

So my beautiful wife (who loves to wash my 4x4) will have to draw your name out of the hat, here goes.....

:clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap:

Okay I had to in fact wake my wife up :shh: :shh: :shh:

She was already in bed trying to sleep :oops:

But anyway I woke her up as this is very important :twisted:

So she was half asleep and I told her to draw one of the papers out of my dirty hat and...........................................

Well done to our "Family Dog"

:clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap:

Please send me your postal address either to my email bigballs@vodamail.co.za or PM me.

Look out for the next pic, but remember you only have a few words to describe what the item is. :lol:

Well done to our "Family Dog"
Now that's a Lucky Dog..... :lol:

Congrats, Eric! ..... enjoy your honey! :thumbup: :wink:

Next Question

Okay Ladies and Gentlemen, rules change slightly now, we need to hear what your wife, daughter, son, mother or girlfriend has to say about what or who this item is in this photo.facing towards you 8 )

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Depends if you really want the one bottle of honey that is on offer here. One bottle for two questions :lol: :twisted:

Then for the guys alone what is the grey substance in this photo, I am looking for three words only, and do not ask your wife or girlfriend or mechanic :think:
The cut off date for this time round will be Sunday night the 27th June 2010 after 20h00.

Thus enjoy yourselves, share your jokes, make any remarks you like, comments and have fun.

:wave:

P/S got my Hilux back up on the two poster, last week I removed the front spring packs, had them re-done, have now fitted five blades per side, have to remove the fuel tank, it is leaking on the joint seam and also want to check the trac bar balls, a friend of mine in East London had some made up for me.

Here is your prize waiting for you, I have a few hundred bottles at home as well

:wave:

1st question
Who = Simon Morris
What = Torque wrench

2nd question
CV joint grease
or
MS grease

:wink:

wim
Town: Vryheid
Vehicle: 95 hilux d/c Hilex

Post by wim »

1Simon Morris,Torqe wrench 2Constant velocity grease
GeorgeJvR
Town: Louis Trichardt
Vehicle: 2008 Prado 4.0 V6, 1989 SFA S/C 2.2 1998 SFA LTD 22RE

Post by GeorgeJvR »

one; Torqe wrench
two; Constant velocity grease
To Buy and sell a vehicle is my hobby
Make a deal that no one else thought possible is my aim

Kom wat wil ek bly 'n Bul!

two bottles left today to the winners, I wonder who it will be this time round?

We're waiting in antici ............. pation! :D:

Okay three of you got it right, you are
Wim
George JVR

My wife will do the draw now.
We have a new winner Well done Mud Dog, :clap: please send me your postal address.

Okay here is the last pic for this month, come on guys we need more people envolved, in the next photo, I will be surprized to see how many people get this one right :lol:

What is the metal object that I am holding in my fingers? Where is it found and what does it do?
You have to answer with at least 20 words.

One bottle of honey up for grabs.

Please let me know if the photo dissappears if you cannot see it?
Enjoy :thumbup:

Simoan, if you would please post an easy pic for us not so technical okes maybee we would be able to answer :eh:

All I can see is a, pointer a middle finger and a thumb holding a metal thingy which looks like......I have no clue.... :lol: :lol: :lol:
FUDGES
Vehicle: D4D 3.0l

Post by FUDGES »

OOOOMS wrote:Simoan, if you would please post an easy pic for us not so technical okes maybee we would be able to answer :eh:

. :lol: :lol: :lol:
Eks in dieselfde bootjie as jy vir my lyk dit soos n halwe bullet :shifty: :shifty:

A.J. wrote:
OOOOMS wrote:Simoan, if you would please post an easy pic for us not so technical okes maybee we would be able to answer :eh:

. :lol: :lol: :lol:
Eks in dieselfde bootjie as jy vir my lyk dit soos n halwe bullet :shifty: :shifty:
:lol: :lol: :lol:

:lol: Oh this honey from Queenstown is lekker saam met brood.

This part comes from my Hilux, you guys just have to think, the other pic's before were easy. :think: :think: :think: :think: :think: :think: :think: :think:

Thanks for that honey, Simon .... it won't go to waste in this household!! :thumbup: :D:

Answer to latest question:
Its a wheel bolt stud .... presses into the front disc from the rear .... or rear brake drum from the back. One of six per wheel to hold the rim to the hub. :think: (At least 20 words + + +)

:lol: :thumbdown: :roll: :problem: no you are incorrect, very cold, from 1 to 10 you are far below the 1, keep trying my friend :think: :think: :think:

"What is the metal object that I am holding in my fingers?" A small chunk of tensile steel! "Where is it found" In your hand! and what does it do? It makes you hands dirtier so that you can look more like a mackie!
You have to answer with at least 20 words.

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no none of your answers are correct, chat to you in the week :think: :think:

Paul Grobler
Town: KOEDOESKOP
Vehicle: '12 79 Land Cruiser Pick up 4.2 D

Post by Paul Grobler »

It is a tie rod cup thats adjustable on the SFA that you find on the steering rod that connects the steering box to the steering arm
5de Rat brights
hentey
Town: worcester
Vehicle: 2700i 4x4

Post by hentey »

I know what it is!!!!!!It is broken.......Send my honey to P.O.BOX 1287 Worcester 6850 Thanks Simoan :thumbup:

Paul Grobler wrote:It is a tie rod cup thats adjustable on the SFA that you find on the steering rod that connects the steering box to the steering arm
Polla, you're referring to the 'draglink', so then it would be a balljoint cup on the adjustable end of the draglink.

If that's correct then Paul must get the credit! :wink:

Paul Grobler

Post by Paul Grobler »

Dankie Andy

My bewoording is bietjie kokaai
5de Rat brights

:lol: :lol: :lol: :thumbup:

hentey wrote:I know what it is!!!!!!It is broken.......Send my honey to P.O.BOX 1287 Worcester 6850 Thanks Simoan :thumbup:
I don't know what it is, but you can send me 3 bottles, then I do not have to sit and wonder what the picture is,.....at least for 3 weeks :lol: :lol: :lol:
Paul Grobler

Post by Paul Grobler »

Mark dan soek ek 4 bottels
5de Rat brights